Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1929
One Beekman
1 Beekman Place, New York, NY 10022
Buildings·Sutton Place·Cooperative

1 Beekman Place (One Beekman)

1 Beekman Place, New York, NY 10022

Midtown East

BBL 1013610021 · BIN 1040079

At a glance
Year built
1929
Type
Cooperative
Units
24
Floors
16
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Not permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Maximum financing
Financing not allowed; cash purchases only
Flip tax
3% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
Doorman
Full-time doorman

One Beekman sales history: 19 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at One Beekman?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Subletting
Permitted with Board approval. Short-term rentals and AirBnB are not permitted.
Pied-à-terre
Not permitted.
Washer / dryer
Permitted in-unit.
Pets
Permitted, subject to Board approval.
Co-purchasing
Permitted. Parents purchasing for children not permitted.
Guarantors
Not permitted.

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2005–2025

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

3BR median
$3.2M
Recent range
$2.8M – $3.5M
Listing discount
6.1%
Recorded transfers
19
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at One Beekman would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

1 Beekman Place is a 1929 Sloan & Robertson commission with Corbett, Harrison & MacMurray, developed by a group led by David Milton (husband of Abby Rockefeller and son-in-law of John D. Rockefeller Jr.).

What distinguishes the building begins at the water: an architecturally complex East River facade, an asymmetrical mass of balconies and bay windows. Behind it sit the 1929 club facilities including an Olympic-size swimming pool, preserved across every ownership cycle and since joined by a basketball court and golf simulator. And tying the address to a century of Manhattan power is its trophy cultural resident roster — John D. Rockefeller III, David K. E. Bruce, William "Wild Bill" Donovan (OSS), Huntington Hartford, Henryk de Kwiatkowski, Stavros Niarchos (who reportedly brought eleven Rembrandts with his apartment), Mark Goodson, the Whitneys (Betsey Cushing Whitney and John Hay "Jock" Whitney occupied the penthouse triplex).

Architecture and building operations

Robert A.M. Stern, in New York 1930, describes how the building's "severely detailed exterior sheltered lavishly planned duplex suites with loggias and balconies jutting out over the river," and notes "an elaborate club facility that included an indoor swimming pool occupied the lower floors and opened onto a waterfront terrace."

The grand entrance features a three-and-a-half-story masonry surround with a broken pediment. Original waterfront facilities were lost to the FDR Drive's construction. The base contains a one-story garage facing the FDR.

Operations: among the most amenitized prewar coops in Manhattan. 24-hour doorman; attended elevator; resident building manager; fitness center with basketball court and Olympic-size swimming pool (the original 1929 club pool); landscaped riverfront gardens; two party rooms with service kitchens; golf simulator; in-house garage. Traditional white-glove staffing model.

Policy framework

  • Type: Cooperative — board interview required
  • Pets: Allowed
  • Pied-à-terre / LLC / trust / foreign: Board discretion; the building is famously selective
  • Financing maximum: ~30% (very conservative — one of the strictest on the East Side)
  • Flip tax: 3%, buyer-paid
  • Subletting: Restrictive; board approval required
  • Post-closing liquidity: Multiples of purchase price expected
  • Board interview: Required; institutional review

The conservative 30% financing maximum flags an emphasis on liquidity rather than leverage — calibrated to the building's institutional buyer profile.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Equal to 3% of purchase price
Rate
3% of the purchase price
Paid by
Buyer

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

6 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable
Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If FinancingPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300 (if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable
Managing Agent's FeePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $900 (Shareholder is an Individual) or $1000 (Shareholder is an Estate)Refundable Non-refundable
New York State Stamp TaxPer sharePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $0.05 per share.Refundable Non-refundable
Fidelifacts Credit ReportConditional · Per applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $871.00 per Applicant/Occupant, $1,633.13 if there are two (2) Applicants/OccupantsRefundable Non-refundable

Ownership transfer

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeePer applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
Financing not allowed; cash purchases onlySource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Guarantors
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Co-purchasing
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for a student child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase or lease by a corporation
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsOne year maximumSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, pool, garageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$75,417/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $46
Modeled exposure split equally across 136 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
At the 24 residences in our building profile: $0 – $262. The two counts differ; confirm the count with the building.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2029
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$4,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
3% of purchase price, payable by Buyer
Sublet policy
Allowed, one year maximum
Pied-à-terre
Not Allowed
Notable fees
Financing Not Allowed; App Processing $450/$550; Managing Agent Fee $900/$1000; NY stamp $0.05/share; Fidelifacts credit $871/applicant
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jul 30, 202515C
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,900 sf
$3,500,000$1,207/sf+1.4%
May 5, 20257B
2 BR · 3 BA
$2,797,500-20.1%
Aug 29, 20238C
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,691 sf
$2,905,750$1,080/sf-6.1%
Dec 30, 20219
4 BR · 5 BA · 5,125 sf
$6,800,000$1,327/sf-24.0%
Mar 5, 20203
4 BR · 4.5 BA
$5,500,000-38.9%
May 24, 20189
4 BR
$10,147,500+1.5%
Mar 13, 20137B
2 BR
$3,400,000-8.0%
Mar 1, 201215C
2 BR
$3,400,000-17.1%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,207/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 6.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

7B-18%
$3,400,000 2013 → $2,797,500 2025
9 · 5,125 sf-33%
$10,147,500 2018 → $6,800,000 ($1,327/sf) 2021

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Apr 13, 200612A$6,500,000
View all 19 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01361-0021). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at One Beekman and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with One Beekman and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like One Beekman. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

Notable residents

The trophy cultural resident roster at 1 Beekman Place:

  • John D. Rockefeller III
  • David K. E. Bruce — diplomat
  • William "Wild Bill" Donovan — OSS founder
  • Huntington Hartford — A&P heir
  • Henryk de Kwiatkowski — financier and racehorse owner
  • Stavros Niarchos — Greek shipping magnate; reportedly brought eleven Rembrandts with his apartment
  • Mark Goodson — television producer
  • Sir Francis Rundall — British consul-general (1950s)
  • The Whitneys — Betsey Cushing Whitney and John Hay "Jock" Whitney occupied the penthouse triplex

What to know if you’re buying

The 1929 club facilities — Olympic pool, basketball court, golf simulator — are structurally distinguishing. Among the most amenitized prewar coops in Manhattan.

The Rockefeller-development pedigree is real institutional context. The David Milton developer relationship to the Rockefeller family anchors the building's institutional credentials.

The ~30% financing maximum is among the most conservative on the East Side. Plan for substantially-all-cash positioning.

The 3% buyer-paid flip tax is meaningful at closing.

The trophy cultural resident roster — Rockefeller, Bruce, Donovan, Hartford, Niarchos, Whitney — anchors the institutional buyer demographic.

The boutique 24-original-unit (now ~42) shareholder community is at the smallest end of institutional Manhattan cooperatives. Plan for the most institutional board review standards in the city.

The East River facade with cantilevered loggias and balconies is structurally distinguishing.

Comparable buildings


Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.

More Sutton Place buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at One Beekman?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com