210 Central Park South
210 Central Park South, New York, NY 10019
BBL 1010300039 · BIN 1024919
- Year built
- 1968
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 88
- Floors
- 23
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Dogs
- Permitted with conditions
- Cats
- Not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2005–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2024
- $4M
- 2 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $2.1M – $6.8M
- Listing discount
- 8.3%
- Recorded transfers
- 57
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 210 Central Park South would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
210 Central Park South is the value thesis on the most expensive residential street in America, executed in glass. Bernard Spitzer's 1968 tower holds the highest fenestration ratio on Central Park South — the park wall is effectively all window, wrapped in angled glass balconies — which means the asset buyers are actually purchasing here, the head-on Central Park view, comes through a full window wall on park-facing lines; how much of the park an apartment sees depends on floor and position. What sets 210 CPS apart is the price: the entry price for true park frontage runs at a fraction of the supertall condos one block south and meaningfully below the street's white-glove pre-war co-ops.
The building is also a family story that buyers tend to find reassuring rather than complicated. Spitzer — father of the former governor — built both 200 and 210 Central Park South, and entities affiliated with the original sponsorship still held roughly 30 percent of the shares (25 apartments) as of the most recent audited financials on file. In practice this produces a steady trickle of no-board-approval sponsor inventory alongside conventional resales, and a co-op whose commercial income (garage, professional suites) subsidizes maintenance. It also means a meaningful block of units is held for rental rather than owner-occupancy; buyers seeking a fully owner-occupied house culture should weigh that.
Operationally the cooperative is in disciplined shape: the balcony and bulkhead restoration was completed in 2022 funded by a defined assessment; the corporation refinanced in February 2022 into a $5 million interest-only mortgage at 3.02 percent fixed to 2032 — cheap, long-dated money by current standards; and reserves stood near $4.8 million at the last audited year-end on file, invested in Treasuries and money funds. Lobby and hallway renovations followed in early 2024. For a 1960s co-op, the financial posture is a genuine selling point, and the underlying documents are on file in The Roebling Research Library.
Architecture and unit composition
The Schimenti design is pure mid-century: a slab without setbacks rising from a plaza with a private driveway, its park elevation organized into four columns of glass-railed balconies of varying widths, angled at their sides so the facade reads as faceted rather than flat. Floor-to-ceiling glass runs across the park-facing rooms. The building was constructed with four apartments per floor — alcove studios through two-bedrooms — and decades of combinations have produced a current mix that runs from compact one-bedrooms to 2,300+ square-foot three- and four-bedroom combinations, including full-floor-feel units on the upper stories. Renovation condition varies widely from estate to mint, and pricing tracks position, light, and condition more than raw size.
Building operations
Full-service: 24-hour attended lobby, elevator attendants, live-in resident manager, porter staff, central laundry, bike room, storage, and a private circular driveway — a real amenity on this street. The on-site garage operates with valet service and discounted resident rates; the cooperative's garage and professional-suite income flows through the operating budget. The staff is unionized (32BJ). Roof-deck access is unconfirmed: records differ on whether a common roof deck is available. Verify current access directly.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Background check fee to purchase the shares of 210 Central Park South Inc.Per applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per person | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Management Processing fee to purchase the shares of 210 Central Park South Inc. | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Other Fees | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount Published separately by management | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consumer Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125 per person | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Management Administration Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Refinance/ Home Equity Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsShareholder must be a resident for a minimum of two (2) years before requesting Board approval to sublet. One (1) year lease term.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Wait before a sublet
- 2 yearsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs
- Permitted with conditionsLimited to 2 pets per household; registration required; restriction on weight and breed for dogs. Non-residents must obtain approval in writing from the apartment owner and must provide a photo of the pet with registration.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Cats
- Not statedThe source permits pets without naming cats. Limited to 2 pets per household; registration required; restriction on weight and breed for dogs. Non-residents must obtain approval in writing from the apartment owner and must provide a photo of the pet with registration.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $1,038 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.70 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Valet
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Garage, bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- Per unit / month range
- —
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Sublet/lease renewals handled directly by Century (not via Domecile)
- Policies and fees
- Buyer move-in deposit $1,000; seller move-out deposit $1,000; mgmt processing fee $600
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 30, 2024 | 23CD | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,250 sf | $5,933,000 | $2,637/sf | -33.7% |
| Sep 13, 2024 | 4B | 1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,182 sf | $2,217,500 | $1,876/sf | -7.4% |
| Jun 26, 2024 | 12A | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,325 sf | $6,750,000 | $2,903/sf | -1.5% |
| Jun 26, 2023 | 21B | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $2,750,000 | -8.2% | |
| May 17, 2023 | 17D | 3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,500 sf | $3,800,000 | $2,533/sf | -22.4% |
| Jan 23, 2023 | 7A | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,160 sf | $2,100,000 | $1,810/sf | -8.5% |
| Jul 11, 2022 | 2C | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,545,000 | -3.1% | |
| Feb 28, 2022 | 11CD | 2 BR · 2.5 BA | $6,000,000 | -13.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2024): a median $2,250/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 5.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01030-0039). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at 210 Central Park South, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 2 | $9,300 |
| 2 bedroom | 4 | $11,812 |
Also $112 per sq ft per year (6 leases that report square footage). 6 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease July 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 210 Central Park South and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 210 Central Park South and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 210 Central Park South. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The view is the asset — buy it deliberately. Park-facing lines deliver Central Park frontage through floor-to-ceiling glass and a private balcony; what a given apartment sees depends on floor and position, and no view is protected without a recorded instrument. South- and side-facing units are a different (and differently priced) product. Same-line comparables, not building averages, should anchor your offer.
Sponsor inventory changes the mechanics. When a sponsor-affiliated unit is on the market, there is no board approval — faster timeline, lighter disclosure, condo-like flexibility — but typically also no seller concessions on the co-op's standard terms. Know which kind of seller you are facing before structuring an offer.
The board framework is moderate, not punishing. 75 percent financing permitted, pieds-à-terre allowed, sublets permitted after two years with approval, pets registered with limits. This is one of the more flexible policy frameworks on the street's co-op inventory — but corporate purchases are not permitted, and trusts go through counsel review. Confirm current policy with the managing agent.
Underwrite the carry, not just the price. Maintenance reflects a high-service, garage-and-driveway building on prime land; recent listings have shown monthly maintenance in the $5,500–$6,300 range on larger combinations. The corporation's interest-only mortgage matures in 2032 — your attorney should review the financials (on file with us) and any future capital plans.
Condition spread is wide. Estate-condition units trade at meaningful discounts to renovated peers. Budget renovation realistically — run the Renovation Cost Calculator — and remember alteration agreements and summer-work rules apply.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the street, then the building. The marketing argument is park frontage at a rational price: full-glass park exposure, balcony, driveway, garage — attributes the supertalls charge multiples for. Position explicitly against the supertall condominium inventory a block south.
Be precise about what competes with you. Your live competition includes the building's own sponsor inventory (no board approval) and 200 CPS rentals next door. Pricing and timing should account for both.
Document the building's financial story. The 2022 refinance, completed balcony program, and reserve position are selling points sophisticated buyers' attorneys will find anyway — lead with them.
Closing mechanics are co-op-standard. Board package and interview for conventional resales; plan 60–90 days contract-to-close. Run net proceeds through the Seller Closing Cost Calculator.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 210 Central Park South, also evaluate:
- 200 Central Park South — Spitzer's curved sister building next door
- Hampshire House (150 Central Park South) — the street's flagship pre-war white-glove co-op; more pedigree, stricter framework
- Essex House (160 Central Park South) — Art Deco hotel-condominium; park frontage with condo rules and hotel services
- Gainsborough Studios (222 Central Park South) — landmarked 1908 artists' co-op with double-height park-facing studios; the character alternative on the same blockfront
- 220 Central Park South — the street's ultra-prime condo benchmark; sets the ceiling against which 210 CPS reads as value
- One57 (157 West 57th Street) and Central Park Tower (217 West 57th Street) — Billionaires' Row supertalls one block south for buyers trading co-op value for new-condo product
More Central Park South buildings
- 171 West 57th Street — 1922 condominium by Warren & Wetmore
- 200 Central Park South — 1963 co-op by Wechsler & Schimenti
- The Osborne, 205 West 57th Street — 1883 co-op by James E. Ware
- 240 Central Park South — 1940 by Mayer & Whittlesey
- 333 West 57th Street (The Westmore) — 1940 condop by Boak & Paris
- 405 West 57th Street — 1940 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Central Park South — read The Roebling Team Guide to Central Park South.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 210 Central Park South?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com