Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfMidtown East $1,279/sf ▾9%
Full index →
Cooperative · 2001
Madison Park Apartments
1831 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10035
Buildings·Harlem·Cooperative

Madison Park Apartments

1831 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10035

BBL 1017460021 · BIN 1086498

CorridorHarlem
At a glance
Year built
2001
Type
Cooperative
Floors
9
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Not permitted
Maximum financing
90% of the purchase price
Flip tax
Tiered or formula; see fees
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Madison Park Apartments sales history: 73 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Madison Park Apartments?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$779
floor-adjusted, 2 sales
Listing discount
3.6%
Recorded sales
73
On record
2004–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Madison Park Apartments would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

This is a building where the tax benefit, not the architecture, is the story.

Madison Park was completed in 2001 and carries a 25-year 421-a exemption that began in 2004 and runs through 2029. That places it in the cohort now moving through the final years of the longest 421-a term, and the phase-out is already visible in the City's own published rolls rather than being a projection: the exempt value falls from roughly $10.9 million on the 2021 roll to about $4.7 million on the 2027 roll. The remaining benefit is being withdrawn on a fixed schedule that ends in 2029.

The building is a Housing Development Fund Corporation cooperative — the owner of record on PLUTO is NYC Housing Partnership HDFC. HDFC co-ops are income-restricted by their own certificates of incorporation and regulatory agreements, and the specific income caps, flip tax and resale terms are set per building rather than by a citywide rule. Anyone underwriting a purchase here should read the corporation's own documents rather than assume the standard market-rate co-op terms.

Those two facts compound. A shareholder in an income-restricted cooperative has a limited ability to absorb a step-change in monthly carrying cost, and the 421-a phase-out delivers exactly that on a known timetable.

Architecture and unit composition

The building is a nine-story elevator cooperative of roughly 138,050 square feet, completed in 2001 on the Madison Avenue corridor in Harlem.

A note on the unit count. PLUTO records 129 residential units; the Roebling research warehouse carries 128 for the same tax lot. The records reviewed do not explain the one-unit difference; common causes are a superintendent's apartment, a unit converted to community or office use, or a combination recorded in one system and not the other. The figure that governs a transaction is the one in the cooperative's own offering plan and current stock ledger, and that is what should be confirmed at diligence.

Building operations

Operating detail for this building — staffing, capital plan, reserve position and the current managing agent — is not established from public records alone and is not asserted here. It should be confirmed from the corporation's financial statements, board minutes and the managing agent at offer stage.

Policy framework

Madison Park is an HDFC cooperative. The governing constraints are the corporation's certificate of incorporation, its regulatory agreement with the City, and its house rules, which together set income eligibility, resale price limits where they apply, flip tax and sublet policy. These terms vary building to building and are not inferable from the tax record. Obtain the purchase application package and the regulatory agreement before making an offer.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Equal to Four (4%) percent of the purchase price, if Transferor-Lessee has owned the Shares for a period less than two (2) years; Three (3%) percent of the purchase price, if Transferor-Lessee has owned the Shares for a period greater of at least two (2) years but less than six (6) years; or Two (2%) percent of the purchase price, if Transferor-Lessee has owned the Shares for a period of six (6) years or more
Paid by
Seller

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

14 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeeConditional · Per applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $165 Per individual applicant named on the contract and as a guarantor (if applicable) - plus any additional occupantsRefundable Not stated
Packages Reproduction/Messenger FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $195Refundable Not stated
Expedited Closing FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Financing Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300 (if financing)Refundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 hr noticePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Power of AttorneyConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $200 per individual (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Move Out FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Power of AttorneyConditional · Per applicantPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $200 per individual (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Transfer FeeConditionalRequiredPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $750, or If this is an Estate Sale $1000Refundable Not stated
Transfer Stamp Tax FeePer shareRequiredPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $0.05 Per shareRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Move Out DepositConditionalPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 (if applicable)Refundable Not stated

Sublet

7 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Credit Report FeePer applicantRequiredPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $200 Per applicant - plus any additional occupantsRefundable Not stated
Move Out FeePaid by ShareholderWhen Upon approvalAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Sublease FeeRecurringRequiredPaid by ShareholderWhen Upon approvalAmount $125 per month for 1-bedroom apartments, $175 for 2-bedroom apartments, and $225 for 3-bedroom.Refundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by SubtenantWhen Upon approvalAmount $250Refundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move Out DepositConditionalPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000 (if applicable)Refundable Not stated
Move In DepositConditionalPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000 (if applicable)Refundable Not stated

Refinance

4 items

Management's “less refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $450Refundable Non-refundable
Credit/Criminal Check FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $200 Per ApplicantRefundable Non-refundable

Management's “more refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $450Refundable Non-refundable
Credit/Criminal Check FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $200 Per ApplicantRefundable Non-refundable

Ownership transfer

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $165 Per individual applicant named on the contract and as a guarantor (if applicable) - plus any additional occupantsRefundable Non-refundable
Transfer FeeConditionalRequiredPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $750, or If this is an Estate Sale $1000Refundable Not stated
Transfer Stamp Tax FeePer shareRequiredPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $0.05 Per shareRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
90% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Guarantors
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for a student child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsMust own 1 yearSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$57,203/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $37
Modeled exposure split equally across 129 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$25,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

421-a Tax Abatement

421-a exemption · full taxation begins FY2029
Approaching expiry
Abatement runs through FY2028
Last year of benefit
FY2028
Years remaining
~3 yrs
Program
421-a (25-year)
What this means for you

The 421-a benefit ends within a few years. Taxes will step up toward the full assessed amount as it phases out — factor the post-abatement tax into any resale math.

Source: NYC Dept. of Finance property-tax exemption records (421-a), refreshed 2026-09-06 · The Roebling Research Library. Confirm the exact step-up schedule on the building’s DOF tax bill. Years shown are NYC tax years, which start July 1 — FY2029 runs July 1, 2028 to June 30, 2029.

The 421-a Expiration Wave — our study of when these benefits expire citywide, and what the resale record shows about pricing as they do.

Recent sales

The building trades. NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers show a continuous history at this tax lot from May 2004 through November 2025, which is what distinguishes a working HDFC cooperative from a purely regulated rental. The recorded-price record is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and reproduced in the data room on this page.

Pricing at an HDFC is not directly comparable to open-market Harlem co-op pricing, because the income restriction and any resale formula constrain the buyer pool and, in some buildings, the price itself. Read the recorded figures against the corporation's own resale terms rather than against the surrounding market.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 11, 20269D
2 BR · 2 BA
$565,000+0.0%
Nov 19, 20254E
2 BR · 2 BA · 885 sf
$600,000$678/sf-7.6%
Mar 7, 20256A
2 BR · 2 BA · 860 sf
$640,000$744/sf-4.3%
Dec 18, 20247L
2 BR · 2 BA
$600,000-7.6%
Mar 4, 20248D
2 BR · 2 BA · 946 sf
$711,000$752/sf-1.9%
Jul 25, 20236M
3 BR · 2 BA
$809,000-1.9%
Jun 29, 20233F
2 BR · 2 BA · 900 sf
$590,000$656/sf-1.7%
Jun 27, 20236G
2 BR · 2 BA
$585,000-4.9%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $779/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 3.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

9C · 650 sf+113%
$275,000 2012 → $585,000 ($900/sf) 2020
8O · 850 sf+67%
$390,000 ($459/sf) 2007 → $651,500 ($766/sf) 2018
8D · 946 sf+62%
$440,000 ($465/sf) 2011 → $711,000 ($752/sf) 2024
4I+54%
$410,000 2007 → $630,000 2018
6O · 850 sf+52%
$428,000 ($498/sf) 2008 → $652,500 ($768/sf) 2022
View all 73 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01746-0021). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Madison Park Apartments and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $600K (4 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 22, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,800 to close, or 1.8% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $0
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,800

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Madison Park Apartments and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Madison Park Apartments. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Underwrite the 2029 tax step, not today's maintenance. The 421-a exemption ends in 2029 on a schedule already published in the DOF rolls. Ask the managing agent for the corporation's projection of the fully-taxed bill and how the board intends to absorb it. A building that has planned for it and a building that has not will look identical on a current maintenance statement.

Read the HDFC documents before anything else. Income eligibility, resale restrictions and flip tax are set per building. They determine whether you qualify and what you can later sell for, and the reviewed tax data do not establish the operative terms. Obtain the governing documents and check any recorded regulatory agreement and amendments.

Confirm the unit count and your specific unit from the offering plan. The City's two records disagree by one unit; the stock ledger is the authority.

What to know if you’re selling

Know your buyer pool before pricing. Income eligibility narrows it, and the closer the building gets to 2029 the more a well-informed buyer will price the coming tax step into an offer.

Have the tax answer ready. Sellers who can show the board's plan for the post-2029 bill are answering the question that will otherwise be used to negotiate against them.

Comparable buildings

Comparisons should be drawn against other Harlem cooperatives with an HDFC structure and a similar 421-a position rather than against open-market inventory on the same avenue. The 421-a tax abatement guide explains how the phase-out schedule works and what the expiry does to monthly carrying cost.


This page reflects publicly available City records and The Roebling Team research. Building details should be confirmed with the managing agent during due diligence; the offering plan, regulatory agreement, current building budget and current tax bill should be reviewed for any specific transaction. © 2026 The Roebling Team at Compass.

More Harlem buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Harlem — read The Roebling Team Guide to Harlem.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Madison Park Apartments?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com