Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Condominium · 2004
Sutton 57
212 East 57th Street, New York, NY 10022
Buildings·Midtown East·Condominium

212 East 57th Street

212 East 57th Street, New York, NY 10022

Midtown East

BBL 1013307501 · BIN 1038595

CorridorMidtown East
At a glance
Year built
2004
Type
Condominium
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Sutton 57 sales history: 89 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Sutton 57?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2006–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$1,255
floor-adjusted, 3 sales
Listing discount
5.2%
Recorded sales
89
On record
2006–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Sutton 57 would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Sutton 57 is a slim, well-run condominium tower that does a lot in a small footprint. Completed in 2004 on East 57th Street between Second and Third Avenues, the 24-story, masonry-clad building holds only 38 residences — a boutique count for a tower of its height, which means generous floor plans and a building that operates more like a private club than a large condominium. It sits at the Midtown East / Sutton Place seam, a short walk from the 57th Street retail spine, the Lexington and Second Avenue subways, and the quiet residential blocks that run east toward the river.

For buyers, the appeal is the combination of a full-service condominium with washer/dryers and private outdoor space on many homes, set on a mid-block site on East 57th Street between Second and Third Avenues, with condominium ownership's financing flexibility and absence of a co-op admissions board.

Architecture and unit composition

The building is a contemporary masonry tower with a single setback, designed for the proportions its modest unit count allows. The 38 residences are well-scaled, and many carry private outdoor space — a meaningful differentiator in a Midtown tower. Sponsor finishes were delivered to a high 2004 standard: Cabreuva hardwood flooring, generous closets, premium kitchens with top-of-line appliances and glass-fronted cabinetry, and primary baths in honed Calacatta gold stone and marble with glass-enclosed showers. All homes were delivered with washer/dryers. The upper-floor and terraced residences carry the building's premiums.

Building operations

Sutton 57 runs as a full-service condominium with a 24-hour doorman and concierge. The amenity set is calibrated to the building's boutique scale: a rooftop residents' garden, a fitness center, and bike storage, with private outdoor space on a large share of the homes themselves. Washer/dryers are in residence and the building is pet-friendly. As a condominium, purchases clear through a right-of-first-refusal rather than a co-op board package and interview; confirm financing rules in the declaration and bylaws.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$943 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$3.24 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges alone, per square foot
$1.76 per square foot a monthMedian of 6 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
$1.86 per square foot a monthMedian of 6 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Fitness room, garden, bike storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$24,805/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $54
Modeled exposure split equally across 38 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2025–30
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Safe
2030–35
Due
Next window (projected)
by Feb 2033
Assessed · 2010–15 to 2025–30
$1,750 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2010–15 to 2025–30. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Oct 3, 202518A
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 1,923 sf
$2,415,000$1,256/sf-3.2%
May 29, 20259A
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,267 sf
$1,500,000$1,184/sf—
Mar 18, 20253B
2 BR · 1 BA · 782 sf
$995,000$1,272/sf+0.0%
Aug 13, 202416A
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 1,923 sf
$2,350,000$1,222/sf-9.4%
Dec 28, 20235A
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,267 sf
$1,700,000$1,342/sf-24.4%
May 31, 20238B
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 800 sf
$1,090,000$1,363/sf-12.8%
May 2, 20234A
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,267 sf
$1,850,000$1,460/sf-5.1%
Mar 17, 202211A
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 1,923 sf
$2,500,000$1,300/sf-3.7%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,255/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 5.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

12A · 1,923 sf+64%
$2,291,062 ($1,191/sf) 2006 → $2,450,000 ($1,274/sf) 2011 → $3,120,000 ($1,622/sf) 2013 → $3,750,000 ($1,950/sf) 2015
5B · 780 sf+54%
$758,596 ($973/sf) 2006 → $900,000 ($1,154/sf) 2007 → $875,000 ($1,122/sf) 2012 → $1,170,000 ($1,500/sf) 2022
2B · 780 sf+40%
$697,501 ($894/sf) 2006 → $975,000 ($1,250/sf) 2015
8B · 800 sf+33%
$819,691 ($1,051/sf) 2006 → $895,000 ($1,147/sf) 2012 → $1,090,000 ($1,363/sf) 2023
3B · 782 sf+30%
$763,687 ($974/sf) 2007 → $995,000 ($1,272/sf) 2025
View all 89 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01330-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Sutton 57 and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.5M (3 sales in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $63,981 to close, or 4.3% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $15,000
  • Mortgage recording tax: $21,656
  • Title insurance: $6,750
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $20,575

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Sutton 57 and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Sutton 57. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

As a condominium, the purchase path runs through a right-of-first-refusal in place of a co-op board; confirm financing, subletting, and pied-à-terre, trust, LLC and investment ownership rules in the declaration and bylaws. Value here is driven by the home — exposure, floor, the presence of private outdoor space — layered on the building-level draws of the concierge service, the rooftop garden, and the fitness center. We help buyers read the offering plan and financials, weigh common charges and taxes, and benchmark a given line against the Midtown East and Sutton Place condominium set.

What to know if you’re selling

The selling case is a boutique, full-service condominium with concierge service, real amenities, and private outdoor space on many homes — a profile that differentiates a listing from the larger, more anonymous towers nearby. Closing mechanics run through a right-of-first-refusal rather than a co-op board process. With turnover light and the unit count low, a well-positioned terraced or high-floor home benefits from scarcity within the building; pricing belongs against the boutique full-service condominium set in Midtown East and Sutton Place.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering Sutton 57, also evaluate nearby Midtown East and Sutton Place condominium inventory:

More Midtown East buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Midtown East — read The Roebling Team Guide to Midtown East.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Sutton 57?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com