- Year built
- 1983
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 25
- Floors
- 9
- Subletting
- Permitted under the condominium declaration
- Pied-à-terre
- Generally allowed in condominiums; not confirmed for this building
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Doorman
- Requires confirmation
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2025
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2024
- $974
- floor-adjusted, 3 sales
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded sales
- 31
- On record
- 2003–2025
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 250 East 31st Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
250 East 31st Street is a small, well-maintained boutique condominium built in 1983 on a quiet Kips Bay side street. With 25 residences across roughly nine stories, it sits at the intimate end of the neighborhood's condominium spectrum — a low-rise, low-density building for buyers who prefer the scale and privacy of a small house to the breadth of services in a full-amenity tower.
The building's appeal is precisely its modesty. Kips Bay is one of central Manhattan's most practical residential neighborhoods — calm, residential, well-served by transit, and anchored by the NYU Langone and Bellevue medical corridor — and 250 East 31st Street offers ownership there in a building small enough that residents know it well. Compare actual common charges, taxes and assessments with similar apartments in full-service towers; boutique scale and limited amenities do not establish lower costs.
This is a neighborhood condominium, not a trophy address. It serves buyers who want the flexibility of condominium ownership and a quiet, human-scaled building in a convenient location; assess its actual transfer history separately from those features.
Architecture and unit composition
250 East 31st Street presents as an intimate red-brick building, lower-rise and smaller in scale than the full-service towers nearby. The 25-unit count and roughly nine-story height keep density low, and the building includes penthouse units at the top. Inspect actual sound transmission and street and mechanical noise in the specific apartment; scale does not establish quiet.
Reliable interior area can support price-per-square-foot comparisons alongside room count and layout; condominium ownership does not require one valuation measure. Floor, exposure, outdoor space (where present), and renovation condition are the dominant variables, with the penthouse units occupying the top of the building's price band. Buyers should evaluate the specific line in person, as a small building of this kind has meaningful variation between apartments.
Building operations
250 East 31st Street operates as a boutique, self-managed-style condominium with a live-in superintendent. The building emphasizes security and maintenance over a broad amenity package: an elevator, a virtual/smart intercom system, and key-fob access are on the published list, with the live-in super providing day-to-day building care. There is no doorman or fitness center; buyers who require those should compare the service package, current charges and actual apartment privacy with alternatives.
Governance is by a condominium board. Condominium ownership carries the flexibility characteristic of the form: pied-à-terre use, investment ownership, and subletting are permitted under the declaration, pets are permitted, and resales are not subject to cooperative-style board approval. Any right-of-first-refusal mechanics and renovation rules should be reviewed against the current bylaws and house rules. In a small building, review the common-charge structure and reserve status carefully, since a limited unit count means fewer owners to share major capital costs.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount Amount equal to two (2) times the common charges assessed against the unit for the month in which the conveyance closes | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Rental or lease
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedNo pets for renters. Pets approved for Owners with Board Approval.Source: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $588 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $0.80 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $1.66 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Roof deckSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $18,239/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $61
- Modeled exposure split equally across 25 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- Buyer transfer fee equal to two (2) times the unit's monthly common charges
- Policies and fees
- Application processing $500; credit check $100/applicant; move-in/out deposit $400 each
Recent sales
250 East 31st Street is a small Kips Bay condominium with recorded closings, including penthouse sales. Use reliable interior area, room count and layout to compare apartments. Check the available dated in-building sales and supplement them with matched Kips Bay boutique-condominium sales where needed; size does not establish turnover.
The building's pricing argument is boutique scale and value: a quiet, low-density condominium in a convenient central location; compare its current carrying costs with similarly sized full-service apartments. The penthouse units and any apartments with outdoor space anchor the top of the range. Check the available dated in-building sales and supplement with matched nearby boutique condominium sales when needed. Verify the most recent closings against NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers and exclude any non-arms-length transfers.
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 11, 2024 | 9C | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,290 sf | $967,450 | $750/sf | -12.0% |
| Nov 5, 2024 | 6B | 868 sf | $830,000 | $956/sf | — |
| Jul 12, 2024 | 3B | 2 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,000 sf | $1,100,000 | $1,100/sf | +0.0% |
| Sep 11, 2023 | 7A | 2 BR · 1.5 BA · 873 sf | $1,025,000 | $1,174/sf | -6.7% |
| Jan 3, 2022 | 7C | 1 BR · 1 BA · 750 sf | $805,000 | $1,073/sf | +0.0% |
| Jun 29, 2020 | PH9A | 2 BR · 1,084 sf | $1,260,000 | $1,162/sf | +0.0% |
| Jul 12, 2018 | 9A | 1,084 sf | $915,000 | $844/sf | — |
| Nov 8, 2012 | 4B | 2 BR · 868 sf | $885,000 | $1,020/sf | — |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2024): a median $974/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2025. Median listing discount 0.0% from the last ask.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00911-7502; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 250 East 31st Street and nearby.
Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 250 East 31st Street and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 250 East 31st Street. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Condo flexibility is real. No board approval to purchase; pied-à-terre, investment use, and subletting are permitted under the declaration. Confirm the specifics at offer stage.
It is a boutique building — set expectations. The building has no doorman or full amenity package. Review the actual common charges, assessments and apartment privacy before weighing the service trade.
Reserve depth matters in a small building. With only 25 owners, major capital projects spread across fewer units. Review the common-charge structure and reserve status closely.
Penthouse and outdoor-space units are distinct products. They anchor the top of the building's price band; evaluate them on their own terms.
Run the mansion-tax math. Where pricing reaches $1M, the cliff thresholds apply — model them.
What to know if you’re selling
Tell the boutique story. Describe the scale and current carrying costs and, where applicable, penthouse position or outdoor space.
Price against the right set. With sparse in-building comps, defensible pricing relies on a carefully chosen group of nearby boutique-condo sales.
Closing is condo-fast. Resales are not subject to board approval; expect a 30–45 day path from contract to closing.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 250 East 31st Street, also evaluate:
- 250 East 30th Street (The Sycamore) — full-service Kips Bay condominium directly nearby
- 45 East 22nd Street — Gramercy / Flatiron condominium nearby
- 111 Fourth Avenue — nearby Gramercy-area cooperative
- 300 East 40th Street — Murray Hill / Tudor City-area condominium
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 250 East 31st Street?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com