- Year built
- 1936
- Type
- Six-story prewar elevator apartment building with ground-floor retail
- Units
- 88
- Floors
- 6
- Amenities
- Two elevators; central laundry room; live-in superintendent; bicycle and general storage per listing records
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Doorman
- No doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2024–2026
- $448K
- 3 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $220K – $579K
- Listing discount
- 2.1%
- Recorded transfers
- 70
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Plymouth Hall would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Plymouth Hall is the only ownership building on its block. Every other apartment house within sight of its front door — the six-story buildings at 43-06 45th Street (82 apartments, 1928) and 43-22 45th Street (70 apartments, 1928), the 67-unit 43-05 44th Street around the corner, the 1931 walk-ups on 44th Street — carries a conventional apartment-building tax class in city records, not a cooperative or condominium one. On a block of 1928-to-1931 Sunnyside rental stock, this 1936 building is the one you can buy into. That scarcity, not the architecture, is the first thing to understand about it.
The second is the structure, and it is not what a Sunnyside buyer expects. In May 1991 the property was divided into a condominium of two units: the cooperative corporation took the residential unit — all 88 apartments — and a separate commercial unit was carved out for the ground-floor storefront space. Apartments have traded ever since as shares in the corporation, recorded against a single unit lot as transfer-tax filings rather than deeds, which is why a title search here returns almost no apartment deeds and why aggregator sources sometimes mislabel the building a condominium.
The consequence worth money is what happened next. In January 1996 the cooperative corporation conveyed the commercial unit away to a private limited-liability company. The storefront rent at the base of this building does not offset maintenance. In a Sunnyside co-op with retail frontage the near-universal assumption is that the commercial rent roll subsidises the residential budget; here it was sold off thirty years ago. That changes how the operating budget should be read, and it is disclosed nowhere a buyer would ordinarily look.
There is some ancillary income. DOB filings record a rooftop telecommunications installation in 2019, modified in 2022, and a second carrier's rooftop site decommissioned in 2022. Antenna licences are a durable revenue line for a building this size, and also a roof-access and liability question. Ask what the current licence pays and when it expires.
Architecture and unit composition
A single six-story brick mass on a 14,505-square-foot lot, built in 1936 at the end of Sunnyside's prewar apartment-building cycle, with commercial frontage at the base and residential floors above. PLUTO records roughly 47,450 square feet of residential floor area across the 88 apartments. Dividing aggregate residential area by the unit count does not establish interior apartment sizes, bedroom mix or resale liquidity; use individual plans and dated sales for those questions.
One documented conflict is worth flagging: the Department of Finance carries a gross floor area of 81,570 square feet for the lot in the city's energy file, against PLUTO's 51,600. Local Law 97 emissions caps are calculated per square foot, so the two figures produce materially different compliance math. Resolve which is right from the building's own benchmarking submission before modelling any carbon-penalty exposure.
Building operations
A single-building, live-in-superintendent operation with two elevators and a central laundry room — no doorman, which is the main reason the maintenance line here is competitive against the doorman stock on Queens Boulevard. Two capital items are live right now and should govern any offer.
The façade. DOB records show an exterior repair application filed in September 2025 covering brick repointing and damaged lintel replacement, a heavy-duty sidewalk shed filed in May 2026, and pipe scaffold filed in June 2026 — an exterior repair program. The six-story count alone does not establish a FISP filing obligation; confirm DOB's building classification and any required filing. Ask for the engineer's report, the contract sum, the shed rental, and whether the work is funded from reserves, from an assessment, or from a new draw on the underlying mortgage.
Energy. The building carries a D grade with an ENERGY STAR score of 46 under Local Law 33. That grade is an energy-efficiency rating, not a Local Law 97 result (and an F on a neighbouring building means benchmarking was not filed, not a worse rating). Whether the building clears LL97's limits, which step down in 2030, depends on its reported emissions, fuel and floor area: ask for its LL97 report and what the board has scoped and budgeted; a façade cycle and a decarbonisation cycle landing within five years of each other is the standard way a modest co-op ends up with a large assessment.
The sources reviewed for this profile do not establish the current reserve balance, assessment history or underlying-mortgage maturity. Request the audited financial statements before an offer, not after.
Policy framework
Pets are reported as permitted, and pied-à-terre use, co-purchasing and gifting as allowed, in listing and brokerage records. If accurate, that is a genuine part of the value here; confirm co-purchasing and gifting terms with the managing agent.
Subletting is reported as permitted after two years of ownership with board approval. The duration cap, renewal rules and sublet fee are not documented, and those three decide whether an apartment has any exit other than resale.
Flip tax, minimum down payment, financing ceiling and post-closing liquidity requirements are not documented in any source on file. All four are deal-determining. Get them in writing from the managing agent before you write an offer, and treat the permissive policies above as unverified until the same source confirms them.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- Not verified
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $225 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $0.91 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- No doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- Per unit / month range
- —
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Recent sales
Compare individual apartments by layout, verified size, floor, exposure, condition and monthly maintenance. Room counts can help match layouts, and price per square foot is useful when the measurements are reliable; cooperative ownership alone does not determine the valuation metric or the availability of offering-plan dimensions.
The recorded transfer history on the residential unit lot runs back to the early 2000s and is steady: at 88 apartments the corporation turns over enough each year to produce a usable same-line comparable set, which the smaller Sunnyside walk-up corporations cannot. Recorded consideration on individual share transfers has clustered predominantly in the low $200,000s to low $500,000s, with the upper part of that band reached in the last three years. A small number of larger recorded figures sit well outside the cluster; those should not be treated as single-apartment comparables without pulling the underlying instrument, because transfer-tax filings against a single unit lot capture multi-unit and non-arm's-length transactions as readily as ordinary sales. Market statements here are indexed to the last complete year.
Three variables drive the internal spread: floor and exposure; renovation state, where original kitchens and baths trade at a clear discount; and the all-in monthly read net of the city's cooperative and condominium tax abatement.
Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 4, 2026 | 4H | 1 BR · 1 BA · 800 sf | $449,568 | $562/sf | -2.1% |
| Aug 3, 2026 | 5B | 1 BA · 350 sf | $220,000 | $629/sf | -7.9% |
| Oct 16, 2025 | 4O | 1 BR · 1 BA · 850 sf | $448,115 | $527/sf | -2.4% |
| Sep 25, 2025 | 3J | 2 BR · 1 BA · 950 sf | $579,000 | $609/sf | +0.0% |
| Dec 16, 2024 | 3N | 1 BR | $347,415 | -0.5% | |
| May 19, 2023 | 5B | 1 BA · 290 sf | $184,000 | $634/sf | -11.5% |
| Nov 30, 2022 | 4 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $350,000 | +9.4% | |
| Nov 22, 2022 | 3O | 1 BR · 1 BA · 720 sf | $380,000 | $528/sf | +5.6% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $596/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 0.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 4-00161-7501). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at Plymouth Hall, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 3 | $2,495 |
3 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease July 2025. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Plymouth Hall and nearby.
What to know at Plymouth Hall
Confirm the structure in writing. A cond-op is not a co-op with a nickname. The condominium declaration, the proprietary lease and the by-laws all govern, and they were drafted in 1991 for a building whose commercial unit the corporation no longer owns.
Ask what the commercial unit's separation costs the budget. The storefront income is gone; find out what replaced it.
Underwrite the façade cycle. Records show a shed and scaffold; confirm whether they are still up, and get the engineer's report and the funding plan.
Verify the permissive policies. Pets, pied-à-terre, gifting and co-purchase are reported, not documented. If they hold, they are a real marketing asset; if they do not, the buyer pool is narrower than the listing implies.
Comparable buildings
- 43-06 45th Street — 82 apartments, 1928, six stories, same block; conventional apartment class in city records, not an ownership building
- 43-22 45th Street — 70 apartments, 1928, same block, and the F energy grade against this building's D
- 43-30 46th Street — a 1930 prewar Sunnyside building held in condominium form, 93 residential units; the structural alternative two blocks east
- 43-33 46th Street — 175-unit 1932 cooperative; the larger prewar Sunnyside corporation with a deeper comparable set
- 41-15 45th Street — 320-unit 1943 cooperative, the largest on the street and a different operating scale entirely
- 45-08 40th Street — 113-unit 1922 walk-up cooperative; the lower-carrying-cost, no-elevator alternative
- 73-12 35th Avenue (Washington Plaza) — the large Jackson Heights cooperative, for a sense of how scale changes the budget
- 107-40 Queens Boulevard (Lane Towers) — the Forest Hills cond-op; the closest structural analogue we publish
More Sunnyside buildings
- 47-20 42nd Street — 1938 co-op
- 47-55 39th Place — 1939 condominium
- 49-07 43rd Avenue — 2005 condominium
- 50-15 39th Street — 1960 co-op
- Sunny View Condominium, 45-29 47th Street — 2025 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sunnyside.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Plymouth Hall?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com