Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1955
Sutton Manor
440 East 56th Street, New York, NY 10022
Buildings·Sutton Place·Cooperative

Sutton Manor

440 East 56th Street, New York, NY 10022

Sutton Place

BBL 1013670031 · BIN 1040464

CorridorSutton Place
At a glance
Year built
1955
Type
Cooperative
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Dogs
Permitted
Cats
Not stated
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Sutton Manor sales history: 79 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Sutton Manor?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$678
floor-adjusted, 2 sales
Listing discount
2.3%
Recorded sales
79
On record
2003–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Sutton Manor would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

440 East 56th Street is the eastern half of Sutton Manor, the 1955 cooperative that spans two adjoining buildings — 430 and 440 — on one of Sutton Place's quietest residential blocks, the tree-lined stretch between First Avenue and Sutton Place that runs down toward the East River. Operated as a single cooperative, Sutton Manor pairs the dependable, full-service character of a well-run post-war building with a setting that buys what Sutton is prized for: calm, privacy, and the river at the end of the block.

What makes 440 worth knowing is the same thing that distinguishes its companion building: accommodating board policies layered onto genuine full-service living. The cooperative is pet-friendly, welcomes pied-à-terre owners, permits 70% financing, and allows subletting after two years — terms to confirm in the current house rules and application instructions — while still delivering full-time staffing, two landscaped gardens, and a roof terrace. Its studio-through-two-bedroom mix keeps it among the more accessible buildings in a premium neighborhood.

For buyers who want Sutton's quiet and a full staff, 440 East 56th Street is a practical, well-located choice; confirm its current financing and occupancy requirements in the application instructions.

Architecture and unit composition

440 East 56th Street is a thirteen-story post-war apartment house in brown brick, with the same stepped façade and columns of angled corner-bay windows that characterize Sutton Manor — a design that gives the apartments extra light and angled views while lending the block a quiet, well-kept presence. Generous sidewalk landscaping continues across the building's frontage, a hallmark of the cooperative's careful upkeep.

The roughly 82 residences run from studios through two-bedrooms, with the efficient, flexible floor plans of a mid-1950s building. The corner bays are functional as well as decorative, drawing in light and angled exposures. As in most post-war buildings, the homes vary line by line; the higher floors and the lines oriented toward the river hold the best light and the open views toward the East River and the Esplanade. The smaller homes make the building an accessible entry point into Sutton, while the two-bedrooms suit buyers wanting more room in the same calm setting.

Building operations

440 East 56th Street runs as a full-service cooperative within the larger Sutton Manor operation. A full-time doorman attends the lobby and a live-in resident manager oversees the building, supported by bicycle storage, optional private storage, and a central laundry. Shareholders share Sutton Manor's two private landscaped gardens and roof terrace — a real abundance of outdoor space for a post-war Sutton building, and one of its strongest draws.

The building is pet-friendly; pied-à-terre ownership is permitted; subletting is allowed after two years of ownership; and financing is permitted up to 70% of the purchase price. A 1.5% flip tax is payable by the seller at closing. Confirm the current terms in the house rules and application instructions.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsAfter 2 yrs of ownershipSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Wait before a sublet
2 yearsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Dogs
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Cats
Not statedThe source permits pets without naming cats.Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$763 per room a monthMedian of 11 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.45 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Roof deck, garden, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$68,670/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $70
Modeled exposure split equally across 82 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$2,750 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Aug 28, 20262B
1 BR · 1 BA
$675,000+0.0%
May 7, 20268C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,250,000+0.0%
May 1, 20261G
1 BR · 1 BA
$1,115,000-9.0%
Mar 20, 20266B
1 BR · 1 BA · 900 sf
$650,000$722/sf-3.7%
Feb 26, 20266FGH
4 BR · 3 BA · 2,400 sf
$2,035,000$848/sf-4.7%
Jan 14, 20256FG
3 BR · 3 BA · 2,400 sf
$1,950,000$813/sf-11.2%
Sep 17, 202412F
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,400 sf
$1,560,000$1,114/sf+4.3%
Aug 19, 20244D
1 BA
$405,000-2.4%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $678/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

11A+97%
$180,000 2004 → $355,000 2021
9G+72%
$698,000 2003 → $1,200,000 2007
8C+67%
$749,000 2003 → $1,352,500 2018 → $1,170,000 2024 → $1,250,000 2026
1B · 950 sf+43%
$669,000 2013 → $960,000 ($1,011/sf) 2021
9C · 1,267 sf+41%
$851,000 ($672/sf) 2004 → $1,200,000 ($947/sf) 2007

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Oct 18, 20248C$1,170,000
Oct 15, 20037C$995,000
View all 79 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01367-0031). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Sutton Manor and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.18M (6 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $24,809 to close, or 2.1% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $11,825
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,984

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Sutton Manor and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Sutton Manor. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

This is a full-service cooperative with 70% financing and pets and pied-à-terre owners permitted — helpful if you have a dog, keep a primary home elsewhere, or need conventional financing. Plan for a board package and interview, confirm the current terms in the application instructions, and distinguish the two-year ownership waiting period from the permitted rental duration and approval requirements.

Buy for the light, the gardens, and the value. The angled corner bays, the two shared gardens, and the roof terrace are genuine differentiators, and the higher and river-facing lines hold the best light and views. The studio-through-two-bedroom mix makes the building an accessible way into Sutton; review the cooperative's financials and any planned capital work as part of your diligence, and weigh the value of a well-run, full-service post-war building against pricier pre-war or new alternatives.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the building's terms and the outdoor amenities. A pet-friendly, full-service Sutton cooperative with two gardens, a roof terrace, 70% financing, and pied-à-terre ownership permitted is worth making central to the marketing — confirm the current policies with the managing agent first.

Price against the post-war full-service cooperatives of Sutton and Beekman, and market higher-floor, corner-bay, and river-facing homes on their light and views. For the smaller homes, emphasize the building's role as an accessible, well-run entry into a premium neighborhood — a story that resonates with first-time Sutton buyers and pied-à-terre owners alike.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 440 East 56th Street, also evaluate nearby Sutton and Beekman cooperatives:

More Sutton Place buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Sutton Manor?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com