45 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point South)
45 Sutton Place South, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013710014 · BIN 1040721
- Year built
- 1958
- Type
- Cooperative
- Floors
- 20
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Dogs
- Not permitted
- Cats
- Permitted
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Flip tax
- 2% of the sale price, paid by the buyer.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $897
- floor-adjusted, 11 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.4%
- Recorded sales
- 267
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Cannon Point South would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Cannon Point South is the southern half of a near-identical Resnick/Green pair with Cannon Point North (25 Sutton Place South, 1959). Its signature gesture is the cantilever over the FDR Drive, which gives most apartments unobstructed East River exposures running south toward the United Nations and Queensboro Bridge. For all its size, the building cultivates a boutique-of-the-postwar-large-buildings shareholder community — 277-278 units with white-glove staffing calibrated to that scale. The address carries a deep Cannon Point name and shot-tower site provenance as well: the "Cannon Point" name traces to fortifications erected on the site to ward off Manhattan's invasion, and the site held a shot tower until 1921, per the building's original marketing brochure.
A famous photograph of a high-floor resident fishing out his window into the East River below remains the building's enduring image.
Architecture and building operations
The white-brick facades have large windows and slightly modulated fronts. The cantilever over the FDR Drive gives most apartments unobstructed river exposures south toward the United Nations and Queensboro Bridge.
Operations: white-glove full service. 24-hour doorman and concierge; live-in resident manager; attended garage; package room; large fitness center; landscaped roof deck with seating; central laundry. Maintenance reportedly includes electric and gas.
Policy framework
- Type: Cooperative — board interview required
- Pets: Cats allowed; dogs not permitted
- Pied-à-terre: Permitted with board approval
- Financing maximum: 50%
- Flip tax: 2%, buyer-paid
- Washer/dryer: Permitted with board approval
- Subletting: Standard prewar coop board-interview discretion
- Trust, LLC, foreign buyers: Standard prewar pattern; verify in offering plan
- Post-closing liquidity: Standard Sutton Place reserves customary
- Board interview: Required
The dogs-not-permitted policy is structurally distinguishing — significant for buyer screening.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of purchase price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeeConditional · Per shareConditions: If Sale by an Estate or Trust | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsCase by case, board discretionSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Cats
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $652 per room a monthMedian of 56 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.19 per square foot a monthMedian of 35 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Package room
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, roof deck, garage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $103,169/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $31
- Modeled exposure split equally across 278 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of purchase price, paid by Buyer
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 9, 2026 | 11K | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,550 sf | $1,520,000 | $981/sf | -17.8% |
| Aug 18, 2026 | PHI | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,140,000 | -2.7% | |
| Jul 21, 2026 | 3FG | 4 BR · 3.5 BA · 3,100 sf | $2,500,000 | $806/sf | -10.6% |
| Jun 29, 2026 | 7C | 2 BR | $975,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jun 24, 2026 | 8L | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,595,000 | -6.2% | |
| Jun 17, 2026 | 16 | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $875,000 | -2.2% | |
| Jun 4, 2026 | 16B | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,891 sf | $975,000 | $516/sf | -2.0% |
| May 21, 2026 | 17F | 4 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,229 sf | $2,100,000 | $942/sf | -8.7% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $897/sf (floor-adjusted) across 11 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 24, 2008 | 19H | $1,295,000 |
| Oct 15, 2003 | 6G | $550,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01371-0014). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Cannon Point South and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.14M (36 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 19, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $24,191 to close, or 2.1% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $11,375
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $12,816
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Cannon Point South and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Cannon Point South. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The cantilever over the FDR Drive is structurally distinguishing. Most apartments carry unobstructed East River exposures.
The dogs-not-permitted policy is a significant buyer-screening fact. Cats allowed.
The 50% financing maximum and 2% buyer-paid flip tax are operational realities.
The 277-278-unit shareholder community supports comprehensive amenity infrastructure.
The Macy's July 4th fireworks display is the building's most-cited annual event — front-row river exposure.
Comparable buildings
- 25 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point North) — Resnick & Green 1959 twin sister building
- 1 Sutton Place South — Cross & Cross 1927 / Candela trophy peer
- 2 Sutton Place South — Emery Roth & Sons 1938; nearby Sutton Place peer
- 400 East 56th Street (Plaza 400) — Birnbaum 1968; nearby Sutton Place peer
- 870 United Nations Plaza — Harrison & Abramovitz 1966; nearby UN Plaza peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Sutton Place buildings
- 35 Sutton Place — 1961 co-op
- 36 Sutton Place South — 1949 co-op by Boak & Paris
- 40 Sutton Place — 1966 condominium
- 50 Sutton Place South — 1955 co-op
- 60 Sutton Place South — 1951 co-op
- One Beacon Court (151 East 58th Street) — 2005 condominium by Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Cannon Point South?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com