
Plaza 400
400 East 56th Street, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013670001 · BIN 1040460
- Year built
- 1968
- Type
- Cooperative
- Floors
- 41
- Land
- Owned by the building's owners
- building documents (offering plan, 1980)
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 70% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 1997–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $843
- floor-adjusted, 15 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.2%
- Recorded sales
- 628
- On record
- 1997–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Plaza 400 would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Plaza 400 sits at the dense northern edge of the Sutton Place corridor, on the south side of East 56th Street between First Avenue and Sutton Place — the seam between Sutton Place's prewar Gold-Coast residential character and the Midtown East infrastructure that defines East 56th Street west of Sutton.
Three structural features distinguish the building in the Sutton Place cooperative cohort.
The first is the supplemental-income financial profile. Plaza 400 owns its ground-floor commercial spaces directly — leasing them as the cooperative rather than selling them as a separate condominium component. The arrangement generates over $3 million in commercial income annually, fully leased without vacancy at most recent reporting. That income stream materially offsets the operating budget and supports a maintenance posture that has historically run lower per square foot than many comparable Sutton Place and Midtown East cooperatives of similar scale.
The second is the full-service operational standard. 24-hour doorman, 24-hour security, concierge, assistant super, on-site garage, central laundry, fitness center, central HVAC, children's playroom, rooftop pool and deck with unobstructed Midtown skyline views, and the 41st-floor Skytop Lounge — together a substantively-staffed amenity stack of the kind buyers historically associate with the larger condominium new-construction tier rather than the Sutton Place post-war co-op cohort.
The third is the buyer-flexibility policy posture. Plaza 400 permits pied-à-terre purchases, secondary-residence ownership, co-purchasing, parental purchases for adult or student children, and subletting (with a 3-year residency requirement, board approval, and a 15% sublet fee). The framework reads as more permissive than the strict primary-residence postures that define many of the Sutton Place pre-war buildings — which materially widens the qualified-buyer pool at every price point. The combination of buyer flexibility AND the full-service amenity stack is the structural argument the building makes against its peer set.
For buyers, Plaza 400 represents the upper-amenity tier of the Sutton Place full-service cooperative cohort — full-service operational standard, meaningful institutional financials, a permissive buyer-eligibility framework, and a maintenance posture supported by substantial commercial-income offset.
Building operations
The cooperative is operated by Plaza 400 Owners Corp. under a full-service staffing model. 24-hour doormen and 24-hour security, supported by a concierge and assistant superintendent, define the visitor experience. The on-site garage is managed separately by Garage Management Corporation (GMC) under a parking-rental contract that residents and tenants enter into directly with GMC at approximately $535.50 per month for current rate-period subscribers.
Central laundry, central HVAC, and the full amenity program (fitness center, rooftop pool and deck, children's playroom, 41st-floor Skytop Lounge) sit within the building envelope. In-unit washer/dryer installation is not permitted, which is consistent with the building's centralized utility design and broader full-service post-war NYC cooperative convention.
The cooperative's policy framework — flip tax, financing limits, subletting mechanics, buyer-eligibility rules — should be verified against the cooperative's current Buyer Policies and Financial Overview document at every offer stage. The summary above reflects the cooperative's most recent published policy package.
Architecture and apartment composition
Plaza 400 is a 41-story post-war cooperative completed in the late 1960s. The architectural register is workmanlike mid-century — brick massing, a setback profile, and the canopied driveway-entrance configuration that defines the building's East 56th Street arrival sequence. The architectural argument is not the facade; it is the vertical-plant program the 41-story scale enables: a rooftop pool with skyline views, the 41st-floor Skytop Lounge, the children's playroom, and the full-service on-site garage all woven into the same operational envelope.
Apartments at Plaza 400 range from studios through three- and four-bedroom configurations, with the higher floors carrying the building's premium pricing. Apartment-line variation is meaningful — exposures range north, south, east, and west across the floor plate, and the East River views available from the upper-floor east-line apartments are among the building's most consequential apartment-level features.
Financial profile
As of the most recent reporting period (December 31, 2023), Plaza 400 Owners Corp. reported:
- Reserves: $9,964,644 — a substantively-funded reserve position consistent with the building's scale and the institutional financial posture the cooperative maintains
- Commercial income: over $3 million annually — generated from the cooperative-owned ground-floor commercial spaces, leased directly to retail tenants and fully occupied at most recent reporting
- Maintenance trajectory: 2.5% increase into 2024; 3.5% increase into 2025 — reflecting inflation and the operating-cost pressure consistent with comparable full-service Manhattan cooperatives of similar vintage
The combination of substantial commercial-income offset and the substantively-funded reserve produces a per-share maintenance posture that has historically read favorably against the Sutton Place full-service-cooperative peer cohort.
Capital projects
Plaza 400 has completed a substantial capital-improvement cycle across the 2023–2024 window, with one substantial project actively underway through Spring 2025:
Completed (2023):
- Garage restoration — completed in compliance with Local Law 126 (which mandates parking-garage inspections and structural upkeep across NYC garage inventory)
- Landscape upgrades — completed 2023
- Exterior restoration — completed 2023
- Sidewalk replacement — completed 2023
Active:
- 41st-floor renovation — work commenced December 9, 2024, targeted completion May 2025. The project scope includes the Skytop Lounge, kitchen, children's room, hallways, and restrooms. The entire 41st floor is closed during the renovation window; the rest of the building remains in normal operation.
Buyers evaluating Plaza 400 should expect the 41st-floor amenity program to be fully renovated and operational by mid-2025, with the broader exterior-and-infrastructure work completed across the prior 18 months.
Policies summary
For convenience — the cooperative's current published policy framework:
- Pied-à-terre purchases: Permitted
- Secondary residence: Permitted
- Co-purchasing: Permitted
- Parents buying for adult or student children: Permitted, with the introduction letter + application Parts A and B + (2) business + (2) personal references + board interview process
- Pets: Permitted (cats, fish, hamsters, dogs) with registration and rules
- Subletting: Permitted (12-month terms, max 3 years over 5 years, 3-year residency requirement, 15% maintenance sublet fee, board approval)
- Guarantors: Permitted (with forms)
- Corporate purchases/leases: Not permitted
- Diplomat purchases/leases: Not permitted
- Short-term rentals / Airbnb: Not permitted
- In-unit washer/dryer: Not permitted
- Maximum financing: 70%
- Flip tax / transfer fee: 2% of gross sale price, buyer-paid
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 2% of the purchase price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
13 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Additional Legal Fees | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount TBD. Can be paid by Shareholder or Buyer. | Refundable Not stated |
| Alteration FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 per room, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Alteration FeeConditionalStructional Renovations Only | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 per room, $150 per shutdown for water shutdowns due to renovations. If applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Trust Application FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount Typically $750. May be higher per Co-op Attorney. Can be paid by either Buyer/Shareholder. If applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Trust Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Administrative Closing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $2700 (1.5x for double apartments) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $250 to $750. Depends on the type of finance, if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer StampsPer share | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.5 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security DepositConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $2500 to $10000 if applicable | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $700 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $250 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 15% of maintenance billed monthly through sublet term | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurring | Paid by Subtenant | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 15% of maintenance billed monthly through sublet term | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 to $750, depending on type of financing | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Administrative Closing FeeConditionalEstate Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $2700 if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out FeeConditionalEstate Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $700 if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New/Lost Stock & Lease Fee/Estate TransferPer share | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $600 plus Transfer Stamps at $0.05 per share | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer StampsConditional · Per shareEstate Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.5 per share, if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 70% of the purchase price70% of the lesser of purchase price or appraised value.Rests on the building's application, which is undated; confirm the current rule with management.Source: building documents (application, undated)
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsBoard approval; 12-month terms, renewable to a maximum of three years within a consecutive five-year period; shareholder must have been a resident for at least three years; maintenance current; sublet fee 15% of maintenance, billed monthlySource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Wait before a sublet
- 3 yearsThree years' residency at the time of the sublet applicationSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedNo sublets without Lessor approval; the building is registered as a Prohibited Building under Local Law 18.Rests on the building's house rules, which is undated; confirm the current rule with management.Source: building documents (house rules, undated)
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedRefer to house rules in proprietary leaseSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $633 per room a monthMedian of 79 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.28 per square foot a monthMedian of 51 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, pool, residents' lounge, playroom, garage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $385,916/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $51
- Modeled exposure split equally across 629 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Inside Plaza 400










Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 29, 2026 | 11N | 3 BR · 3 BA | $1,565,000 | -1.9% | |
| Sep 18, 2026 | 39F | 1 BR · 1.5 BA · 993 sf | $885,000 | $891/sf | -6.8% |
| Sep 14, 2026 | 20L | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,455,000 | -2.7% | |
| Sep 11, 2026 | 11O | 1 BR · 1.5 BA · 917 sf | $876,150 | $955/sf | -7.7% |
| Sep 10, 2026 | 35S | 1 BR · 1 BA · 775 sf | $695,000 | $897/sf | -4.1% |
| Aug 12, 2026 | 26L | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,416 sf | $1,400,000 | $989/sf | -8.2% |
| Aug 11, 2026 | 35M | 1 BA · 685 sf | $505,000 | $737/sf | -3.8% |
| Aug 6, 2026 | 25K | 1 BR · 1 BA · 687 sf | $560,000 | $815/sf | -6.5% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $843/sf (floor-adjusted) across 15 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01367-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Plaza 400 and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $815K (51 transfers since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,606 to close, or 1.4% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,606
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Plaza 400 and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Plaza 400. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Comparable buildings
Plaza 400 sits within the Sutton Place full-service cooperative cohort — the post-war buildings on the east side of the avenue grid that combine substantial scale, full amenity programs, and the river-proximate sub-neighborhood character. For buyers evaluating Plaza 400 against alternative inventory, the most directly comparable buildings include:
- 1 Sutton Place South — Sutton Place's prewar Gold-Coast trophy address; a different stylistic register at substantially higher pricing
- 25 Sutton Place South — Prewar Sutton Place full-service co-op; classical-prewar reference point
- 430 East 58th Street (Sutton Tower) — Recent new-construction condominium on the corridor; different ownership structure and amenity tier at substantially higher pricing
- 50 Central Park South — Central Park South full-service tier comparable for buyers cross-shopping the broader Midtown / Park-perimeter inventory
For broader Sutton Place corridor context, see the Sutton Place corridor guide.
More Sutton Place buildings
- 351 East 57th Street — co-op
- 400 East 51st Street (The Grand Beekman) — 2003 condominium by Costas Kondylis & Partners
- 400 East 54th Street (The Revere) — 1970 condominium by H.I. Feldman
- 410 East 57th Street — 1929 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- Southgate, 410 East 52nd Street — 1931 co-op by Emery Roth
- 411 East 57th Street — 1959 co-op by SLCE Architects
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Plaza 400?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com