75 Henry Street (Whitman Close)
75 Henry Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn
BBL 3002170001 · BIN 3326019
- Year built
- 1967
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 341
- Floors
- 33
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Requires confirmation
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Dogs
- Not permitted
- Cats
- Not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Flip tax
- 10% of sale price on first transfer of shares after the 2002 reconstitution; 2% on each subsequent transfer
- Subletting
- Requires confirmation
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026-08). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2002–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2025
- $798K
- 18 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $500K – $2.4M
- Listing discount
- 1.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 343
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Whitman Close would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
75 Henry Street is the largest cooperative in Brooklyn Heights, and its history compresses the whole postwar argument about what the neighborhood should be. The superblock it occupies was created by the Cadman Plaza urban-renewal program — Robert Moses's plan to clear the blocks between the Heights and the civic center, which the neighborhood's civic groups fought through the late 1950s until the City approved a compromise scheme in 1961 mixing high-rise towers with low-rise townhouses. Whitman Close was the result on this block: a 33-story tower over landscaped grounds, rows of townhouse apartments, and the Pineapple Walk pedestrian retail strip, completed in 1967 under the Mitchell-Lama middle-income program. The development takes its name from Walt Whitman, and the connection is specific to the ground it stands on — the Rome Brothers print shop, where Whitman set type for the first edition of Leaves of Grass in 1855, stood within the renewal site.
The original marketing brochure, preserved in Columbia's Avery Library, credits the design to Morris Lapidus Associates — a genuine curiosity of the Brooklyn skyline, since Lapidus's fame rests on the curvaceous Miami Beach resort hotels of the 1950s. At Cadman Plaza his firm worked in the sober register of publicly financed housing: an exposed-frame tower with generous light and air, set back from the street in the tower-in-the-park planning idiom the historic district next door was created to prevent. The juxtaposition still defines the address — from the tower's upper floors the entire protected low-rise Heights spreads out below, with the harbor, the Brooklyn Bridge, and lower Manhattan beyond, a view envelope that almost nothing inside the historic district can offer, though views depend on floor and exposure and none is protected without a recorded instrument.
The building's second defining event was economic. In 2002 the shareholders reconstituted Whitman Owner Corporation out of the Mitchell-Lama program — an early and consequential privatization among Brooklyn's middle-income cooperatives. Reconstitution converted decades of below-market equity into market-rate shares, and it left a policy signature that governs every trade in the building today: a transfer fee of 10 percent of the sale price on the first post-reconstitution transfer of each apartment, stepping down to 2 percent on subsequent transfers. The structure was designed to recapture windfall gains for the corporation as original Mitchell-Lama-era shareholders sold, and it has worked as designed — the cooperative's audited statements show transfer fees contributing hundreds of thousands of dollars to revenue in a typical year.
The third thing every buyer and seller should understand is that Whitman Owner Corporation is a landlord as well as a housing corporation. The cooperative owns the Pineapple Walk retail strip — the diner, grocery, and neighborhood stores that serve the north Heights — and a three-level underground garage, and that commercial income (approaching $2 million in recent audited years) subsidizes maintenance in a way few Heights cooperatives can match. The strip's value has also been tested: in late 2015 a developer offered in excess of $75 million for the Pineapple Walk parcel, proposing a 40-story tower, with direct payments to shareholders that would have run from roughly $120,000 for studio owners upward. On January 15, 2016, shareholders voted the sale down — a decision consistent with the neighborhood's long pattern of choosing context over capitalization, and one that kept the cooperative's commercial income stream intact.
Architecture and unit composition
The tower carries 341 apartments across 33 floors — studios through larger family layouts — in the efficient double-loaded-corridor planning of the Mitchell-Lama era, with the 18 two- and three-bedroom townhouse apartments in adjacent low-rise structures completing the cooperative's 359 units. Apartment finishes vary widely by renovation vintage, as is typical for a privatized middle-income building: assess any condition discount using comparable sales rather than assuming renovation is the largest pricing variable.
The exposures are the asset. East-facing apartments look over Cadman Plaza Park and the civic center; west- and south-facing apartments on upper floors carry the panorama across the historic district to the harbor, the Promenade skyline view in reverse. The surrounding historic district and the largely built-out Cadman Plaza superblocks limit nearby development, but views depend on floor and exposure, and none is protected without a recorded instrument.
The complex's site plan is pure 1960s planning: the tower in a landscaped setting, the townhouse rows mediating toward the street, and Pineapple Walk — a pedestrian retail lane owned by the cooperative — threading the superblock. The 2016 fight over the strip's future is the best evidence of how integral the ensemble is to the north Heights streetscape.
Building operations
Whitman Owner Corporation operates with union (32BJ) staff, a laundry room, and the three-level underground garage, with shareholder parking generating steady income for the corporation. The commercial portfolio — five Pineapple Walk stores totaling approximately 14,000 square feet — produced approaching $2 million of annual revenue in recent audited years, a substantial offset against operating costs for a 359-unit cooperative. The corporation retains certiorari counsel on an ongoing basis to protest the property's taxable assessment, which has risen steeply — real estate taxes are the cooperative's largest single expense line.
Capital work has been continuous and documented in the audited statements: exterior and walkway restoration, a garage structural project, plumbing upgrades, laundry room renovation, and boiler work across recent cycles. The corporation carries a $16.8 million underlying mortgage at 4.16 percent maturing January 1, 2029; the refinancing environment at maturity is a factor sophisticated buyers should model, since a higher-rate refinancing would flow through to maintenance. Recent years have also seen recurring operating assessments alongside maintenance increases — the audited statements document assessments of roughly $41 to $47 per share in 2022–2023 and a budgeted assessment thereafter — typically timed against the City's co-op tax abatement so the net effect on shareholders is muted. Audited financials, the proprietary lease, and house rules are maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Policy framework
Only board-documented policies are listed; the board's current practices govern.
Transfer fee: 10 percent of the sale price on the first transfer of an apartment's shares following the 2002 reconstitution; 2 percent on each subsequent transfer. Confirm which tier applies to the specific apartment early — it materially changes seller net proceeds and therefore pricing.
Subletting: Prohibited without prior written consent of the corporation under the proprietary lease; at the board's option, sublease rents may be assigned to the corporation. Confirm the current sublet policy with the managing agent.
Occupancy: The apartment may be used only as a private dwelling for the shareholder and immediate family; guest occupancy beyond one month in a calendar year requires approval.
Financing and board package: Financing limits and current application requirements are set by the board and are not publicly documented; confirm with the managing agent at offer stage.
Pets and alterations: Governed by current house rules; the alteration framework in the lease covers appliances, air conditioners, and built-ins. Confirm current rules during diligence.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 10% of sale price on first transfer of shares after the 2002 reconstitution; 2% on each subsequent transfer
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, August 2026
Purchase
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $225 per applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $425 if Financing | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Electric Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublet FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount $150 per month | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Refinance
2 items
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $425 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $225 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsDepends on circumstancesSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs
- Not permittedNo dogs allowedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Cats
- Not statedThe source permits pets without naming cats.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $390 per room a monthMedian of 33 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $1.72 per square foot a monthMedian of 13 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Garage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 10, 2026 | 29H | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf | $1,500,000 | $1,250/sf | +0.3% |
| Aug 6, 2026 | 8C | 1 BA | $558,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jun 11, 2026 | 15E | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf | $1,300,000 | $1,083/sf | +8.8% |
| Jun 4, 2026 | 23D | 1 BA | $650,000 | +4.0% | |
| Apr 15, 2026 | 18J | 1 BA | $535,000 | -2.6% | |
| Apr 13, 2026 | 20E | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,375,000 | -1.4% | |
| Apr 9, 2026 | 30K | 3 BR · 2 BA | $2,150,000 | +2.4% | |
| Feb 19, 2026 | 17J | 1 BA · 600 sf | $508,000 | $847/sf | -5.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,036/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 2, 2004 | 11L | $360,000 |
| May 25, 2004 | 29L | $395,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-00217-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Whitman Close and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $740K (25 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,325 to close, or 1.5% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,325
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Whitman Close and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Whitman Close. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
This is the value entry to Brooklyn Heights, with real trade-offs. Postwar fabric, Mitchell-Lama-era layouts, and a primary-residence policy culture — in exchange for per-room pricing well below the prewar Heights, commercial income that supports the operating budget, and high-floor views nothing in the historic district can match.
Model the carry, including assessments. Maintenance has risen with real estate taxes, and the corporation has run recurring operating assessments alongside the co-op abatement. Ask for the current maintenance, any active assessment, and the abatement treatment on the specific apartment, and run the True Monthly Carrying Cost analysis on the combined number.
Understand the 2029 mortgage maturity. The underlying mortgage matures in January 2029; how it is refinanced or repaid, and at what rate, will affect maintenance after that.
Ask which transfer-fee tier applies. A first post-reconstitution transfer carries a 10 percent fee paid by the seller; that history is apartment-specific and shapes how sellers price.
Transit and daily life are genuinely strong. Clark Street (2/3), High Street (A/C), and Borough Hall are all close; Pineapple Walk's stores sit at the building's base; Cadman Plaza Park and the Brooklyn Bridge Park approaches are across the street.
What to know if you’re selling
Price per room against the building's own record. The market for 75 Henry is deep and self-referential; same-line, same-exposure trades anchor value far better than prewar Heights comparables.
Lead with light, views, and renovation. Describe high-floor exposures and documented, board-approved renovations precisely; test their price effects against comparable sales instead of ranking them without evidence.
Disclose the transfer fee early. If yours is a first post-reconstitution transfer, the 10 percent fee belongs in your net-proceeds math from day one; buyers' brokers will find it in diligence regardless.
Prepare for a traditional co-op process. Board package, interview, and primary-residence underwriting apply. Transparent financials shorten the path.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 75 Henry Street, also evaluate:
- St. George Tower (44 Pineapple Street) — Emery Roth's 1929 hotel tower turned cooperative one block south; the prewar tower alternative with the same view thesis
- 75 Livingston Street — neo-Gothic 1926 office tower conversion; prewar tower character at the Borough Hall end of the Heights
- 77 Livingston Street — neighboring building on Livingston Street
- 60 Pineapple Street — prewar Heights cooperative on the adjoining block
- Hamilton House (45 Pineapple Street) — postwar full-service Heights cooperative; a smaller-scale postwar peer
- 110 Livingston Street — McKim, Mead & White conversion condominium in the civic center; the condo alternative at a similar price point
- One Clinton (1 Clinton Street) — new-development condominium at Cadman Plaza; the contemporary tower-view alternative
- One Brooklyn Bridge Park (360 Furman Street) — large-scale waterfront condominium; the amenity-rich condo counterpoint
More Brooklyn Heights buildings
- 72 Orange Street — 1937 co-op
- 73 Orange Street — co-op
- 73 Remsen Street — co-op
- 75 Livingston Street — 1926 co-op
- 75 Poplar Street (Bridge Harbor Heights) — condominium
- 76 Remsen Street — 1922 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Brooklyn Heights.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Whitman Close?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com