Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1925
The Emily Post Building
1033 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10075
Buildings·Cooperative

1033 Madison Avenue

1033 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10075

Upper East Side

BBL 1014910023 · BIN 1046437

At a glance
Year built
1925
Type
Cooperative
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Not permitted
Pied-à-terre
Requires confirmation
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted
Maximum financing
40% of the purchase price
Flip tax
2.5% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
Doorman
Full-time doorman

The Emily Post Building sales history: 20 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at The Emily Post Building?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

4BR+ median, 2024–2026
$7M
2 qualifying sales
Recent range
$3.1M – $8.2M
Listing discount
7.6%
Recorded transfers
20
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Emily Post Building would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

1033 Madison Avenue is one of the most quietly storied small cooperatives on the Upper East Side: it was commissioned by Emily Post — the arbiter of American etiquette — who put up the building in 1925 and lived in it for the rest of her life. That provenance is not a footnote. Post conceived the building as a refined apartment house for people who wanted gracious, well-proportioned homes on the best block of Madison Avenue, and the building still reads exactly that way a century later: 20 residences across 14 stories, an average of roughly three thousand square feet apiece, on a corner one block from Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

The architecture is the work of Kenneth Murchison, dressed in the restrained Beaux-Arts vocabulary that defines this stretch of the Upper East Side — a three-story rusticated limestone base, red brick above, quoined corners, and a canopied, bronze-trimmed entrance. It sits among the pre-war masonry that makes Madison and Fifth so consistent, and it has the scale and finish to belong there.

For buyers, the appeal is specific: a genuinely intimate, full-service co-op — 20 apartments, an attended lobby, a live-in super — in the most walkable cultural-and-retail setting in Manhattan, with a pedigree no newer building can manufacture.

Architecture and unit composition

Murchison's design is classic 1920s Madison Avenue: a masonry tower built to last, with a generous base and a disciplined, symmetrical brick shaft. At 14 stories and only 20 apartments, the building averages well under two homes per floor, which translates into the layouts buyers prize here — formal entry galleries, gracious proportions, and the high ceilings of the era. Many residences retain their period detail: wood-burning fireplaces, tall windows, herringbone floors, and the formal gallery-and-dining-room arrangement that pre-war planning did better than anything built since. Upper-floor homes and the penthouse capture open light and, at the top, sightlines toward Central Park.

Because the building is so small, no two floor plans repeat in volume, and full-floor and near-full-floor configurations are part of the mix — the kind of scale that on Madison Avenue commands a premium of its own.

Building operations

This is a full-service cooperative. A full-time doorman and concierge attend the lobby, a live-in resident manager oversees the building day to day, and private storage is available to residents. Pets are permitted. In-unit washer/dryers are allowed. The building permits financing up to 40% of the purchase price; plan financing around that limit. A flip tax of 2.5% of the gross sale price is paid by the seller at closing. Guarantors are considered on a case-by-case basis. The board reviews purchasers through a full board package and interview. Pied-à-terre use is permitted with conditions and subletting is not permitted; confirm current occupancy and liquidity requirements from the governing documents and application instructions.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Equal to 2.5% of gross consideration
Rate
2.5% of the purchase price
Paid by
Seller

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

7 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Criminal Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable
Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If FinancingPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300 (if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable
Managing Agent's FeePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $900 (Seller is an Individual) or $1000 (Seller is an Estate)Refundable Non-refundable
N.Y. State Transfer Tax StampsPer sharePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $0.05 per shareRefundable Non-refundable

Refinance

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $35Refundable Non-refundable

Ownership transfer

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeePer applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
40% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Guarantors
Permitted with conditionsWill be considered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Co-purchasing
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
Permitted with conditionsWill be considered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for a student child
Permitted with conditionsWill be considered on a case by case basis.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase or lease by a corporation
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Attended lobby
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
StorageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$20,990/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $87
Modeled exposure split equally across 20 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2029
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$5,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jul 8, 202611B
4 BR · 2,772 sf
$5,881,200$2,122/sf—
Nov 25, 202413B
3 BR · 3 BA
$3,125,000-16.7%
Jun 17, 202410
4 BR · 3.5 BA
$8,200,000-3.5%
Sep 29, 202114B
3 BR · 3 BA
$4,650,000+10.7%
Jul 9, 2021PH
2 BR · 3.5 BA
$8,550,000-14.5%
Dec 27, 20192A
3 BR · 4 BA
$3,400,000-8.7%
Jan 7, 20195B
3 BR · 3 BA
$4,300,000-21.7%
Jun 4, 20128
4 BR
$24,500,000+0.0%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $2,122/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 7.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

2A+26%
$2,700,000 ($1,080/sf) 2005 → $3,400,000 2019
View all 20 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01491-0023). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Emily Post Building and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Emily Post Building and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Emily Post Building. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Buying here means buying scarcity. Plan your financing to the building's 40% cap, budget for the seller-paid flip tax to be reflected in pricing, and expect a thorough board review oriented toward owner-occupants. The reward is a large, gracious pre-war home in a building of 20 apartments, steps from the Met, the park, and the Madison Avenue retail and restaurant corridor. We help buyers read the financial statements, understand the board's posture, and benchmark pricing against the handful of comparable small co-ops nearby.

What to know if you’re selling

The story sells the apartment. The Emily Post provenance, the Murchison architecture, the corner a block from the Met, and the rarity of any availability are durable, marketable distinctions that separate a home here from the broader Upper East Side pre-war pool. With turnover this low, positioning matters enormously — pricing to the building's own benchmark and to the small set of true peers, presenting the period detail correctly, and reaching the narrow audience that wants a large, full-service co-op on this exact corner. We build that strategy around the building's history of held inventory and the premium the address commands.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 1033 Madison Avenue, also evaluate these nearby pre-war cooperatives:

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Emily Post Building?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com