1059 Third Avenue (The Leyton)
1059 Third Avenue, New York, NY 10065
BBL 1014177502 · BIN 1043853
- Year built
- 2021
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 38
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2022–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,807
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 7.1%
- Recorded sales
- 21
- On record
- 2022–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Leyton would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
1059 Third Avenue — The Leyton — is a boutique luxury condominium that brought a tower's worth of full-floor living to a Lenox Hill corner. Completed in 2021 to a design by Manuel Glas Architects, with interiors by Champalimaud Design and Frampton Co., it was developed by Dart Interests with Real Estate Inverlad on the corner of Third Avenue and 63rd Street.
The building's calling card is its amenity program — and specifically the 24th-floor "Brandy Room," an indoor/outdoor lounge with a chalet-style fireplace, a sun terrace with an alfresco kitchen, a dining room, and a solarium, taking in Central Park, East River, and skyline views. With only 38 residences, including ten full-floor homes and a duplex penthouse, it is a small building with an outsized service offering, in the middle of the Upper East Side's shopping, dining, and transit.
Architecture and unit composition
Glas's thirty-story tower holds 38 condominium residences, weighted toward larger homes — ten of them full-floor, plus a duplex penthouse — with the contemporary glass-and-stone envelope giving upper floors long open exposures. Champalimaud and Frampton Co. interiors carry the finish level expected of a 2021 luxury condominium, with central air and in-unit laundry throughout.
The amenity package runs across two levels: a 24-hour doorman and concierge, a fitness center, a pet spa, a bike room, and a media/recreation room, capped by the 24th-floor Brandy Room.
Building operations
The Leyton operates as a staffed new-construction condominium with a 24-hour doorman and concierge. With 38 units carrying a substantial amenity program, common charges reflect the staffing and the building's new systems. As with any recent-construction luxury condominium, buyers should review the offering plan, current financials, board minutes, and reserve study during due diligence, and confirm the status of any developer or construction-warranty matters.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 with broker, or $750 without a broker | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant and all occupants over the age of 18 (If purchasing in an LLC please pay an additional credit check fee for the business credit check report) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Criminal Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant and all occupants over the age of 18 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messanger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Not stated |
| Working Capital Contribution | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount Equal to two months of common charges | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Document Preparation Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Rental or lease
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $700 with broker, or $750 without a broker | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant and all occupants over the age of 18 (If purchasing in an LLC please pay an additional credit check fee for the business credit check report) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Criminal Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant and all occupants over the age of 18 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted with conditions6 month minimum termSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, residents' lounge, bike storage, pet facilitiesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $94,417/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $207
- Modeled exposure split equally across 38 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Allowed; all leases minimum 6 months
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Policies and fees
- App processing $700 with broker / $750 without; working capital contribution = 2 months common charges; closing doc prep $500
Recent sales
The Leyton trades as a condominium, so pricing is read on a price-per-square-foot basis. Sponsor sales have run since the 2021 completion, with resale activity emerging, and the full-floor and duplex-penthouse homes sit at the top of the building's range. With only 38 units — many of them full-floor — sales are infrequent and apartment-specific: floor, exposure, and finish drive the variation. We underwrite each unit against the building's own pricing and the Lenox Hill / Upper East Side new-development set.
Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apr 15, 2026 | 12C | 1 BR · 2 BA · 1,081 sf | $1,707,500 | $1,580/sf | -7.7% |
| Nov 7, 2023 | 16ASponsor Sale | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,537 sf | $3,300,000 | $2,147/sf | -5.6% |
| Aug 24, 2023 | 14BSponsor Sale | 1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,131 sf | $2,100,000 | $1,857/sf | -11.5% |
| Nov 17, 2022 | 28Sponsor Sale | 5 BR · 4.5 BA · 6,132 sf | $16,500,000 | $2,691/sf | +0.0% |
| Nov 3, 2022 | 34Sponsor Sale | 4 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,106 sf | $11,775,000 | $3,791/sf | -9.4% |
| Oct 28, 2022 | 12CSponsor Sale | 1 BR · 2 BA · 1,081 sf | $1,988,587 | $1,840/sf | -11.9% |
| Aug 1, 2022 | 14ASponsor Sale | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,537 sf | $3,300,000 | $2,147/sf | -2.4% |
| Jul 18, 2022 | 17ASponsor Sale | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,543 sf | $3,253,000 | $2,108/sf | -8.4% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,807/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 7.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01417-7502; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Leyton and nearby.
Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with The Leyton and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Leyton. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
This is amenity-rich boutique new construction. A 24-hour doorman, two amenity levels, a pet spa, and the 24th-floor indoor/outdoor Brandy Room across just 38 units.
Many homes are full-floor. The unit mix is weighted toward larger residences; underwrite the carrying cost on the full square footage.
Underwrite a recent-construction building properly. Review financials, reserves, and any outstanding warranty or developer matters during diligence.
Condo flexibility is real. Pied-à-terre, investor, and foreign-buyer use permitted; subletting allowed under the declaration. Plan for the typical 20% minimum down.
Mansion tax cliffs apply. At these price points the $1M through $10M thresholds routinely apply — run the Mansion Tax Calculator.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the amenities and the full-floor format. The Brandy Room, the pet spa, and the full-floor living are the differentiators in the Lenox Hill new-development set.
Price to the building's own comps. With 38 units, the persuasive evidence is the Leyton's own pricing adjusted for floor, exposure, and finish.
Reach the global buyer. Demand for amenity-rich UES new development is international; marketing should reach cross-border as well as domestic buyers.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 1059 Third Avenue, also evaluate:
- 1289 Lexington Avenue — Upper East Side new-development condominium
- 180 East 79th Street — boutique UES condominium nearby
- 109 East 79th Street — Carnegie Hill new-development condominium
- 1003 Lexington Avenue — boutique Upper East Side condominium
More Upper East Side buildings
- 1040 Madison Avenue — 1925 co-op
- The Benson (1045 Madison Avenue) — 2022 condominium by Peter Pennoyer Architects
- 1056 Lexington Avenue (123 East 75th Street) — 1961 co-op
- 1065 Lexington Avenue — 1925 condop by Rouse & Goldstone
- 1068 Lexington Avenue (136 East 76th Street) — 1961 co-op
- 1080 Madison Avenue (The Residence on Madison) — 1981 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Leyton?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com