Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1958
130 Hicks Street
130 Hicks Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Buildings·Cooperative

130 Hicks Street

130 Hicks Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201

Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn

BBL 3002350044 · BIN 3001799

At a glance
Year built
1958
Type
Cooperative
Units
41
Floors
6
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Brooklyn Heights Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Washer/dryer
Not permitted
Flip tax
Tiered or formula; see fees

130 Hicks Street sales history: 63 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 130 Hicks Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Flip tax
No seller flip tax documented; buyer pays $5,000 capital contribution to 130 Hicks Street Owners, Inc. at closing plus $500 co-op application fee, $500 management processing fee, $500 refundable move-in and $500 move-out deposits (2025-era application package and house rules)
Financing
Not documented as a percentage; designated (Aztech-form) recognition agreement required when financing
Subletting
Board approval under written sublet policy; annual renewal; 75% shareholder-occupancy floor; 3-consecutive-year cap absent board exception; no Airbnb/VRBO (house rules March 2025)
Washer / dryer
Prohibited in units (washers and dishwashers both); central 24-hour laundry (house rules March 2025)
Pets
Not stated as a rule in documents reviewed; purchase application asks about pets — confirm board practice

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2025). Reported and subject to confirmation. Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

Studio median, 2023–2026
$380K
6 qualifying sales
Recent range
$330K – $430K
Listing discount
8.3%
Recorded transfers
63
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 130 Hicks Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

130 Hicks Street is the Heights' entry ticket. On a block otherwise governed by the 1930s — the Mansion House's Colonial Revival bulk directly across the street — this 1958 building by Leo Stillman, one of postwar New York's most prolific apartment-house architects, slipped a six-story glazed-brick sliver between its prewar neighbors in the last years before the 1965 historic-district designation made any new building on these blocks subject to Landmarks Preservation Commission approval. Its off-white glazed façade and entrance planters are period signatures, and its inventory is the practical point: 41 compact units, most of them studios, in the geographic heart of the district. For fifty years the building has done a specific job — giving first-time buyers, pied-à-terre-adjacent users within its occupancy rules, and downsizers a share-priced way into blocks where the alternative starts at multiples of the cost.

The cooperative's paperwork is refreshingly current. The conversion came in 1984 — Hudson Heights Company sponsored a non-eviction plan with a first offering of April 23, 1984, allocating 11,450 shares across 40 offered apartments with the superintendent's studio held back — and unlike many small co-ops whose governing documents fossilized in that decade, 130 Hicks operates under house rules refreshed as recently as March 2025. Those rules draw a clear picture of how the building runs today: smoke-free throughout, no washers or dishwashers in units, through-wall air conditioning to a building-specified standard rather than window units, a rear garden open sunrise to sunset, 24-hour laundry, and a written sublet policy with annual renewals, a 75 percent shareholder-occupancy floor, and a three-consecutive-year cap. It is a tightly governed small building, and it tells buyers exactly what it is before they apply.

Studio size alone does not establish modest maintenance; compare actual charges, assessments and included services. For closing costs, the buyer-side $5,000 capital contribution at closing functions as the building's transfer economics in place of a seller flip tax; and the building's rules set a two-resident occupancy cap. Compare actual charges and dated, matched prices with specific doorman buildings before assigning a cost or price tier.

For sellers, compare current competing studio listings and dated sales on Clark and Henry Streets, including marketing periods; the unit mix and address alone do not establish liquidity or a deep, continually active buyer pool.

Architecture and unit composition

The building holds roughly seven apartments per floor across six stories — studios and compact one-bedrooms, several since combined — served by a single elevator, with the superintendent's studio among them at conversion. Interiors are postwar-standard in bones: parquet and hardwood floors, plaster walls, tiled baths, and gas kitchens, since renovated to widely varying standards that drive most of the pricing spread. The street side faces Hicks and the Mansion House's façade; the rear faces the interior of the block and the building's own garden, and rear units are the quieter tier. Through-wall air conditioning under the building's specification has largely replaced the window units of the building's first decades, keeping the glazed façade clean — a small detail the board actively enforces.

Because the building is attached on both sides, light is a line-by-line question: front, rear, and floor height do the work that exposure count does in detached buildings, and viewing at the intended hour matters more than usual.

Building operations

130 Hicks runs as a lean self-contained cooperative: elevator, 24-hour central laundry, intercom entry, garden, and superintendent service, with professional management administering a written application, alteration, and sublet framework. The current house rules are unusually specific for a building this size — scheduled fees and escalating assessments for violations, contractor licensing and insurance requirements for renovations, weekday-only work hours, and flushometer-toilet and appliance rules that reflect the building's plumbing and electrical realities. Alterations require board approval with a processing fee and refundable deposit; moves are weekday-scheduled with refundable deposits on both ends.

The offering plan, its amendment run, by-laws, current house rules, and application forms are maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Policy framework

Subletting: Board approval under a written policy; annual renewal, 75 percent shareholder-occupancy floor building-wide, three-consecutive-year cap absent exception, and no short-term or platform rentals (house rules, March 2025).

Occupancy: Two residents maximum per unit under the proprietary lease as summarized in the house rules, with a board process for longer-staying guests — material for buyers planning shared or family occupancy of the larger lines.

Washer/dryer and dishwasher: Prohibited in units; laundry is central and 24-hour.

Air conditioning: Window units prohibited; through-wall units to the building's specification, with periodic professional inspection required.

Smoking: Prohibited building-wide.

Pets: Not stated as a rule in the documents reviewed; the application asks about pets, and current board practice should be confirmed before offer.

Transfer economics: Buyer pays a $5,000 capital contribution at closing plus application, processing, and move fees; no seller-side flip tax is documented.

Renovations: Board approval with fee and deposit; licensed and approved contractors only; weekday hours; no window or structural-wall alterations.

Application and transaction fees

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
No seller flip tax documented; buyer pays $5,000 capital contribution to 130 Hicks Street Owners, Inc. at closing plus $500 co-op application fee, $500 management processing fee, $500 refundable move-in and $500 move-out deposits (2025-era application package and house rules)

Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2025

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsBoard approval under written sublet policy; annual renewal; 75% shareholder-occupancy floor; 3-consecutive-year cap absent board exception; no Airbnb/VRBO (house rules March 2025)Source: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2025
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Not verified
In-unit washer/dryer
Not permittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record, 2025

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$459 per room a monthMedian of 11 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Garden, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Below the individual-building threshold

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricevs. Ask
May 20, 20262D
1 BA
$399,000+0.0%
Mar 31, 20261E
1 BA
$387,000+0.0%
Oct 3, 20253C
1 BA
$375,000+0.0%
Apr 8, 20255C
1 BA
$365,000-1.4%
Apr 1, 20256C
1 BA
$385,000+2.7%
Feb 3, 20251E
1 BA
$380,000+1.3%
Dec 9, 20241D
1 BA
$360,000+6.7%
Oct 10, 20246A
1 BA
$430,000-7.5%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2021): a median $793/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 1.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

2F+74%
$230,000 2012 → $400,000 2018
5A+62%
$258,000 ($531/sf) 2011 → $417,000 ($858/sf) 2020 → $418,000 2024
4A · 593 sf+30%
$330,000 ($556/sf) 2013 → $428,000 ($722/sf) 2020
4D+29%
$255,000 ($537/sf) 2005 → $330,000 2023
6C+22%
$316,000 2013 → $385,000 2025
View all 63 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 3-00235-0044). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at 130 Hicks Street, last 36 months

$1,750median rent per room per month
SizeLeasesMedian / month
Studio5$3,325

5 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease June 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 130 Hicks Street and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $380K (7 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,050 to close, or 2.6% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $0
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,050

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 130 Hicks Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 130 Hicks Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Read the house rules before you fall for the address. The written house rules are specific — two-resident occupancy, no in-unit laundry or dishwashers, smoke-free, specified air conditioning. For some use cases they are disqualifying. Know which buyer you are first.

Budget the entry economics. The $5,000 buyer capital contribution plus application and move fees are real closing-cost line items at this price point; we model them alongside financing in every offer.

The sublet policy shapes exit flexibility. Annual approvals, the 75 percent occupancy floor, and the three-year cap mean this is a home first and a hold-and-rent asset only within limits — underwrite accordingly.

Location is the outsized asset. The 2/3 at Clark Street around the corner, the Promenade three blocks west, and the district core in every direction; compare these specific distances and surroundings with alternatives rather than assign a neighborhood-wide location ranking.

What to know if you’re selling

Put the governing documents up front. Current house rules and transfer mechanics are what co-op buyers' attorneys review; put the documents, with the current budget and audited statements, in the deal room early.

Compare the studio stock before assigning a premium. Use dated, configuration-matched Clark and Henry Street sales, accounting for condition, services and carrying costs; the historic-district address and garden alone do not establish a price margin.

Present the renovation, and the rules around future ones. Renovation quality drives the spread; buyers should also understand the alteration framework so timelines survive board review.

Prepare buyers for a documented process. Complete applications with the co-op's required recognition agreement and full financials give the board the materials needed for its review.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 130 Hicks Street, also evaluate:

  • The Mansion House (145 Hicks Street) — the 1935 doorman co-op directly across the street; the services upgrade on the same block
  • 115 Willow Street — the 1926 Slee & Bryson co-op sharing the same block interior; prewar character at a comparable scale
  • 135 Willow Street — the postwar services alternative with garage one block west
  • 70 Clark Street — elevator co-op by the Clark Street station; confirm its construction date from primary records
  • 55 Hicks Street — small north-Heights co-op alternative
  • 87 Hicks Street — boutique co-op peer a few blocks north
  • 72 Orange Street — 1937 prewar co-op on the fruit streets; the character step-up at entry-adjacent pricing
  • 142 Hicks Street — small co-op neighbor on the same corridor

More Brooklyn Heights buildings

The neighborhood

For the full neighborhood — its buildings, character, and market — read The Roebling Team Guide to Brooklyn Heights.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 130 Hicks Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com