Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium
The Columbia House
238 West 108th Street, New York, NY 10025

238 West 108th Street (The Columbia House)

238 West 108th Street, New York, NY 10025

Manhattan Valley, Upper West Side

BBL 1018797501 · BIN 1056668

At a glance
Type
Condominium
Units
6
Floors
6
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted
Pied-à-terre
Not permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted

Construction chronology: 2007 per PLUTO; the construction and occupancy milestones differ. The new-building application (DOB job 104441828) was filed May 22, 2006; the predecessor building was demolished under a November 2006 filing; the developer took title in December 2006; the new-building permit issued March 2007. The condominium was declared in August 2009 and the first residences closed that month. Temporary certificates of occupancy ran from 2012, and the final certificate of occupancy issued March 1, 2016

The Columbia House sales history: 13 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Columbia House?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2006–2023

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2023
$1,079
1 sale
Listing discount
4.3%
Recorded sales
13
On record
2006–2023
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Columbia House would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Six apartments on a twenty-five-foot lot, and almost everything worth knowing follows from those two numbers. R8B zoning capped the height at six stories; the narrow lot made anything other than a full-floor plan impractical. The result is a building in which every residence occupies an entire floor, with light at both ends, private outdoor space, and an elevator that opens into the apartment rather than into a corridor. Manhattan produces that format rarely, and almost never north of 100th Street, where prewar cooperative stock dominates.

The city's year-built shorthand does not describe delivery, and the difference matters. PLUTO carries a year built of 2007. The new-building application was filed in May 2006, the predecessor building came down that November, the developer took title in December, and construction ran under permits issued in March 2007 — but the condominium was not declared until August 2009, which is when the first residences closed. Temporary certificates carried the building from 2012 and the final certificate of occupancy did not issue until March 1, 2016. Construction, first closing and final certificate are separate milestones here; any analysis treating 2007 as the delivery date is reading the permit year, not the August 2009 first closings or the 2016 final certificate.

The building is genuinely for sale, and the record establishes it rather than asserting it. All six unit lots sold out of the sponsor to six separate, unrelated buyer households between August and December 2009, each with its own purchase-money financing. The transfer summary lists resales in 2016, 2019, 2021, twice in 2022 and 2023. A transaction count is not a count of distinct apartments: match those resales to the individual unit lots before stating how many of the six homes have changed owners again. The unit lots carry building class R1 rather than the RR classification the city applies to condominium units held in rental use. There is no bulk transfer and no single entity anywhere in the schedule.

The structural fact that most changes a buyer's monthly number is the tax posture. The residences carried a ten-year 421-a beginning in fiscal 2011. It ran its term and expired: the fiscal 2021 roll shows the exemption at zero and every roll since carries none. No further phaseout of that expired 421-a award remains. The citywide condominium abatement is separately documented for eligible primary residences; confirm all current unit-specific benefits, assessed values and rates rather than treating the bill as fixed.

Architecture and unit composition

The building fills its lot to a depth of about eighty-five feet, six stories inside a contextual envelope that keeps the streetwall in line with the buildings on either side. Each floor is one residence. On a twenty-five-foot lot that produces the classic townhouse-width plan — glass at the front and rear, party walls on both flanks — executed with an elevator. Listing records describe high ceilings, crown moldings, a working fireplace in each residence, central air, and private outdoor space attached to every unit. With six units and a keyed elevator opening into the apartments, there is effectively no public corridor above the lobby.

The assessment roll is a useful proxy for relative size: the base residence and the top-floor residence carry materially higher market values than the four floors between them, which are assessed identically to one another — a pattern consistent with a garden-level or duplexed base unit and a penthouse with roof access, with four uniform full-floor apartments stacked between. Confirm actual square footage and outdoor-space allocation against the unit deed and the declaration rather than against any published figure.

Building operations

There is no staff, and a six-unit building could not support one. Services are a remotely operable video intercom, a keyed elevator and private storage; management is handled by a managing agent for a very small association.

The arithmetic cuts both ways. Common charges in a six-unit building with no amenity program and no payroll are structurally low, which is the format's principal carrying-cost advantage. But six owners also carry the roof, the elevator, the boiler and the facade with no dilution, and a single capital item lands hard. The building is young enough that major systems may still be original and approaching first replacement — which is exactly the moment to ask for the operating budget, the reserve balance, several years of minutes and any assessment history. We hold no offering plan and no financial statements for this building in either library; that picture has to come from the managing agent.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. There is no co-op board admission; purchases run through the condominium's application and right-of-first-refusal process.

Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC, trust and foreign purchase: All permitted under the standard condominium framework. Confirm minimum lease terms and any sublet registration requirement with the managing agent.

Pets: Permitted per management-sourced records.

Flip tax: Not documented. Confirm before pricing a sale.

Real estate taxes: No 421-a and no other exemption on any unit lot in the FY2023 through FY2027 rolls. Use the current bill for the specific unit and confirm all applicable benefits, including any eligible primary-residence condominium abatement; model future assessment, rate and charge changes separately.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $20 per personRefundable Non-refundable
Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $20 per ApplicantRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move Out DepositPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Refundable
Move In DepositPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Refundable

Refinance

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $150Refundable Non-refundable

Alteration

3 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Processing FeePaid by ResidentWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Professional Services Review DepositPaid by ResidentWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Construction DepositPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount 10% of the total project or $1,500, whichever is greaterRefundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Guarantors
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Co-purchasing
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Parent buying for a student child
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase or lease by a corporation
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Virtual or video entry
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
StorageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Below the individual-building threshold

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

Recent sales

The Columbia House prices as boutique full-floor new-construction condominium product in a submarket whose inventory is overwhelmingly prewar cooperative. That is the positioning: condominium rules, full-floor plans, private outdoor space and direct elevator access, on a block where the alternative is a share purchase, a board package and an interview in a building from the 1910s or 1920s.

Two things should be priced explicitly. The cited 421-a benefit has expired, removing that specific future phaseout. Compare current unit bills and total costs with alternatives; future assessments, rates, other benefit eligibility, charges and capital costs can change in either direction. And with six residences and roughly a dozen recorded transfers across the building's entire life, there is no meaningful same-building comparable set — pricing has to be built floor by floor against the small pool of new-construction condominiums on the surrounding blocks, not from a building average that six sales cannot support. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jul 18, 20232
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,854 sf
$2,000,000$1,079/sf—
Jul 21, 2022PH
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,810 sf
$2,450,000$1,354/sf-5.6%
Jul 11, 20224
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,810 sf
$1,900,000$1,050/sf-4.3%
Feb 10, 20223
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,810 sf
$1,875,000$1,036/sf-3.8%
Jun 25, 2019PH
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,789 sf
$2,575,000$1,439/sf-7.4%
Jun 10, 20165
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,789 sf
$2,095,000$1,171/sf-2.6%
Jan 6, 20123
3 BR · 1,857 sf
$1,110,323$598/sf—
Dec 16, 20094Sponsor Sale
3 BR · 1,300 sf
$1,210,950$932/sf-4.3%

Market read. Most recent trades (2023) cleared a median $1,079/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 4.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

5 · 1,789 sf+70%
$1,229,000 ($687/sf) 2009 → $2,095,000 ($1,171/sf) 2016
3 · 1,810 sf+69%
$1,110,323 ($598/sf) 2012 → $1,875,000 ($1,036/sf) 2022
2 · 1,854 sf+64%
$1,221,900 ($675/sf) 2009 → $2,000,000 ($1,079/sf) 2023
PH · 1,810 sf-5%
$2,575,000 ($1,439/sf) 2019 → $2,450,000 ($1,354/sf) 2022
View all 13 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01879-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Columbia House and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Columbia House and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Columbia House. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The 421-a has fully expired. The benefit began in fiscal 2011, ran ten years, and produced a zero exemption from fiscal 2021 onward. A figure relying on that expired 421-a award is stale; a separate eligible abatement may still apply, so check the actual unit bill. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator against the current bill.

Do not read PLUTO's 2007 as delivery. The new-building permit issued in 2007; first closings were August 2009; temporary certificates ran from 2012 and the final certificate of occupancy issued March 1, 2016.

Six owners, no dilution. Ask for the budget, the reserve, the minutes and the assessment history before contract. One elevator modernization here is a materially different event than in a sixty-unit building.

Confirm the outdoor space in the deed. Terraces, roof rights and garden use in a small condominium are allocated by the declaration and the unit deed, and limited common-element rights are not always what the marketing implies.

No landmark constraint. Unusually for this part of the Upper West Side, the lot carries no designation of any kind and LPC has no permit history here. Window and exterior work go straight to DOB — a quiet advantage over most of the surrounding inventory.

Test the light. All the glass is at the front and rear. Walk a specific floor at the hour you would actually be home.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the format. Document the particular residence’s full-floor plan, private outdoor rights, direct elevator entry, working fireplace and operative condominium rules. Compare those features with actual nearby alternatives rather than claiming surrounding blocks cannot match them.

Be direct about taxes. A buyer's attorney will find the expired 421-a in the first week. Presenting the current full bill up front converts a discovery into a disclosed number.

Have the association's documents ready. With no offering plan or financials in circulation, buyers price uncertainty. The budget, reserve position, house rules and minutes on day one remove that discount.

Price against condominiums, not co-ops. The prewar cooperatives on this street carry different economics, different approval risk and a different buyer pool.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 238 West 108th Street, also evaluate:

More Upper West Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper West Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper West Side.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Columbia House?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com