Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfFiDi $1,255/sf ▾3%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1964
Spruce Ridge House
245 East 25th Street, New York, NY 10010
Buildings·Cooperative

245 East 25th Street (Spruce Ridge House)

245 East 25th Street, New York, NY 10010

Kips Bay

BBL 1009060024 · BIN 1019831

ManagementMaxwell-Kates
At a glance
Year built
1964
Type
Cooperative
Units
183
Floors
21
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Not permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price
Doorman
Full-time doorman

Spruce Ridge House sales history: 189 recorded sales

Own an apartment at Spruce Ridge House?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$790
floor-adjusted, 5 sales
Listing discount
1.8%
Recorded sales
189
On record
2003–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Spruce Ridge House would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Spruce Ridge House is the kind of building that anchors a neighborhood's ownership market without ever courting attention: a 183-unit, full-service white-brick co-op from 1964, holding the corner of East 25th Street and Second Avenue where Kips Bay meets the Gramercy grid. For buyers priced out of Gramercy Park's pre-war stock but unwilling to give up a 24-hour door, a live-in resident manager, and a real roof deck, this is the structural answer — post-war scale produces post-war pricing, and the building's policy framework is among the more legible in the area.

The architecture rewards a second look. Where most white-brick contemporaries are simple slabs, Spruce Ridge House steps back as it rises, producing angled terraces and a distinctive massing across its top three floors. Upper-floor apartments carry open Empire State Building and Chrysler Building views to the north and west; the landscaped roof deck adds skyline and East River outlooks, with direct sightlines to the Fourth of July fireworks.

The conversion history is documented in The Roebling Research Library: the offering plan, dated November 19, 1982, was sponsored by Dwelling Managers, Inc. and allocated 44,651 shares across the 183 apartments. The first amendment — also on file — converted the offering to a non-eviction plan and gave tenants in occupancy a discounted exclusive purchase window, a structure typical of the early-1980s conversion wave. Assess current management and financial condition from recent audited statements, reserves, debt terms and capital plans.

Architecture and unit composition

The building rises 21 floors per city records, with roughly 188,000 square feet of building area on its corner lot. The mix runs from studios through three-bedroom configurations; one-bedrooms typically run 600–800 square feet per listing records, several lines carry corner exposures and multiple windows, and a number of units have private terraces — concentrated in the setback floors. Post-war plans here convert well: listing records document one-bedroom lines reconfigured to junior twos. Kitchen and bath condition varies unit to unit, from original to fully renovated, and pricing tracks that spread.

Building operations

Full-service: 24-hour doorman, live-in resident manager, and porter staff, with a package room, central laundry, bike room, and private storage. The landscaped roof deck is the signature amenity; there is no fitness center — buyers comparing against newer Kips Bay rentals and condos should price the trade. The attached garage is commercially operated; terms and availability should be confirmed directly. Ground-floor retail along Second Avenue appears in city records; confirm its ownership, leases and contribution to corporate income in current financial statements. The offering plan and first amendment are on file in The Roebling Research Library.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

11 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $200 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Package Reproduction FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $195Refundable Non-refundable
Maintenance FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount TBD (will be collected in advance for the following month)Refundable Not stated
Move-In FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable
Closing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $750Refundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalPaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $450 if financingRefundable Not stated
Flip TaxPer sharePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount Equal to $20.00 per shareRefundable Non-refundable
Move Out FeePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable

Sublet

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $200 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Move-In FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable
Sublet FeeRecurringBilled to the shareholder's accountPaid by ShareholderWhen Upon approvalAmount Equal to the number of shares allocated to the subleased apartment multiplied by twenty dollars ($20). The sublease fee shall be payable in twelve (12 equal monthly installments as part of the maintenance charges and become a portion of the rent/maintenance due. This amount is subject to change at any time upon adequate notice.Refundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable
Security DepositPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount 2500 (will be held for the duration of the lease)Refundable Not stated

Sublet renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $225Refundable Non-refundable
Sublet FeeRecurringBilled to the shareholder's accountPaid by ShareholderWhen Upon approvalAmount The number of shares allocated to the subleased apartment multiplied by twenty dollars ($20). The sublease fee shall be payable in twelve (12) equal monthly installments as part of the maintenance charges and become a portion of the rent/maintenance due. This amount is subject to change at any time upon adequate notice.Refundable Not stated

Refinance

3 items

Management's “more refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $450Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $200 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Disbursements FeePaid by ShareholderWhen Before closingAmount To be determinedRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsAfter 2 yrs of ownershipSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Wait before a sublet
2 yearsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$569 per room a monthMedian of 16 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.30 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Package room
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Roof deck, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$85,021/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $39
Modeled exposure split equally across 183 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$2,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
$20.00 per share
Sublet policy
Allowed up to 3 of every 5 years, after 2 years ownership; sublet fee $20/share
Policies and fees
75% financing; pet friendly
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 24, 202612J
1 BR · 1 BA · 800 sf
$630,000$788/sf-9.4%
Aug 26, 20268L
1 BR · 1 BA · 650 sf
$690,000$1,062/sf+10.4%
May 1, 202615B
2 BR · 1 BA · 900 sf
$885,720$984/sf-1.6%
Apr 24, 20269E
1 BR · 1 BA · 800 sf
$600,000$750/sf-7.7%
Mar 3, 202610E
1 BR · 1 BA · 820 sf
$600,000$732/sf+0.0%
Jan 29, 202610L
1 BR · 1 BA
$580,000-7.2%
Nov 18, 20253F
2 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,025 sf
$985,000$961/sf+0.0%
Sep 29, 202517F
1 BR · 1 BA
$825,000+0.0%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $790/sf (floor-adjusted) across 5 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

8L · 650 sf+142%
$285,000 2003 → $597,550 2017 → $620,000 ($954/sf) 2024 → $690,000 ($1,062/sf) 2026
19L+57%
$430,000 2005 → $675,000 ($1,125/sf) 2016 → $675,000 2020
18C+56%
$700,000 ($636/sf) 2009 → $1,095,000 2021
4B · 900 sf+54%
$580,000 2005 → $821,000 ($912/sf) 2014 → $895,000 ($994/sf) 2017
12H+49%
$419,999 2005 → $485,000 2012 → $626,500 2021

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Oct 13, 20038L$285,000
View all 189 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00906-0024). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at Spruce Ridge House, last 36 months

$1,416median rent per room per month
SizeLeasesMedian / month
1 bedroom13$4,400
2 bedroom2$4,797

Also $71 per sq ft per year (12 leases that report square footage). 16 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease August 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Spruce Ridge House and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $660K (14 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,025 to close, or 1.7% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $0
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,025

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with Spruce Ridge House and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Spruce Ridge House. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The policy stack is owner-occupancy oriented. Pied-à-terre ownership is not permitted per listing records, and subletting is capped — two years of ownership before subletting, then three years out of any five. Investors and parents buying for adult children should structure carefully and confirm the board's current posture before offering.

The sublet allowance is a genuine flexibility. Within the owner-occupancy framework, a documented three-of-five-year sublet policy is more generous than many peer co-ops. For owners whose plans may change, that policy is worth underwriting — and worth verifying, since terms evolve.

Verify the financing ceiling. Listing records conflict between 75 and 80 percent maximum financing. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator at the conservative figure and confirm with the managing agent.

The location is a hospital-corridor convenience play. NYU Langone, Bellevue, and the VA medical campus are minutes east; the 6 at 28th Street and the 23rd Street crosstown are the transit spine; Fairway, Trader Joe's, and Target cover daily logistics. Assess resale activity from dated recorded sales and current competing inventory.

Price the amenity trade honestly. No gym, no playroom, no lounge — the building's monthly economics reflect that restraint. Buyers who want an amenity program should look at Kips Bay's condo and rental towers; buyers who want lower carry with full staffing are the natural fit.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with view and terrace where you have them. Empire State and Chrysler views and the setback terraces are the building's premium product; market them against Gramercy pricing, not against generic Kips Bay stock.

Document current building finances. Listing descriptions do not establish the corporation's present financial condition. We provide buyers' counsel with the underlying documents from The Roebling Research Library so the story survives diligence.

Condition spread is wide; price to it. Renovated lines with open kitchens clear at premiums; estate-condition units clear when priced to the renovation math. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 245 East 25th Street, also evaluate:

  • Tracy Towers (245 East 24th Street) — the immediate post-war co-op neighbor one block south; the closest like-for-like
  • The Peter James (201 East 25th Street) — post-war doorman co-op on the same block toward Third Avenue
  • Victoria House (200 East 27th Street) — full-service post-war co-op two blocks north
  • The Chesapeake House (201 East 28th Street) — post-war doorman co-op at Third Avenue
  • 305 East 24th Street — large post-war co-op with garage; the scale peer
  • 330 Third Avenue — post-war co-op at the Gramercy seam
  • Kips Bay Towers (333 East 30th Street) — the I.M. Pei-designed condominium; the condo alternative at a higher price point
  • Gramercy's pre-war doorman co-ops (around the park and Irving Place) — the prestige step-up four blocks west
Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at Spruce Ridge House?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com