Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfFiDi $1,255/sf ▾3%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1928
The Yorkgate
25 East End Avenue, New York, NY 10028

25 East End Avenue (The Yorkgate)

25 East End Avenue, New York, NY 10028

Yorkville, Upper East Side

BBL 1015890019 · BIN 1051377

At a glance
Year built
1928
Type
Cooperative
Units
About 38
Floors
15
Amenities
Fitness room, central laundry (in-unit washer/dryers present in some residences), bike room, package room, private storage per listing records
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Permitted with conditions
Maximum financing
Requires confirmation
Flip tax
Requires confirmation
Sources differ on who pays. Confirm with building management.
Doorman
Full-time doorman

The Yorkgate sales history: 39 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at The Yorkgate?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2025

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

3BR median, 2025
$3.3M
3 qualifying sales
Recent range
$2.2M – $5.6M
Listing discount
6.5%
Recorded transfers
39
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Yorkgate would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Every prestige corridor has a building that came first, and on East End Avenue it is the Yorkgate. Completed in 1928 to designs by Cross & Cross — the firm that designed 1 Sutton Place South with Rosario Candela — 25 East End Avenue was, as The New York Times' Christopher Gray recounted in a 2007 Streetscapes column, the first apartment building on East End Avenue, rising while the avenue south of 84th Street was still industrial. The bet was the same one a syndicate led by Eliot Cross had already made at Sutton Place: that New Yorkers of means would trade the center of town for quiet river frontage. It worked. The building's elegance drew 1 East End Avenue onto the neighboring block the following year, and the limestone co-ops that define the avenue followed.

We hold the building's original 1928 sales prospectus in The Roebling Research Library, and it is a remarkable document: the Yorkgate was offered as "the first cooperative apartment house in this locality," organized around a plan in which every master room faced outward — no light courts — with the northerly apartment on each floor running the full depth of the building from the East River to the avenue, so river air could move through the residence. The prospectus sold the Carl Schurz Park section explicitly as the next Sutton Place. Nearly a century later, that is exactly what the corridor became, and the Yorkgate's original architecture — limestone facade, quoined corners, river balconies, the marble lobby with its starburst clock, still essentially intact — is the corridor's founding artifact.

The building's cultural history matches the architecture. Charles MacArthur, co-author of The Front Page, and his wife, the actress Helen Hayes, lived at the Yorkgate, per The New York Times. One historical footnote buyers enjoy: the building originally also fronted Marie Curie Avenue, a riverside street erased to build the FDR Drive — today's river outlook was once a second address.

As a market matter, the Yorkgate is the scarce thing on the avenue: a small pre-war Cross & Cross house of roughly 38 apartments with wood-burning fireplaces, an elevator operator, and direct river views, sized between the corridor's full-blockfront co-ops and its boutique new condos.

Architecture and unit composition

The building rises 15 floors (16 stories counting the penthouse) in limestone-faced neo-Georgian dress over a two-story stone base, with quoins and finials articulating the massing and balconies on the river elevation. The original three-units-per-floor plan produces large, formal layouts: entrance foyers and galleries, 20-to-24-foot living rooms with wood-burning fireplaces, enclosed dining rooms, and libraries. Combinations over the decades have produced duplexes — including a documented 10th/11th-floor duplex with a 24-foot corner living room, library, and a recreation room with its own fireplace — and the count in city records (32) versus the original plan (roughly 38) reflects that consolidation. East-facing rooms above the FDR look out over the East River, depending on floor; the avenue side faces the low corridor and afternoon light.

Building operations

Full-service in the pre-war manner: 24-hour doorman, a staffed elevator with operator — increasingly rare in Manhattan and a defining service note here — and a live-in superintendent. The amenity stack is right-sized to a 38-unit house: fitness room, central laundry (with in-unit washer/dryers present in some residences), bike room, package room, and storage per listing records. Carrying costs reflect the staffing model; buyers comparing maintenance against self-service buildings should price the elevator operator and full staff as the service they are.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Equal to 2% of the purchase price
Rate
2% of the purchase price
Paid by
Requires confirmationSources differ on who pays. Confirm with building management.

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable
Fidelifacts Credit ReportConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $871.00 per Applicant/Occupant, $1,633.13 if there are two (2) Applicants/OccupantsRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet

6 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Administrative FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Annual Sublet FeeRecurringPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount 15% of annual maintenance OR 15% of annual rent being charged to the Sublessee for the term of the sublease, whichever is greaterRefundable Not stated
Application Processing FeeConditionalPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $450 (if no financing involved) or $550 (if financing involved)Refundable Non-refundable
Fidelifacts Credit ReportConditional · Per applicantPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $871.00 per Applicant/Occupant, $1,633.13 if there are two (2) Applicants/OccupantsRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Refinance

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing feePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $35Refundable Non-refundable

Ownership transfer

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeePer applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Guarantors
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for a student child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsShareholder must occupy the apartment for at least two years before subletting consideredSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Permitted with conditionsCase-by-case basisSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$1,083 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Package room
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$25,002/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $65
Modeled exposure split equally across 32 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$5,500 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
Requires confirmation
Sublet policy
Allowed after 2 yrs occupancy; annual sublet fee 15% of maintenance or rent
Policies and fees
65% max financing; pets allowed
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Dec 10, 202510E
3 BR · 3.5 BA
$3,325,000-2.1%
May 1, 2025PH16
3 BR · 3.5 BA
$5,600,000-6.6%
Mar 14, 20255E
3 BR · 3 BA
$2,800,000-6.5%
Feb 11, 202511G10D
4 BR · 3.5 BA · 3,650 sf
$4,998,000$1,369/sf-6.6%
Jun 18, 202412C
2 BR · 2 BA
$2,200,000-22.8%
Mar 23, 20227E
3 BR · 4.5 BA
$2,995,000+0.0%
Feb 10, 20223A
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,300 sf
$750,000$577/sf—
Jul 20, 202112C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,600,000-10.9%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,369/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 4.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

10C+54%
$1,575,000 2010 → $2,425,000 2016
11E · 2,200 sf+48%
$2,300,000 ($1,045/sf) 2009 → $3,395,000 ($1,543/sf) 2016
12C+38%
$1,600,000 2021 → $2,200,000 2024
1A · 1,600 sf+19%
$1,321,227 ($826/sf) 2006 → $1,575,000 ($984/sf) 2015
5D · 1,050 sf+16%
$770,000 ($733/sf) 2021 → $895,000 ($852/sf) 2021
View all 39 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01589-0019). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Yorkgate and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Yorkgate and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Yorkgate. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

Notable residents

  • Helen Hayes and Charles MacArthur — the actress and the co-author of The Front Page lived in the building, as recounted in The New York Times' Streetscapes column on the building's history

What to know if you’re buying

You are buying the corridor's original. First apartment house on the avenue, Cross & Cross pedigree, and an envelope that has barely changed since 1928. Compare its scale, fireplaces and provenance with the avenue's larger post-war co-ops and boutique new condos using matched, dated sales.

The financing framework is conservative. Earlier listing records report a 50 percent financing maximum, while the September 2026 panel requires confirmation. Obtain the current financing, co-purchase, guarantor and trust rules and run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering.

River views here are specific to the line. East-facing rooms look across the FDR to the river and Roosevelt Island; the original plan put master rooms on the outside walls. Views and light depend on floor, position and exposure, and no view is protected without a recorded instrument. Walk the specific line at different hours; the FDR is below, and sound exposure varies by floor.

Wood-burning fireplaces are a diminishing asset class. The city no longer permits them in new construction; buildings that have them, keep them. Confirm the specific unit's fireplace is active and chimney-serviced during diligence.

Verify the fee stack. The September 2026 fee panel reports a 2 percent seller-paid fee, conflicting with earlier purchaser-paid listing records. Reconcile the payer and current conditional sublet rules against the operative documents at offer stage.

What to know if you’re selling

Market the provenance with precision. Cross & Cross, 1928, first on the avenue, the Sutton Place syndicate lineage, Helen Hayes — this building has the deepest narrative on East End Avenue, and we hold the original prospectus to prove it. Documented history outperforms adjectives in this buyer pool.

Position against both ends of the corridor. Compare the Yorkgate's pre-war scale and detail with Gracie Square co-ops and nearby post-war inventory. Establish relative pricing from matched sales rather than an assumed tier or architectural ranking.

Condition honesty wins. With roughly 38 units, check the available dated same-building sales and the actual renovated-versus-estate price spread. Price to the renovation math — run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 25 East End Avenue, also evaluate:

  • 1 East End Avenue — the 1929 neighbor built in the Yorkgate's wake; the closest like-for-like pre-war
  • 120 East End Avenue — the corridor's stately limestone pre-war directly on Carl Schurz Park; the prestige step-up
  • 130 East End Avenue — Emery Roth pre-war co-op across from the park
  • 1 Gracie Square and 10 Gracie Square — the corridor's blue-chip pre-war trophy co-ops
  • 200 East End Avenue — the full-blockfront post-war co-op opposite the park; the value-tier alternative
  • 45 East End Avenue — the post-war river-side neighbor one block north; the direct-river-frontage alternative
  • 40 East End Avenue — boutique new-development condo; the new-construction alternative
  • 20 East End Avenue — Robert A.M. Stern's new-classical condo; the corridor's top-tier new alternative

More East End Avenue buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across East End Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to East End Avenue.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Yorkgate?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com