
The Orwell House (257 Central Park West)
257 Central Park West, New York, NY 10024
BBL 1011990036 · BIN 1031371
- Year built
- 1906
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 69
- Floors
- 12
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper West Side / Central Park West Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Requires confirmation
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditions
- Maximum financing
- Requires confirmation
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Financing
- Requires confirmation
- Subletting
- Permitted with Board approval.
- Pied-à-terre
- Requires confirmation
- Pets
- Permitted, subject to Board approval.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 3BR median, 2025–2026
- $2.8M
- 3 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $2.2M – $9.1M
- Listing discount
- 3.1%
- Recorded transfers
- 96
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Orwell House would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Orwell House has one of the most unusual ownership histories on Central Park West. Completed in 1906 as the Central Park View, a luxury apartment house, it was reconfigured beginning in 1918 into the Hotel Peter Stuyvesant, a residential hotel that operated for six decades. In 1978 the hotel was converted to a residential cooperative under its present name, and it has run as a co-op ever since.
That sequence — apartment house, then residential hotel, then cooperative — is rare on the avenue. Most Central Park West pre-war buildings were either purpose-built as apartments and converted to co-ops in waves from the late 1950s onward, or stayed rentals. The intermediate hotel phase left specific legacies here: unit footprints smaller than typical pre-war Manhattan apartments, a distinctive lobby and common-area proportion, and a service posture with echoes of the hotel era.
Records document pets permitted; pied-à-terre purchase and the maximum financing level require confirmation. Buyers structuring around debt, a second home, or a pet should confirm each term in writing.
The amenity that residents talk about is the rooftop deck — furnished, and open across Central Park, the Onassis Reservoir and the skyline beyond. It is a genuine daily-use amenity rather than a nominal one, and it is supported by a fitness center, central laundry, bike room, package room and private storage, with 24-hour doormen, a full-time concierge and a live-in superintendent running the building.
At twelve stories the building sits below the Art Deco twin-tower silhouettes to the north and south and above the smaller pre-war inventory of the same vintage — a mid-scale presence on a blockfront defined by extremes.
Architecture and unit composition
The Beaux-Arts composition in red brick over a limestone base was characteristic of the era's upper-middle tier of residential design, and the building reads as a coherent single mass on the park blockfront rather than as a tower.
The 69 apartments reflect the hotel-residential heritage. Footprints are generally smaller than in contemporaneous purpose-built Central Park West apartment houses, and the building does not carry the large family-apartment configurations found at its larger neighbors. Most residences are studios and one- and two-bedroom layouts, with combinations across lines producing the larger inventory — combinations run across several lines and are the building's upper tier.
Pre-war signatures are present but modest: ceilings typically in the nine-to-eleven-foot range, period detail in varying states of preservation, hardwood floors. Line-to-line variation is substantial, which is characteristic of a 1906 floor plate reworked for hotel use and reworked again at conversion. Diligence here should be line-specific rather than building-general.
Park-facing apartments occupy the eastern flank with direct Central Park exposure; corner residences with combined park and West 86th Street exposure are the building's best-lit inventory. Views depend on floor and position, and no view is protected without a recorded instrument.
Building operations
The Orwell House runs a full-service pre-war cooperative operation: 24-hour doormen, full-time concierge, live-in superintendent, elevator service, fitness center, central laundry, bike room, package room, private storage and the furnished roof deck.
The building participates in the NYC Cooperative & Condominium Property Tax Abatement for qualifying primary-residence shareholders, which materially affects the monthly carrying number for owner-occupants and does not travel to investor or pied-à-terre ownership. Underwrite the two cases separately.
Several building-level items are not published and should be confirmed against the by-laws, the proprietary lease and the current house rules during diligence: the working-capital contribution mechanics at transfer, the move-in and move-out fee schedule, the alteration-agreement scope and approval framework, and the board application and interview timeline. Buyers should also ask for the current reserve position and the building's Local Law 11 façade cycle status on a 1906 structure.
Policy framework
- Pets: Permitted — cats and dogs.
- Pied-à-terre: Documented as permitted in management-sourced records; described as case-by-case in others. Get the current answer from the managing agent in writing before offering — this is the one term in the stack where the record genuinely disagrees with itself.
- Financing: Earlier management-sourced records report up to 75 percent; the September 2026 policy panel requires confirmation. Obtain the current written ceiling.
- Subletting: Permitted with board approval; job-relocation sublets specifically documented. Confirm term limits and any sublet fee.
- Flip tax: 2 percent of gross sale price, payable by the seller, per management-sourced records.
- Working capital, move fees, alteration agreement, board timeline: Not documented in the records available to us. Confirm with the managing agent.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of the gross sales price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $175 per applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $950 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sublease FeeConditional · RecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Equal to 10% of the annual sublease rental. If additional request to sublet is made, 15% of the annual sublease rental will apply for the second year and 20% for the third year. | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $175 per applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Refinance
2 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Transfer: trust
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trust Transfer Application Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Coop Attorney Review Fee | Paid by Buyer | When Upon approval | Amount To be determined | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsSubletting generally will only be granted in cases where the shareholder has been temporarily transferred out of Manhattan for a job-related purpose.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPets are permitted with Board approval. Two pets per apartmentSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditionsBoard approval required before installing a washer or dryer; none in any kitchen line; washers in the F and C lines must connect to a 2-inch bathroom waste line.Rests on the building's application, dated 2009, more than ten years old; confirm the current rule with management.Source: building documents (application, 2009)
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $743 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Package room
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, roof deck, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $14,821/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $18
- Modeled exposure split equally across 69 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of gross sales price (seller)
- Sublet policy
- Only if shareholder temporarily transferred out of Manhattan for job
- Pied-à-terre
- Requires confirmation
- Policies and fees
- Move-in/out $300 each; deposits $500 each; max financing 75%
Inside The Orwell House









Recent sales
The Orwell House includes studios through four-bedroom combinations. Establish turnover and the available same-building comparable sample from dated transfers before comparing activity with other Central Park West cooperatives.
Review dated studio and one-bedroom sales, including the H line, for a usable internal comparable set. Compare combined apartments by actual plan and size before assigning a combination premium. Evaluate sale-to-ask ratios against condition, exposure, line and broader market timing; the profile does not isolate those effects.
Compare per-room prices with larger-format Central Park West pre-war buildings using consistent room counts and dated sales, adjusting for layout, ceiling height, condition and carrying costs. Market statements are indexed to the last complete year. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apr 2, 2026 | 9A | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $5,100,000 | -21.5% | |
| Feb 11, 2026 | 7F | 3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,900 sf | $2,840,000 | $1,495/sf | -1.9% |
| Jan 16, 2025 | 9D | 3 BR · 2 BA | $2,200,000 | +0.0% | |
| Aug 15, 2024 | 11AB | 4 BR · 3 BA | $9,100,000 | -17.3% | |
| Mar 14, 2024 | 10C | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,325,000 | -3.1% | |
| Dec 22, 2022 | 3F | 4 BR · 3 BA | $1,750,000 | -5.4% | |
| Oct 25, 2022 | 10F | 3 BR · 3 BA | $2,900,000 | -3.3% | |
| Sep 12, 2022 | 12E | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,700,000 | +3.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,385/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01199-0036). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Orwell House and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with The Orwell House and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Orwell House. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Confirm the policy stack. Earlier records report financing to 75 percent and pied-à-terre permission, but the September 2026 panel requires confirmation of both. Confirm pet limits and all current terms in writing.
Smaller-format units are the building's signature. The hotel heritage produced studios and one- and two-bedrooms rather than pre-war family apartments. For a buyer who wants Central Park West architecture and a park block without a full pre-war floor plate, that is the trade.
Line variation is substantial. A 1906 plan reworked twice does not produce uniform apartments. Diligence the specific line, not the building.
The roof deck is a real amenity. Furnished, open over the park and the Reservoir, and used. It is a legitimate part of the value here.
Run the abatement two ways. Primary-residence owners qualify; investors and pied-à-terre owners do not, and the monthly difference is meaningful.
Historic-district status constrains exterior work. Interior renovation is feasible within the alteration agreement; the envelope carries a Landmarks dimension.
What to know if you’re selling
Name the policy stack and the unit format. State current verified financing, pet and pied-à-terre terms in the listing; the reported 75 percent financing and pied-à-terre allowance require current written confirmation.
Lead with the policies and the roof. Describe the current policy terms and roof amenity, and compare them with specific alternatives rather than asserting blockfront exclusivity.
Price the line, not the building. With 69 apartments across a wide configuration range, building averages mislead. Review the available dated same-line comparables for actual layout, condition and transaction differences.
Mansion-tax exposure depends on scale. Smaller configurations generally fall below the threshold; combinations do not. Model it before setting the ask.
Closing schedule. Include the board package and interview when planning the transaction.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering The Orwell House, also evaluate:
- The Alden (225 CPW) — pre-war apartment-hotel converted to a cooperative; the closest peer on heritage
- The Bolivar (230 CPW) — neo-Georgian pre-war cooperative a few blocks south; similar scale
- The Beresford (211 CPW) — Emery Roth's three-tower landmark; the trophy step-up
- The San Remo (145–146 CPW) — Roth twin-tower landmark; the trophy comparison
- The Eldorado (300 CPW) — Art Deco twin-tower landmark to the north
- 241 Central Park West — Schwartz & Gross 1931; the rental alternative on the blockfront, for context rather than purchase
More Central Park West buildings
- The Bolivar (230 Central Park West) — 1926 co-op by Nathan Korn
- 239 Central Park West — 1926 co-op by Sugarman & Berger
- 241 Central Park West — 1930 by Schwartz & Gross
- 262 Central Park West (The White House) — 1929 co-op by Sugarman & Berger
- 271 Central Park West — 1913 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 275 Central Park West — 1931 by Emery Roth
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Central Park West — read The Roebling Team Guide to Central Park West.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Orwell House?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com