Sutton House
333 East 57th Street, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013500014 · BIN 1040001
- Year built
- 1928
- Type
- Cooperative
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 70% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 3% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $746
- floor-adjusted, 2 sales
- Listing discount
- 6.7%
- Recorded sales
- 25
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Sutton House would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Sutton House at 333 East 57th Street is a small, gracious pre-war cooperative with a cultural pedigree few buildings can match. Completed in 1928 to a design by Cox & Holden, its interiors were the work of Dorothy Draper — the most influential American decorator of her era, whose bold, theatrical style helped define mid-century glamour. That design heritage gave the building an identity from the start, and it has carried it ever since.
It is also a literary address. The building was the longtime home of the American novelist E.L. Doctorow, and in recognition it has been designated a New York State Literary Landmark by the American Library Association — an unusual distinction that adds to the building's character. At just 35 residences over 15 stories, Sutton House is intimate by design, the kind of quiet, well-staffed cooperative that trades on service, provenance, and the calm of its near-Sutton location.
For buyers, the appeal is a pre-war home with real history, white-glove staffing, a landscaped garden and roof deck, and a board that welcomes pets — all on a residential block steps from Sutton Place and the East River.
Architecture and unit composition
Sutton House presents as a dignified 1928 elevator cooperative, its proportions and detailing rooted in the pre-war tradition, with Dorothy Draper's hand in the building's original common spaces. The building's enduring appeal lies as much in atmosphere as in ornament — a small, well-kept house with a strong sense of identity.
The 35 residences are predominantly gracious one- and two-bedroom homes with the pre-war hallmarks buyers seek: entry foyers, good ceiling heights, large windows, and generous closets, many enhanced by decades of careful renovation. There are only a handful of apartments per floor; assess privacy and noise in the specific apartment. Light and outlook improve with floor, and the upper homes enjoy the building's best exposures.
Building operations
Sutton House runs as a white-glove cooperative with a 24-hour doorman and a live-in superintendent. Its signature amenity is the meticulously landscaped Roman garden — a rare private outdoor retreat — complemented by a roof deck with city views, large basement storage, and bicycle storage. The building is pet-friendly.
As a cooperative, purchases are subject to board approval, and buyers should plan for a board package and interview; subletting, pied-à-terre, and financing policies follow the building's house rules and proprietary lease. The maintenance reflects the full-service staffing and the building's carefully tended common spaces. The location — a residential block between First and Second Avenues, steps from Sutton Place, the East River, and the 57th Street retail corridor — is a durable part of the appeal.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 3% of the Purchase Price
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Co-Applicant FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is more than one co-applicant or financial statement form | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeePaid to managementRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $725 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit/Background Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New York State Stamp TaxPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount Requires confirmation: the published schedule's figure is incomplete or inconsistent | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If FinancingPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $325 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $775 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Co-Applicant FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is more than one co-applicant or financial statement form | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeePaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $575 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit/Background Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublease FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount 2 months of annual maintenance for every year of sublease | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $225 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Sublease FeeRecurringPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 20% of the sublease rent will be billed for each month of subleasing | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
2 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
15 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| NYS Transfer StampsPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $.05/share | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If financingPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $325 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $775 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Transfer: trust
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Transfer: estate
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $800 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| NYS Transfer StampsPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $.05/share | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If financingPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $325 if financing | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $775 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 70% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $729 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $11,471/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $27
- Modeled exposure split equally across 35 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 3% of the Purchase Price
- Sublet policy
- Sublease Fee 2 months of annual maintenance for every year of sublease; sublet renewal Sublease Fee 20% of sublease rent billed monthly
- Policies and fees
- Application Processing Fee $725 (buyer); Closing Fee $775; Move In/Out Fee $1,000 each
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 23, 2026 | 4F | 1 BR · 2 BA | $889,000 | -0.7% | |
| Jul 11, 2025 | 6A | 5 BR · 4 BA · 3,000 sf | $2,450,000 | $817/sf | -2.0% |
| Apr 11, 2025 | 12A | 5 BR · 4 BA · 3,000 sf | $2,310,000 | $770/sf | -3.1% |
| Nov 20, 2023 | 2A | 3 BR · 4 BA | $2,328,000 | -6.7% | |
| Dec 22, 2021 | 15B | 3 BR · 4 BA · 3,175 sf | $2,500,000 | $787/sf | -9.1% |
| Oct 13, 2021 | 11B | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 3,000 sf | $2,600,000 | $867/sf | +23.8% |
| Jul 1, 2021 | 4 | 3 BR · 3 BA | $1,665,000 | -7.4% | |
| Feb 16, 2021 | 1F | 1.5 BA · 900 sf | $399,000 | $443/sf | — |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $746/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 6.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01350-0014). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Sutton House and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $2.31M (3 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 30% down would pay about $43,425 to close, or 1.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $28,875
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 70% financing limit.
Keep up with Sutton House and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Sutton House. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
This is a small pre-war cooperative, so plan for a board package and interview, and confirm the building's current rules on financing, subletting, and pieds-à-terre as part of your offer. The building is pet-friendly, which matters to many buyers. Focus diligence on floor and light, layout flow and ceiling height, the quality and age of any renovation, and the building's financials and reserve position — in a 35-unit cooperative, per-unit operating costs and capital planning deserve close attention. Weigh the maintenance against the white-glove service and the tended common spaces, particularly the Roman garden, which is a genuine differentiator. The near-Sutton location and the building's quiet, literary identity are assets that hold value.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the building's distinct identity: a 1928 cooperative with Dorothy Draper design heritage, a Roman garden, white-glove service, and a literary-landmark history, all on a coveted near-Sutton block. These are differentiators that set a sale here apart from larger, more anonymous buildings. Benchmark to comparable Sutton and Beekman pre-war cooperatives, and stage to the home's pre-war character and light. A clean, well-prepared board package and a clear renovation history will smooth the cooperative approval process and support the price.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering Sutton House, also evaluate these Sutton Place and East 57th Street pre-war and full-service peers:
- 430 East 57th Street — McKim, Mead & White pre-war cooperative nearby
- 444 East 57th Street — pre-war cooperative on the far East 57th stretch
- 411 East 57th Street — full-service building near Sutton Place
- 322 East 57th Street — pre-war cooperative nearby
- 303 East 57th Street — established East 57th Street co-op
More Sutton Place buildings
- 323 East 53rd Street — condominium
- 330 East 57th Street — 2005 condominium
- 333 East 55th Street (Sutton55) — 1962 co-op
- 339 East 58th Street — 1929 co-op
- 345 East 54th Street — 1960 co-op
- 345 East 56th Street (Sutton East) — 1960 condop
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Sutton House?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com