
34 Gramercy Park East (The Gramercy)
34 Gramercy Park East, New York, NY 10003
BBL 1008760018 · BIN 1017953
- Year built
- 1883
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 47
- Floors
- 9
- Landmark status
- Requires confirmation
- City records and our profile differ. Confirm with building management.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditions
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 3% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Financing
- Up to 50% financeable (50% minimum down).
- Subletting
- Not permitted — an owner-occupancy building.
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted.
- Washer / dryer
- Permitted in-unit.
- Pets
- Permitted, subject to Board approval.
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted. Parents purchasing for children not permitted.
- Guarantors
- Permitted.
- Managing agent
- Orsid New York
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR · combo median
- $2.1M
- Recent range
- $985K – $3M
- Listing discount
- 8.4%
- Recorded transfers
- 49
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Gramercy would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Gramercy is NYC's oldest continuously operating cooperative — built 1883 by George W. DaCunha for Charles A. Gerlach. (The Rembrandt on West 57th Street, completed 1881, was the first cooperative ever but was demolished; 34 Gramercy is the oldest extant.)
Everything proceeds from the 1883 founding-cooperative pedigree — the building opened with three apartments per floor, Otis elevators, and an upscale restaurant, all radical for 1883, and its original hydraulic elevator was converted to electric in the 1990s. Wrapping that history is the Queen Anne architectural composition that Willensky and White (A.I.A. Guide to New York City) called "a craggy, mysterious red brick and red terra-cotta pile" with "some of the city's most spectacular Queen Anne architecture." And uniquely, ownership confers the coveted key to Gramercy Park — Manhattan's only private park.
Notable residents: James Cagney, Margaret Hamilton (the Wicked Witch of the West), Jimmy Fallon, Cara Delevingne (purchased her unit from Jimmy Fallon in 2022 and listed it in October 2025).
Architecture and building operations
The building was conceived during the same period as the city's first cooperative, per architectural histories. The cooperative scheme split the building: "six stories were sold to stockholders while four stories were rented for the benefit of those owning the other six stories" (The New York Times).
At opening it offered three apartments per floor, Otis elevators, and an upscale restaurant — radical for 1883. The original hydraulic elevator was converted to electric in the 1990s.
Willensky and White (A.I.A. Guide to New York City) called it "a craggy, mysterious red brick and red terra-cotta pile" with "some of the city's most spectacular Queen Anne architecture." Interior survives with mosaic floor tiles, Lincrusta wall coverings, Grueby and Minton mosaic tiles, original Tiffany stained glass, a striking original fireplace, hearth, and mantle mirror.
Operations: 24-hour doorman; live-in building manager; private storage; package room; central laundry; bike room. Coveted key to Gramercy Park (Manhattan's only private park). No garage; no health club; no sundeck.
Policy framework
- Type: Cooperative — board interview required
- Minimum down: 50%
- Pied-à-terre: Allowed (unusual at this conservatism)
- Pets: Allowed
- Subletting: Standard coop discretion
- Flip tax: Verify with managing agent
- Trust, LLC, foreign buyers: Case-by-case
- Post-closing liquidity: Substantial Gramercy reserves customary
- Board interview: Required
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal 3% of the purchase price
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
11 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Review FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $400 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Monthly Maintenance Charge FeeConditionalConditions: If closing takes place after the 10th of the monthPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount Equal to common charges and charges up to the time of closing | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Agent FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $850 or $1100 if closing remotely | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Refinance
8 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
1 item
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount $5000 for Decorative, Standard, and Major | Refundable Refundable |
Ownership transfer
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate TransferConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsCase by CaseSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsCase by CaseSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsCase by CaseSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedBoard ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Permitted with conditionsWith Board ApprovalSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $1,215 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Package room
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $5,962/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $11
- Modeled exposure split equally across 45 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 3% of purchase price (shareholder, at closing)
- Sublet policy
- Not Allowed
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed (case by case)
- Notable fees
- Transfer Agent Fee $850 ($1,100 if remote closing); max financing 50%; app processing $700; move-in/out $500 each
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 15, 2025 | 8B | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $2,150,000 | -8.5% |
| May 12, 2025 | 3BR | 2 BR · 1.5 BA | $2,100,000 | +0.2% |
| Nov 26, 2024 | 7C | 3 BR · 2 BA | $1,930,000 | -19.6% |
| Jun 20, 2024 | 1B | 1 BR · 1 BA | $985,000 | -8.4% |
| Jun 18, 2024 | 4B | 2 BR · 1 BA | $1,730,000 | -3.8% |
| Apr 27, 2023 | 7AR | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,150,000 | -13.8% |
| Apr 26, 2022 | 8AF | 2 BR · 2 BA | $3,150,000 | +0.0% |
| Aug 17, 2021 | 6BF | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,600,000 | +0.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2018): a median $1,737/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 4.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00876-0018). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Gramercy and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $2.1M (3 transfers since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $40,800 to close, or 1.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $26,250
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Gramercy and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Gramercy. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Notable residents
- James Cagney
- Margaret Hamilton — the Wicked Witch of the West
- Jimmy Fallon
- Cara Delevingne — bought from Fallon 2022, listed October 2025
The "saloon room" Fallon installed reportedly survives.
Architectural register
"A craggy, mysterious red brick and red terra-cotta pile." "Some of the city's most spectacular Queen Anne." "One of Manhattan's most iconic and historically rich residences. #1 in Gramercy Park.
What to know if you’re buying
The 1883 founding-cooperative pedigree is structurally unique. Oldest continuously operating coop in NYC.
The DaCunha Queen Anne architectural pedigree and the Willensky & White reading are real institutional context.
The key to Gramercy Park is a real institutional amenity advantage.
The 1883 original hydraulic elevator (converted to electric 1990s) is structurally distinctive.
The cultural resident roster — Cagney, Hamilton, Fallon, Delevingne — supports premium positioning.
The 50% min down with permitted pied-à-terre is structurally calibrated for the institutional buyer.
Comparable buildings
- 50 Gramercy Park North — Lyons 1925 / Schrager 2004; immediate Gramercy Park trophy peer
- 15 Gramercy Park South (National Arts Club) — Calvert Vaux conversion 1884; nearby Gramercy peer
- One Madison (23 East 22nd Street) — CetraRuddy 2013; nearby Flatiron peer
- The Whitman (21 East 26th Street) — Mitchell 2013; nearby NoMad peer
- The Flatiron Building (175 Fifth) — Burnham 1902 / Sofield 2026; nearby Flatiron trophy peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Gramercy buildings
- 24 Gramercy Park South — 1908 co-op
- 26 Gramercy Park South (The Irving) — 1903 co-op
- 32 Gramercy Park South (Gramercy Towers) — 1955 co-op
- 36 Gramercy Park East — 1910 co-op
- 39 Gramercy Park North — 1956 co-op
- 44 Gramercy Park North — 1930 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Gramercy — read The Roebling Team Guide to Gramercy.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Gramercy?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com