37 West 12th Street
37 West 12th Street, New York, NY 10011
BBL 1005760025 · BIN 1077930
- Year built
- 1962
- Type
- Cooperative
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Greenwich Village Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2026
- $2.8M
- 12 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $1.7M – $5.4M
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 106
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Butterfield House would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Butterfield House is one of the most admired post-war buildings in Greenwich Village — and one of the few mid-century cooperatives that earned the affection usually reserved for the neighborhood's pre-war stock. Completed in 1962 to designs by Mayer, Whittlesey & Glass, with William J. Conklin and James S. Rossant as the partners in charge, it was conceived as a modern building that would sit with the brownstones of West 12th Street rather than against them. In 1963 the Municipal Art Society of New York gave it an award for exactly that achievement — a rare civic endorsement of a new apartment house in a historic neighborhood.
The building takes its name from General Daniel Butterfield, the Union officer credited with composing "Taps," whose home once stood on the site. Today the name belongs to a co-op that occupies the prized Fifth Avenue end of West 12th Street — the so-called Gold Coast — within easy reach of the Flatiron, Union Square, and the rest of the Village's most walkable blocks.
Architecture and unit composition
The design is the building's signature. To respect the low brownstone scale of West 12th Street, the architects held the front wing to seven stories, then let the building rise to 13 stories on the quieter West 13th Street side — a clever section that gives the co-op its height without overpowering the block. The two wings are joined by a glazed central courtyard, a serene, glass-walled passage that doubles as the building's lobby experience and remains one of the most celebrated interior spaces in any Village apartment house.
The 102 residences are defined by the building's deep, projecting bay windows, which pull light and air into the apartments and animate the facade. Layouts run from one-bedroom homes to large family apartments, with the high-floor units on the West 13th Street wing carrying the longest views. Generous proportions, the courtyard outlook, and the floor-to-ceiling glass of the bays make these among the most sought-after post-war apartments in the neighborhood.
Building operations
Butterfield House is a full-service cooperative — a 24-hour doorman, porters, and a live-in resident manager keep it running — and the amenity package is unusually complete for a building of its era: a fitness room, central air with room-by-room control, a bicycle room, private storage, a basement laundry, on-site covered parking, and the landscaped courtyard at its heart.
The co-op's rules are specific. A flip tax of 2% of the gross sale price applies on transfer. Financing is capped at 60% of the purchase price (the board temporarily lifted the cap to 70% during the pandemic before reverting); confirm the current cap with the managing agent. Buyers planning renovations should note the co-op's alteration process and its window-replacement standard. As with any cooperative, purchases are subject to board review, and prospective owners considering holding their shares in a trust should weigh how that affects the city's co-op/condo property-tax abatement before transferring.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of gross sales price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
26 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Re-run FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| Expedited Closing Fee Expedited Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Within 10 business days of approvalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $400, only if purchase is being financed | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantConditions: If ApplicablePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $200 Per POA (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Closing in other location; closing by mailPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $1100 (closing in other location; closing by mail) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Sale feeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing Fee Expedited Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Within 10 business days of approvalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantConditions: If ApplicablePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $200 Per POA (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT a Bank Attorney PresentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 Hours' NoticePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Trust Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200, if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Undertaking FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $100 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Window Replacement DepositConditionalConditions: If applicablePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $20,000 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
8 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $125 Per Applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant (if required for time due) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Package Resubmission FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| Rush Package Review FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Alteration
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Processing FeeConditionalPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount $2000 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security DepositConditionalPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount $1000 (if applicable) | Refundable Refundable |
| Standard/Major Alteration Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 25% of the estimated cost of the Work, but in no event less than $5000 | Refundable Refundable |
Ownership transfer
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate TransferConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $862 per room a monthMedian of 17 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.62 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, garden, bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of gross sales price (buyer)
- Policies and fees
- Max financing 60% (temporarily 70%); Window Replacement Deposit $20,000 if applicable; move-in/out deposits $500; closing fee $850
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 14, 2026 | 7J | 3 BR · 3.5 BA | $5,375,000 | -4.9% | |
| Apr 29, 2026 | 6G | 2 BR · 2 BA | $3,350,000 | +0.0% | |
| Jan 20, 2026 | 3D | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,500,000 | +9.2% | |
| Sep 30, 2025 | 7D | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,950,000 | -1.5% | |
| Apr 24, 2025 | 3A3B | 4 BR · 4 BA · 3,000 sf | $5,100,000 | $1,700/sf | -15.0% |
| Feb 27, 2025 | 5J | 4 BR · 3.5 BA | $4,895,000 | -2.0% | |
| Dec 17, 2024 | 2F | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,400,000 | -3.8% | |
| Oct 22, 2024 | 1K | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,700,000 | +0.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,700/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 29, 2024 | 3C | $2,600,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00576-0025). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at Butterfield House and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $3.35M (7 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $131,800 to close, or 3.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $50,250
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Building transfer fee (flip tax), 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer per building management's published schedule, as of September 2026: $67,000
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest. Confirm the current transfer fee with building management; the linked calculator does not include it.
Keep up with Butterfield House and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Butterfield House. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
This is a board-approval co-op. Budget for the 60% financing cap — buyers should expect to bring meaningful equity, and the board will scrutinize the full financial picture. Factor in the 2% flip tax when modeling resale economics. In return, buyers get an architecturally significant building in one of the Village's best locations. Apartments with strong courtyard or open-sky exposure and the signature bay windows are the ones to prioritize; renovation-ready homes can offer value for buyers prepared to work within the alteration rules.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the architecture and the courtyard. Describe the Municipal Art Society award, glazed courtyard and bay windows as specific architectural features. Price against the building's own history and the Gold Coast peer set, with other mid-century buildings as context where useful; a claim of consistent outperformance requires matched, dated transaction evidence. Prepare the buyer for the board and the financing cap early — a well-qualified, well-prepared purchaser presents a cleaner application, though approval is never assured, and identifying the requirements early helps applicants prepare but does not guarantee the review timeline. Light, floor, and exposure are the levers that separate a strong sale from an average one here.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering Butterfield House, also evaluate nearby Greenwich Village and Fifth Avenue co-ops:
- 2 Fifth Avenue — Emery Roth & Sons's 1951 Greenwich Village cooperative
- 24 Fifth Avenue — pre-war Village cooperative near Washington Square
- 59 West 12th Street — West 12th Street cooperative steps away
- 101 West 12th Street — full-service West 12th Street building
- 45 Fifth Avenue — established Lower Fifth Avenue co-op
- 33 Fifth Avenue — pre-war Fifth Avenue cooperative nearby
More Greenwich Village buildings
- 35 West 9th Street — 1926 co-op
- 40 West 13th Street — 1920 condominium
- 37 East 12th Street — 1895 condominium
- 38 East 10th Street — 1929 co-op
- 38 West 9th Street (The Portsmouth) — 1882 co-op by Ralph S. Townsend
- 39 East 12th Street (University Mews) — 1900 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Greenwich Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to Greenwich Village.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Butterfield House?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com