40 Sutton Place
40 Sutton Place, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013707501 · BIN 1040645
- Year built
- 1966
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 74
- Floors
- 10
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $884
- floor-adjusted, 2 sales
- Listing discount
- 4.0%
- Recorded sales
- 89
- On record
- 2003–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 40 Sutton Place would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Sutton Place is a co-op enclave — One Sutton Place South, River House, the Cannon Point co-ops, the townhouse blocks that society built out in the 1920s — and 40 Sutton Place is its single structural exception. This is the only condominium on Sutton Place proper, which means it is effectively the only way to own on this riverfront enclave without a cooperative board's financial regime: pied-à-terre ownership is permitted, financing runs to a conventional 20 percent down, and transfer runs on condo mechanics rather than board consent. In a corridor whose great co-ops are famously selective, that exception is the building's entire market thesis, and it is a durable one.
The setting does real work. The building holds the east blockfront of Sutton Place between East 58th and 59th Streets — the quietest end of an already quiet enclave, beside Sutton Place Park and the East 59th Street river overlook, with the Queensboro Bridge composing the view to the northeast. Eastern lines look over the river to Roosevelt Island; at night the bridge lighting is the corridor's signature. The architecture is modest post-war brick — beige brick on a polished black granite base under a canopied entrance — and the enclave's appeal has never depended on it: Sutton Place trades on privacy, river frontage, and the cul-de-sac calm that comes from having no through traffic east of First Avenue.
The conversion history adds a practical wrinkle. The building went condominium around 1981 per brokerage records — early for Manhattan — and the documentation conventions of that era (including a 3 percent transfer fee, a co-op-style mechanism unusual in condominiums) survive in the building's framework per listing records. Buyers should treat the fee stack and policy details as diligence items rather than assumptions; the governing documents settle them.
Architecture and unit composition
The building rises ten floors per city records across roughly 200 feet of Sutton Place frontage, with about 74 apartments running from efficient studios through one- and two-bedrooms to the penthouse tier. Many units carry hardwood floors, generous storage, and the eastern river exposures that drive pricing; the penthouses are the trophy inventory, with private terraces over 300 square feet, solariums, and working fireplaces in select units per listing records. The commercial base — home to a private preschool — keeps the streetfront occupied and quiet. Buyers should map line-by-line: the spread between a west-facing studio and an east-facing river line is the widest pricing variable in the building.
Building operations
Full-service at boutique scale: 24-hour doorman, live-in superintendent, porters, central laundry, bike room, and private storage available to residents. There is no concierge layer, no roof deck, and no garage — the building is a service house, not an amenity house, and its monthly carry reflects that. In-unit washer/dryers are permitted per listing records. Building-specific governing documents — offering plan, by-laws, current financial statements — should be obtained through the managing agent during diligence; The Roebling Research Library maintains corridor-level documentation for Sutton Place, including governing documents and financials for neighboring cooperatives, which is useful for cross-shopping the enclave.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 3 percent of sale price per listing records — unusual for a condominium; verify the amount, payer, and structure against the by-laws before contract
Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Purchase
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 (with broker); $800 (without broker) | Refundable Not stated |
| Building Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit report and background check feePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $120 for each applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Administration FeeRequired | Paid by Buyer | When Upon approval | Amount 3% of Purchase Price | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Rental or lease
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background and Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $120 for each applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Lease FeeRecurring | Paid by Landlord | When Upon approval | Amount 8.5% of the monthly common charges | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- Not verified
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPermitted, with a 35-pound weight limit per listing recordsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $724 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $3.69 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $2.04 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $1.65 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Roof deck, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $56,375/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $63
- Modeled exposure split equally across 74 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Policies and fees
- Buyer Administration Fee 3% of Purchase Price; Landlord Lease Fee 8.5% of monthly common charges; Seller Closing Fee $500
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 26, 2026 | 9J | 1 BR · 1 BA · 605 sf | $540,000 | $893/sf | -5.1% |
| May 7, 2026 | 3F | 1 BR · 1 BA · 631 sf | $550,000 | $872/sf | -12.6% |
| Aug 29, 2025 | 8B | 440 sf | $210,500 | $478/sf | — |
| Aug 29, 2025 | 8C | 420 sf | $210,500 | $501/sf | — |
| Apr 15, 2025 | 5G | 1 BA · 508 sf | $405,000 | $797/sf | +1.5% |
| Nov 6, 2023 | 4A | 1 BA · 467 sf | $533,333 | $1,142/sf | -10.4% |
| Mar 8, 2023 | 7D | 1 BA · 461 sf | $450,000 | $976/sf | +0.0% |
| Sep 19, 2022 | 7F | 1 BR · 1 BA · 621 sf | $575,000 | $926/sf | -14.8% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $884/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 4.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01370-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at 40 Sutton Place, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 4 | $3,350 |
5 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease July 2025. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 40 Sutton Place and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $405K (5 sales in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $19,817 to close, or 4.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- Mortgage recording tax: $5,468
- Title insurance: $1,822
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $12,527
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 40 Sutton Place and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 40 Sutton Place. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The structure is the scarcity. If you want to own on Sutton Place proper — as a pied-à-terre, through an entity structure, or simply without a co-op board interview — this is functionally the only building. Confirm specific ownership structures with the managing agent and your attorney, but the baseline flexibility is the asset.
Underwrite the fee stack before you bid. The 3 percent transfer fee documented in listing records is unusual for a condominium and materially changes seller economics and negotiating math. Verify amount, payer, and any exemptions against the by-laws at offer stage.
Buy the line, not the building average. East-facing river and bridge exposures are the product; interior and west lines are priced accordingly. Same-line history matters more here than building-wide $/sf.
Price the transit honestly. The 4/5/6/N/R/W at Lexington–59th and the E and weekday F at Lexington–53rd (F service Monday–Friday, 6 a.m.–9:30 p.m.; check current service) are roughly half a mile west. For drivers and car-service users the FDR access is excellent; for daily subway commuters, walk it once before offering.
Reconcile the records. Year built, floor count, and conversion details vary across public data feeds for this parcel — and the address itself appears in city records under numbers from 34 to 60 Sutton Place. None of this is substantive risk, but your attorney should confirm the legal description and offering-plan history cleanly during diligence.
What to know if you’re selling
Market the only-condo position explicitly. Your buyer pool includes everyone the enclave's co-ops turn away or deter: pied-à-terre purchasers, international buyers, trust and LLC structures, and co-op-fatigued downsizers. The marketing should name the structural facts rather than gesture at "luxury."
Anchor against the co-ops, then adjust for structure. The honest comparable set is 1 and 2 Sutton Place South, the Cannon Point buildings, and the East 57th Street co-ops — at their pricing plus a premium for condo mechanics, net of the transfer fee. We build that bridge analysis for every listing.
Net-sheet the transfer fee from day one. Three percent off the top changes pricing strategy. Run the Seller Closing Cost Calculator with the fee included before setting the ask.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 40 Sutton Place, also evaluate:
- 1 Sutton Place South — the enclave's blue-chip pre-war co-op; the prestige benchmark
- 2 Sutton Place South — post-war full-service co-op at the enclave's center
- 25 Sutton Place South — Cannon Point North; the corridor's large post-war co-op alternative
- 45 Sutton Place South — Cannon Point South; like-for-like post-war river views
- River House (435 East 52nd Street) — the corridor's trophy co-op; the opposite end of the board-rigor spectrum
- 425 East 58th Street (The Sovereign) — the immediate neighbor; large-scale post-war co-op with river views
- Sutton Tower (430 East 58th Street) — the block's new-development condominium alternative at a far higher price point
- 959 First Avenue (The Sutton) — the nearby 2017 boutique condo; the modern-product comparison
More Sutton Place buildings
- 30 Sutton Place — 1928 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 35 Sutton Place — 1961 co-op
- 36 Sutton Place South — 1949 co-op by Boak & Paris
- 45 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point South) — 1958 co-op
- 50 Sutton Place South — 1955 co-op
- 60 Sutton Place South — 1951 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 40 Sutton Place?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com