Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1973
The Sovereign
425 East 58th Street, New York, NY 10022
Buildings·Sutton Place·Cooperative

425 East 58th Street (The Sovereign)

425 East 58th Street, New York, NY 10022

Sutton Place

BBL 1013700015 · BIN 1040637

At a glance
Year built
1973
Type
Cooperative
Units
360
Floors
48
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditions
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Dogs
Permitted with conditions
Cats
Not stated
Maximum financing
Requires confirmation
Flip tax
1% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)

The Sovereign sales history: 276 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Sovereign?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Financing
Requires confirmation
Subletting
Permitted with Board approval.
Pied-à-terre
Permitted.

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$950
floor-adjusted, 4 sales
Listing discount
5.2%
Recorded sales
276
On record
2003–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Sovereign would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

The Sovereign is a 1973-1974 Emery Roth & Sons commission whose scale and stepped plan set it apart in the Sutton Place neighborhood.

It carries an Emery Roth & Sons pedigree at late-period International Style — the firm behind the Beresford, the San Remo, and the El Dorado on Central Park West, here applying its mature register at a residential scale that anticipated the next generation of Sutton Place towers. A choice that has aged unusually well is the brown brick facade, rare for a building of this size when most contemporaries reached for white glazed brick, and far more durable over the decades than that glazing proved to be. And the form does real work for the apartments: a stepped configuration with abundant corner windows opens up extensive south, east, and Queensboro Bridge exposures.

Architecture and building operations

The stepped facade with corner windows produces extensive south, east, and Queensboro Bridge view exposures. Emery Roth & Sons applied their late-period International Style register here at a residential scale that anticipated the next generation of Sutton Place residential towers.

The brown brick was unusual for a building of its scale; most contemporaries used white glazed brick. The brown brick has weathered substantially better than the white-glazed brick of contemporaries (compare: The Excelsior, three blocks west, has had recurrent facade-repair issues from glazed-brick freeze cycles).

Operations: doorman and concierge; valet parking; fitness center; gardens; dog-friendly. Two units per floor (typical of the building's middle and upper floors) maximize privacy. The building once housed "The Palace" on its north side — at one point the city's most expensive restaurant. Management: the managing agent.

Policy framework

  • Type: Cooperative — board interview required
  • Pets: Permitted (notably dog-friendly)
  • Pied-à-terre: Permitted with board approval
  • Subletting: Permitted with board approval; standard coop restrictions on duration
  • Financing: Up to 75% reportedly permitted (verify with managing agent)
  • Flip tax: Verify with management
  • Gifting: Typically permitted with board review
  • Trust: Permitted with board approval
  • LLC purchases: Permitted with board approval (unusual for prewar coops, but The Sovereign permits this)
  • Foreign buyers: Permitted with appropriate liquidity demonstration
  • Post-closing liquidity: Standard NYC coop expectation (1-2x purchase price)
  • Board interview: Required, substantive

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Amount equal to 1% of the purchase price
Rate
1% of the purchase price
Paid by
Seller

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

9 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation)Refundable Not stated
Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 per Co-applicant/ GuarantorRefundable Not stated
Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (check payable to Sovereign Apartments Inc.)Refundable Not stated
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300 (if financing)Refundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $800 ($850 Without a Broker) plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Move Out FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Sublet

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
1st and 2nd Sublet FeePer share · RecurringPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $5 per share per monthRefundable Not stated
3rd and 4th Sublet FeePer share · RecurringPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount 50% of the difference between the sublet rent and the maintenance fee; or $5 per share per month whichever is greaterRefundable Not stated
5th and 6th Sublet FeePer share · RecurringPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount 65% of the difference between the sublet rent and maintenance fee; or $5 per share per month, whichever is greater.Refundable Not stated
7th and 8th Sublet FeePer share · RecurringPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount 85% of the difference between the sublet rent and the maintenance fee: or $5 per share per month, whichever is greater.Refundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Move Out FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $200Refundable Not stated
Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per individual (check payable to Sovereign Apartments Inc.)Refundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Not stated

Refinance

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated

Ownership transfer

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Transfer FeePer sharePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $850 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Corporate Counsel FeePayable to Ganfer and Shore, LLCPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount To be determined after review of documentationRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Permitted with conditionsMinimum of one year; maximum two years. Renewals subject to Board approval.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Dogs
Permitted with conditionsLimits statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Cats
Not statedThe source permits pets without naming cats. Limits statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$817 per room a monthMedian of 24 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.23 per square foot a monthMedian of 22 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Valet
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, garageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟠
Material — penalties in current period, escalating in 2030
2024–2029 annual penalty
$577,150/yr
2030–2034 annual penalty
$1,232,591/yr
Per unit / month range
$138 – $295
Modeled exposure split equally across 348 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$1,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
1% of purchase price from buyer + 1% from seller (2% total)
Sublet policy
Allowed; min 1 year, max 2 years; renewals subject to Board. Escalating sublet fees ($5/share/mo yrs 1-2, rising to 85% of rent-maintenance differential yrs 7-8)
Pied-à-terre
Allowed
Notable fees
Co-op. Max financing 65%. Closing fee $800 ($850 no broker) + $0.05/share; transfer fee $850 + $0.05/share; move-in/out $1,000 each; corporate counsel fee (Ganfer & Shore) TBD
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Aug 25, 20263A
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,400 sf
$2,160,000$900/sf-1.8%
Jul 28, 202642B
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,800 sf
$2,000,000$1,111/sf-16.7%
Mar 31, 202628B
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,800 sf
$1,650,000$917/sf-8.3%
Jan 8, 20264H
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 2,900 sf
$2,495,000$860/sf+0.0%
Dec 17, 202530A
2 BR · 3.5 BA
$2,500,000-10.6%
Nov 4, 202529C
2 BR · 2.5 BA
$1,925,000-2.5%
Oct 6, 202531C
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,800 sf
$1,620,000$900/sf-7.4%
Aug 26, 20254F
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,400 sf
$1,250,000$893/sfoff-mkt

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $950/sf (floor-adjusted) across 4 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 5.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

41B+73%
$1,485,000 2011 → $2,575,000 2014
34A+71%
$2,150,000 2006 → $2,400,000 2014 → $3,675,000 2018
7A · 2,400 sf+65%
$1,275,000 ($531/sf) 2009 → $2,100,000 ($875/sf) 2022
39F · 1,400 sf+63%
$1,100,000 ($786/sf) 2014 → $1,795,000 ($1,282/sf) 2022
41F · 1,400 sf+50%
$1,100,000 ($786/sf) 2015 → $1,700,000 ($1,214/sf) 2017 → $1,650,000 ($1,179/sf) 2024

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Aug 22, 200322G$1,320,000
View all 276 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01370-0015). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Sovereign and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $2M (12 transfers since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $39,550 to close, or 2.0% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $25,000
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Sovereign and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Sovereign. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The Emery Roth & Sons architectural pedigree at late-period International Style is real institutional context.

The stepped massing produces meaningful view variance floor-to-floor. Apartment-line-specific evaluation required.

The LLC-purchase permission with board approval is structurally distinguishing for a cooperative.

The brown brick facade performance is superior to peer white-glazed-brick contemporaries.

The dog-friendly policy and the up-to-75% financing are accommodating for a Sutton Place cooperative.

Comparable buildings


Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.

More Sutton Place buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Sovereign?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com