60 East 9th Street (The Hamilton)
60 East 9th Street, New York, NY 10003
BBL 1005607503 · BIN 1009092
- Year built
- 1954
- Type
- Condop
- Floors
- 6
- Ownership structure
- Cooperative; the city classifies the tax lot as a condominium (a condop structure)
- The Roebling Team's building profile
- Land
- Owned by the building's owners
- The Roebling Team's building profile
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2026
- $803K
- 20 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $390K – $2.4M
- Listing discount
- 3.4%
- Recorded transfers
- 334
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Hamilton would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
East 9th Street between University Place and Broadway is one of the few stretches of Greenwich Village that is essentially a mid-century time capsule. Four large postwar apartment houses went up within a couple of years of each other in the mid-1950s, on land that the Sailors' Snug Harbor trust had held since the early nineteenth century and subdivided into hundreds of lots for lease to developers. The Hamilton, completed in 1954, was the first of the group, and the same architect followed it a year later with the building next door. The result is a block with almost no retail, an unusually uniform cornice line, and a run of period signage that reads as a set.
For a buyer, the more consequential fact is structural. The Hamilton is a condop. The building is legally a condominium of three units — residential, commercial and garage — and what the cooperative corporation owns is one of those three units, together with an undivided 68.668 percent interest in the common elements. Shareholders buy shares in the corporation and receive a proprietary lease, exactly as in any co-op: board package, board interview, board discretion. But the corporation itself is a unit owner in a condominium it does not control outright, and it pays condominium common charges — roughly $300,000 a year in the most recent statements on file — on top of its own operating budget.
That structure carries a specific risk the offering plan itself discloses plainly: because the Apartment Corporation holds only 68.668 percent of the common interest, the Commercial Unit owner and the Garage Unit owner together have the ability to delay or prevent properly constituted meetings of the condominium board, which could interfere with the operation of the condominium and lead to arbitration or litigation. That is not a hypothetical the sponsor buried; it is a numbered risk factor on the front of the plan. Any buyer here should have counsel read the condominium declaration and by-laws alongside the co-op documents, not instead of them.
The third thing to understand is that this building has been through something. A fire in 2017 caused substantial damage; the cooperative advanced more than $2.5 million to the condominium to fund the loss and the restoration, collected business-interruption insurance while apartments were unusable, and then approved a fire-loss assessment of $2,187,000 effective April 1, 2020, with an optional 48-month payment schedule. That episode is the single largest capital event in the building's recent history and it sits behind every carrying-cost question a buyer will ask.
Architecture and unit composition
Six stories, roughly 204,000 square feet of building on a 45,400-square-foot lot — a broad, low, red-brick slab rather than a tower, which is why it holds 214 apartments on six floors. The mix as offered ran from studios through four-bedrooms, and two of the original units were professional apartments rather than residences. Apartment numbering runs by floor, so a first digit tells you the level.
Postwar plans of this vintage are efficient rather than grand: modest foyers, low-to-standard ceiling heights, straightforward room shapes and good closet counts. They renovate cleanly. Recorded built FAR is 4.50 against a 6.02 residential maximum; that simple comparison does not establish legal zoning floor area or permitted future work.
Building operations
Tax history. The Department of Finance J-51 record shows three grants at lot 1203 — one initiated in 1990 against roughly $148,400 of qualifying alteration cost, one initiated in 1991 against roughly $47,600, and one initiated in 1998 against roughly $135,000, each a 90 percent abatement on a twelve-year schedule extended to fourteen. The first two were consumed by tax years 2001 and 2002; the last ran through tax year 2009 and the record ends there. There is no J-51 benefit today and no building-wide exemption on the lot. The exemptions that appear on the assessment roll are individual shareholder benefits — the co-op and condominium abatement, STAR, veterans' and seniors' exemptions — which the corporation receives and credits back to eligible shareholders against carrying charges. Underwrite full unabated taxes; real estate taxes were the single largest line in the operating budget in the most recent statements on file.
Debt. In June 2018 the cooperative refinanced into a $9,500,000 note at 3.93 percent, interest only, on a ten-year term with an option to extend for a further ten years — monthly payments of approximately $31,112 with no amortization. The prior $5,600,000 mortgage carried 5.08 percent and was retired early at a prepayment penalty of $230,510. A $1,000,000 line of credit was opened alongside it and was undrawn at the year-end reported in the 2018–19 statements on file. The reported terms provide for interest-only payments through a 2028 maturity with an extension option; they do not establish the current balance or whether the loan has been modified, prepaid or extended. Obtain current loan and credit-line statements and confirm the extension status with management.
The 2017 fire and the assessment. A fire in 2017 caused substantial damage. Claims and reimbursements were recorded on the condominium's books; the cooperative incurred $184,370 of fire-related security and consultant costs directly, received $824,259 of business-interruption insurance through 2019 which it applied against unpaid shareholder charges, and had advanced $2,524,722 to the condominium by the end of 2019 to fund the loss and restoration. A fire-loss assessment of $2,187,000 was approved effective April 1, 2020, with shareholders offered an optional 48-month payment period. On its face that schedule ran to April 2024, but the statements on file do not extend that far. The cooperative also levied general operating assessments of roughly $307,000 and $344,000 in the two prior years. Confirm the current assessment position in writing before pricing any apartment here.
Reserves and reserve study. The cooperative has not conducted a study of the remaining useful lives of the common property or the cost of future major repairs — the auditors flag the omission as an emphasis of matter. Cash and equivalents stood at roughly $2.86 million at the most recent year-end on file, but a large receivable from the condominium sat alongside it.
Governance. The corporation has pursued a long-running enforcement action against a shareholder over an unauthorized and unlegalised apartment alteration, obtaining a judgment, a contempt order and reimbursement of legal fees over a period of more than a decade. We name no party. The point for a buyer is procedural rather than gossip: this board enforces its alteration agreement, in court, for as long as it takes. File your alteration properly.
Building staff are covered by a Building Service 32BJ collective bargaining agreement.
Statements on file are dated. The most recent audited financial statements in The Roebling Research Library cover 2018 and 2019. Everything above is accurate as of those statements and the 1986 plan; the current mortgage, assessment and reserve position must come from the managing agent.
Ownership structure — read this before you offer
Three points, all from the documents on file:
One. You are buying shares and a proprietary lease. Board approval is required, the board interviews, and the board has broad discretion, limited by federal, state and city law and its own authority. Condominium-style rights of first refusal do not apply here.
Two. The cooperative is one of three unit owners in the condominium, holding 68.668 percent of the common interest. Fuel and building insurance are condominium common expenses; electricity is separately metered and billed directly to apartments and to the commercial and garage tenants. The condominium — not the cooperative — owns the land and the building.
Three. The commercial and garage units are separately owned and, under the condominium declaration and by-laws, their owners have the right to rent and alter space within their units for essentially any lawful purpose. A buyer who assumes the ground floor and the garage are controlled by "the building" is assuming something the documents do not say.
Policy framework
Ownership form: Condop. Full board package and interview; eight to twelve weeks from executed contract to closing is realistic. NYC Local Law 58 of 2026 now imposes acknowledgment and decision deadlines on co-op boards, which helps.
Financing: 75 percent maximum, 25 percent minimum down, per management-sourced records. Note that lender treatment of condops is not always identical to a straight co-op; have your mortgage broker confirm the building is approved before you go to contract.
Post-closing liquidity: Not published. Ask.
Subletting: Permitted with board approval. The sixty-day advance filing requirement is strict and enforced — packages arriving inside sixty days are returned. The annual sublet fee is two months' maintenance per year of the sublease, refundable if the subtenant is rejected, plus a shareholder move-out fee and subtenant move-in and move-out fees. Sublease renewals are again board-approved and carry the same annual fee. Do not assume this is an investor building.
Pied-à-terre, co-purchase and guarantors: Not documented in anything on file. A market record reports all three are prohibited. Get the board's position in writing.
Trusts and LLCs: Not addressed in the documents on file. ACRIS shows transfers involving estates and executors, so estate conveyances plainly function. Trust and entity ownership is a separate question with tax-abatement consequences; raise it with counsel.
Pets: Permitted with board approval.
Fee stack: Buyer-side application, credit, messenger, financing and move-in fees at submission and closing; seller-side messenger, administrative, move-out and transfer fees plus the per-share stock stamp tax. The four-months'-maintenance capital contribution is the number that matters. All of it is management-sourced and none of it is published by the cooperative — verify it against the current schedule.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- A non-refundable capital contribution equal to four months' maintenance, buyer-paid at closing, per management-sourced records — a materially different structure from a percentage-of-price flip tax, scaled to the apartment's maintenance rather than its price. The seller separately pays a $750…
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Purchase
13 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 per person | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Messenger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $50 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $50 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Four months maintenance capital contribution payable to the coop | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount To be determined | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $450 (if financing) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Maintenance ChargesConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount One (1) month's maintenance charge (if closing after the 15th day of the month) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Administrative FeeConditionalRequired | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $250 (if applicable) an additional administrative fee for (estates, trusts, foreclosure) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Maintenance Charges | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount To be determined | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Stock Stamp TaxPer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $0.05 per share | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Transfer Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Check FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 per person | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $750 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Messenger Fees | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $50 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Non-refundable Move Out FeeConditional | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $750.00 (This fee is refundable if subtenant is denied) | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
| Non-refundable Sublet FeeConditional · Recurring | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Two (2) month's maintenance per year (refundable if subtenant is denied) | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
| Non-refundable Move In and Move Out FeeConditional | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $1,500.00 (This fee is refundable if subtenant is denied) | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublet FeeConditional · RecurringConditions: If the subtenant is denied | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Two (2) month's maintenance per year | Refundable Conditional; see terms |
| Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Check FeeRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 75% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPermitted with board approval, per management-sourced recordsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $512 per room a monthMedian of 19 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.09 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $55,867/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $228,369/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $22 – $89
- Modeled exposure split equally across 213 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Recent sales
The Hamilton trades as the Village's efficient postwar alternative: a full-service, doorman, elevator building with a garden and a garage, on a quiet block a few minutes from Washington Square, priced below the prewar co-ops on Fifth Avenue and West 9th and below the loft and new-development condominium product in NoHo. The comparable set is the other postwar apartment houses on this stretch of East 9th and 10th Streets first, and prewar Village co-ops second — those are different products with different carrying-cost profiles.
Two structural facts move value here in ways that a raw price comparison will not capture. The four-months'-maintenance buyer capital contribution is a large, non-negotiable closing cost that scales with the apartment's maintenance rather than its price. And the condop structure narrows the lender pool and lengthens attorney review. Both are manageable; neither should be discovered at contract. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 22, 2026 | 341 | 1 BA | $520,000 | -3.5% | |
| Sep 21, 2026 | 438 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $770,000 | +10.2% | |
| Sep 17, 2026 | 304 | 2 BR · 1 BA | $1,285,000 | -6.5% | |
| Aug 24, 2026 | 428 | 1 BR · 1 BA · 850 sf | $995,000 | $1,171/sf | +2.1% |
| Jul 30, 2026 | 607 | 3 BR · 2 BA | $2,395,000 | +1.9% | |
| Jul 15, 2026 | 211 | 1 BR · 1 BA | $950,000 | -1.6% | |
| Jun 29, 2026 | 512 | 1 BA · 500 sf | $490,000 | $980/sf | +2.3% |
| Feb 2, 2026 | 614 | 1 BA | $475,000 | +0.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,150/sf (recorded) across 3 sales. Median listing discount 2.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 11, 2014 | 526 | $970,000 |
| Dec 10, 2009 | 533 | $429,000 |
| Oct 9, 2003 | 441 | $250,000 |
| Sep 22, 2003 | 324 | $290,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00560-7503). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at The Hamilton, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | 4 | $3,600 |
| 1 bedroom | 5 | $6,000 |
10 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Hamilton and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $805K (19 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $11,569 to close, or 1.4% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,569
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Hamilton and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Hamilton. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Confirm the tenure before anything else. This is a cooperative unit inside a condominium. If a listing, a data product or a lender's system tells you it is a condominium, it is reading the wrapper. Your attorney needs both the co-op documents and the condominium declaration and by-laws.
Confirm your lender approves condops. Not every lender treats them identically to co-ops, and 75 percent financing is only useful if someone will write it.
Budget the capital contribution. Four months' maintenance, buyer-paid, non-refundable, at closing. On a larger apartment that is a substantial number and it does not appear in the asking price.
Ask where the fire assessment stands. A $2,187,000 fire-loss assessment was approved effective April 2020 on a 48-month optional schedule. Ask whether it is complete, whether anything replaced it, and what the building's current reserve position is.
Understand the mortgage. The June 2018 terms were $9.5 million interest-only at 3.93 percent, maturing in 2028 with a ten-year extension option. Confirm the current balance, terms and extension status rather than treating the historical loan account as current.
There is no abatement left. The last J-51 grant was consumed in tax year 2009.
File your alteration properly. The board has litigated alteration compliance for over a decade. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator and build the approval timeline into your plan.
Electricity is yours. It is separately metered and billed directly, so the maintenance figure understates your true monthly relative to buildings that bundle it.
What to know if you’re selling
Explain the condop, don't bury it. Buyers and their attorneys will find it. Presenting the structure clearly — with the 68.668 percent common interest and the three-unit condominium spelled out — converts a mid-deal surprise into a diligence item.
State the capital contribution up front. Four months' maintenance is a real cost to your buyer and it is better absorbed during negotiation than discovered at the board package stage.
Lead with the block. No through retail, a coherent mid-century streetscape, a common garden, a garage in the building, and Washington Square a few minutes west. That is a specific product, and it differentiates the building from loft conversions to the south.
Document the building's finances honestly. The 2017–18 and 2018–19 statements on file describe a 3.93 percent note with a 2028 maturity, an undrawn credit line at the reported year-end and fire-restoration work. Obtain current loan balances, credit-line draw status and work records before presenting them as today's position. The Roebling Research Library holds the underlying documents and we provide them to serious buyers' counsel.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 60 East 9th Street, also evaluate:
- 20 East 9th Street — the postwar full-service neighbor one block west, between Fifth Avenue and University Place
- 115 East 9th Street — the East Village/NoHo postwar alternative on the same street
- 2 Fifth Avenue — the Washington Square postwar co-op that opened this wave of Village development
- 11 Fifth Avenue (The Brevoort) — the Fifth Avenue postwar co-op on the Brevoort Hotel site; the step up in address
- 24 Fifth Avenue — prewar Fifth Avenue co-op; the older, higher-carry alternative
- 38 West 9th Street — the landmarked 1880s Village co-op on the far side of Fifth; the opposite product on the same street
- 10 East 12th Street — postwar full-service co-op a few blocks north
- 445 Lafayette Street (Astor Place Tower) — the NoHo alternative at the eastern edge of the corridor
More Greenwich Village buildings
- 59 Fourth Avenue — 1897 co-op
- 59 West 12th Street — 1931 condominium by Emery Roth
- 60 East 8th Street — 1965 condop
- 60 University Place (The Wordsworth) — 1925 co-op by Sugarman & Berger
- 60 West 13th Street (Greenwich Village) — 1966 condominium
- 61 West 9th Street (The Windsor Arms) — 1925 co-op by Sugarman & Berger
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Greenwich Village — read The Roebling Team Guide to Greenwich Village.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Hamilton?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com