Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfFiDi $1,255/sf ▾3%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1951
60 Sutton Place South
60 Sutton Place South, New York, NY 10022
Buildings·Sutton Place·Cooperative

60 Sutton Place South

60 Sutton Place South, New York, NY 10022

Sutton Place

BBL 1013650020 · BIN 1040160

At a glance
Year built
1951
Type
Cooperative
Floors
18
Amenities
24-hour doorman, concierge, valet service, live-in resident manager, fitness center, central laundry, resident storage, bike room, landscaped garden courtyard, and an on-site garage (approximately 18,600 square feet per city records) with a reduced shareholder rate per listing records
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Permitted
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Dogs and cats
Permitted
Maximum financing
70% of the purchase price
Flip tax
1% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
Doorman
Full-time doorman

60 Sutton Place South sales history: 407 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 60 Sutton Place South?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

1BR · combo median, 2023–2026
$750K
32 qualifying sales
Recent range
$340K – $2.8M
Listing discount
4.9%
Recorded transfers
407
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 60 Sutton Place South would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Sutton Place is Manhattan's original riverfront enclave — a six-block pocket of co-ops east of First Avenue where the street grid dead-ends into the East River — and 60 Sutton Place South is its southern anchor and its largest single cooperative. Where the corridor's pre-war trophies (One Sutton Place South, River House) trade on pedigree and board exclusivity, 60 Sutton trades on something more democratic: post-war scale, genuine river orientation engineered into nearly every line, and a full-service operation — driveway, garage, garden, valet — with prices to compare against dated matched sales in prewar Sutton cooperatives and full-service buildings west of First Avenue.

The architecture is smarter than its red-brick post-war exterior suggests, and it earned a place in the standard scholarly history of the period. Arthur Wieser, building for the Paul Tishman Company, refused to accept that a two-slab courtyard building should have a front half and a back half: he canted the walls of living rooms and primary bedrooms toward the river, producing five-sided rooms and angled balconies that pull a diagonal river view into even the rear-most courtyard-facing apartments. Stern, Mellins, and Fishman singled out the device in New York 1960, tracing its lineage to Chicago's Lake Shore Drive. The result is visible from the street — the rakish geometry of the courtyard balconies, white concrete against red brick — and visible in the floor plans, where the angled window walls remain the building's signature half a century on.

The setting completes the case. The building's curved private driveway delivers residents off Sutton Place South opposite a small public park overlooking the river; the garden courtyard between the towers functions as a second, private landscape. For buyers priced out of the corridor's pre-war tier — or unwilling to take on its board culture — 60 Sutton has been the practical way into Sutton Place since the Eisenhower administration.

Architecture and unit composition

The two 18-story slabs hold roughly 360 apartments from studios and one-bedrooms through combined four-bedroom spreads, with the N/S suffix system mapping units to the north and south towers. The angled-wall scheme defines the product: river-facing east lines carry corner-windowed living rooms and balconies aimed at the water; courtyard lines borrow the diagonal. Listing records document one-bedrooms around 800 square feet, large terraced units with wraparound triangular balconies, multi-line combinations with curved galleries, and duplex penthouses on the top levels with wood-burning fireplaces and terraces running to 50-plus feet. Post-war bones — defined foyers, dining areas, generous closets — renovate cleanly, and the building's wide unit-count gives buyers genuine line-by-line choice at most price points.

Building operations

Full-service at scale: 24-hour door and concierge, valet, live-in resident manager with full staff, fitness center, central laundry, storage, bike room, and the on-site garage with a documented shareholder rate — plus the driveway, which in practice functions as the building's loading dock, taxi stand, and porte-cochère. The cooperative's documentation set — offering plan, audited financial statements for fiscal years 2019 and 2020, the 2018 house rules, the alteration agreement, and a board application package — is on file in The Roebling Research Library, and we walk clients through the current financials and policy stack during diligence. Listing records have documented one-bedroom maintenance in the high-$1,000s in recent cycles; confirm current figures per line.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Equal to 1% of the contract sale price
Rate
1% of the purchase price
Paid by
Seller

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

11 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable
Move in FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Move Out FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If FinancingPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300 (if applicable)Refundable Non-refundable
Managing Agent's FeeConditionalPaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $900 (If Seller is an Individual) $1000 (If Seller is an Estate)Refundable Non-refundable
New York State Stamp TaxPer sharePaid by ShareholderWhen At closingAmount $0.05 per shareRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move in DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet

9 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Application Processing FeeRequiredPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $550Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Move-In FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Coop Sublet FeePer share · RecurringPaid by ShareholderWhen Upon approvalAmount $1.50 per share per month for the first year and $2.00 per share per month for the second yearRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Security DepositPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount Equal to one (1) month's maintenanceRefundable Not stated
Move-In DepositPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Refinance

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $35Refundable Non-refundable

Ownership transfer

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeePer applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
70% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Dogs and cats
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$582 per room a monthMedian of 44 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.45 per square foot a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Valet
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, garden, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$177,226/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $40
Modeled exposure split equally across 367 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$4,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
1% of contract sale price
Sublet policy
Allowed after 2 years ownership; max 2 of any 5-year period, min 1-year term; Sublet Fee $1.50/share/month yr1, $2.00/share/month yr2
Policies and fees
Managing Agent's Fee $900 individual/$1,000 estate; NYS stamp tax $0.05/share; Move In/Out fees $500 each; Recognition Agreement Fee $300 if financing
A per-share “stamp” charge is usually the New York stock transfer tax, which can be rebated in full on a claim filed with the New York State Tax Department (Tax Law §280-a). Ask the managing agent whether the line is the tax or an administrative charge, and how any rebate is handled.
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 2, 202612BN
1 BR · 2 BA
$990,000-5.7%
Aug 11, 202611BS
1 BR · 1.5 BA
$950,000-4.9%
Jun 30, 20265KN
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,299,000+0.0%
Jun 22, 20263EN
1 BR · 1.5 BA
$965,000-2.4%
Jun 17, 20265AN
1 BR · 1 BA · 805 sf
$765,000$950/sf-2.5%
May 13, 202612AS
1 BR · 1 BA
$725,000+0.0%
Mar 5, 20269AN
1 BR · 1 BA · 850 sf
$775,000$912/sf-2.5%
Feb 9, 202612NN
1 BR · 1 BA
$730,000-3.9%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $845/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

11BN · 950 sf+74%
$574,000 2004 → $905,000 2017 → $999,000 ($1,052/sf) 2023
9JS+72%
$799,000 ($615/sf) 2005 → $1,050,000 ($808/sf) 2010 → $1,750,000 2018 → $1,375,000 2024
12BN+71%
$580,000 2004 → $895,000 2011 → $1,050,000 2018 → $990,000 2026
17BN+66%
$960,000 2004 → $1,595,000 2014
7FN+59%
$470,000 2004 → $658,000 2016 → $745,000 2018

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Apr 20, 20043L$250,000
View all 407 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01365-0020). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at 60 Sutton Place South, last 36 months

$1,326median rent per room per month
SizeLeasesMedian / month
Studio2$2,925
3 bedroom2$9,200

7 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease January 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 60 Sutton Place South and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $758K (26 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 30% down would pay about $11,201 to close, or 1.5% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $0
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,201

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 70% financing limit.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 60 Sutton Place South and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 60 Sutton Place South. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Buy the line, not the building average. The angled-wall scheme means the spread between a high-floor east-facing river line and a low courtyard line is wide — in light, in geometry, and in resale. Same-line history matters more here than building-wide $/ft; we underwrite to it.

The policy framework is documented as flexible. Listing records document permitted pieds-à-terre, sublets, co-purchase, guarantors, and parents buying. Verify current terms with the managing agent, and run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator against the 30-percent-down convention before offering.

Underwrite the financials with us. With roughly 360 units, the cooperative's economics turn on staffing, the garage, and capital planning at scale. The audited statements on file in the Research Library are the starting point; your attorney should review the current set and any assessment history.

Transit honesty: the corridor's quiet comes at the price of distance — the E and weekday F at Lexington/53rd, with the 6 connection at 51st Street are roughly half a mile west. Sutton Place buyers self-select for this; make sure you do too.

Verify the fee stack. Flip tax, sublet fees, and current financing limits are not firmly documented publicly. We confirm all of it against the managing agent and the documents on file before contract.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the geometry. The five-sided river-oriented rooms and angled balconies are the building's documented, citable signature — marketing that names the design (and its New York 1960 pedigree) separates your listing from generic post-war stock.

Position the carry and the policies. Maintenance per square foot, the garage, and the documented policies — pied-à-terre and subletting permitted, financing up to 70% — are rational arguments that survive a buyer's attorney. State them plainly, and confirm co-purchase terms with the managing agent.

Evaluate estate-condition units with a documented renovation budget. Unit count does not establish current estate-condition inventory or buyer demand; review active listings and actual renovation scope. Run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy and adjust relevant renovated-unit comparisons for actual condition differences.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 60 Sutton Place South, also evaluate:

  • 1 Sutton Place South — the corridor's pre-war trophy anchor; the prestige step-up
  • 2 Sutton Place South — Emery Roth & Sons riverfront co-op at the corridor's north end
  • 40 Sutton Place — the boutique condominium alternative within the enclave
  • 25 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point North) — the closest like-for-like post-war full-service riverfront co-op
  • 45 Sutton Place South (Cannon Point South) — its twin; same scale and vintage
  • River House (435 East 52nd Street) — the corridor's blue-chip pre-war; the board-culture contrast
  • 425 East 58th Street (The Sovereign) — post-war luxury scale just north of the corridor
  • 430 East 58th Street — the boutique neighbor on the Sutton/58th seam
  • 36 Sutton Place South — mid-century co-op neighbor on the avenue

More Sutton Place buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 60 Sutton Place South?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com