
620 Park Avenue (The Palacio)
620 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10065
BBL 1013800035 · BIN 1041136
- Year built
- 1924
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 14
- Floors
- 14
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 3% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Flip tax
- A flip tax applies; confirm the rate at the offer stage.
- Financing
- Up to 50% financeable (50% minimum down).
- Subletting
- Not permitted — an owner-occupancy building.
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted.
- Washer / dryer
- Not permitted (central laundry).
- Pets
- Permitted, subject to Board approval.
- Co-purchasing
- Not permitted. Parents purchasing for children not permitted.
- Guarantors
- Not permitted.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 4BR+ median
- $10.8M
- Recent range
- $485K – $18M
- Listing discount
- 3.3%
- Recorded transfers
- 16
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Palacio would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
620 Park Avenue — marketed as The Palacio — is among the most architecturally distinctive small-scale pre-war cooperatives on the Lenox Hill stretch of Park Avenue. The 1924 building was designed by J.E.R. Carpenter and constructed by Starrett Brothers, the firm responsible for the Empire State Building, the Equitable Building, and a substantial share of New York's interwar commercial and residential construction. Carpenter — the architect most associated with the development of the modern large Park Avenue apartment house — produced a structurally distinctive commission at 620 Park: a 14-story building configured at one full-floor apartment per floor, producing the 14-residence intimate scale that defines the building's cooperative culture.
The neo-Renaissance / Italian palazzo architectural register is executed in red brick over a two-story limestone base, with white stone banding and quoins, and a balustrade replacing the building's original cornice. The architectural composition places 620 Park in Carpenter's mid-1920s Park Avenue work — alongside 580, 610 (the Mayfair), 625, 630, 635, 640, 655, 812, 950, and 960 Park, plus consequential Fifth Avenue commissions at 1030, 1120, and 1165 Fifth Avenue. The one-per-floor configuration is structurally rare even within Carpenter's broader body of work.
The building was sold as cooperative from inception — among the earlier dedicated-cooperative-ownership Park Avenue commissions of the 1920s pre-war cycle, predating the conversion-era cooperative wave that would reshape the corridor after WWII.
Architecture and unit composition
The 14 cooperative apartments distribute one per floor across the building's 14 stories. Apartment layouts retain the architectural fabric characteristic of Carpenter's mid-1920s Park Avenue work — substantial ceiling heights, formal entry galleries, multi-exposure layouts with Park Avenue and East 65th Street frontages, and the staff-wing infrastructure characteristic of 1924-vintage luxury Park Avenue construction.
The top full-floor position, Unit 14, is a four-bedroom configuration with three full and two half bathrooms. Apartment-level closings are rare, and each one carries weight in the building's reference pricing.
Building operations
The Palacio operates as a small-scale cooperative with full-time doorman, live-in superintendent, and a private rooftop terrace available to shareholders. The amenity infrastructure includes a basement fitness facility and private storage. The building does not carry an on-site garage.
The cooperative policy framework — 50 percent maximum financing, 3 percent buyer-paid flip tax, pet-friendly — supports a structurally specific buyer pool calibrated to the trophy Park Avenue cooperative tier. Pied-à-terre allowances and sublet specifics should be verified directly with management given the building's 14-unit institutional cooperative culture.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Equal to 3% of purchase price less commission paid by the buyer
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If Financing | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Managing Agent's Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $900 (Shareholder is an Individual) or $1000 (Shareholder is an Estate) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New York State Stamp TaxPer share | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.05 per share | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Fidelifacts Credit ReportConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $871.00 per Applicant/Occupant, $1,633.13 if there are two (2) Applicants/Occupants | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $35 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $1,106 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, roof deck, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $21,142/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $117
- Modeled exposure split equally across 15 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 3% of purchase price due from buyer
- Sublet policy
- Not allowed
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 15, 2025 | 14 | 4 BR · 4 BA | $18,000,000 | -8.9% | |
| Aug 1, 2025 | 1N | 1 BA | $484,500 | +0.0% | |
| Jan 16, 2025 | 2 | 5 BR · 4 BA · 4,000 sf | $6,400,000 | $1,600/sf | -6.6% |
| Dec 1, 2023 | 7 | 4 BR · 4.5 BA | $10,750,000 | +0.0% | |
| Oct 18, 2018 | 10 | 3 BR · 4.5 BA | $11,675,625 | -2.5% | |
| Mar 9, 2016 | 7 | 4 BR · 4 BA | $10,625,000 | -1.2% | |
| Jan 31, 2014 | 3 | 4 BR | $7,950,000 | +0.6% | |
| Dec 17, 2012 | 10 | 4 BR | $9,167,500 | -3.5% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,600/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 1.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01380-0035). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Palacio and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $6.4M (3 transfers since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $158,550 to close, or 2.5% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $144,000
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Palacio and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Palacio. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The J.E.R. Carpenter architectural pedigree is real and substantial. Carpenter's defining Park Avenue body of work; 620 Park sits in his mid-1920s apex era.
The one-full-floor-per-floor configuration is structurally distinguishing. Among Carpenter's smallest-scale Park Avenue commissions; the 14-residence intimate scale produces a corresponding institutional cooperative culture.
Inventory turnover is among the slowest on the corridor. The 14-unit scale produces minimal annual transaction volume; recent comparable analysis depends on small samples.
The 3 percent buyer-paid flip tax is structurally meaningful at closing. On an $18 million purchase, $540,000 of additional buyer cost beyond mansion tax and standard closing costs.
Verify operational specifics during due diligence. Sublet duration limits, post-closing liquidity requirements, current capital project pipeline, and the LL11 façade cycle on the 1924 vintage should be reviewed.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard. Plan for 6–10 weeks from contract through board approval to closing.
What to know if you’re selling
Marketing should emphasize the Carpenter architectural credential and the full-floor configuration. Both are structural identity features.
Pricing benefits from broker familiarity with the building's narrow buyer pool. The 14-unit scale means recent comparable closings carry meaningful weight in the building's reference pricing.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 620 Park Avenue, also evaluate:
- 640 Park Avenue — Carpenter 1914; immediate Carpenter Park Avenue peer (also full-floor configuration)
- 610 Park Avenue (The Mayfair) — Carpenter 1925 hotel converted to condominium 1997–98
- 740 Park Avenue — Candela / Cross & Cross 1929–30; trophy pre-war cooperative
- 720 Park Avenue — Candela 1929; Lenox Hill trophy peer
- 665 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue peer
More Park Avenue buildings
- 580 Park Avenue — 1923 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
- 605 Park Avenue — 1954 co-op by Sylvan Bien
- 610 Park Avenue (The Mayfair) — 1925 condominium
- 625 Park Avenue — 1929 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
- 630 Park Avenue — 1916 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
- 635 Park Avenue (The Adelaide) — 1912 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Palacio?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com