Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfFiDi $1,255/sf ▾3%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1927
71 East 77th Street
71 East 77th Street, New York, NY 10075

71 East 77th Street

71 East 77th Street, New York, NY 10075

Lenox Hill, Upper East Side

BBL 1013920030 · BIN 1041825

At a glance
Year built
1927
Type
Cooperative
Units
38
Floors
9
Amenities
Central laundry, private storage, bike room, package room
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Not permitted
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Maximum financing
50% of the purchase price
Flip tax
Tiered or formula; see fees
Doorman
Full-time doorman

71 East 77th Street sales history: 59 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 71 East 77th Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

2BR median, 2023–2025
$975K
5 qualifying sales
Recent range
$860K – $2M
Listing discount
4.1%
Recorded transfers
59
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 71 East 77th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

71 East 77th Street is the Upper East Side's quiet survivor of the 1920s artists'-studio-building movement — and one of the few places in the Madison–Park blocks where a buyer can own a double-height living room behind a landmarked facade. In 1927, a group of investors demolished three buildings on the site — including the rowhouse where Alexander Bing of Bing & Bing had lived — and commissioned Caughey & Evans to design a studio building in the neo-Tudor style then sweeping the country. The result is a composition of variegated brick and limestone: diamond-patterned diapering across the base, double-height diamond-paned studio windows above, a crenellated parapet, and a corner tower. Douglas L. Elliman was the original leasing agent.

The artists never really came — the studio windows face south rather than the painter's north — and the building filled instead with the professional and society families who have defined it since, dropping the "Studio Building" name almost immediately. What the artists left behind is the architecture: sixteen of the residences were built as studio apartments with double-height living rooms under molded plaster beams, several configured as half-level duplexes with stairways descending into the great room. The building survives essentially unchanged, protected since 1981 inside the Upper East Side Historic District.

The ownership history is unusually well documented in our archive. The building was held by a single owner from February 1935 until 1954, when Pease & Elliman presented a tenant-ownership plan — on file in The Roebling Research Library — converting it to cooperative ownership at a total purchase price of $450,000 across 9,243 shares, an early post-war conversion for this corridor. The plan records the building's original composition precisely: 36 residential apartments in four lines across floors two through nine, two six-room penthouses, three doctors' offices on the first floor retained as rental income to the corporation, and 150 rooms in all. That document still settles questions — share allocations, line configurations, the professional-suite arrangement — that aggregator records get wrong.

Architecture and unit composition

The typical floor carries four apartments — the A, B, C, and D lines — on floors two through nine, with two penthouses above; that accounts for 34 apartments against the 36 at conversion, so an atypical floor or additional units need the original schedule. At conversion the stock ran from three-room, one-bath units to four-room, two-bath apartments, with the penthouses at six rooms and three baths; combinations since have produced larger homes, and listing records document duplexed units trading at premium pricing. The signature inventory is the studio lines: double-height living rooms lit by the facade's two-story leaded casements, plaster "timber" beams molded by the original craftsmen, and wood-burning fireplaces — several with their original carved plaster mantels. Standard-height units on the second and third floors and the smaller one-bedrooms tucked between the studio volumes carry the same Tudor detailing at lower price points. Renovation quality varies by apartment, and the building's pricing tracks ceiling height, light, and condition more than raw square footage.

Building operations

This is a boutique full-service house: 24-hour doorman, live-in superintendent, and porter staff serving roughly 38 apartments, with central laundry, private storage, a bike room, and a package room in the base. The first-floor professional suites were retained by the corporation at conversion as commercial income — a structural feature of the 1954 plan; verify their current status and contribution during diligence. There is no gym, no roof deck, and no garage: buyers should weigh the staff-to-shareholder ratio and the architecture against amenity-program breadth. The 1954 offering plan is on file in The Roebling Research Library and available to clients during diligence.

Application and transaction fees

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
2 percent of purchase price, payable by purchaser, per listing records — verify at offer stage

Source: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
50% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Not permittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$955 per room a monthMedian of 8 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Package room
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$17,944/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $39
Modeled exposure split equally across 38 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2029
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$1,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Oct 6, 20259C
1 BR · 2 BA
$1,200,000+0.4%
Sep 11, 20258A
1 BR · 1 BA
$860,000-0.6%
Jun 26, 20257
3 BR · 3 BA · 1,650 sf
$2,050,000$1,242/sf-2.4%
Jan 22, 20253C
2 BR · 2 BA
$970,000-11.4%
Mar 27, 20249A
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,100 sf
$875,000$795/sf-2.2%
Nov 1, 20234
2 BR · 2.5 BA
$1,315,000-5.7%
Oct 19, 20239B
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,236,750-25.0%
Oct 5, 20233D
2 BR · 2 BA
$975,000-7.1%

Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,242/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 3.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

10B+122%
$675,000 2004 → $1,500,000 2008
3B · 1,100 sf+45%
$962,500 2009 → $1,358,450 2018 → $1,395,000 ($1,268/sf) 2018
8A+45%
$595,000 2007 → $599,000 2015 → $860,000 2025
PHN+42%
$5,350,000 2006 → $7,600,000 2017
9B+35%
$915,000 2012 → $1,236,750 2023

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Nov 4, 20042B$695,000
Oct 15, 20032A$1,050,000
View all 59 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01392-0030). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 71 East 77th Street and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.08M (4 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 50% down would pay about $22,113 to close, or 2.0% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $10,850
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,263

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 50% financing limit.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 71 East 77th Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 71 East 77th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

Notable residents

  • Hobart Nichols — the landscape painter and longtime president of the National Academy of Design was among the few working artists to live in the building conceived for them; historical records note he died in his apartment here in 1962 at 93
  • Mark Hanna — the theatrical and literary agent whose clients included Helen Hayes, John O'Hara, Benny Goodman, and Gypsy Rose Lee lived here until his death in 1958, per historical records

What to know if you’re buying

The financing limit is 50 percent. Maximum financing is 50 percent of the purchase price; confirm the building's current liquidity requirements from its application instructions. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering, and prepare the package to that standard.

Know which line you're buying. The spread between a double-height studio line and a standard-height unit in the same building is relevant to ceiling height and light; test any price-per-foot difference with comparable closed sales. The 1954 plan on file documents the original line configurations; we map them against the current stack during diligence.

The envelope is protected — plan accordingly. The building sits inside the Upper East Side Historic District, and the leaded casements and Tudor facade are the asset. Exterior and window alterations generally require LPC approval, though some maintenance is exempt and qualifying work can receive staff approval. Interior work requiring a DOB permit also needs LPC review; preserve the plaster work when planning alterations.

Verify the policy stack in writing. The sublet policy is genuinely conflicting across listing records, and the 2 percent purchaser-paid flip tax and washer/dryer approval terms should be confirmed with the managing agent at offer stage. We verify against current building documents during diligence.

Calibrate amenity expectations. This is a service-and-architecture building, not an amenity building. The trade is a high staff ratio, an intimate lobby with its original Tudor ceiling and fireplace, and one of the most distinctive facades in the district — against no gym, no roof deck, no garage.

What to know if you’re selling

Sell the architecture, specifically. Caughey & Evans, 1928, the studio-building movement, double-height leaded windows, signed plaster beams — this building has a story generic UES boutique co-ops cannot match. Market it with precision; the buyer who wants this building wants exactly this building.

Compare the Madison–Park alternatives. Lead with the location and pre-war character, then test any price advantage against matched sales and total carrying costs rather than assuming an avenue-versus-side-street discount.

Condition honesty wins in a 38-unit house. Same-building comparables are thin, the spread between preserved and renovated units is wide, and the board process is deliberate. Price to condition and line, and have the renovation math ready — run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your asking strategy.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 71 East 77th Street, also evaluate:

  • 830 Park Avenue — George and Edward Blum pre-war co-op around the corner; compare Park Avenue layouts and actual prices
  • 850 Park Avenue — Rouse & Goldstone pre-war co-op at East 77th; an avenue alternative
  • 888 Park Avenue — Schwartz & Gross pre-war co-op two blocks north
  • 130 East 75th Street — Schwartz & Gross boutique pre-war co-op in the same side-street tier
  • 33 East 74th Street — boutique building in the Madison blocks
  • 30 East 76th Street — nearby boutique alternative off Madison
  • 170 East 78th Street — pre-war co-op east of Park; compare actual prices and carrying costs
  • 44 West 77th Street — the neo-Gothic studio building facing the Natural History museum; the West Side's like-for-like studio-movement peer

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 71 East 77th Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com