799 Park Avenue
799 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10021
BBL 1014090001 · BIN 1043073
- Year built
- 1961
- Type
- Cooperative
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Flip tax
- Requires confirmation
- Sources differ on who pays. Confirm with building management.
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 2BR median, 2023–2026
- $2M
- 8 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $1.6M – $4.1M
- Listing discount
- 1.9%
- Recorded transfers
- 76
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 799 Park Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
799 Park Avenue is a clean example of a particular and often-underrated tier of Park Avenue inventory: the post-war white-brick cooperative. Completed in 1961 to designs by H.I. Feldman for the Kimmel Brothers, it occupies the northeast corner of Park Avenue and East 74th Street — a prime Lenox Hill address — and rises twenty-one stories, taller than its pre-war neighbors and engineered to deliver the open light and efficient layouts buyers of its era prized.
H.I. Feldman was among the most prolific architects of post-war residential Manhattan, with a portfolio that defined the white-brick idiom across the East Side and beyond. At 799, the formula is executed with more care than the type's reputation sometimes suggests: a white-brick body lifted on a polished black-granite base, with a canopied entrance that signals the full-service co-op within. The building replaced earlier low-rise structures on the site, part of the broad mid-century rebuilding that brought taller, modern apartment houses to Park Avenue's side-street corners.
The positioning is the point. 799 sits squarely in the prime 70s of Park Avenue, surrounded by the pre-war co-op tradition the avenue is famous for — but it offers a different product: higher floors, more glass, more light, a modern mechanical baseline, and a genuine amenity package; compare matched sales and total costs with pre-war alternatives a few blocks in either direction. Central Park is two blocks west, the Lexington Avenue 6 is a block east, and the building's own garage, fitness center, and landscaped garden round out a daily-living case the pre-war stock rarely matches.
Architecture and unit composition
The building's roughly 74 to 78 apartments are distributed across twenty-one floors — a generous floor count that places many units well above the surrounding pre-war rooflines, capturing open city light and, on the higher floors, the long Park Avenue axis. Post-war planning is evident throughout: larger windows than pre-war stock, consistent ceiling heights, and rational, efficient layouts rather than the foyer-and-service-wing sequencing of the 1920s.
The unit mix runs to the one-, two-, and three-bedroom configurations characteristic of post-war Park Avenue co-ops, with corner apartments benefiting from two-exposure light at the 74th Street corner. Renovation state varies apartment to apartment; many units in buildings of this vintage have been comprehensively updated, and condition is best evaluated unit by unit.
Building operations
799 Park Avenue operates as a full-service post-war cooperative with a full-time doorman and elevator attendant, an on-site resident manager, a fitness center, a landscaped garden, a central laundry, bike storage, and an on-site parking garage (typically wait-listed). For a post-war co-op of this size, that is a deep amenity package, and it is a meaningful part of the building's value.
On policy, the building is comparatively flexible for prime Park Avenue: pets are permitted, pied-à-terre ownership is welcome, and the board allows financing up to 50%. A 3% flip tax is reported. The June 2026 profile terms assign it to the buyer, while management's October 2026 fee schedule assigns it to the seller; confirm the current operative schedule and contract allocation. Board review follows prime Lenox Hill norms — expect a thorough financial package and an interview — but the openness to pieds-à-terre and pets widens the buyer pool relative to the avenue's stricter pre-war co-ops.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 3% of Total Selling Price
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Requires confirmationSources differ on who pays. Confirm with building management.
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move in Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
3 items
Management's “less refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Management's “more refinance” schedule
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Background Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $71 per Applicant; Self-employed applicants must pay $86 per applicant (check payable to Credit View Inc.) | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not verified
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $775 per room a monthMedian of 8 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.29 per square foot a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, garden, garage, bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $54,857/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $59
- Modeled exposure split equally across 78 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- Requires confirmation
- Sublet policy
- Allowed (subtenant app fee $350; shareholder $300)
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 27, 2026 | 2B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,550,000 | -8.6% | |
| Aug 3, 2026 | 17D | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,600 sf | $2,800,000 | $1,750/sf | +1.8% |
| Jul 16, 2026 | 10A | 3 BR · 3.5 BA | $4,100,000 | +2.6% | |
| Mar 12, 2026 | 9A | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $3,020,000 | +0.7% | |
| Dec 19, 2025 | 17A | 3 BR · 3 BA | $3,050,000 | -10.3% | |
| May 19, 2025 | 2C | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,649 sf | $2,712,500 | $1,645/sf | -1.4% |
| Sep 6, 2024 | 3B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $1,675,000 | +11.7% | |
| Jul 11, 2024 | 2D | 2 BR · 2 BA · 1,800 sf | $1,900,000 | $1,056/sf | -11.6% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,182/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 4.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 2, 2003 | 16A | $1,725,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01409-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 799 Park Avenue and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 799 Park Avenue and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 799 Park Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The post-war white-brick format is the value play. Higher floors, more light, a modern mechanical baseline, and a real amenity set are features to compare with nearby pre-war homes using matched prices, verified area and total costs.
The policies are accommodating. Pied-à-terre ownership, pets, and 50% financing are permitted; confirm the current financing limit and application requirements with the managing agent. Confirm the 3% flip tax's basis and payer: the June 2026 profile terms and October 2026 management fee schedule differ on who pays.
Floor altitude matters more here than at pre-war peers. With twenty-one stories, the difference between low and high floors — in light, view, and the open Park Avenue axis — is substantial.
The amenities are a genuine draw. A fitness center, garden, and garage are concrete features to compare with the actual amenities and access terms at Park Avenue alternatives.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the address, the light, and the amenities. A prime Park Avenue / East 74th Street corner co-op with post-war floor heights, open exposures, a fitness center, garden, and garage is a clear, marketable proposition.
Foreground the friendly rules. Pied-à-terre acceptance, pets, and 50% financing broaden the buyer pool — emphasize them.
Position against pre-war honestly. Frame the value as modern construction, light, and amenities with any price advantage over the pre-war tier established from matched sales rather than construction era.
Floor and exposure drive the comp set. In a tall post-war building, altitude and light are the primary differentiators among comparable apartments.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 799 Park Avenue, also evaluate these nearby Park Avenue and Lenox Hill buildings:
- 785 Park Avenue — nearby Park Avenue building
- 784 Park Avenue — nearby prime Park Avenue co-op
- 791 Park Avenue — adjacent Park Avenue co-op
- 800 Park Avenue — nearby Park Avenue building
- 815 Park Avenue — nearby prime Park Avenue co-op
More Park Avenue buildings
- The Ramondo (784 Park Avenue) — 1928 co-op by Emery Roth
- 785 Park Avenue — 1940 co-op by George F. Pelham
- 791 Park Avenue — 1925 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 800 Park Avenue — 1925 co-op
- 812 Park Avenue — 1927 co-op by J.E.R. Carpenter
- 815 Park Avenue — 1916 co-op by Lafayette A. Goldstone
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 799 Park Avenue?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com