The Ramondo (784 Park Avenue)
784 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10021
BBL 1013880037 · BIN 1041504
- Year built
- 1928
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 69
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 60% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Tiered or formula; see fees
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2025
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 3BR median, 2023–2025
- $4.4M
- 3 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $3.2M – $6.1M
- Listing discount
- 7.9%
- Recorded transfers
- 52
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Ramondo would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
784 Park Avenue — The Ramondo — is a tier-one Lenox Hill cooperative with a pedigree few buildings on the avenue can match. Erected in 1928–29 (LPC), it carries a remarkable architectural credential: an Emery Roth design with McKim, Mead & White serving as supervising architects. Roth is the architect most identified with the era's great Manhattan apartment houses; McKim, Mead & White is among the most consequential firms in American architectural history. The collaboration produced a building of genuine distinction at one of the avenue's best corners.
The architecture bears it out. The Ramondo rises 21 stories from a three-story rusticated limestone base, with a beige-brick facade, decorative balconies, sidewalk landscaping, and a tower articulated by five setbacks — the first carrying a pergola at its southern end — and crowned by a handsome enclosed rooftop watertank. Residents enter through a canopied, revolving-door entrance on East 74th Street into a large vaulted lobby. It is a building that signals its quality from the street.
The corner siting at Park and 74th places The Ramondo in the heart of tier-one Lenox Hill — the stretch of Park Avenue that anchors the avenue's residential prestige, with the Candela and Carpenter cluster nearby, Central Park a short walk west, and Madison Avenue's retail and gallery corridor a block west. The Asia Society, the Whitney's former Marcel Breuer building, the 72nd Street crosstown bus, and the 6 train at Lexington and 77th are all close at hand. At 21 stories and just 69 apartments, the building offers large, gracious pre-war layouts at a low unit density.
Architecture and unit composition
The building's 69 apartments are large and gracious by design — the low unit count across 21 stories points to generous full-floor-adjacent layouts. Many residences feature wood-burning fireplaces and formal dining rooms, alongside the era's standard signatures: high ceilings, grand room proportions, hardwood floors, and the deep, well-laid-out floor plans that distinguished late-1920s Park Avenue construction. Apartments range from one- and two-bedroom homes through large duplexes and a duplex penthouse with wraparound terraces, several lower lines retaining the staff rooms and grand galleries of their original layouts.
The architecture is the building's calling card — the limestone base, the setback tower, the pergola, the decorative balconies, and the vaulted lobby together place The Ramondo among the more refined pre-war buildings on this stretch. Upper-floor and setback apartments capture open Park Avenue exposures and city light. Interior condition varies by individual renovation history; pre-war detail survives in varying states across the apartments.
Building operations
The Ramondo operates as a full-service pre-war cooperative; the building converted to cooperative ownership in 1957, among the earlier Park Avenue conversions. Amenities include a full-time doorman, a gym, a bike room, private storage, central laundry, and an outdoor playground. The 69-unit scale keeps the building at an intimate, residential density while supporting that staffing.
On policy, the building permits pets and allows pied-à-terre ownership. Board approval is required; confirm the current financial, liquidity and occupancy requirements in the building's application instructions.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of Gross Proceeds of Sale
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Gym Membership FeesConditional · Recurring | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $900 (if applicable) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| Corporate Counsel Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 (Check payable to "Stroock Stroock & Lavan") | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 60% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $993 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.66 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $59,104/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $85
- Modeled exposure split equally across 58 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
- At the 69 residences in our building profile: $0 – $71. The two counts differ; confirm the count with the building.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Not allowed
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apr 8, 2025 | 12C | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,500 sf | $4,400,000 | $1,760/sf | -11.9% |
| Feb 5, 2025 | 14B | 4 BR | $6,100,000 | +2.1% | |
| Jan 7, 2025 | 15A | 2 BR · 3 BA | $3,195,000 | -8.6% | |
| Oct 2, 2024 | 17B | 4 BR · 4 BA · 3,200 sf | $4,995,000 | $1,561/sf | -7.2% |
| May 3, 2024 | 4C | 3 BR · 4 BA · 2,500 sf | $4,950,000 | $1,980/sf | -13.9% |
| Jan 4, 2023 | 9C | 3 BR · 3.5 BA | $3,500,000 | -4.1% | |
| Aug 15, 2022 | 14C | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,500 sf | $7,500,000 | $3,000/sf | +0.0% |
| Aug 8, 2022 | 12B | 3 BR · 4 BA | $7,650,000 | -4.3% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,455/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 4.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 20, 2005 | 19C | $2,495,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01388-0037). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Ramondo and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $4.4M (3 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 40% down would pay about $80,550 to close, or 1.8% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $66,000
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 60% financing limit.
Keep up with The Ramondo and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Ramondo. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The pedigree is exceptional. An Emery Roth design with McKim, Mead & White supervising is a rare architectural credential — and a marketing asset on resale.
The apartments are serious pre-war. Wood-burning fireplaces, formal dining rooms, and large layouts define the building; verify the specific apartment's features.
Pets and pied-à-terre ownership are permitted. Both are documented building terms; confirm the current rules with the managing agent.
Confirm the board's current requirements. Maximum financing is 60% of the purchase price; confirm the board's liquidity, ownership and occupancy requirements from the governing documents and application instructions.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the architecture and the pedigree. The Roth / McKim, Mead & White authorship, the setback tower, and the marble-and-fireplace interiors are the building's strongest selling points.
Flag the flexibility. Pet and pied-à-terre allowances widen the buyer pool relative to stricter Park Avenue peers.
Price at the apartment level. With 69 large units, floor, exposure, fireplace, and renovation quality drive value; comparable analysis is most useful within the building's own lines.
Closing timelines are co-op standard. Plan for roughly 6–10 weeks from contract to closing.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering The Ramondo, also evaluate:
- 775 Park Avenue (also recorded as 765 Park Avenue) — nearby Park Avenue cooperative in the 70s
- 778 Park Avenue — Candela tier-one Park Avenue cooperative nearby
- 785 Park Avenue — Park Avenue cooperative directly across
- 791 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue co-op nearby
- 800 Park Avenue — full-service Park Avenue cooperative nearby
More Park Avenue buildings
- 770 Park Avenue — 1929 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 775 Park Avenue — 1926 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 778 Park Avenue — 1931 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 785 Park Avenue — 1940 co-op by George F. Pelham
- 791 Park Avenue — 1925 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 799 Park Avenue — 1961 co-op by H.I. Feldman
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Ramondo?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com