
860 Park Avenue
860 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10075
BBL 1013920036 · BIN 1041828
- Year built
- 1924
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 15
- Floors
- 15
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Flip tax
- 3% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Subletting
- Not permitted — an owner-occupancy building.
- Pets
- Permitted, subject to Board approval.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 860 Park Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
860 Park Avenue is structurally distinctive within the Park Avenue cooperative tradition for a specific architectural-pedigree reason: it is one of the very few Manhattan apartment houses designed by York & Sawyer, the firm most associated with monumental banking halls and institutional commercial architecture in early-20th-century New York. Completed in 1924–1925, the 15-story building represents the rare instance where York & Sawyer's heavy palazzo masonry vocabulary — developed across the firm's defining work at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York (1924), the Bowery Savings Bank at 110 East 42nd Street, the Brooklyn Trust Company, and the Central Savings Bank at 2100 Broadway — was applied to a Park Avenue residential commission.
The architectural composition translates the firm's institutional palette into the Park Avenue residential idiom. The beige-brick façade sits over a rusticated limestone base; scalloped band courses and arched window surrounds carry the architectural detailing characteristic of York & Sawyer's heavy palazzo language. The result is a building structurally distinct from the J.E.R. Carpenter / Schwartz & Gross / Rouse & Goldstone mainline of 1920s Park Avenue residential architecture — a specific architectural-pedigree feature within the broader corridor.
The one-full-floor-per-floor configuration — 15 apartments across 15 stories — is consistent with the trophy pre-war Park Avenue cooperative tradition and produces the 15-residence intimate scale that defines the building's cooperative culture. The 1945 cooperative conversion places 860 Park among the earliest Park Avenue cooperative conversions of the post-war era.
Architecture and unit composition
The 15 cooperative apartments distribute one per floor across the building's 15 stories. Apartment layouts retain the architectural fabric characteristic of York & Sawyer's 1924–25 design — substantial ceiling heights, formal entry galleries, multi-exposure layouts with Park Avenue and East 77th Street frontages, and the layout discipline of mid-1920s Park Avenue luxury construction.
Full-floor transactions at the building typically occur off-market through private broker networks; public closing data is sparse.
Building operations
860 Park operates as a small-scale full-service cooperative with full-time doorman and elevator operators — the building retains attended elevator service, a structural feature of the corridor's most institutional pre-war cooperatives. The 15-unit scale produces an institutional cooperative culture characteristic of the corridor's smallest peer buildings.
The building does not carry an on-site garage or a roof deck. The cooperative policy framework supports pet ownership; specific financing maximum, flip tax structure, pied-à-terre allowance, and sublet duration limits should be verified directly with management.
The building is managed by the managing agent.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 3% of Purchase Price
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $816.56 Per Applicant; $1524.25 For A Married Couple | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount 300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $18,703/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $97
- Modeled exposure split equally across 16 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 3% of purchase price
- Sublet policy
- Not Allowed
- Notable fees
- Closing Fee $800 ($850 no broker) + $0.05/share; Background report $816.56/applicant; Financing Fee $300
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 22, 2021 | PH | 3 BR · 3 BA · 2,600 sf | $6,300,000 | $2,423/sf | -36.2% |
| Feb 2, 2015 | 4 | 4 BR · 5.5 BA | $13,500,000 | -25.0% | |
| Apr 2, 2012 | 12 | 4 BR · 4,100 sf | $11,475,000 | $2,799/sf | +0.0% |
| Dec 5, 2007 | — | 1,000 sf | $1,000,000 | $1,000/sf | -9.1% |
| Apr 1, 2004 | 9 | 4 BR · 4,000 sf | $6,900,000 | $1,725/sf | +0.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2021) cleared a median $2,423/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 9.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 15, 2003 | 10 | $4,900,000 |
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01392-0036). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 860 Park Avenue and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 860 Park Avenue and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 860 Park Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The York & Sawyer architectural pedigree is structurally distinguishing. Among the firm's rare residential commissions; the heavy palazzo masonry vocabulary is structurally distinct from the broader 1920s Park Avenue residential mainline.
The 15-unit one-per-floor configuration is structural. Substantial full-floor apartments at the institutional pre-war Park Avenue scale.
The 1945 cooperative conversion places the building among the earliest Park Avenue conversions. Deep institutional cooperative culture continuously refined for more than eight decades.
Inventory turnover is meaningful given the 15-unit scale and the off-market activity pattern. Many transactions occur off-market through private broker networks; comparable analysis depends on small samples and broker familiarity with the building's specific buyer pool.
Verify operational specifics during due diligence. Specific board approval framework, financing structure, sublet policies, current capital project pipeline, and the LL11 façade cycle on the 1925 vintage should be reviewed.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard. Plan for 6–10 weeks from contract through board approval to closing.
What to know if you’re selling
Marketing should emphasize the York & Sawyer architectural credential. A structurally distinctive architectural-pedigree feature within the broader Park Avenue corridor.
Off-market marketing is consistent with the building's typical transaction pattern. Sellers should evaluate marketing strategy in consultation with brokers familiar with the building's specific buyer pool and broader Park Avenue off-market activity.
Pricing requires apartment-level comparable analysis. Thin public transaction inventory means recent comparables carry meaningful weight in the building's reference pricing.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 860 Park Avenue, also evaluate:
- 870 Fifth Avenue — pre-war Fifth Avenue peer; comparable trophy-tier full-floor configuration
- 875 Park Avenue — Sylvan Bien; nearby Park Avenue peer
- 778 Park Avenue — Candela 1931; trophy pre-war Park Avenue peer
- 888 Park Avenue — Schwartz & Gross 1925–26; Park Avenue Historic District peer
- 740 Park Avenue — Candela / Cross & Cross 1929–30; trophy pre-war cooperative
More Park Avenue buildings
- 830 Park Avenue — 1912 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 840 Park Avenue — 1912 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 850 Park Avenue — 1914 co-op by Rouse & Goldstone
- 865 Park Avenue — 1906 co-op
- 875 Park Avenue — 1912 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 876 Park Avenue — 1917 co-op by W. K. Rouse & L. A. Goldstone
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 860 Park Avenue?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com