- Year built
- 1906
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 24
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Requires confirmation
- Pied-à-terre
- Not permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 3% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 3BR median
- $2.4M
- Recent range
- $2.1M – $3.3M
- Listing discount
- 4.4%
- Recorded transfers
- 24
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 865 Park Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
865 Park Avenue is one of the earliest-era Park Avenue residential buildings still continuously occupied as a cooperative. The 1906 construction date places it in the same cohort as the very first purpose-built Park Avenue apartment houses — a period when the avenue (then still called Fourth Avenue at certain points) was transitioning from rail-cut and brownstone-row residential to multi-family construction following the 1903 New York Central tunnel cap that eliminated the rail yards' open cut and opened Park Avenue to development.
The 1961 conversion to cooperative places 865 Park in the second wave of prewar-rental-to-coop conversions that swept Park Avenue in the late 1950s and early 1960s, alongside many of its neighbors. With only 24 apartments, the building offers an intimacy that approaches the Candela boutique scale — 740 Park (33 units), 720 Park (29 units), 770 Park (30 units) — at a smaller unit count than even those benchmark addresses.
The building's Upper East Side Historic District status (LP-1051, designated 1981) provides a long-term preservation guarantee: any facade modifications require LPC review, which structurally protects the building's exterior identity through the longer ownership cycle.
Architecture and unit composition
865 Park Avenue is among the early-1900s Park Avenue residential buildings that predates the great 1920s prewar construction wave. The 1906 vintage places it three to four years after the 1903 New York Central tunnel cap and at the very beginning of Park Avenue's residential identity as such.
With only 24 apartments distributed across the building, 865 Park offers boutique configuration: the unit count is below 740 Park (33 units), 720 Park (29 units), and 770 Park (30 units) — placing it among the most genuinely small-scale Park Avenue cooperatives on the corridor. The 1961 conversion to cooperative ownership places the building in the late-1950s to early-1960s conversion wave that swept Park Avenue.
The Upper East Side Historic District designation in 1981 (LP-1051) means any visible facade modifications require LPC approval. This structurally protects the building's exterior identity through the longer ownership cycle while imposing constraints on window replacements and any visible architectural changes.
A note on architect attribution: the original 1906 architect of record is not definitively documented in publicly indexed secondary sources. The Roebling Team recommends verifying the original architect via NYC Department of Buildings permit records or Andrew Alpern's New York Apartment Houses of the Metropolitan Era 1908-1929 at the diligence stage rather than relying on unverified secondary attribution.
Building operations
865 Park operates as a boutique Upper East Side cooperative with the following operational baseline:
- Full-time doorman
- Elevator operator (the building retains the white-glove operator tradition)
- Live-in superintendent standard for buildings of this scale
- Storage typically transfers with apartments (verify per building rules)
- Limited modern amenity inventory typical of small prewar Park Avenue cooperatives — no fitness center, no roof deck in publicly documented inventory
The boutique 24-unit scale and the 1906 vintage produce an operational posture deliberately reserved relative to peer Carnegie Hill cooperatives. The building's identity rests on the white-glove staffing tradition and the LPC-protected exterior rather than on amenity infrastructure.
Policy framework
Specific policy detail at 865 Park should be verified directly with the managing agent at the diligence stage. General positioning consistent with boutique prewar Park Avenue cooperatives of this scale and vintage:
- Type: Cooperative — board interview required
- Pets: Verify with managing agent
- Pied-à-terre: Typically restricted for boutique 24-unit prewar coops; verify at production
- Subletting: Restricted per typical coop bylaw
- Financing maximum: Likely 50% or less; boutique Park Avenue prewars commonly require 50% or higher down payment
- Flip tax: Verify with managing agent
- Trust ownership: Permitted with board review
- LLC ownership: Not typical
- Foreign buyer: Substantial board diligence applies
- Post-closing liquidity: Substantial requirements (3x to 5x annual maintenance customary)
- Board interview: Required; full financial and personal-reference disclosure
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 3% of the Purchase Price
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
28 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Additional Processing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 if there is a 2nd Applicant or Guarantor | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $700 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $150 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $1,500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Adjournment FeeConditionalPayable by Buyer or SellerPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Within 10 business days of approvalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) (paid by Buyer or Seller) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Financing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $400 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When Before closing | Amount $200 per power of attorney (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Sale FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Lost Stock & Lease FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $600 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Power of Attorney Review FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to management | Paid by Seller | When Before closing | Amount $200 per power of attorney (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT a Bank Attorney PresentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Overtime Fee - paid by Buyer or SellerConditional · Per hourConditions: If applicablePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 per hour after 2 hours from scheduled time ($250 minimum) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger FeeConditionalConditions: If applicablePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $50 | Refundable Not stated |
| Postponement FeeConditionalConditions: Less than 48 hours NoticePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Agent Closing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Transfer Agent Closing FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $1100 if closing remotely | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Trust Sale Transfer FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $500 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Trust Transfer Additional Closing FeeConditionalConditions: WITHOUT the attorney presentPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 (if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Undertaking FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $100 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When Upon approval | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When Upon approval | Amount $1,000 | Refundable Refundable |
Refinance
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 (per person) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report Rerun FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Expedited FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $150 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
Alteration
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Building FeePaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Standard $100 per working day, Major $100 per working day | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Alteration Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Decorative $250, Standard $1000, Major $2500. | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Electrical Upgrade FeePaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Major $10000 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alteration Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Resident | When Upon approval | Amount Equal to 10% of the cost of the renovation | Refundable Refundable |
Ownership transfer
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Estate TransferConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| LL58 Compliance FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $850 | Refundable Not stated |
| Transfer FeePaid to a third party | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Please contact the Transfer Agent for the fee schedule for the proposed transfer. | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedNo more than 2 pets per unit, must provide picture of pet and vaccination recordsSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $887 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $27,191/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $99
- Modeled exposure split equally across 23 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14, 2026 | 9W | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $3,100,000 | +24.2% | |
| Jun 15, 2026 | 8W | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $2,300,000 | -3.2% | |
| Mar 26, 2026 | 3E | 3 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,100 sf | $3,300,000 | $1,571/sf | -5.7% |
| May 10, 2024 | 8E | 3 BR · 3 BA | $2,150,000 | -4.4% | |
| Oct 31, 2023 | 6W | 3 BR · 3 BA | $2,400,000 | -37.7% | |
| Sep 21, 2022 | 7W | 3 BR · 3 BA | $2,380,000 | -4.6% | |
| Aug 6, 2021 | 9E | 3 BR · 3 BA · 2,000 sf | $3,275,000 | $1,638/sf | -8.9% |
| Jul 13, 2020 | 3E | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $3,150,000 | -3.1% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,571/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 4.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01412-0001). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 865 Park Avenue and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $3.1M (3 transfers since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $61,050 to close, or 2.0% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $46,500
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 865 Park Avenue and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 865 Park Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
Notable residents
The building has historically maintained a private posture; no widely-reported celebrity sales surface in public press to date — a residency pattern consistent with the boutique 24-unit scale and the early-1900s discretion tradition.
What to know if you’re buying
The 1906 vintage and 24-unit boutique scale are structurally distinguishing. Among the earliest residential Park Avenue cooperatives; the unit count is materially smaller than even the most-cited Candela trophy buildings.
The Upper East Side Historic District protection applies. Designated LP-1051 in 1981; exterior modifications require LPC review.
The elevator-operator tradition adds to the white-glove operational profile. Verify current configuration at diligence stage.
The original architect attribution is not definitively documented in publicly indexed sources. Plan to pull the 1906 building permit from NYC Department of Buildings and verify architect via Andrew Alpern reference works at diligence stage. The boutique scale and the thin public-source footprint warrant first-party verification of every operational detail.
Plan for substantial liquidity requirements and full board diligence. Park Avenue prewar cooperative norms apply.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard. Plan for 6 to 10 weeks from contract through board approval to closing.
What to know if you’re selling
Marketing should emphasize the 1906 early-cooperative pedigree and the LPC-protected exterior identity. Both are real structural advantages over peer boutique Upper East Side cooperative inventory.
The 24-unit boutique scale supports premium positioning. Reference in positioning materials.
Pricing should reference recent Upper East Side prewar cooperative closings. Apartment-line-specific comparables should anchor positioning; the boutique scale means individual closings move building-wide pricing benchmarks.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 865 Park Avenue, also evaluate:
- 860 Park Avenue — York & Sawyer 1925; immediate Upper East Side prewar coop peer
- 850 Park Avenue — Rouse & Goldstone 1914; nearby Upper East Side prewar coop peer
- 888 Park Avenue — Schwartz & Gross 1925-26; nearby Upper East Side prewar coop peer
- 895 Park Avenue — Sloan & Robertson 1930 Art Deco; nearby Upper East Side prewar coop peer
- 898 Park Avenue — Sloan & Nast 1924; nearby Upper East Side prewar coop peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Park Avenue buildings
- 840 Park Avenue — 1912 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 850 Park Avenue — 1914 co-op by Rouse & Goldstone
- 860 Park Avenue — 1924 co-op by York & Sawyer
- 875 Park Avenue — 1912 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 876 Park Avenue — 1917 co-op by W. K. Rouse & L. A. Goldstone
- 883 Park Avenue — 1927 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 865 Park Avenue?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com