
876 Park Avenue
876 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10075
BBL 1013920040 · BIN 1041830
- Year built
- 1917
- Type
- Cooperative
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 30% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 3% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 4BR+ median, 2024–2026
- $6.5M
- 3 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $5.2M – $6.8M
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 17
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Goldstone would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
876 Park Avenue — often called the Goldstone, after its architect — is the kind of small, serious Park Avenue cooperative that the avenue's reputation is built on. Completed in 1917 to designs by W. L. Rouse and L. A. Goldstone, the same office whose work shaped a generation of Manhattan's best apartment houses, it holds the corner of East 78th Street with a red-brick-and-limestone dignity and a signature flourish: curved wrought-iron balconies that give the façade its character. At just 24 residences over thirteen stories, it is a genuinely intimate building.
The number that matters most is two: there are only two apartments per floor. That layout — a private landing shared with a single neighbor, light from multiple exposures, and rooms scaled to a vanished era — is the reason buyers seek out pre-war Park Avenue co-ops, and 876 delivers it in a building small enough that the resident manager knows every shareholder. It is the antithesis of the high-density tower: a quiet house with the staffing of a much larger building and the privacy of a townhouse.
The building converted from rental to cooperative ownership in 1947, among the earlier wave of Park Avenue conversions, and it has operated as a co-op ever since; review recent engineering reports, the current budget and audited statements for its present condition. For a buyer who wants a classic Park Avenue address without the scale of a 100-unit building, the Goldstone is a precise fit.
Architecture and unit composition
Rouse & Goldstone gave 876 Park the restrained, masonry-first vocabulary of the Park Avenue pre-war: a limestone base under a long red-brick shaft, a canopied entrance, and the curved wrought-iron balconies and flowerboxes that distinguish it from its plainer neighbors. It is architecture meant to read as permanent and well-bred rather than ostentatious — exactly the register the avenue prizes.
Inside, the two-per-floor plan yields large, light-filled apartments with the pre-war details collectors look for: wood-burning fireplaces, generous room proportions, real foyers, and high ceilings. With 24 homes across thirteen floors, the building is composed almost entirely of substantial classic layouts; the count does not establish turnover or holding periods, which require dated transfer records. The combination of corner light, wood-burning fireplaces, and full-floor-feeling proportions is the building's enduring draw.
Building operations
876 Park Avenue is a full-service cooperative. The lobby is attended around the clock by a doorman, and a resident manager oversees the building day to day. For a 24-unit building, the amenity package is notably complete: a fitness center, central laundry, a bicycle room, and an individual storage cage for each apartment — the kind of per-unit storage allotment that larger buildings rarely match.
The building is pet-friendly. As with Park Avenue cooperatives generally, purchases are subject to a board application and interview, and financing is capped at 30% of the purchase price. Buyers should confirm the building's current liquidity, occupancy and sublet requirements from its governing documents and application instructions as part of diligence.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 3% of Purchase Price
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Appraisal Research and Co-op SupplementConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| FinancingConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Appraisal Research and Co-op Supplement | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 30% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $1,095 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $40,441/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $140
- Modeled exposure split equally across 24 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 3% of purchase price (paid by Buyer at closing)
- Sublet policy
- Permitted; App Processing Fee $300 shareholder + $300 subtenant
- Policies and fees
- Max financing 30%; Closing Fee $800 ($850 w/o broker) + $0.05/share
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apr 30, 2026 | 6S | 4 BR · 2.5 BA | $5,200,000 | +9.5% | |
| Apr 16, 2026 | 12S | 4 BR · 3 BA | $6,750,000 | +0.0% | |
| Nov 26, 2024 | 7N | 4 BR · 3 BA | $6,500,000 | +0.0% | |
| Oct 13, 2022 | 9S | 4 BR · 5 BA | $6,050,000 | +0.9% | |
| Jun 15, 2022 | 2S | 4 BR · 4 BA · 3,200 sf | $5,300,000 | $1,656/sf | -3.5% |
| Jun 28, 2021 | 11N | 3 BR · 2.5 BA | $5,706,250 | -18.2% | |
| Jun 18, 2021 | 11S | 4 BR · 4 BA | $6,200,000 | -10.8% | |
| Jun 7, 2017 | 12S | 4 BR · 4 BA | $5,200,000 | -3.7% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2022): a median $1,656/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 0.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01392-0040). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Goldstone and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $6.5M (3 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 70% down would pay about $355,800 to close, or 5.5% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $146,250
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Building transfer fee (flip tax), 3% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer per building management's published schedule, as of October 2026: $195,000
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 30% financing limit. Confirm the current transfer fee with building management; the linked calculator does not include it.
Keep up with The Goldstone and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Goldstone. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
This is a buy-and-hold building. The appeal is the two-per-floor privacy, the wood-burning fireplaces and pre-war proportions, and a complete amenity package — including a per-apartment storage cage and a fitness center — in a building of only 24 homes. Pets are welcome, which broadens the building's appeal relative to stricter Park Avenue peers.
Practical diligence: expect a thorough co-op board package and interview, and confirm the building's current financing limit (documented at 30% of the purchase price) and sublet rules with us before bidding. Review the maintenance charge, any assessments, and the reserve fund, and weigh the building's capital obligations — façade and elevator work under New York's inspection cycles — against its reserves. In a 24-unit building, the financial condition rests on few apartments; review the current budget, audited statements, debt and any assessments.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the documented apartment features. Describe Rouse & Goldstone’s architecture, the private-landing plan, wood-burning fireplaces, corner light, storage and fitness amenities. Verify current availability and specific competing homes; the twenty-four-apartment count does not establish scarcity or features unavailable elsewhere.
Price against the Lenox Hill and Park Avenue pre-war co-op set, with weight given to the rarity of the line and the apartment's condition. Account for the customary co-op transfer costs in your net-proceeds modeling, and invest in presentation: in a building where each sale sets the benchmark for the next, a thoughtfully staged apartment that showcases the proportions and the fireplaces materially affects both price and speed.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 876 Park Avenue, these nearby Park and Lexington pre-war cooperatives form the natural comparison set:
- 875 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue co-op directly across the street
- 883 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue co-op a half-block north
- 888 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue peer
- 860 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue co-op to the south
- 976 Lexington Avenue — 1955 Lenox Hill cooperative nearby
More Park Avenue buildings
- 860 Park Avenue — 1924 co-op by York & Sawyer
- 865 Park Avenue — 1907 co-op
- 875 Park Avenue — 1912 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 883 Park Avenue — 1927 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 888 Park Avenue — 1925 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 891 Park Avenue — 1931 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Goldstone?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com