Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1955
976 Lexington Avenue
976 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10021

976 Lexington Avenue

976 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10021

Lenox Hill, Upper East Side

BBL 1014060017 · BIN 1042806

At a glance
Year built
1955
Type
Cooperative
Units
101
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026

976 Lexington Avenue sales history: 84 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 976 Lexington Avenue?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

2BR median, 2023–2025
$2.1M
2 qualifying sales
Recent range
$725K – $3.5M
Listing discount
5.5%
Recorded transfers
84
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 976 Lexington Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

This page covers the cooperative on Block 1406, Lot 17. City land-use records address it 976 Lexington Avenue; the Landmarks Preservation Commission records it as 135 East 71st Street, an H. I. Feldman apartment building of 1955 inside the Upper East Side Historic District; deed and energy-benchmarking records also use 140 East 72nd Street. PLUTO records 22 floors (the HPD registration lists 20) and 101 residential units.

It is not Townsend House. That 1962 cooperative, owned by The Townsend House Corp., is at 176 East 71st Street / 1218 Third Avenue on Block 1405 and has its own profile. An earlier version of this page described Townsend House under this address; its amenities, staffing and policies did not belong to this building and have been removed.

Amenities, staffing, financing limits, sublet and pet policies for 976 Lexington Avenue are not yet documented here. Confirm them with the managing agent and the offering documents before relying on them.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

12 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation)Refundable Not stated
Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 per Co-applicant/ GuarantorRefundable Not stated
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000 (as of February 1, 2026)Refundable Not stated
Move Out FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000 (as of February 1, 2026)Refundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalConditions: If financingPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $350Refundable Not stated
Messenger FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $30Refundable Not stated
Transfer TaxPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount 2% of purchase priceRefundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,000Refundable Refundable

Refinance

3 items

Management's “less refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated

Management's “more refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Background Report FeePer applicantPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicantRefundable Not stated
Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated

Ownership transfer

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Transfer FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount Contact Transfer Agent for fee scheduleRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$841 per room a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.08 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$68,093/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $56
Modeled exposure split equally across 101 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$250 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 17, 202615C
3 BR · 3 BA
$3,125,000-5.2%
Jun 1, 2026PH
4 BR · 4.5 BA
$3,325,000+1.5%
Apr 2, 20269D
1 BR · 1.5 BA
$1,100,000-12.7%
Mar 30, 20263D
1 BR · 1.5 BA
$990,000-10.0%
Mar 11, 20262D
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 960 sf
$725,000$755/sf-17.1%
Sep 19, 202512A
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,700 sf
$1,995,000$1,174/sf+5.0%
Jul 16, 20257C
3 BR · 3 BA
$2,075,000-5.5%
Jun 18, 20256B
1 BR · 1 BA · 950 sf
$950,000$1,000/sf-4.5%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $827/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 4.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

11A · 1,300 sf+72%
$1,008,000 ($775/sf) 2004 → $1,450,000 ($1,115/sf) 2006 → $1,710,000 2008 → $1,735,000 ($1,335/sf) 2017
7B · 1,150 sf+45%
$1,050,000 2005 → $1,525,000 ($1,326/sf) 2016
18A+33%
$3,000,000 2014 → $4,000,000 2021
12A · 1,700 sf+21%
$1,650,000 2013 → $1,275,000 2021 → $1,995,000 ($1,174/sf) 2025
12B+21%
$762,500 2005 → $925,000 2009
View all 84 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01406-0017). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 976 Lexington Avenue and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $2M (9 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $34,500 to close, or 1.7% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $19,950
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 976 Lexington Avenue and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 976 Lexington Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

Comparable buildings

Nearby Upper East Side cooperatives for comparison:

The Roebling Team at 976 Lexington Avenue

Looking at an apartment here? Run the Mansion Tax Calculator, the Buyer Closing Cost Calculator or the Seller Closing Cost Calculator, and ask us for a read on the specific apartment.


This page reflects publicly available information. The Roebling Team at Compass does not represent 976 Lexington Avenue's management, board, or sponsor. © 2026 The Roebling Team at Compass.

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 976 Lexington Avenue?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com