Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfFiDi $1,255/sf ▾3%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1962
200 East 74th Street
200 East 74th Street, New York, NY 10021

200 East 74th Street

200 East 74th Street, New York, NY 10021

Lenox Hill, Upper East Side

BBL 1014280045 · BIN 1044011

At a glance
Year built
1962
Type
Cooperative
Floors
21
Land
Ground lease; the building sits on leased land
The Roebling Team's building profile
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Maximum financing
75% of the purchase price
Flip tax
Requires confirmation
Sources differ on who pays. Confirm with building management.
Doorman
Full-time doorman

200 East 74th Street sales history: 153 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 200 East 74th Street?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

1BR median, 2023–2026
$890K
5 qualifying sales
Recent range
$698K – $2.6M
Listing discount
5.0%
Recorded transfers
153
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 200 East 74th Street would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

200 East 74th Street is the value-tier workhorse of Lenox Hill's full-service co-op stock — a 21-story white-brick tower on one of the neighborhood's most recognizable corners, directly across 74th Street from J.G. Melon, with roughly 150 apartments, retail income at its base, and a policy framework that is accommodating for an Upper East Side cooperative: 75 percent financing and a pied-à-terre posture that listing records describe as permissive. For buyers priced out of the corridor's pre-war co-ops who still want a doorman, an elevator bank, and Lenox Hill schools and amenities, this building is consistently on the shortlist.

Its ownership history is the most interesting thing about it, and we hold the primary document. The building was erected in 1962 by a tenant under a 1959 ground lease, and the 1979 conversion — sponsor Charlton Buildings Associates, selling agent J. G. Haft & Co. — sold shareholders a leasehold cooperative: the offering plan on file in The Roebling Research Library discloses a ground lease running to January 31, 2058, with no renewal options and graduated rent resets in 1989, 1999, and 2009. Insider pricing at conversion was $170 per share, 15 percent below the public price. That land-lease structure is the kind of fact that defines a building's economics for decades.

Which is why the next chapter matters more: city records show a December 1998 deed conveying the underlying parcel from NRP LLC I, an Emmes Asset Management entity, to 200 E. 74 Owners Corp. itself — the signature of a cooperative buying its own land, and doing so a decade ahead of the 2009 rent reset that would otherwise have hit shareholders. Today the cooperative corporation is the owner of record of the lot in city records, and neither the building's marketing nor current listing records carry land-lease disclosures. We treat the building as a fee-owned co-op with a leasehold past — and we instruct every buyer's attorney to confirm exactly that, first, in diligence.

Architecture and unit composition

The building is postwar white-brick pragmatism done at scale: a 101-foot Third Avenue corner front, massing that steps from a broad base to the tower (the title survey in the offering plan describes a twelve-to-twenty-one-story structure), corner windows where the setbacks break, and terraces on upper lines. The original architect is not firmly documented in public records, and we decline to guess; the 1979 plan's engineering report was prepared by Charles B. Ferris Associates.

Inside, the roughly 150 apartments — 458 rooms by the Building Department count cited in the plan — run from studios and one-bedrooms, which dominate the stock, through combinations that today trade as three-, four-, and in reconfigured cases five-bedroom homes per listing records. Layouts are efficient rather than grand: defined foyers, separated kitchens, and generous closets that renovate well. The lobby and hallways have been renovated in recent cycles per listing records, and the strongest lines pair corner light with Third Avenue's open southern and western exposures.

Building operations

Full-service: full-time doorman, live-in superintendent, fitness center (recently re-equipped per listing records), residents' lounge and meeting room, central laundry, bike room, package room, private storage, and on-site parking. The Third Avenue retail base — long anchored by a national drugstore per listing records — and the garage generate cooperative income that listing records consistently credit for the building's low maintenance, a pattern the board has reinforced by holding or reducing maintenance in recent years per brokerage records. Management is institutional (Midboro), and the purchase application, house rules, smoking policy, alteration guidelines, and estate-sale requirements are on file in The Roebling Research Library.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Equal to 2.5% of the sales price
Rate
2.5% of the purchase price
Paid by
Requires confirmationSources differ on who pays. Confirm with building management.

Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026

Purchase

12 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Additional Applicant or Guarantor FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $200 per applicant/guarantor if applicableRefundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $325 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report Rerun FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $325 if applicableRefundable Non-refundable
Expedited FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount 400 (If Financing)Refundable Not stated
Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $150 if applicableRefundable Not stated
LL58 Compliance FeePaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Monthly Maintenance Charge FeeConditionalConditions: If closing takes place after the 10th of the monthPaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount Equal to common charges and charges up to the time of closingRefundable Not stated
Transfer Agent Closing FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $850 or $1100 if closing remotelyRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet

12 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Additional Applicant or Guarantor FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to managementPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $200 per applicant/guarantor if applicableRefundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $650Refundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $.325 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report Rerun FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $325 if applicableRefundable Non-refundable
Expedited FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $150 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Sublease Administrative FeePaid to the buildingPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Sublease FeeRecurringPaid to the buildingPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount Equal to 15% of the subtenant's annual rent or 25% of the annual maintenance, whichever is greaterRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Sublet renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Renewal Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Sublease FeeRecurringPaid to the buildingPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount Equal to 15% of the subtenant's annual rent or 25% of the annual maintenance, whichever is greaterRefundable Not stated

Refinance

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Additional Applicant or Guarantor FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid to managementPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $200 per applicant/guarantor if applicableRefundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Non-refundable
Expedited FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $150 if applicableRefundable Not stated

Alteration

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Alteration Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount Minor $250, Standard $1000, Major $2500Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Alteration Security DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount Minor $500. Standard $5000 for Studios, $7500 for 1 Bdr, $10000 for 2 Bdr, $17500 for 3 Bdr. Major $5000 for Studios, $7500 for 1 Bdr, $10000 for 2 Bdr, $17500 for 3 Bdr (for any combinations it will be a combination of the above)Refundable Refundable

Ownership transfer

7 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Credit Report FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicantRefundable Non-refundable
Estate TransferConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 if applicableRefundable Not stated
LL58 Compliance FeePaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Not stated
Name change/spouse add/removalConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Transfer into a TrustConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Transfer to a Family Member and a Third PartyConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Closing Fee for all TransfersPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $850Refundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
75% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Not verified
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$571 per room a monthMedian of 9 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.01 per square foot a monthMedian of 6 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Package room
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, residents' lounge, garage, bike storage, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$92,828/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $51
Modeled exposure split equally across 153 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$2,400 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
Requires confirmation
Sublet policy
Sublease Fee 15% of subtenant annual rent or 25% of annual maintenance (greater); Sublease Admin Fee $500; Renewal $250
Pied-à-terre
Allowed (Gifts also allowed)
Policies and fees
Application Processing $700; Credit Check $325/applicant; Transfer Agent Closing Fee $850 ($1,100 remote); Move-in/out deposits $500; Financing Fee $400; Max financing 75%
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
May 12, 202621A
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,700 sf
$2,599,000$1,529/sf-1.9%
Jan 8, 202617D
1 BR · 1 BA
$890,000-8.7%
Aug 21, 202511F
1 BR · 1 BA · 750 sf
$698,000$931/sf-5.0%
Jul 17, 202519A
1 BR · 2 BA · 1,200 sf
$1,300,000$1,083/sf-13.0%
Apr 7, 202511C
1 BR · 1 BA
$850,000-5.5%
Mar 11, 202516B
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,425,000-5.0%
Feb 4, 202514A
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,300 sf
$2,025,000$1,558/sf-2.4%
Apr 4, 20246B
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,350 sf
$1,407,000$1,042/sf-11.8%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $946/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

3F+121%
$340,000 ($425/sf) 2003 → $575,000 ($719/sf) 2012 → $750,000 2022
12B+98%
$845,000 2004 → $1,675,000 2008
14A · 1,300 sf+81%
$1,120,000 ($862/sf) 2010 → $2,025,000 ($1,558/sf) 2025
9B+76%
$1,075,000 2010 → $1,895,000 2017
10D+62%
$495,000 2004 → $800,000 2013

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Jul 28, 202214GH$3,090,000
Nov 14, 20038C$439,000
View all 153 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01428-0045). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 200 East 74th Street and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 200 East 74th Street and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 200 East 74th Street. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Confirm the land position first. The offering plan on file documents the leasehold conversion and the 2058 ground lease; city records indicate the cooperative took a deed to the parcel in 1998–99. Your attorney should confirm with the managing agent that the fee is held by the corporation and that no residual ground-lease obligations survive — it is a ten-minute question that settles the building's single most important structural fact.

The framework is genuinely flexible for the corridor. 75 percent financing and a permissive pied-à-terre posture per listing records widen the buyer pool relative to the 50–70 percent, primary-residence-only co-ops nearby. Confirm current policy in writing; postures drift. Run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering.

Underwrite the maintenance engine. Low maintenance here is a function of commercial and garage income. Your attorney should review the retail lease posture in the financials — tenancy changes at the base are the main variable in the carry math. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator on the specific unit.

Studios and one-bedrooms are the building's currency. That makes it a natural first-purchase and parents-buying building, and it also means same-line comparables are plentiful — use them, not building averages.

Budget the application mechanics. The package on file itemizes the fees, deposits, registration forms, and alteration requirements; it is a standardized, well-run process, but it is thorough. We walk clients through it line by line.

What to know if you’re selling

The flip tax shapes your net. The seller-paid 2.5 percent transfer fee to the corporation is among the higher rates in the corridor — build it into pricing strategy from the start. Run the Seller Closing Cost Calculator before listing.

Sell the carry, document the land. Low maintenance is the headline buyers respond to; the land-ownership history is the question their attorneys will raise. We provide the offering plan and the recorded-deed history from the Research Library to buyers' counsel proactively — it shortens diligence.

Position against the corner's energy, honestly. The J.G. Melon corner is an asset for most buyers and a noise question for some. Third Avenue-facing lines should be shown at varied hours; quiet 74th Street-facing lines should be marketed as such.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 200 East 74th Street, also evaluate:

  • 176 East 77th Street (Lenox Manor) — the closest like-for-like: a postwar Third Avenue corner co-op with retail income, three blocks north, with a stricter framework (70 percent financing, no pieds-à-terre)
  • 175–177 East 77th Street — Boak & Paris Art Moderne condominium; the flexibility alternative at a per-foot premium
  • The Mayfair (207 East 74th Street) — the co-op neighbor across East 74th Street
  • 300 East 74th Street — 1967 postwar tower co-op one avenue east; the balcony-and-views alternative
  • 245 East 72nd Street — cooperative two blocks south; verify its building name and construction era
  • 160 East 65th Street (The Phoenix) — Emery Roth & Sons postwar co-op; the southern peer
  • Manhattan House (200 East 66th Street) — the landmarked postwar benchmark, now a condominium
  • 255 East 77th Street — new-development condominium; the neighborhood's new-construction price ceiling

More Upper East Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 200 East 74th Street?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com