
99 John Street (99 John Deco Lofts)
99 John Street, New York, NY 10038
BBL 1000767502 · BIN 1087867
- Year built
- 1933
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 442
- Floors
- 27
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2008–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,093
- 13 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.7%
- Recorded sales
- 664
- On record
- 2008–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 99 John Deco Lofts would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
99 John Street is a 1933 Shreve, Lamb & Harmon Art Deco tower by the same architectural firm that designed the Empire State Building — converted to rental ownership in 1999 and to condominium ownership in 2007.
The building's defining credential is the Shreve, Lamb & Harmon architectural pedigree — the same firm that two years earlier had designed the Empire State Building (1931) — whose broader Manhattan work places 99 John Street in the most architecturally consequential 1933 commercial cohort. That pedigree survives outside in the Art Deco limestone tower facade, carried intact through both conversions, and inside in the 11-14 ft beamed ceilings retained from the original prewar industrial fabric.
Architecture and building operations
Shreve, Lamb & Harmon's 1933 design produced a 27-story Art Deco limestone tower. The firm completed the Empire State Building two years earlier (1931) and brought the same Art Deco architectural register to 99 John Street. The 1999 rental conversion preserved the prewar fabric; the 2007 condominium conversion by Avinash Malhotra produced 442 condominium residences.
Operations: 24-hour doorman; concierge; fitness center; spa; private storage. The 11-14 ft beamed ceilings and prewar detailing are preserved across the residential inventory.
Policy framework — verify via The Roebling Research Library
- Type: Condominium
- Pets: Permitted under condominium framework
- Pied-à-terre: Permitted
- Subletting: Permitted under condominium procedures
- Financing: Standard condominium LTV
- LLC/trust/foreign buyers: All permitted
- Right of first refusal: Procedural only
Specific policy framework should be verified against the Roebling Research Library's offering plan and house rules at engagement.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeTo the BoardPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $110 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Working Capital ContributionPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount Equal to two (2) months common charges | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Document Preparation FeePaid to management | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $350 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Post Closing Document Security DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out FeePaid to the building | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeeTo the BoardPaid to the building | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $350 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to management | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $110 per applicant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In FeePaid to the building | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move Out DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-In DepositPaid to the building | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $2,500 | Refundable Refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeePaid to management | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $225 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $640 per room a monthMedian of 39 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $2.33 per square foot a monthMedian of 37 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $1.00 per square foot a monthMedian of 31 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $1.37 per square foot a monthMedian of 31 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, spa, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $349,220/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $66
- Modeled exposure split equally across 438 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Lease allowed; application processing $350
- Notable fees
- Application processing $600 + $250 to Board; credit check $110/applicant; move-in fee $500 + deposit $2,500; working capital contribution 2 months common charges; closing doc prep $350
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 24, 2026 | 1809 | 1 BR · 1 BA · 970 sf | $1,060,000 | $1,093/sf | -3.2% |
| Sep 17, 2026 | 205 | 3 BR · 2 BA · 1,312 sf | $1,400,000 | $1,067/sf | -15.2% |
| Sep 14, 2026 | 1007 | 2 BR · 1 BA · 860 sf | $999,500 | $1,162/sf | -4.8% |
| Aug 25, 2026 | 813 | 1 BA · 671 sf | $690,000 | $1,028/sf | -6.1% |
| Aug 4, 2026 | 716 | 1 BA · 688 sf | $690,000 | $1,003/sf | -1.3% |
| Jul 28, 2026 | 615 | 1 BR · 1 BA · 837 sf | $830,000 | $992/sf | -7.7% |
| Jul 22, 2026 | 2109 | 1 BR · 1 BA · 970 sf | $1,100,000 | $1,134/sf | -6.4% |
| Jul 16, 2026 | 2304 | 1 BR · 1 BA · 683 sf | $1,055,000 | $1,545/sf | -4.1% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,093/sf (recorded) across 13 sales. Median listing discount 3.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00076-7502). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at 99 John Deco Lofts, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| Studio | 34 | $3,675 |
| 1 bedroom | 53 | $4,750 |
| 2 bedroom | 21 | $5,800 |
| 3 bedroom | 7 | $7,800 |
115 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 99 John Deco Lofts and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $835K (31 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $31,500 to close, or 3.8% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- Mortgage recording tax: $12,055
- Title insurance: $3,757
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $15,687
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 99 John Deco Lofts and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 99 John Deco Lofts. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The Shreve, Lamb & Harmon architectural pedigree is real institutional context. Same firm as the Empire State Building.
The 1933 Art Deco limestone tower facade is structurally distinguishing.
The 11-14 ft beamed ceilings preserved from the original industrial fabric are real institutional interior credentials.
The two-conversion history (1999 rental / 2007 condominium) should be evaluated during diligence.
The 442-unit operational scale supports comprehensive amenity infrastructure.
Roebling cross-references the offering plan through the Roebling Research Library during diligence.
Comparable buildings
- 88 Greenwich Street (Greenwich Club Residences) — Goldstone 1929 / 2007 conversion; nearby FiDi Art Deco peer
- 80 John Street (The South Star) — Stephen B. Jacobs 2006 conversion; same-block John Street peer
- 90 John Street (Aria) — 1931 / conversion; same-block John Street peer
- 59 John Street (Five Nine John Lofts) — 1909 / 2007 conversion; same-block John Street peer
- 1 Wall Street — Walker / Macklowe 2023; nearby FiDi Art Deco trophy peer
Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.
More Financial District buildings
- 88 Greenwich Street (Greenwich Club Residences) — 1929 condominium
- 90 John Street — 1931 condominium by Clinton & Russell
- 90 William Street (Be@William) — 1967 condominium
- 99 Wall Street — 1931 condominium
- The Fulton Chambers, 102–104 Fulton Street — 1895 condominium
- 111 Fulton Street (District) — condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Financial District — read The Roebling Team Guide to Financial District.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 99 John Deco Lofts?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com