112 West 56th Street
112 West 56th Street, New York, NY 10019
BBL 1010087501 · BIN 1023398
- Year built
- 1980
- Type
- Condominium
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Not permitted
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $1,006
- floor-adjusted, 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 3.9%
- Recorded sales
- 50
- On record
- 2004–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Le Premier would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Le Premier is a 32-story condominium tucked mid-block on West 56th Street, south of Central Park and the Central Park South frontage; compare walking routes to the park entrances. It went up in 1980 and converted to condominium ownership in 1983, which makes it one of the earlier purpose-built condominiums in a part of Midtown otherwise dominated by pre-war co-ops and hotels.
The building has 50 residences in 32 stories and is described as two apartments per floor with semi-private elevator landings finished in marble. Those figures do not fully reconcile (two per floor over 32 stories would be 64 homes), so confirm which floors are residential and how many apartments share each landing from the approved plans. For a buyer who wants a condominium near the park without the scale of a 200-unit tower or the board scrutiny of a co-op, Le Premier occupies a specific and useful niche.
Building operations
Le Premier runs as a full-service condominium: an attended lobby with a full-time doorman and resident storage. As a condominium, there is no co-op board interview; purchases run through the condominium's application and right-of-first-refusal process. Pied-à-terre use, leasing by owners and pets are permitted; confirm financing and trust and LLC ownership rules in the current declaration and bylaws.
Architecture and residences
The street presence is restrained late-modern: a three-story polished gray-granite base, a stainless-steel-and-glass marquee, and a slim tower rising above it. The detailing is of its moment — the slanted granite wall at the entry, the patterned sidewalk — but the building reads as quietly upscale rather than flashy, which suits the block.
Inside, the plan produces generously proportioned residences, most with corner exposures and the open layouts that 1980 floor-plates allowed. Higher floors capture Central Park and skyline views to the north; the landings are described as semi-private; confirm from the approved plans how many apartments share each one. The building systems date to the 1980 construction, and their current condition needs recent engineering reports; renovation rules are set by the condominium's declaration and house rules.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount 700.00 ($750 if no broker involved.) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant (LLC required to submit fee for business credit check - if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Criminal Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Closing Document Preparation Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Rental or lease
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-Out Fee - If ApplicableConditional | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount 700.00 ($750 if no broker involved.) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant (LLC required to submit fee for business credit check - if applicable) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Criminal Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Pre-paid move out fee | Paid by Tenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Lease renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lease Renewal FeeRequired | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsConsidered on a case by case basisSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsConsidered on a case by case basisSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $1,021 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $2.91 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $1.54 per square foot a monthMedian of 6 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $1.38 per square foot a monthMedian of 6 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
- Amenities noted
- StorageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $71,999/yr
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $169,123/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $120 – $282
- Modeled exposure split equally across 50 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Policies and fees
- Min Down Payment: 10%
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apr 17, 2026 | 24S | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,600 sf | $1,680,000 | $1,050/sf | -0.6% |
| Oct 31, 2025 | 30S | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,590 sf | $1,690,000 | $1,063/sf | +0.0% |
| Jul 10, 2024 | 19N | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,700 sf | $1,710,000 | $1,006/sf | -4.7% |
| Dec 16, 2022 | 24S | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,600 sf | $1,680,000 | $1,050/sf | -11.0% |
| Dec 2, 2022 | 16N | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,700 sf | $1,625,000 | $956/sf | -1.5% |
| Oct 21, 2022 | 29S | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,589 sf | $1,625,000 | $1,023/sf | -7.1% |
| Sep 26, 2022 | 19S | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,700 sf | $1,650,000 | $971/sf | -2.8% |
| Oct 25, 2021 | 24N | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,700 sf | $1,675,000 | $985/sf | -11.8% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,006/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.9% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01008-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
Closed rents at Le Premier, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 2 bedroom | 4 | $8,250 |
5 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease August 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Le Premier and nearby.
Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with Le Premier and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Le Premier. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The appeal is the package: a condominium, near the park, with real privacy. There is no co-op board interview — purchases run through a right-of-first-refusal. Pied-à-terre use and leasing by owners are permitted; confirm financing and LLC and trust ownership rules in the declaration and bylaws. Pay attention to exposure and floor: north-facing and higher homes carry the park-view premium, and the two-per-floor plan means each line lives differently. We help buyers read the resale history line by line and weigh Le Premier against both the condominium and co-op inventory within a few blocks.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with the structure and the location. A condominium near Central Park, with two-per-floor privacy, leasing and pied-à-terre use permitted, and no co-op board admission, is a distinct product — and the right buyer is the one priced out of, or unwilling to go through, a pre-war board. Benchmark to the corridor's condominiums, not to the co-ops, which trade on different terms. Check competing inventory before pricing. With fifty homes, the number of comparable listings at any time varies; price against active and recent sales of similar lines and floors in the building and in nearby condominiums. The closing runs through the condominium's right of first refusal rather than a co-op board process.
Comparable buildings
If you're weighing Le Premier, also look at the Central Park South corridor's other full-service options:
- 112 Central Park South — pre-war co-op directly on the park
- 50 Central Park South — luxury tower fronting the park
- 150 West 56th Street — full-service Midtown high-rise on the same block
- 100 West 58th Street — Windsor Park, a nearby condominium in a converted 1926 building
- 10 West 55th Street — Midtown rental building nearby
- 146 West 57th Street — full-service tower on the next corridor north
More Central Park South buildings
- 100 West 58th Street — 1926 condominium
- 106 Central Park South (Trump Parc) — 1930 condominium
- 111 West 56th Street (ONE11 Residences) — 1981 condominium by Philip Birnbaum & Associates
- 116 Central Park South — 1950 condominium
- 120 Central Park South (The Berkeley House) — 1941 co-op
- 120 West 58th Street — 1923 condominium
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Central Park South — read The Roebling Team Guide to Central Park South.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Le Premier?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com