20 Sutton Place South
20 Sutton Place South, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013670026 · BIN 1040463
- Year built
- 1953
- Type
- Cooperative
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the seller
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2025
- $1,146
- 1 sale
- Listing discount
- 3.0%
- Recorded sales
- 114
- On record
- 2004–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 20 Sutton Place South would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
20 Sutton Place South is a 1953 white-glove cooperative on a tree-lined block between 55th and 56th Streets, in the East River enclave that has long ranked among Manhattan's quietest and most discreet residential corridors. It belongs to a sought-after category: the early-1950s post-war co-op that was built with pre-war ambitions — gracious room sizes, elegant entrance galleries, and the kind of solid construction that has aged well — while adding amenities the older buildings often lack, including private terraces, an on-site garage, and a landscaped roof terrace.
The building's strongest selling points are tangible. A number of apartments carry private terraces and, unusually for a post-war building, wood-burning fireplaces, and the upper floors capture city and partial East River views. The Sutton location supplies the rest: low traffic, small riverside parks, and a hush that feels removed from the city even as Midtown's offices, shops, and transit sit a short walk west.
For a buyer who wants pre-war-scale living with post-war conveniences — a garage in the building, a roof terrace, the possibility of a wood-burning fireplace and a private outdoor space — on one of the most peaceful blocks on the East Side, 20 Sutton Place South is a compelling address.
Architecture and unit composition
The building is a twenty-story post-war cooperative built to a higher standard than the white-brick towers that followed later in the decade. The 88 residences favor a classic, pre-war-influenced style: elegant entrance galleries, oversized living rooms, and well-defined principal rooms. Select apartments include private terraces and wood-burning fireplaces — both genuine rarities in post-war construction — alongside features such as central air conditioning, in-unit washer/dryers, crown moldings, and full kitchens. The higher floors offer city and partial river outlooks.
Building operations
20 Sutton Place South is a fully staffed white-glove cooperative: a full-time doorman and concierge, with a resident superintendent overseeing the building. The amenity set is well suited to the corridor — a fitness room, a beautifully landscaped roof terrace with sweeping views, private storage, and, importantly, a resident parking garage within the building, a meaningful convenience in a neighborhood with little street parking. As at most Sutton cooperatives, purchases proceed through a board package and interview, and buyers should expect the diligence on finances and intended use typical of a building of this standing.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of the gross sales price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Seller
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Gym FeeOne time Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $750 | Refundable Not stated |
| Recognition Agreement FeeConditionalConditions: If Financing | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 if applicable | Refundable Not stated |
| Managing Agent's FeeConditional | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $900 if Shareholder is an individual, $1,000 Shareholder is an Estate | Refundable Non-refundable |
| New York State Stamp TaxPer shareRequired | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $0.05 per share | Refundable Non-refundable |
Sublet
5 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sublease Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Equal to one (1) month's maintenance OR one (1) month's rent (whichever is greater) | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $700 if there is a broker, $750 without a broker | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Bedbug Disclosure Form Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $25 | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
Refinance
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Check Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $75 per shareholder | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fees | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $35 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Ownership transfer
4 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Background Check FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $100 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Credit Report FeePer applicantRequired | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $75 per applicant/occupant | Refundable Non-refundable |
| Messenger Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $65 | Refundable Non-refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $683 per room a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Maintenance, per square foot
- $2.33 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, roof deck, garage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $111,974/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $106
- Modeled exposure split equally across 88 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of gross sales price (seller)
- Sublet policy
- Sublease fee = 1 month maintenance or 1 month rent (greater); subtenant app $700 w/broker ($750 w/o)
- Policies and fees
- Max financing 70%; managing agent $900 ($1,000 estate); gym fee $750
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 29, 2026 | 10B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $761,000 | -19.0% | |
| Oct 10, 2025 | 16 | 3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,050 sf | $2,350,000 | $1,146/sf | -6.0% |
| Sep 29, 2025 | 7E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $900,000 | +0.6% | |
| Mar 3, 2025 | 5A | 2 BR · 2.5 BA | $1,356,000 | +8.6% | |
| Dec 3, 2024 | 8D | 3 BR · 3 BA | $1,464,500 | -16.3% | |
| Aug 28, 2024 | 7A | 2 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,500 sf | $1,100,000 | $733/sf | -11.9% |
| Aug 26, 2024 | 8C | 3 BR · 3 BA | $1,560,000 | -5.5% | |
| Aug 23, 2024 | 10C | 3 BR · 3 BA · 1,900 sf | $1,600,000 | $842/sf | -3.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,146/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 3.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 15, 2004 | 10A | $825,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01367-0026). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 20 Sutton Place South and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $1.36M (5 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $27,195 to close, or 2.0% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $13,560
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $13,635
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with 20 Sutton Place South and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 20 Sutton Place South. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The building is for buyers who want classic, generously proportioned apartments and practical amenities on a genuinely quiet block. The features that drive value here are specific — a private terrace, a wood-burning fireplace, a higher floor with river light — and they vary considerably apartment to apartment, so the particular unit matters more than the building average. As a cooperative, the purchase runs through a board package and interview; buyers should confirm the financing and sublet terms early and prepare accordingly. We help buyers assemble a board-ready package, read the building's financials, and identify the apartments where the terrace, fireplace, and view advantages line up.
What to know if you’re selling
The selling story is post-war comfort with pre-war character on one of the East Side's most peaceful blocks. Where the apartment carries a private terrace, a wood-burning fireplace, or river views, those features should lead the marketing — they are the rarest attributes in the post-war market and command a premium. Pricing should be anchored to the Sutton and Beekman post-war cooperative set, with the on-site garage and roof terrace as supporting points. We position each apartment against the most recent comparable closings in the enclave and prepare sellers for the board process from the listing date forward.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 20 Sutton Place South, also evaluate the surrounding Sutton and Beekman cooperatives:
- 14 Sutton Place South — Rosario Candela cooperative on the same block
- 25 Sutton Place South — a 1959 Sutton Place cooperative
- 1 Sutton Place South — 1927 river cooperative by Rosario Candela with Cross & Cross
- 45 Sutton Place South — Cannon Point South, full-service Sutton cooperative
- 60 Sutton Place South — established Sutton cooperative on the river
- 2 Sutton Place South — riverfront Sutton cooperative
More Sutton Place buildings
- 12 Beekman Place — 1957 co-op by H.I. Feldman
- 14 Sutton Place South — 1929 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 16 Sutton Place — 1960 co-op
- 25 Sutton Place — 1928 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 25 Sutton Place South — 1959 co-op by Paul Resnick
- 30 Beekman Place — 1931 co-op by George F. Pelham
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 20 Sutton Place South?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com