Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1929
14 Sutton Place South
14 Sutton Place South, New York, NY 10022
Buildings·Sutton Place·Cooperative

14 Sutton Place South

14 Sutton Place South, New York, NY 10022

Sutton Place

BBL 1013680024 · BIN 1040469

At a glance
Year built
1929
Type
Cooperative
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Subletting by shareholders
Not permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Not permitted
Maximum financing
50% of the purchase price
Flip tax
Tiered or formula; see fees
Doorman
Full-time doorman

14 Sutton Place South sales history: 113 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 14 Sutton Place South?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

2BR median, 2023–2026
$1.2M
13 qualifying sales
Recent range
$765K – $2.1M
Listing discount
3.9%
Recorded transfers
113
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 14 Sutton Place South would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

14 Sutton Place South is a Rosario Candela cooperative from 1929, anchoring the northwest corner of East 56th Street in one of Manhattan's quietest and most established residential enclaves. Candela is the architect whose name has become synonymous with the pre-war Manhattan apartment at its most accomplished — the layouts, proportions, and circulation that define the genre — and 14 Sutton Place South is a characteristic example of his work, sized to the intimacy of the Sutton corridor rather than the grand scale of Fifth or Park.

The building's financial posture is part of its reputation. It carries no underlying mortgage and permits financing up to 50% of the purchase price. For buyers who value a debt-free balance sheet, that profile is a draw; review the current budget, audited statements and any assessments alongside it.

Sutton Place itself is the third element. The enclave sits at the eastern edge of Midtown, hard against the East River, with small parks, low traffic, and a hush that feels far removed from the avenues a few blocks west — yet it remains within walking distance of Midtown's offices, restaurants, and transit.

Architecture and unit composition

Candela designed 14 Sutton Place South in the refined masonry vocabulary of the late 1920s — a dignified pre-war elevation detailed without excess, rising fifteen stories above the corner. Inside, the building carries the hallmarks of his planning: gracious entrance galleries, well-proportioned principal rooms, and the kind of layout logic that has kept pre-war Candela apartments in demand for nearly a century. The 93 residences range across classic configurations, with the upper floors capturing East River light and outlooks.

Converted to cooperative ownership in 1957, the building has been maintained to a high standard, with a classically designed lobby and common areas that reflect its standing as one of the corridor's preeminent addresses.

Building operations

14 Sutton Place South is a full-service cooperative staffed around the clock, with 24-hour door attendants and a live-in resident manager overseeing day-to-day operations. The amenity set is deep for a building of its era: a fitness center, a landscaped rooftop garden and terrace with open views, a laundry room, private storage, and a meeting room. The cooperative carries no underlying mortgage and caps financing at 50%. Purchases proceed through a board package and interview; confirm the current liquidity and application requirements from the building's application instructions.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Equal 2.5% of the Gross Proceeds of Sale
Paid by
Seller

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

3 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable
Fidelifacts Credit ReportConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $871.00 per Applicant/Occupant, $1,633.13 if there are two (2) Applicants/OccupantsRefundable Non-refundable

Refinance

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeeRequiredPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $35Refundable Non-refundable

Management's “less refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $335Refundable Non-refundable

Management's “more refinance” schedule

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $500Refundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeesPaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $35Refundable Non-refundable

Ownership transfer

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600Refundable Non-refundable
Background Check FeePer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $100 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Report FeePer applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicant/occupantRefundable Non-refundable
Messenger FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $65Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
50% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Guarantors
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Parent buying for a student child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase or lease by a corporation
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$741 per room a monthMedian of 14 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance, per square foot
$2.23 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Fitness room, roof deck, garden, storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$36,418/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $33
Modeled exposure split equally across 93 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 22, 20265F
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,350,000-3.6%
Jul 27, 202613G
3 BR · 3 BA
$1,500,000+11.1%
Jun 30, 202612A
2 BR · 2.5 BA
$2,150,000-4.4%
Jun 25, 202613F
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,125,000-5.9%
Mar 2, 20264C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,245,000-3.9%
Jan 7, 20265D
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,245 sf
$1,075,000$863/sf-14.0%
Aug 26, 20255E
1 BR · 1 BA
$865,000-21.4%
Jun 23, 202512G
1 BR · 1 BA
$890,000-0.9%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $864/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 4.8% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

4C+51%
$825,000 2004 → $1,375,000 2015 → $1,245,000 2026
13F+42%
$795,000 2003 → $1,300,000 2026 → $1,125,000 2026
8E+36%
$690,000 2009 → $935,000 2013
4E · 935 sf+26%
$675,000 2005 → $740,000 2014 → $850,500 ($910/sf) 2022
4G+22%
$672,000 ($840/sf) 2014 → $850,000 2017 → $820,000 2021

Other recent transfers

DateUnitPrice
Jun 25, 202613F$1,300,000
Apr 13, 2006PHA$5,200,000
View all 113 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01368-0024). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 14 Sutton Place South and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.19M (12 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 50% down would pay about $23,363 to close, or 2.0% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $11,850
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $11,513

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage at the building's 50% financing limit.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 14 Sutton Place South and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 14 Sutton Place South. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The building rewards buyers who value pre-war architecture over amenity flash. Financing is capped at 50% and the cooperative carries no underlying mortgage; confirm the board's current post-closing liquidity requirement in the application instructions. Expect a board package and interview. In return: a debt-free building of Candela layouts on a quiet East River block, with full-time staffing and a roof garden. We help buyers assemble a board-ready package, read the building's financials, and identify the layouts and exposures that live best.

What to know if you’re selling

The selling story writes itself: a Candela cooperative, debt-free, on Sutton Place, with white-glove service and a landscaped roof garden. The marketing should lead with the architect and the building's financial strength — both durable differentiators in a market that increasingly prizes well-capitalized pre-war buildings — and anchor pricing to the Sutton and Beekman pre-war cooperative set. The board's standards mean the buyer pool skews qualified and serious. We position each apartment against the most recent comparable closings in the enclave and prepare sellers for the board process from the listing date forward.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 14 Sutton Place South, also evaluate the surrounding Sutton and Beekman cooperatives:

More Sutton Place buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 14 Sutton Place South?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com