Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium · 1920
The Barrington
203 West 81st Street, New York, NY 10024

The Barrington (203 West 81st Street)

203 West 81st Street, New York, NY 10024

Upper West Side

BBL 1012297501 · BIN 1032699

At a glance
Year built
1920
Type
Condominium
Units
55
Floors
9
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Requires confirmation
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Washer/dryer
Not permitted
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price
Doorman
Full-time doorman

The Barrington sales history: 99 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Barrington?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$1,325
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
1.6%
Recorded sales
99
On record
2004–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Barrington would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

The Barrington is a pre-war building that became a condominium in 1986 and then took roughly twenty years to actually become one. That sentence is the building's history and most of its present character.

The offering plan on file is a non-eviction conversion plan, accepted for filing in July 1985 and declared in February 1986. Under a non-eviction plan the sponsor need only sell a small fraction of the apartments to close the conversion, and rent-regulated tenants stay in place. What follows, in building after building of this vintage, is a long tail: the sponsor and its successors hold the unsold units as rentals for decades and release them to the market apartment by apartment as they become vacant. That is precisely what happened here. The holders of unsold units retained a substantial block through the 1990s, the remaining unsold inventory changed hands in a single bulk transaction in July 2003, and individual retail resales did not begin in volume until 2004.

That history appears in the 2020 and 2021 financial statements; review the documented arrears and obtain a current update. The audited statements on file for 2020 and 2021 disclose that six investor-owned apartments had fallen into common-charge arrears large enough that the association wrote them off in full — an allowance for uncollectible accounts of more than $400,000. By the end of 2021 five of those six had been foreclosed upon and the new owners were current. The association had also arranged, where landlords remained delinquent, to collect rent directly from the tenants of those apartments, and it recovered a $140,000 arrears settlement in May 2020 when one of the foreclosed units sold. Those records describe collection efforts and resolutions through 2021; verify the current arrears, ownership concentration and rental inventory rather than assuming the same position persists.

The 2020 and 2021 audited statements report no mortgage debt and no interest expense in either year; they do not establish the current debt position. At the end of 2021 it held roughly $810,000 in cash and a certificate of deposit against total assets of about $881,000, with members' equity of roughly $693,000 split across an operating fund, a capital improvement fund and a separate emergency reserve fund. A ten percent special assessment that had run since 2008 was reduced and then ended on 30 June 2020, and the board took common-charge increases of 2 percent for 2021 and 3 percent for 2022. These historical amounts and decisions do not establish present reserve adequacy or future capital funding.

The 2020 and 2021 auditors reported no reserve study, and those statements omit supplementary disclosure of estimated future major repairs. Ask whether a study or capital plan has since been adopted and review current reserves, planned work and funding; these older statements do not rank present assessment risks.

Architecture and unit composition

Nine stories and 59,153 square feet across 55 apartments works out to a generous gross average, and the building reads as what it is: a solidly built early pre-war apartment house on a mid-block Upper West Side lot, brick above a masonry base, a regular punched-window elevation, and an entrance set back from the street line behind a small light court. The architect is not documented, and we do not guess at one. The construction date is likewise unsettled — a new-building application numbered 672-11 points to 1911, while the city's year-built field says 1920.

The building's recorded gross floor area works out to roughly 5.15 times its lot area, above the 4.0 residential maximum under R8B zoning. That is a common condition for pre-war stock on these blocks. The simple comparison does not establish the building's legal zoning floor area, whether any development rights remain, or what could be built or altered on the lot.

Apartments run from studios and one-bedrooms through larger pre-war layouts, and because the conversion released units piecemeal over four decades, the condition spread inside the building is wide. Some apartments came out of long-term rent-regulated tenancy essentially untouched; others have been gut-renovated by owners since 2004. Ceiling heights and pre-war detail are the building's product; renovation status is the building's price variable. There is no useful building-average price per foot here — line, floor, exposure and condition each move the number materially.

Building operations

The Barrington runs as a staffed union building. Labor is by far the largest expense line in the audited statements — payroll, payroll taxes, union benefits, uniforms and workers' compensation together accounted for roughly $683,000 in 2021, a little over half of total operating expense. Union benefits alone ran about $191,000, and the association participates in the Local 32BJ multiemployer pension plan, which the statements disclose as being in Red Zone status with a rehabilitation plan in place. That is an industry-wide condition rather than a building-specific one, but it belongs in a buyer's understanding of why labor costs in this building rise the way they do.

Other operating detail from the statements on file: the central laundry room is leased to an outside operator on a seven-year term that began in November 2018, producing a fixed annual fee; storage lockers are rented to unit owners; and the former superintendent's apartment, unit 1C, has been let by the association since 2015 and now runs month to month, producing rental income to the operating fund.

Recent capital work documented in the statements: the hot water system was replaced in 2021 under a contract of roughly $68,000 including change orders, with an outside engineering firm producing the plans and monitoring the work; the building also carried out water-pipe work and a water-pressure evaluation. Hurricane flooding in 2021 caused roughly $144,000 of damage, substantially all of which was recovered through an insurance claim in the same year. Façade restoration also appears among the betterments in the years on file, and Department of Buildings filings record repeated exterior repair cycles with sidewalk sheds in 2002, 2006, 2009 and 2013 — the ordinary Local Law 11 rhythm, which should be traced forward to the current cycle in diligence.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. There is no board approval and no interview. A sale or a lease proceeds by a notice of intention delivered to the board of managers, after which the board has thirty days to exercise or waive its right of first refusal. In practice the board waives and issues a waiver certificate, and closings run on a condominium timetable rather than a cooperative one.

Application package: Substantial for a condominium. The package on file calls for an introduction letter, the executed contract of sale, the notice of intention, a certified financial statement, two years of federal and state or city tax returns, bank statements, employment and personal references, an emergency contact form, signed house-rules, move-in/move-out and smoking-policy riders, and — where financed — a fully executed lender commitment letter. A non-refundable application fee is payable with the package, and move-in requires a deposit refundable after inspection.

Pets: Permitted. The house rules provide for removal of any animal found by the board to be a nuisance or hazard, and require dogs to be leashed in all common elements.

Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC, trust and foreign ownership: Pied-à-terre use is permitted. Leasing requires confirmation, and LLC, trust and foreign ownership are not documented; confirm them in the declaration, bylaws and house rules, and confirm minimum lease terms and any leasing frequency limits with the managing agent.

Flip tax: Not documented in the records reviewed. Confirm before pricing a sale.

Real estate taxes: No exemption is recorded, but abatements apply at the bill level; underwrite the tax on the specific unit lot's current bill, and note that the tax certiorari reductions the board won for 2015/16 and 2016/17 have long since run off.

Assessments: The reviewed 2020 and 2021 statements do not establish the current assessment schedule. The 10 percent assessment that ran from 2008 was reduced and ended on 30 June 2020. Ask for the current-year budget and any assessment adopted since the last statements you are given.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Processing/Credit Check FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Security DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,000Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Processing/Credit Check FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Security DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,000Refundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Guarantors
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Co-purchasing
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Parent buying for an employed child
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Parent buying for a student child
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Purchase or lease by a corporation
Permitted with conditionsApplications ProvidedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Short-term rentals
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$700 per room a monthMedian of 5 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$2.84 per square foot a monthMedian of 6 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges alone, per square foot
$1.94 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
$1.19 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$37,024/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $56
Modeled exposure split equally across 55 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$5,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

The Barrington prices as pre-war condominium inventory in a corridor where the overwhelming majority of pre-war stock is cooperative. That scarcity is the building's core positioning: a buyer who wants pre-war proportions, an Upper West Side mid-block address between Amsterdam and Broadway, and the ownership flexibility of a condominium — pied-à-terre, LLC and trust purchase, leasing, no board interview — has a short list on these blocks, and this building is on it.

Per-square-foot pricing runs below the new-construction condominium band on Broadway and Amsterdam and above the walk-up co-op stock, with the spread inside the building driven far more by renovation status than by floor. The assessment roll shows no tax exemption; check the apartment's tax bill for any abatement, and compare total cost against abated new inventory unit by unit — charges, taxes, financing and assessments. Comparable analysis should be drawn from the small set of converted pre-war condominiums in the West 70s and 80s rather than from the far larger cooperative pool. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Jul 28, 20262F
1 BR · 1 BA · 600 sf
$789,000$1,315/sf+0.0%
May 14, 20253A
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,409 sf
$2,190,000$1,554/sf-2.7%
Mar 7, 20259B
2 BR · 1 BA · 1,270 sf
$1,400,000$1,102/sf-5.1%
Apr 19, 20242A
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,494 sf
$1,700,000$1,138/sf-2.9%
Dec 6, 20235E
2 BR · 1 BA · 780 sf
$1,035,000$1,327/sf+6.2%
Nov 13, 20234F
1 BR · 1 BA · 750 sf
$775,000$1,033/sf+3.3%
Oct 11, 20234E
2 BR · 1 BA · 780 sf
$1,401,190$1,796/sf—
Aug 30, 20238A
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,409 sf
$2,250,000$1,597/sf-10.0%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,325/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.6% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

View all 99 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01229-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at The Barrington, last 36 months

$79median rent per sq ft per year
SizeLeasesMedian / month
1 bedroom4$4,112
2 bedroom2$8,000

7 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease April 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at The Barrington and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.4M (3 sales in the past 24 months, since October 21, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $60,353 to close, or 4.3% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $14,000
  • Mortgage recording tax: $20,213
  • Title insurance: $6,300
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $19,840

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Barrington and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Barrington. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Read the arrears history in the financials, then ask what it looks like now. The 2020 and 2021 statements document six investor-owned apartments in serious common-charge arrears, five of them foreclosed and resolved by year-end 2021. Ask the managing agent for the current arrears schedule and the current count of investor-owned and tenant-occupied units. The condition is legacy, not necessarily current, but you should know where it stands.

Check current reserve planning. The 2020 and 2021 audited statements report no reserve study and omit supplementary disclosure of estimated future major repairs. They do not establish the current reserve balance, capital plan or borrowing capacity. Obtain the current budget, reserves, debt and planned-work schedule before assessing future funding needs.

The building is not landmarked, and the block is a strange one. Two historic districts touch this tax block without covering this lot. That means exterior alteration here is a DOB matter, not an LPC matter — but it also means the buildings immediately around you are protected and this one is not.

Ignore the 52-unit figure. There are 55 residential units, confirmed by the recorded unit lots, the offering plan and the audited statements.

Condition is the price. Because units were released from rental over four decades, two apartments of the same size on the same line can be entirely different products. Underwrite the renovation, not the building average — run the Renovation Cost Calculator before you set a number.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the ownership form. Pre-war condominium is the scarce commodity on these blocks. Buyers priced out of, or unwilling to face, a co-op board are a real and identifiable pool, and the thirty-day right-of-first-refusal timetable is a genuine selling point against a two-to-three-month co-op admissions process.

Present dated financials with current updates. The 2020 and 2021 statements show no mortgage debt, three funds, an assessment ended in 2020 and disclosed common-charge increases. Provide those records together with current statements, reserves, assessments and arrears; the historical position does not establish present financial strength.

Update the reserve-study disclosure. Provide the 2020–2021 disclosures alongside any later study, current capital plan and debt position, so buyers can assess what changed.

Price against condition, not against the building. With a renovation spread this wide, an unrenovated apartment marketed at renovated pricing will sit. Set the number from the plan and the finish level outward.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering The Barrington, also evaluate:

More Upper West Side buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper West Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper West Side.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Barrington?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com