Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1928
25 Sutton Place
25 Sutton Place / 25 Sutton Place North, New York, NY 10022
Buildings·Sutton Place·Cooperative

25 Sutton Place

25 Sutton Place / 25 Sutton Place North, New York, NY 10022

Sutton Place

BBL 1013720062 · BIN 1040744

At a glance
Year built
1928
Type
Cooperative
Units
About 13
Floors
15
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Flip tax
Tiered or formula; see fees
Doorman
Full-time doorman
Own an apartment at 25 Sutton Place?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 25 Sutton Place would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

25 Sutton Place is one of the small full-floor Rosario Candela cooperatives at the northern end of the Sutton Place enclave — a 1928 building of roughly thirteen apartments, most of them eleven-room simplex layouts, organized around private elevator landings. It belongs to the same brief late-1920s moment that produced the corridor's tier-one pre-war stock, executed by the architects who were then defining the Manhattan luxury apartment: Candela, with Cross & Cross supervising. The building converted to cooperative ownership in 1961.

A correction worth making up front, because casual broker copy frequently makes the error: 25 Sutton Place is not the much larger postwar building "Cannon Point North," which is 25 Sutton Place South — a separate 1959 cooperative farther south at the river. This building, 25 Sutton Place (sometimes 25 Sutton Place North), is the small pre-war Candela co-op between East 58th and East 59th Streets. The two are routinely conflated; they are architecturally and structurally distinct, and the distinction matters to anyone evaluating the building.

Sutton Place is an East River neighborhood to compare with the Park Avenue and Fifth Avenue corridors by location, building form and the specific apartment. For buyers, 25 Sutton Place offers a particular form of pre-war scarcity: a Candela cooperative of roughly thirteen full-floor apartments; confirm the actual available residence and its layout, which may be a gracious eleven-room simplex with a private landing, a wood-burning fireplace, and open river exposures.

Architecture and unit composition

The building is a fifteen-story pre-war composition in limestone and brick, with an articulated crown. The defining feature is the plan: the typical apartment is a full-floor simplex of roughly eleven rooms, reached by a private elevator landing — a configuration that gives each residence the privacy and proportion of a freestanding floor. The building also contains a duplex maisonette at the base and a triplex penthouse of roughly fifteen rooms at the top.

Inside, the apartments follow the Candela full-floor vocabulary: formal entry galleries, living and dining rooms arranged for entertaining, high ceilings in the principal rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, and service wings characteristic of 1928-era luxury planning. The eastern exposures command open views over the East River toward Queens; southern exposures look down the river and across the enclave. The window line and room arrangement reflect the full-floor logic behind the façade.

Views on the eastern and southern exposures depend on floor and position and are not protected without a recorded instrument, though the surrounding Sutton Place enclave currently retains its low-rise character.

Building operations

25 Sutton Place operates as a full-service pre-war cooperative with a full-time doorman, attended elevator, on-site superintendent, an on-site garage, and private storage. The roughly thirteen-apartment scale produces a low-density, white-glove operation typical of the corridor's small Candela buildings.

Pets are permitted subject to board approval. Pieds-à-terre are permitted, and the flip tax is tiered (see fees). Confirm the building's current financing, post-closing liquidity, occupancy and subletting requirements from its governing documents and application instructions; the specific current figures are obtained from the managing agent during contract review.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
3% of gross proceed of sale
Paid by
Seller

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

6 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation)Refundable Not stated
Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 per Co-applicant/ GuarantorRefundable Not stated
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300 (if financing)Refundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Sublet

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Subletting FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Not stated
Application Processing FeePaid by SubtenantWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated

Sublet renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $300Refundable Not stated

Refinance

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Financing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated

Ownership transfer

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Transfer FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount Contact Transfer Agent for fee scheduleRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Co-purchasing
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Not verified
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPermitted subject to board approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Garage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$23,670/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $141
Modeled exposure split equally across 14 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2029
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Flip tax
3% of gross sale proceeds (payable by seller)
Sublet policy
Subletting fee $250 + subtenant application $300
Pied-à-terre
Allowed
Policies and fees
Buyer application $600 ($1,000 trust); co-applicant/guarantor $250; financing fee $300; seller closing $800 + $0.05/share; co-purchasing allowed; gifts allowed
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

The roughly thirteen apartments include full-floor eleven-room simplexes and two larger layouts, the duplex maisonette and triplex penthouse. Establish sale frequency and current availability from dated transfers and listings. Pricing is best read at the apartment level: the full-floor simplex layouts, the maisonette, and the penthouse occupy distinct value tiers, and floor, exposure, and renovation state drive the number within each. Review the building's prior trades and small Candela cooperatives nearby for comparable layouts and transaction dates. Listings move through MLS and Compass private-exclusive channels.

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Aug 13, 20253
3 BR · 3 BA · 3,100 sf
$3,500,000$1,129/sf-9.1%
Dec 13, 20244
4 BR · 4.5 BA
$4,250,000+0.0%
Jun 26, 201913
3 BR · 3.5 BA
$5,250,000-25.0%
Mar 9, 20183E
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,285,000-12.9%
Oct 21, 20166L
1 BR
$855,000-5.0%
Sep 27, 201616H
2 BR · 1,400 sf
$1,450,000$1,036/sf-1.7%
May 20, 20165
3 BR · 4 BA · 3,600 sf
$5,750,000$1,597/sf+0.0%
Feb 19, 20155N
2 BR
$1,350,000-3.2%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,129/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 3.2% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01372-0062). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 25 Sutton Place and nearby.

Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 25 Sutton Place and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 25 Sutton Place. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Check current availability. The roughly thirteen apartments include full-floor simplexes and two larger layouts. Unit count alone does not establish turnover or the time needed to find a residence.

Get the building right. This is the pre-war Candela co-op between 58th and 59th — not "Cannon Point North," which is the postwar 25 Sutton Place South farther south. Confirm you are evaluating the correct building.

The Candela pedigree and full-floor plan are real advantages. Eleven-room simplex layouts with private elevator landings and wood-burning fireplaces are the building's signature; listing context should reference the Rosario Candela authorship.

Board approval is building-specific. Pied-à-terre ownership is permitted and the flip tax is tiered; confirm the current financing cap, post-closing liquidity requirement, flip tax schedule and sublet rules with management during contract review.

Pricing is apartment-specific. Layout tier (simplex, maisonette, penthouse), exposure, and condition drive value far more than any building-wide figure in a building this small.

What to know if you’re selling

The full-floor plan and Candela authorship are the marketing story. Listing copy should lead with the eleven-room simplex layout, the private elevator landing, the wood-burning fireplace, and the river exposures.

Pricing requires apartment-level comparable analysis. With so few units, the relevant comparables are the building's own prior trades and the small Candela cooperatives nearby — layout tier, exposure, and condition all matter substantially.

Closing timelines are co-op standard. Six to ten weeks from contract signing to closing, with board approval the gating step.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 25 Sutton Place, also evaluate:

More Sutton Place buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 25 Sutton Place?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com