2 Sutton Place (4 Sutton Place / 465 East 57th Street)
2 Sutton Place / 4 Sutton Place / 465 East 57th Street, New York, NY 10022
BBL 1013690024 · BIN 1040543
- Year built
- 1928
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- About 10
- Floors
- 14
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Dogs and cats
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- Requires confirmation
- Sources differ on who pays. Confirm with building management.
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 2 Sutton Place (4 Sutton Place / 465 East 57th Street) would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
2 Sutton Place — better known by its cooperative name, 4 Sutton Place — is one of the small, full-floor Rosario Candela cooperatives that anchor the northern end of the Sutton Place enclave. The 1928 commission belongs to the same brief moment that produced the corridor's tier-one pre-war stock: the Henry Phipps estate's development of the blocks around Sutton Place and East 57th Street, executed in collaboration with the architects who were then defining the Manhattan luxury apartment. Candela, with Cross & Cross supervising, produced a building whose value is concentrated in its scarcity — roughly ten residences across fourteen floors, most of them full-floor or duplex layouts.
The Sutton Place enclave occupies a particular place in the city's residential geography. Where the Park Avenue and Fifth Avenue Candela inventory sits in the public eye, Sutton Place has functioned for nearly a century as the quieter waterfront alternative — a low-rise enclave at the East River whose residents prized discretion over visibility. The roster across the decades at 4 Sutton Place reflected that posture, with residents drawn from publishing and the diplomatic world. The building's small scale, white-glove service, and the Candela pedigree place it firmly in the trophy tier of the enclave, alongside the larger river-front cooperatives a block south.
For buyers, 2 Sutton Place represents a specific kind of pre-war scarcity: a Candela building of roughly ten apartments, where turnover is genuinely rare and an available residence is typically a full-floor or duplex layout rather than a subdivided unit. That scarcity is the defining fact of the building, and it shapes both pricing and the patience a purchase requires.
Architecture and unit composition
The building reads as a restrained pre-war composition: a two-story limestone base, a red-brick body, and an articulated crown with a small rooftop terrace. The lobby is organized around a rotunda — a Candela signature within the small-building format. The window patterns on the façade reflect the spacious duplex and full-floor layouts behind them, with the larger openings marking the principal entertaining rooms.
Inside, the apartments follow the Candela vocabulary at the full-floor scale: gracious entry galleries, formal living and dining rooms arranged for entertaining, high ceilings in the principal rooms, and service wings characteristic of 1928-era luxury planning. Several residences are duplexes; the largest combinations run to five-bedroom configurations across substantial floor area. The corner siting gives apartments a combination of southern, eastern, and western exposure depending on the line, with sight lines toward the East River and the surrounding low-rise enclave.
The building's altitude is modest by Midtown standards, which is consistent with the Sutton Place character — the value here is the architecture and the scarcity of the apartments, not view altitude.
Building operations
2 Sutton Place operates as a full-service pre-war cooperative with a full-time doorman, attended elevator, on-site superintendent, and private storage. The roughly ten-apartment scale produces a low-density, white-glove operation typical of the corridor's small Candela buildings.
Financing is permitted up to 50%. A 3% flip tax applies; sources differ on who pays it, so confirm with building management. Dogs and cats are permitted. Subletting and pied-à-terre use are permitted with conditions. Confirm the board's current financial, liquidity, occupancy and subletting requirements from its governing documents and application instructions.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- Amount equivalent to 3% of the purchase price
- Rate
- 3% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Requires confirmationSources differ on who pays. Confirm with building management.
Source: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Purchase
7 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Credit Report Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $871.00 for a single applicant; $1,633.13 for two applicants on the same application | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsBoard approvalSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsCase by case, board discretionSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Dogs and cats
- PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- StorageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $26,149/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $218
- Modeled exposure split equally across 10 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2025–30. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Recent sales
Sales at 2 Sutton Place are infrequent by design — in a cooperative of roughly ten apartments, a year may pass with no closing, and an available residence is typically a full-floor or duplex layout. Recorded transfers span a wide range that reflects the apartments' size and configuration: smaller residences have traded in the low-single-millions, while larger full-floor and combined layouts have reached the high-single-millions. Because the inventory is so thin, pricing is best read at the apartment level rather than against a building-wide average — floor, exposure, layout, and renovation state drive the number. Listings move through MLS and Compass private-exclusive channels.
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 30, 2022 | 10 | 5 BR · 6.5 BA · 5,400 sf | $5,600,000 | $1,037/sf | -19.9% |
| Dec 30, 2020 | PHH | 2 BR · 2.5 BA | $7,900,000 | +0.0% | |
| Dec 11, 2020 | PH | 2 BR · 2.5 BA | $5,700,000 | -27.8% | |
| Nov 12, 2020 | 1011 | 5 BR · 6.5 BA · 5,400 sf | $8,268,075 | $1,531/sf | -21.3% |
| Nov 12, 2008 | PH | 2 BR | $5,500,000 | -6.8% | |
| Feb 1, 2006 | 12 | 4 BR | $13,000,000 | +0.0% | |
| Apr 27, 2005 | PH | 2 BR | $4,500,000 | +0.0% | |
| Apr 14, 2005 | 3 | 3 BR · 2,850 sf | $2,350,000 | $825/sf | -6.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2022): a median $1,037/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 6.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01369-0024). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 2 Sutton Place (4 Sutton Place / 465 East 57th Street) and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with 2 Sutton Place (4 Sutton Place / 465 East 57th Street) and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 2 Sutton Place (4 Sutton Place / 465 East 57th Street). Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
Scarcity is the defining fact. With roughly ten apartments, turnover is rare and the available residence is usually a full-floor or duplex layout. A purchase here often requires patience for the right apartment to come to market.
The Candela pedigree is real. This is a Rosario Candela commission with Cross & Cross supervising — the same architectural lineage that produced the corridor's tier-one inventory. Listing context should reference that authorship.
Confirm the board's requirements. Financing is capped at 50%, and pied-à-terre use is permitted with conditions. Confirm the current liquidity, reference and occupancy requirements from the proprietary lease and the board's application instructions.
Model the full carry. Maintenance, the 3% flip tax on eventual resale (sources differ on who pays; confirm with building management), and the building's full-service cost structure all factor into the analysis.
Pricing is apartment-specific. Floor, exposure, layout, and renovation state drive value far more than any building-wide figure in a building this small.
What to know if you’re selling
The architecture and scarcity are the marketing story. Listing copy should lead with the Candela authorship, the full-floor or duplex layout, and the rarity of inventory in a roughly ten-apartment building.
Pricing requires apartment-level comparable analysis. With so few units, the relevant comparables are the building's own prior trades and the small Candela cooperatives nearby — exposure, layout, and condition all matter substantially.
Closing timelines are co-op standard. Six to ten weeks from contract signing to closing, with board approval the gating step.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 2 Sutton Place, also evaluate:
- 1 Sutton Place South — Rosario Candela with Cross & Cross 1927; the enclave's pre-war anchor with a private waterfront garden
- 2 Sutton Place South — Emery Roth & Sons 1938; a block south, with an enclosed porte-cochère
- 25 Sutton Place — Rosario Candela 1928; a comparably small full-floor co-op a block north
- River House (435 East 52nd Street) — Bottomley, Wagner & White 1931; the East River trophy cooperative
- 740 Park Avenue — Rosario Candela 1929–30
- 1 Beekman Place — a prized small enclave cooperative nearby
More Sutton Place buildings
- 1 Beekman Place (One Beekman) — 1929 co-op
- 1 Sutton Place South — 1927 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 2 Beekman Place — 1931 co-op by Rosario Candela
- 2 Sutton Place South — 1938 co-op by Emery Roth & Sons
- 12 Beekman Place — 1957 co-op by H.I. Feldman
- 14 Sutton Place South — 1929 co-op by Rosario Candela
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Sutton Place — read The Roebling Team Guide to Sutton Place.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 2 Sutton Place (4 Sutton Place / 465 East 57th Street)?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com