Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium · 2007
The Emory
27 West 19th Street, New York, NY 10011
Buildings·Flatiron·Condominium

27 West 19th Street (The Emory)

27 West 19th Street, New York, NY 10011

Flatiron

BBL 1008217505 · BIN 1084650

At a glance
Year built
2007
Type
Condominium
Units
13
Floors
15
Amenities
Fitness room (the resale package on file includes a gym use waiver); roof deck — added to the certificate of occupancy by a no-work Alteration Type 1 filing in 2018; rear yard
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Ladies' Mile Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)

The Emory sales history: 28 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Emory?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2008–2026

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2026 to date
$1,445
2 sales
Listing discount
5.1%
Recorded sales
28
On record
2008–2026
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Emory would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

The Ladies' Mile Historic District was designated in 1989 across roughly thirty blocks of what had been New York's great nineteenth-century retail corridor, and designation did what designation does: it froze the streetwall. Ground-up construction inside the district since 1989 has been rare, and where it has happened it has happened on the handful of lots that were empty when the boundary was drawn. 27 West 19th Street is one of those lots. The Landmarks Preservation Commission's own building database records this tax lot as a parking lot at designation — a 25-foot gap in a block of cast-iron and masonry lofts — and that gap is the entire reason a fifteen-story residential building stands here.

Skyway Development filed the new building in February 2005 with Morris Adjmi as architect of record. Adjmi is the right architect for the problem and the least surprising choice in the district: his practice built its reputation on new buildings that argue in the material language of the loft blocks around them rather than against it. What he produced here is a limestone base carrying a gray glazed-brick elevation with a regular punched-window rhythm — narrow, vertical, and deliberately quiet. On a 25-foot lot the design problem is proportion, and the building solves it by treating the whole elevation as a single vertical panel rather than as a stack of floors.

The interior logic follows the lot. Twenty-five feet of frontage and fifteen stories produce thirteen residences, which means essentially one home per floor with keyed elevator access opening directly into the apartment. That is a specific product: it delivers the privacy and the light-on-both-ends plan of a townhouse floor with the elevator and the mechanical systems of new construction, within the historic district; assess competing supply using current development records and listings. Buyers who compare The Emory against loft conversions on the same blocks are comparing two different things — the conversions have the ceiling heights and the columns; this building has the plan.

The third fact is financial, and it is the one that separates The Emory from most 2007 Manhattan condominiums: the assessment rolls show no exemption. No 421-a, no J-51, no 485-x appears on any unit lot in any assessment roll on record. Abatements apply at the bill level, so check the apartment's tax bill, and taxes still change with assessments and rates.

Architecture and unit composition

The building occupies a 2,300-square-foot interior lot measuring roughly 25 by 92 feet, with about 20,000 square feet of gross floor area across fifteen stories. That geometry governs everything. There is no corner, no protected side exposure, and no possibility of a wide plan: the residences run front to back, drawing light from West 19th Street on the south and from the rear yard on the north.

The façade is limestone at the base rising into gray glazed brick — a glazed rather than common brick, which reads as a deliberate reference to the district's terra-cotta and cast-iron vocabulary without imitating it. Window openings are punched and regular. There is no curtain wall, no cantilever, and no gesture that would have failed a Landmarks review.

Residences are full-floor and near-full-floor, entered directly from a keyed elevator, with a penthouse at the top and a roof deck that was formally added to the certificate of occupancy in 2018 by a no-work Alteration Type 1 filing. That filing is worth understanding rather than glossing: the deck existed before it was on the certificate, the building legalized it, and a related pergola and raised deck were removed in 2019 to resolve a Department of Buildings violation. The outcome is clean — the roof deck is now on the certificate of occupancy and the violation was cured — but it is the kind of history a buyer's attorney should see documented rather than described.

Four of the seventeen condominium unit lots are storage units, taxed separately and traded separately. Some are held by residents of the building and some are not. If storage matters to you, verify whether the apartment you are buying comes with a storage unit or whether one is separately available; the deed will tell you and the listing may not.

Building operations

The Emory is a small condominium and it runs like one. The audited financial statements on file for 2020 through 2024 show annual common-charge revenue of roughly $356,000 across thirteen residences, against total operating expenses of roughly $358,000 in 2024. The largest line items are wages, repair and maintenance, utilities, and insurance, in that order. Management is outside and professional; the managing agent's fee is a modest and stable line.

Two operating facts deserve emphasis because they are exactly the kind of thing a buyer will not find in marketing material.

There is no reserve fund. The condominium runs an operating fund only. The auditor flags in an "Other Matter" paragraph that the condominium has not estimated the remaining useful lives or replacement costs of the common property and has therefore not prepared a funding plan for future major repairs. The notes state the board's approach plainly: when funds are needed for major repairs and replacements, the condominium will raise common charges, levy a special assessment, or defer the work. That is a legitimate model for a thirteen-unit building — a funded reserve on this denominator is expensive — but it means capital events are funded through common charges, assessments or deferral rather than reserve draws.

And they have. The board levied a ten-month, $250,000 special assessment beginning February 2022 for capital improvements, repairs and replacements, and a five-month, $125,000 assessment beginning January 2023. The money went where the filings say it went: a Department of Buildings application in August 2022 covers façade repair on floors 4, 5, 9 and 12 and the roof, with a sidewalk shed filed the following month. Exterior restoration is the dominant major-repair expense in the 2023 statements and continues at a much smaller scale in 2024, alongside elevator work, an exhaust fan motor and cooling-tower improvement.

The outcome is documented and it is good. The building filed under the city's periodic façade inspection program as Safe With a Repair and Maintenance Program in Cycle 8 (2019) and, after the assessment-funded work, as Safe in Cycle 9 (filed August 2023). Common charges were increased 2 percent effective January 1, 2023 and were flat from 2023 into 2024. Cash stood at roughly $260,000 at each of the last two year-ends on file, and the fund balance — negative at the end of 2022 and 2023 — returned to positive in 2024 once the unspent assessment was recognized. The statements disclose no pending or threatened litigation.

Read together, this is a building that identified a façade problem, assessed for it, executed it, and cleared its inspection cycle — with no designated reserve left behind, so future capital work could be funded from charges, an assessment or borrowing. Both halves of that sentence are true and both matter.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. Sales close through the board's right of first refusal rather than through cooperative-style approval. Thirty to forty-five days is a typical closing estimate.

Pets, pied-à-terre, LLC, trust and foreign purchasers: Not documented; confirm in the declaration, bylaws and house rules, including pet weight and breed rules.

Short-term occupancy: Restricted. The resale package on file states that short-term tenancies not permitted under the declaration or by-laws are a violation and are enforced against the unit owner. If a rental strategy is part of your underwriting, read the by-laws on minimum lease term before contract.

Move-in and move-out: A $1,000 deposit payable to the condominium and a certificate of insurance are required in advance, per the resale package on file. The house rules carry an escalating fine schedule beginning with a written warning.

Financing and minimum down: Not documented; confirm in the declaration, bylaws and house rules, and with the lender.

Flip tax: Not documented in public records or in the financial statements on file. Confirm any resale capital contribution with the managing agent before pricing a sale.

Real estate taxes: The assessment roll shows no exemption. Check the specific unit's current tax bill for any abatement, and underwrite from that bill rather than a projection.

Assessments: Two capital assessments were levied in 2022 and 2023 and both concluded. Ask the managing agent in writing whether any assessment is currently in force or contemplated, and get the answer before you go to contract.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

4 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable
Closing FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $350Refundable Not stated
Working Capital ContributionRecurringPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount 2x monthly common chargesRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In/Out DepositCertified check or money orderPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

3 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In/Out DepositCertified check or money orderPaid by TenantWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Lease renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Fitness room, roof deck, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Compliance status
Below the individual-building threshold

This building is below the 25,000 sq ft threshold at which LL97 limits apply to a building on its own. It is still covered if it shares a tax lot or condominium board with buildings totaling over 50,000 sq ft; confirm on DOB’s covered-buildings list.

See full Local Law 97 analysis →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2029
Assessed · 2015–20 to 2020–25
$1,500 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2015–20 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

The Emory prices as a boutique full-floor product in a district where most inventory is a converted loft. That is the comparison a buyer should be making: against loft conversions on the same blocks the building trades on plan efficiency, mechanical newness, private elevator entry and outdoor space rather than on ceiling height and column detail. Against ground-up new development further west and south, it trades on the historic-district streetscape and on scarcity — this is a thirteen-residence building on a 25-foot lot, and same-building comparables are thin by construction.

Compare the current unit tax bill, common charges and capital funding with matched alternatives; absence of a development tax benefit alone does not establish higher total carry relative to asking price. The financials on file describe no funded reserve, concluded assessments and a Cycle 9 Safe façade filing; obtain updated records before pricing those items. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Aug 4, 20266
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,372 sf
$1,925,000$1,403/sf-3.5%
Apr 23, 20267
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,379 sf
$2,050,000$1,487/sf-9.9%
Sep 22, 202212
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,379 sf
$2,675,000$1,940/sf-2.7%
Jul 15, 202214
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,379 sf
$2,600,000$1,885/sf-12.6%
Oct 8, 2021PH
2 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,838 sf
$4,125,000$1,453/sf-8.3%
Jul 14, 20213
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,372 sf
$1,942,500$1,416/sf-1.6%
Mar 12, 20219
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,379 sf
$1,950,000$1,414/sf-20.4%
Feb 10, 2021DUPLEX1
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,150 sf
$3,600,000$1,674/sf-6.5%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $1,445/sf (recorded) across 2 sales. Median listing discount 5.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

12 · 1,379 sf+41%
$1,900,000 ($1,378/sf) 2008 → $1,610,000 ($1,168/sf) 2009 → $2,615,000 ($1,896/sf) 2015 → $2,675,000 ($1,940/sf) 2022
4 · 1,372 sf+39%
$1,350,000 ($979/sf) 2009 → $1,875,000 ($1,367/sf) 2013
3 · 1,372 sf+19%
$1,629,200 ($1,187/sf) 2009 → $1,350,000 ($984/sf) 2010 → $1,942,500 ($1,416/sf) 2021
14 · 1,379 sf+10%
$2,360,000 ($1,711/sf) 2016 → $2,600,000 ($1,885/sf) 2022
6 · 1,372 sf+5%
$1,832,850 ($1,336/sf) 2009 → $1,900,000 ($1,378/sf) 2012 → $1,925,000 ($1,403/sf) 2026
View all 28 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00821-7505; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Emory and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Emory and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Emory. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Read the audited financials before you bid, not after. They are on file with us. The two facts that matter are that the condominium runs no reserve fund and that it assessed twice in two years to fund exterior restoration. Neither is disqualifying in a thirteen-unit building; both should be priced.

Ask what the next capital item is. With no reserve study on file, the board evaluates major repairs annually. Ask the managing agent, in writing, what is on the current-year list and whether any assessment is contemplated.

Underwrite from the current tax bill. The assessment roll shows no exemption; confirm on the apartment's bill that no abatement applies. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator against the actual current bill.

Resolve the staffing question. Listing records describe doorman and concierge service. The audited payroll on file is not consistent with around-the-clock coverage. Confirm the actual staffed hours with the managing agent — this is a lifestyle question and a cost question at once.

Confirm what comes with the apartment. Four of the seventeen unit lots are storage units, separately deeded. Storage is not automatic.

Landmarks governs the exterior. The building sits inside the Ladies' Mile Historic District. Window, HVAC-louver and terrace-structure alterations require an LPC permit; the project’s scope determines whether staff approval or a Certificate of Appropriateness is appropriate. Interior work requiring a DOB permit also requires LPC review. The 2019 removal of a rooftop pergola and raised deck is a live illustration of what happens when rooftop structures get ahead of approvals.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the plan and the district. A full-floor residence with private elevator entry inside Ladies' Mile is not a loft and should not be marketed as one. The scarcity argument is the strongest one you have and it is true.

Get ahead of the financials. A buyer's attorney will find the "no reserve fund" language and the assessment history in the first hour of diligence. Presenting them alongside the concluded façade work and the Cycle 9 Safe filing is a far better outcome than letting them surface as a surprise.

Present the tax posture plainly. The assessment roll shows no exemption on a 2007 building; confirm it on the apartment's bill and pair it with the carrying-cost analysis rather than leaving it in the fine print.

Same-building comparables are thin. Thirteen residences means pricing runs off floor, exposure, outdoor space and condition rather than off a building average. Line-level analysis wins here.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering The Emory, also evaluate:

  • 16 West 19th Street — 1907 commercial loft converted to condominium in 2007; the loft alternative directly across the street
  • 121 West 19th Street — 1903 loft converted to condominium in 2005; the prewar-conversion comparison on the same street
  • 130 West 19th Street — 2005 ground-up condominium by GKV Architects; the closest peer by vintage and tenure
  • 130 West 20th Street — 2008 ground-up construction by H. Thomas O'Hara Architects; the nearest like-for-like new-development alternative
  • 15 West 20th Street — 1906 Neo-Renaissance store-and-loft converted to condominium; boutique scale, prewar structure
  • 32 West 18th Street — 1908 Maynicke & Frank loft converted in 2006; the larger conversion one block south
  • 29 West 21st Street — James E. Ware & Sons loft, converted to condominium; another Ladies' Mile building with the same Landmarks constraints
  • 4 West 21st Street — 2005–2006 Hugh Hardy building operated as a condop; the same vintage under a different ownership structure
  • 141 Fifth Avenue — 1897 Beaux-Arts store-and-loft condominium with a corner dome; the landmark-quality alternative at a higher price tier
  • 212 Fifth Avenue — 1913 neo-Gothic office tower converted in the mid-2010s; the full-service condominium comparison

More Flatiron buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Flatiron — read The Roebling Team Guide to Flatiron.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Emory?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com