Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfMidtown East $1,279/sf ▾9%
Full index →
Condominium · 1910
The Glen Cairn
270 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10025

270 Riverside Drive (Glen Cairn)

270 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10025

Upper West Side

BBL 1018887504 · BIN 1057086

At a glance
Year built
1910
Type
Condominium
Floors
12
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Riverside-West End Historic District Extension II
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Maximum financing
80% of the purchase price
Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)

The Glen Cairn sales history: 38 recorded sales

Own an apartment at The Glen Cairn?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2006–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$1,219
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
1.7%
Recorded sales
38
On record
2006–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Glen Cairn would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Rouse & Goldstone built the Glen Cairn in 1910 and 1911 for the Highwood Realty & Construction Company, at the corner of Riverside Drive and West 99th Street, facing the park. It is a twelve-story Renaissance Revival apartment house with a stone base, a marble-columned entrance portico, Flemish-bond brick above, terra-cotta panels at the tenth floor and paneled piers rising through the eleventh and twelfth. The same office put up 260 Riverside Drive one block south and 276 Riverside Drive one block north in the same window. This stretch of the Drive is essentially their work.

The building spent its first century as a rental. It converted to condominium ownership on an offering plan dated July 10, 2015, sponsored by 270 Holding LLC, with the first closing on July 27, 2016. What kind of conversion it was is the fact that shapes everything a buyer needs to understand here, and the offering plan on file states it plainly: this was a non-eviction conversion of an occupied, substantially rent-regulated building. Schedule A carries a rent-regulation status column for every unit — rent stabilized, rent controlled, fair market, vacant, superintendent's — and the sponsor offered tenants in occupancy a ninety-day exclusive to buy their own apartments at prices five percent below the non-tenant schedule. The total plan was $160.1 million at tenant prices and $168.6 million at non-tenant prices.

The practical consequences run in three directions. First, the building was never emptied and rebuilt; the sponsor renovated vacant apartments and, per the plan, performed no work in occupied ones. DOB filings between 2012 and 2016 show exactly that pattern — a long series of apartment-by-apartment gut renovations of individual units in advance of the plan. So condition inside the building is genuinely unit-by-unit, and a renovated sponsor apartment and a never-touched tenant apartment are two different products at the same address. Second, the dated inventory and rental figures describe the sellout without establishing the sponsor’s motivation: the sponsor held 35 units at the end of 2019 and 33 as of April 1, 2021, and rented them, with aggregate monthly rents on the unsold units at roughly $57,800 against roughly $56,100 of common charges — about $1,700 a month over common charges, before unit real estate taxes and any other owner costs, so not a measure of net cash flow. Third, the sponsor still controlled the condominium board as of the most recent amendment on file. Any buyer should confirm the current sponsor holding and the current board composition with the managing agent, because those figures are five years old.

The building's other defining event is capital. In 2016 the sponsor contracted for a full façade and roof restoration at approximately $6.3 million including change orders, and assigned the contract to the condominium at the first closing — meaning the unit owners, not the sponsor, carried the project. The audited financials show it roughly 92 percent complete at the end of 2019, funded by drawing the reserve fund from $718,654 down to zero across 2018 and 2019, a $600,000 sponsor advance in June 2019, and finally a $2,250,000 capital assessment approved by the board in December 2019 and billed to unit owners in March 2020, payable in a lump sum or over twelve months at six percent interest. Local Law 11 Cycle 8 work was reported complete by the 2021 amendment, and the reserve fund had been rebuilt to $809,044 as of February 28, 2021. That is a building that did its façade properly and paid for it, which is a good thing to have behind you rather than in front of you — but the auditors also noted that the governing documents do not require reserve accumulation and that no study of future major repairs has been performed. Ask for the current reserve balance and the ninth-cycle façade status.

Finally, the landmark timeline. LPC designated the Riverside–West End Historic District Extension II on June 23, 2015 — 17 days before the July 10 offering-plan date and about thirteen months before the first closing. The Glen Cairn is a contributing building in it. Exterior work at this building now requires an LPC permit, which is a durable protection for the streetscape and a durable constraint on the condominium.

Architecture and unit composition

The site is a corner lot of roughly 12,955 square feet with about 105 feet on Riverside Drive and a long return on West 99th Street, carrying 113,485 gross square feet at a built FAR of 8.76 — well above the 6.02 residential FAR of the R8 district, which is what a 1910 building on Riverside Drive typically looks like against modern zoning. That simple comparison does not establish legal zoning floor area or permitted future work.

The Riverside Drive elevation is the designed face: a stone stoop with cheek walls, an entrance portico with marble columns and pilasters supporting an entablature and balcony, a molded entrance surround with an elaborate keystone, and a historic metal-and-glass door and transom. Above, Flemish-bond brick with rusticated corners, a cornice line at the third story, terra-cotta panels at the tenth, and paneled piers with geometric brickwork and carved spandrels through the top two floors. LPC's survey records two significant losses: the original cornice, removed except for its molding, and the balconies.

Inside, the plans are prewar and generous, running from roughly 720 square feet at the smallest to about 2,845 at the largest per the plan's Schedule A, with ceilings around ten feet. Two combinations have occurred since conversion — 1B with 1F, and 4E — a fair signal about the flexibility of the plates. Compare park-facing and West 99th Street lines using matched sales, accounting for floor, area, condition and outlook before assigning an exposure premium.

Building operations

The condominium employs eight building staff under a collective bargaining agreement with Local 32BJ — a superintendent, five doormen and two porters, per the payroll schedule in the budget on file. Coverage is attended, with a live-in superintendent. The amenity program is modest and prewar in character: a resident lounge and storage, 26 bins in the basement. No gym, no bicycle room, no garage.

The 2021 budget on file ran roughly $1.53 million of income against $1.53 million of expense, with payroll and related costs at about 55 percent of the total — high, but entirely ordinary for a staffed prewar building of this size. Common charges rose sharply in the conversion's first two years and were then held flat into 2021. Get the current budget: those figures are five years old and 32BJ payroll has moved since.

The capital record is the strong part of this building's file — a $6.3 million façade and roof restoration assumed by the condominium at the first closing, a reserve drawn to zero to fund it, a $600,000 sponsor advance, a $2.25 million assessment in 2020, and Local Law 11 Cycle 8 signed off. Ask what has been spent since 2021, what the ninth-cycle inspection produced, and whether any assessment is currently live.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. Transfers close through the board's right of first refusal rather than a cooperative approval.

Pets: Permitted per brokerage records. Confirm weight and breed limits in the house rules.

Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC, trust and foreign ownership: All permitted under the standard condominium framework. Minimum lease terms should be confirmed with the managing agent.

Working capital contribution: Two months' common charges at closing, per the offering plan on file.

Minimum down payment: 20 percent per listing records.

In-unit washer/dryer: Present in residences per listing records; confirm for the specific unit.

Flip tax: Not documented in the records located for this page. Confirm any resale capital contribution with the managing agent.

Real estate taxes: No exemption of any kind appears on the unit lots in the FY2027 assessment roll. There is no J-51 here — a point worth making explicitly, because J-51 has been common in Upper West Side conversions of this vintage and its absence changes the underwriting. Underwrite full unabated taxes on the specific unit.

Landmark constraint: Exterior alterations require an LPC permit, apart from exempt maintenance. Window replacement, areaway, entrance and façade work can qualify for staff permits or require a Certificate of Appropriateness, depending on scope; ordinary maintenance may be exempt. Interior work requiring a DOB permit also requires LPC review, so individual owners should confirm the applicable route.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
80% of the purchase priceSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPets permitted per brokerage records; confirm weight and breed rules in the house rulesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Doorman (hours not stated)Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Residents' loungeSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$4,604/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $7
Modeled exposure split equally across 55 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2028
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

The Glen Cairn prices as prewar Riverside Drive condominium inventory, a genuinely small category — most of the Drive is cooperative. Compare nearby cooperative sales with adjustments for ownership, financing, maintenance, taxes and apartment characteristics; condominium form alone does not establish higher pricing.

Per-square-foot is the right unit of analysis, run against exposure first. Park-facing residences on the Riverside Drive line and side-street residences on West 99th are different products, and the spread between them is wide enough that a building average will mislead. Floor level matters second, condition third — and condition varies more here than in most buildings, because the conversion renovated vacant apartments and left occupied ones alone. A sponsor-renovated apartment and an original tenant apartment can sit on the same line.

Sales activity has two distinct populations: sponsor closings from 2016 onward, alongside the sponsor-held rentals documented in the amendments, and secondary resales accumulating since. Comparables should be selected from the same population and indexed to the last complete year. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 11, 20252C
4 BR · 3 BA · 2,400 sf
$2,600,000$1,083/sf+4.2%
Dec 13, 20243D
2,010 sf
$2,895,000$1,440/sf—
Mar 1, 20245A
4 BR · 4 BA · 2,845 sf
$5,275,000$1,854/sf-4.0%
Feb 15, 20244B
2,228 sf
$3,300,000$1,481/sf—
Feb 5, 2024PH
716 sf
$850,000$1,187/sf—
Aug 8, 202310D
3 BR · 3 BA · 2,010 sf
$3,100,000$1,542/sf-5.9%
Jul 28, 202311A
4 BR · 4 BA · 2,845 sf
$5,650,000$1,986/sf-10.3%
Aug 16, 20212A
5 BR · 3 BA · 2,845 sf
$3,572,625$1,256/sf-2.1%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,219/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.7% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

2C · 2,400 sf+18%
$2,202,500 ($920/sf) 2017 → $2,600,000 ($1,083/sf) 2025
2D · 2,010 sf-13%
$3,151,483 ($1,568/sf) 2016 → $2,750,000 ($1,368/sf) 2020 → $2,750,000 ($1,368/sf) 2021
View all 38 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01888-7504; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Glen Cairn and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with The Glen Cairn and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Glen Cairn. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Establish the current sponsor position. The most recent amendment on file shows the sponsor holding 33 units as rentals and controlling the board as of April 2021. That was five years ago. Ask the managing agent how many unsold units remain, how many are tenanted, and who controls the board today. It bears on liquidity, on governance, and on how decisions get made.

Ask whether the unit is or was rent-regulated. This was a non-eviction conversion, and some apartments have been occupied continuously by regulated tenants since before 2015. For an occupied unit bought as an investment, the regulatory status is the whole deal; for a vacant one, the building's mix is still worth knowing.

The façade is done — verify it stayed done. A $6.3 million restoration and a $2.25 million assessment closed out Cycle 8. Confirm the Cycle 9 filing status and whether anything new is scheduled.

Underwrite from the current bill. The assessment roll shows no J-51 or other exemption and no phase-in; confirm on the apartment's tax bill that no abatement applies.

Condition is unit-by-unit, not building-wide. Renovated sponsor apartments and untouched apartments coexist. Do not extrapolate from one showing.

Exposure is the largest price variable, and landmark rules apply to the exterior. Riverside Drive versus West 99th Street is not a minor distinction — walk both. Interior renovations requiring a DOB permit also require LPC review. Confirm the LPC permit route for window, façade and interior work and estimate the project’s actual schedule and cost.

What to know if you’re selling

Prewar condominium on Riverside Drive is the argument. Almost everything around it is a cooperative. That is scarcity a buyer cannot substitute for, and it should lead.

Present the capital history as an asset. A completed $6.3 million façade restoration, a paid assessment and a rebuilt reserve is a stronger story than silence. Buyers price uncertainty.

Get ahead of the J-51 question. Buyers shopping Upper West Side conversions will ask. The assessment roll shows no J-51 exemption; have the current tax bill ready to confirm it.

Price to exposure, then floor, then condition, and correct the year built. City data says 1920; the LPC designation report and the 1910 New Building application say 1910–1911. Check which date and property characteristics an automated valuation uses; a source-date discrepancy alone does not establish the model’s error or its size.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering the Glen Cairn, also evaluate:

More Riverside Drive buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Riverside Drive — read The Roebling Team Guide to Riverside Drive.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at The Glen Cairn?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com