Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
279 Central Park West, 279 Central Park West, New York, NY 10024, Manhattan — Condominium, 1988
Photo: Beyond My Ken / CC BY-SA 4.0 · via Wikimedia Commons

279 Central Park West

279 Central Park West, New York, NY 10024

Upper West Side

BBL 1012027501 · BIN 1031513

At a glance
Year built
1988
Type
Condominium
Units
38
Floors
23
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; in the Upper West Side / Central Park West Historic District
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
Maximum financing
Requires confirmation
Our building record and the source for this line differ. Confirm with building management.
Doorman
Full-time doorman

279 Central Park West sales history: 44 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 279 Central Park West?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
Board & building profile
Capital contribution
2.5% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer at closing (condominium capital contribution).
Financing
Requires confirmation
Subletting
Leasing permitted (condominium).

Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.

The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$2,489
floor-adjusted, 3 sales
Listing discount
4.9%
Recorded sales
44
On record
2003–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 279 Central Park West would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

279 Central Park West is one of the most architecturally distinctive late-20th-century buildings on the corridor — and a critical precursor to Costas Kondylis's later work at 1 Central Park West (Trump International) and 50 Riverside Boulevard.

The building's signature is its curved-glass corner windows, which exploit the Central Park views from a sculpted asymmetrical silhouette shaped by the city's contextual zoning requirements of the 1980s. Kondylis grounded that late-century gesture in tradition, raising the tower from a three-story rusticated limestone base that nods to the prewar masonry vocabulary of CPW, with distinctive setbacks above the traditional 15-story building-wall height. The whole composition resolves at the top in the 6,713-square-foot duplex penthouse, its 360-degree views and wrap-around terraces making it the building's trophy configuration.

The site previously held the Progress Club, a 1904 Jewish men's club whose membership was central to the late-Gilded Age Upper West Side social architecture.

Architecture and unit composition

Kondylis's 279 CPW is a critical precursor to his later trophy commissions at 1 Central Park West (Trump International) and 50 Riverside Boulevard.

The building rises from a three-story rusticated limestone base — a deliberate gesture to the prewar masonry vocabulary of CPW — with distinctive setbacks above the traditional 15-story building-wall height. Many apartments are configured as duplexes; the building includes several penthouses. The crown unit is a 6,713-square-foot duplex penthouse with 360-degree views and wrap-around terraces.

The 38 apartments distribute across the building's 23 stories. The Progress Club site provenance — the 1904 Jewish men's club razed for the Kondylis tower — anchors the property's late-19th-century social-history context.

Building operations

279 CPW operates as a full-service Upper West Side condominium:

  • 24-hour doorman and concierge
  • Full-service garage on-site (separate)
  • Fitness center on the fifth floor
  • Indoor and outdoor children's playrooms
  • Bike storage
  • Private storage
  • Live-in superintendent
  • In-unit washer/dryers
  • Central air conditioning standard
  • Revolving entrance doors
  • Attractive dark-wood-paneled lobby

Policy framework

As a condominium, 279 CPW carries broad policy flexibility:

  • Type: Condominium
  • Pets: Allowed
  • Pied-à-terre: Permitted (no primary-residence requirement)
  • Financing maximum: Up to 90% allowed in principle (subject to lender underwriting)
  • Capital reserve contribution: 2.5% required from buyers at closing — material editorial point that should be disclosed in any board package preparation
  • Flip tax: None disclosed in public sources
  • Subletting: Permitted under the declaration
  • Trust ownership: Permitted
  • LLC ownership: Permitted (routine)
  • Foreign buyer: Permitted (routine)
  • Right of first refusal: Standard condominium ROFR; rarely exercised
  • Board interview: None (Board of Managers may waive ROFR review)
  • Closing timeline: 30 to 45 days condominium-standard

The 2.5% buyer-paid capital reserve contribution is the most-distinguishing operational policy at 279 CPW — material at closing on every transaction.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

6 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700 (with broker) $800 (without broker)Refundable Not stated
Credit report and background check feePer applicantRequiredPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $75 per applicantRefundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Not stated
Move Out FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Not stated
Capital Reserve ContributionPaid by BuyerWhen Upon approvalAmount 2.5% of the purchase priceRefundable Not stated
Closing FeePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Not stated

Rental or lease

5 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move Out FeePaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Not stated
Application Processing FeeRequiredPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $700 (with broker) $750 (without broker)Refundable Non-refundable
Background and Credit Check FeePer applicantRequiredPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $120 per applicantRefundable Not stated
Move In FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $2,500Refundable Not stated
Common ChargesRequiredPaid by LandlordWhen Upon approvalAmount 10% of the gross rentRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Financing and purchase requirements

Maximum financing
Requires confirmationOur building record and the source for this line differ. Confirm with building management.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
PermittedSource: The Roebling Research Desk's building record
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges + taxes, per room
$1,222 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges + taxes, per square foot
$3.54 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Common charges alone, per square foot
$2.12 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
$1.40 per square foot a monthMedian of 4 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Concierge
YesSource: recent listing records
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Amenities noted
Fitness room, playroom, garage, bike storage, storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$37,982/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $88
Modeled exposure split equally across 36 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the engineer identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2005–10
SWARMP
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2029
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Notable fees
Buyer move-in fee $2,500; seller move-out fee $2,500; buyer capital reserve contribution 2.5%
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 24, 20255B
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,215 sf
$3,720,000$1,679/sf-25.5%
Jul 2, 20256B
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,215 sf
$6,950,000$3,138/sf+1.5%
Jan 7, 202514B
3 BR · 3 BA · 2,175 sf
$6,250,000$2,874/sf-3.8%
Dec 4, 202414C
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,804 sf
$2,925,000$1,621/sf-2.5%
Oct 10, 2022PH21
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,567 sf
$10,000,000$3,896/sf-16.7%
Sep 30, 2022PH5A
2,676 sf
$9,300,000$3,475/sfoff-mkt
Jun 16, 2021PHAB
7 BR · 6 BA · 6,713 sf
$19,500,000$2,905/sf-15.2%
Jun 16, 2021PH3A
2,845 sf
$18,268,750$6,421/sfoff-mkt

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $2,489/sf (floor-adjusted) across 3 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 4.9% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

10B · 2,215 sf+111%
$3,500,000 ($1,580/sf) 2003 → $7,385,000 ($3,334/sf) 2016
3B · 2,860 sf+79%
$3,880,000 ($1,357/sf) 2004 → $6,950,000 ($2,430/sf) 2016
8C · 1,804 sf+77%
$2,160,000 ($1,197/sf) 2005 → $3,035,000 ($1,682/sf) 2011 → $3,830,000 ($2,123/sf) 2017
PH3A · 2,845 sf+63%
$11,200,000 ($3,937/sf) 2009 → $18,268,750 ($6,421/sf) 2021
11B · 2,220 sf+54%
$4,750,000 ($2,140/sf) 2007 → $7,300,000 ($3,288/sf) 2011
View all 44 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01202-7501). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at 279 Central Park West, last 36 months

$103median rent per sq ft per year
SizeLeasesMedian / month
3 bedroom3$15,500

3 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease April 2025. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 279 Central Park West and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $6.25M (4 sales since 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $297,034 to close, or 4.8% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $140,625
  • Mortgage recording tax: $90,234
  • Title insurance: $28,125
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $38,050

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 279 Central Park West and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 279 Central Park West. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

Notable residents

  • Miles Davis — the jazz legend was among the building's notable residents.

What to know if you’re buying

The condominium structure is the largest single competitive advantage on CPW. Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC ownership, trust ownership, and foreign-buyer eligibility are all permitted — a profile uncommon along most of Central Park West cooperative inventory.

The 2.5% buyer-paid capital reserve contribution is the largest single closing-cost variable. On a $5 million purchase, $125,000 of additional buyer cost on top of mansion tax and standard closing costs.

The curved-glass corner windows are structurally unique on CPW. Verify exposure and view configuration during walkthrough.

The financing flexibility (up to 90% subject to lender underwriting) materially expands the buyer pool. Plan accordingly.

The Kondylis architectural pedigree connects to 1 Central Park West (Trump International) and 50 Riverside Boulevard. Real institutional context.

The fifth-floor fitness center and indoor/outdoor children's playrooms anchor the amenity layer.

The Miles Davis resident overlay supports cultural-history positioning.

Closing timelines are condominium-standard. Plan for 30 to 45 days from contract through ROFR waiver to closing.

What to know if you’re selling

Marketing should emphasize the condominium policy flexibility — pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC, trust, foreign buyer — and the curved-glass corner architectural distinction. Both are real structural advantages over peer Central Park West cooperative inventory.

The Kondylis architectural pedigree is real institutional context. Position accordingly.

The building's published architectural reception is marketable. Cite in positioning materials.

The Miles Davis resident overlay is real cultural-history context. Use selectively.

Pricing should reference recent comparable closings. The relevant comparable is the same line and exposure, adjusted for floor, duplex layout, and condition, not a building-wide average.

Closing timelines are condominium-standard.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 279 Central Park West, also evaluate:


Sources: The Roebling Research Library (offering plans, house rules, financial statements, board minutes, internal transaction records); NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers; publicly recorded NYC building data.

More Central Park West buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Central Park West — read The Roebling Team Guide to Central Park West.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 279 Central Park West?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com