Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfFiDi $1,255/sf ▾3%
Full index →
Condominium · 2006
SoHa 118
301 West 118th Street, New York, NY 10026
Buildings·Harlem·Condominium

301 West 118th Street (SoHa 118)

301 West 118th Street, New York, NY 10026

Harlem

BBL 1019457504 · BIN 1087277

At a glance
Year built
2006
Type
Condominium
Units
91
Floors
12
Landmark status
Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditions
Dogs and cats
Not permitted
Washer/dryer
Permitted with conditions
Doorman
Full-time doorman

SoHa 118 sales history: 112 recorded sales

Own an apartment at SoHa 118?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2008–2025

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2025
$1,040
floor-adjusted, 1 sale
Listing discount
1.5%
Recorded sales
112
On record
2008–2025
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at SoHa 118 would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

SoHa 118 is one of the buildings that defined the Frederick Douglass Boulevard condominium corridor. Completed in 2008 on a full blockfront between 118th and 119th Streets, it arrived at the leading edge of the boulevard's transformation into South Harlem's restaurant-and-residential spine — and its very name became part of that story, a sponsor's marketing coinage for "South Harlem" that later drew press-covered objections from neighborhood advocates who saw rebranding in it. The building itself made a more durable argument than its name: a 12-story, full-service, family-scaled condominium — many three-bedroom layouts, a 24-hour doorman, a landscaped garden — at a moment when most new Harlem condos were boutique walk-up-scale buildings without staff.

The documentation behind the building is unusually complete in The Roebling Research Library. The condominium offering plan on file — filed December 5, 2006, by sponsor 10 Equities LLC, whose principals are principals of the Artimus organization responsible for a series of developments across this stretch of Harlem — settles the facts that aggregator feeds blur: 93 residential units offered at $71.1 million, one commercial unit and one community facility unit retained, GF55 Partners as architect, construction commenced April 17, 2006. The plan also documents the two structural features that drive diligence here today: the 421-a tax exemption (the 25-year north-of-110th-Street program, with its 21-year full exemption and four-year phase-down) and an HPD-regulated affordable component whose restricted units carry documented resale obligations.

For buyers, the building's market thesis is location arbitrage that has largely matured: Morningside Park one block west, the B/C at 116th Street, Columbia's campus over the park ridge, and Central Park eight blocks south. What remains structural is the building's position as one of the few full-service, big-floor-plate condos in the immediate area — and the approaching 421-a burn-off, which is now the central underwriting question for every transaction in the building.

Architecture and unit composition

GF55 Partners — among the most active residential firms of the 2000s Harlem cycle — composed the building as a red-brick mass on a two-story limestone base, stepped back at the top floors, with corner windows working the boulevard frontage. The roughly 91 residences run from one-bedrooms in the high-600-square-foot range through two-bedrooms around 900–1,100 square feet and a deep inventory of three-bedrooms — roughly 1,600 square feet in the larger lines, per the floor plans in the offering plan on file — capped by three duplex penthouses. Balconies, terraces, and private yards appear on select lines; finishes from the sponsor program ran to Brazilian cherry floors, stone kitchens, and marble baths, with washer/dryers in many units. The commercial unit occupies the cellar, ground, and mezzanine levels, and a separate community facility unit sits at the lobby and third floor — both held outside the residential condominium per the plan.

Building operations

Full-service by the standards of the corridor, where staffed condos remain scarce: 24-hour doorman with cold storage for deliveries, live-in superintendent, full-time porter, fitness center, children's playroom, media and recreation rooms, central laundry alongside in-unit machines, and the landscaped common garden. The condominium framework governs transfers — no board interview, standard right-of-first-refusal mechanics — and the offering plan and amendments on file document the original allocation of common interests, the sponsor's retained rights, and the restricted-unit provisions. Confirm current house rules, sublet practice, and any sponsor-retained positions with the managing agent during diligence.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of July 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

6 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $750Refundable Non-refundable
Closing FeePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $350Refundable Non-refundable
move in/out fee - non refundablePaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $300Refundable Non-refundable
working capital contributionRecurringPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount 2x monthly common chargesRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

6 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable
Sublet FeeRecurringPaid by LandlordWhen Upon approvalAmount $750 annual - Billed at $62.50 per monthRefundable Not stated
move in/out fee - non refundablePaid by TenantWhen Upon approvalAmount $300Refundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid by LandlordWhen Upon approvalAmount $500Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid by TenantWhen Upon approvalAmount $500Refundable Refundable

Lease renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Leasing by owners
Permitted with conditionsRestricted units cannot sublet at allSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Dogs and cats
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of July 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Permitted with conditionsSome apartmentsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Common charges alone, per square foot
$1.01 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
$0.11 per square foot a monthMedian of 3 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026

Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records
Amenities noted
Fitness room, playroom, garden, laundry room, cold storageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟠
Material — penalties in current period, escalating in 2030
2024–2029 annual penalty
$33,800/yr
2030–2034 annual penalty
$214,396/yr
Per unit / month range
$31 – $196
Modeled exposure split equally across 91 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
SWARMP
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.

Inspection history
2015–20
Safe
2020–25
SWARMP
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2015–20 to 2020–25
$1,000 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2015–20 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

421-a Tax Abatement

421-a exemption · full taxation begins FY2036
Long runway
~10 years of abatement remaining
Last year of benefit
FY2035
Years remaining
~10 yrs
Program
421-a (25-year)
What this means for you

A long-dated tax benefit still in place — a meaningful carrying-cost advantage today. Note the eventual step-up toward full taxes when the abatement ends.

Source: NYC Dept. of Finance property-tax exemption records (421-a), refreshed 2026-09-06 · The Roebling Research Library. Confirm the exact step-up schedule on the building’s DOF tax bill. Years shown are NYC tax years, which start July 1 — FY2036 runs July 1, 2035 to June 30, 2036.

The 421-a Expiration Wave — our study of when these benefits expire citywide, and what the resale record shows about pricing as they do.

Management & transfer contacts

Managing agent
Sublet policy
Allowed; restricted units cannot sublet at all
Policies and fees
Condo lease Sublet Fee $750/yr (billed $62.50/mo); working capital contribution 2x monthly common charges
Transfer facts compiled by The Roebling Team · as of 2026-07. Confirm current policies and fees with the managing agent before contract.

Recent sales

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 15, 2025PH2A
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 2,231 sf
$2,700,000$1,210/sf-3.4%
Jul 15, 202510G
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,799 sf
$1,885,000$1,048/sf-5.8%
Aug 21, 20238A
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,337 sf
$1,400,000$1,047/sf—
Sep 12, 20227F
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,302 sf
$1,480,000$1,137/sf-4.5%
Apr 25, 2022PH
4 BR · 4.5 BA · 3,456 sf
$3,853,331$1,115/sf-3.5%
Jan 21, 202210D
3 BR · 2 BA · 1,570 sf
$2,100,000$1,338/sf-3.4%
Nov 5, 2021PH2B
3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,645 sf
$2,145,000$1,304/sf-3.6%
Aug 12, 20215C
2 BR · 2 BA · 1,107 sf
$1,299,000$1,173/sf+0.0%

Market read. Most recent trades (2025) cleared a median $1,040/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 1.5% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

7E · 738 sf+209%
$220,300 ($299/sf) 2011 → $505,000 ($684/sf) 2013 → $680,000 ($921/sf) 2019
7A · 1,337 sf+90%
$890,000 ($666/sf) 2011 → $1,690,000 ($1,264/sf) 2017
8M · 1,100 sf+67%
$738,231 ($671/sf) 2011 → $1,110,000 ($1,009/sf) 2016 → $1,235,000 ($1,123/sf) 2018
8C · 1,107 sf+66%
$725,000 ($655/sf) 2009 → $1,200,000 ($1,084/sf) 2019
5B · 1,356 sf+64%
$1,098,691 ($810/sf) 2008 → $1,800,000 ($1,327/sf) 2018
View all 112 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01945-7504; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at SoHa 118, last 36 months

$927median rent per room per month
SizeLeasesMedian / month
1 bedroom2$3,358
2 bedroom4$4,020

6 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease September 2024. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at SoHa 118 and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with SoHa 118 and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like SoHa 118. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Underwrite the 421-a burn-off first. The offering plan documents the 25-year schedule: full exemption on the construction increase for 21 years after completion, then a 20-percent-per-year phase-down, with full taxes in year 26. Listing records cite expiration around 2035, which means the phase-down years are approaching. Model the post-abatement tax load on the specific unit — run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator at both current and projected taxes — before you price an offer.

Ask whether the unit was a restricted unit. The offering plan's amendments document HPD-restricted units with regulatory-agreement obligations and a common-charge equalization payment due on resale. If the unit you're buying carries (or carried) that status, your attorney needs the paper trail — which is on file with us.

The condo structure is the distinction. No co-op board interview, and leasing by owners is permitted with conditions. Much of the neighborhood's pre-war stock is co-op or HDFC. Confirm financing and current sublet rules in the declaration, bylaws and house rules with the managing agent.

Service is the scarce amenity here. A 24-hour doorman, live-in super, and porter remain rare on this stretch of the boulevard. If you're comparing against the area's boutique condos, price the staffing into the common-charge comparison honestly — it is what you are paying for.

Walk the block in both directions. Morningside Park and its ridge are one block west; the 116th Street B/C is two blocks south; the boulevard's restaurant corridor runs at your feet. The location case is concrete and has only consolidated since 2008.

What to know if you’re selling

Get ahead of the tax question. Every informed buyer will model the abatement phase-down. The winning strategy is transparency: present the current tax bill, the documented schedule from the offering plan, and the projected post-exemption carry, and price against that math rather than letting the buyer's attorney frame it late in negotiation.

Market the full-service scarcity. Staffed, garden, gym, playroom, many three-bedrooms — this remains one of the few family-scale service buildings in South Harlem. Position against the corridor's boutique condos on exactly that axis.

Document the unit's history. If your unit was a market-rate unit, say so plainly; if it was a restricted unit, assemble the regulatory and equalization documentation before listing. Clean paper shortens contract negotiations measurably.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 301 West 118th Street, also evaluate:

  • 1485 Fifth Avenue (5th on the Park) — the same development organization's larger full-service condo at Fifth Avenue and 120th; the closest sponsor-lineage comp
  • 100 West 119th Street — condominium two blocks east; the boutique-scale alternative
  • 88 Morningside Avenue — park-facing condo on Morningside Park's eastern edge; the direct park-frontage comp
  • The Kalahari (40 West 116th Street) — the corridor's other large GF55-designed condominium of the same cycle
  • The Lenox (380 Lenox Avenue) — the pioneering 2000s Harlem condo on the Lenox corridor
  • Brownstone Lane II (309 West 118th Street) — the immediate townhouse-condo neighbor, same sponsor lineage
  • 2280 FDB (2280 Frederick Douglass Boulevard) — the boulevard's later full-service condo generation; the newer-vintage comp
  • 111 Central Park North — the area's premium tier; what park frontage adds to the same submarket

More Harlem buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Harlem — read The Roebling Team Guide to Harlem.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at SoHa 118?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com