340 East 93rd Street (Plymouth Tower)
340 East 93rd Street, New York, NY 10128
BBL 1015550023 · BIN 1078668
- Year built
- 1980
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 367
- Floors
- 30
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not stated
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- None
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2026
- $565K
- 28 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $500K – $1.3M
- Listing discount
- 3.1%
- Recorded transfers
- 389
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at Plymouth Tower would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
Plymouth Tower is one of Yorkville's largest cooperatives — a 367-unit, full-blockfront post-war tower on First Avenue between 92nd and 93rd Streets — and it competes on a simple, durable proposition: full-service scale, a genuine rooftop amenity floor, and one of the more liberal policy frameworks among Upper East Side co-ops, at value-tier pricing. The Second Avenue subway changed this corridor's math: the Q at 96th Street put the building minutes from a one-seat ride down the East Side, and northern Yorkville's pricing has been re-rating ever since.
The building's origin story is a piece of 1970s New York real estate history. The tower was begun by The Investors Funding Corporation, whose bankruptcy was among the era's most prominent real estate failures, and was completed in 1980 by a joint venture of Boston's Bay Colony Properties Company and the builder Morse Diesel, per architectural records. Bay Colony's affiliate, Plymouth Tower Associates, then sponsored the cooperative conversion: the non-eviction offering plan on file in The Roebling Research Library was first offered May 28, 1985, and the cooperative's first year of operation was 1986.
What distinguishes the building for buyers today is how well documented its operations are. From the audited financial statements on file: the cooperative refinanced its underlying mortgage in September 2020 at 2.90 percent, interest-only for ten years, with a coterminous bank credit line behind it; it runs an on-site co-generation plant whose equipment loan was retired in 2020; it contracted its facade-compliance cycle in 2022 at roughly $1.2 million; and it has used modest operating assessments rather than outsized maintenance increases to absorb cost inflation. Commercial income — the First Avenue stores, the garage, and laundry — contributed roughly $1 million in 2022, a real offset to shareholder maintenance.
Architecture and unit composition
The tower rises 30 stories in brick from a granite-and-cobblestone plaza, with sidewalk landscaping that includes a gazebo, lattice fencing and planters. The footprint runs the entire 92nd-to-93rd Street blockfront, so upper-floor apartments carry open exposures in multiple directions: east toward the East River, south down the avenue, and west across Yorkville toward the Central Park skyline. The mix is dominated by studios, one-bedrooms, and two-bedrooms, with combination units (the L/M lines among them, per the offering plan amendments on file) creating larger homes; post-war layouts here are efficient and renovate predictably.
Building operations
Full-service: 24-hour doorman and concierge, on-site resident manager, and a large building staff — the conversion-era budget on file counted more than 18 employees including the superintendent. Three passenger elevators and a dedicated service elevator carry the building's scale. The rooftop health club — 50-foot indoor pool with lifeguard, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, lounge, and sun deck — is the signature amenity and operates on a fee basis, which keeps base maintenance lower for shareholders who opt out. The valet garage is accessed from the lobby, and the mezzanine laundry supplements in-building convenience. The offering plan, amendments, by-laws, and recent audited financial statements are on file in The Roebling Research Library.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of October 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- None per brokerage records — confirm at offer stage
Source: The Roebling Team's building profile
Purchase
10 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 (without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $450 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Health Club Initiation FeeConditional | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $400 (please note that this fee must be paid even if the tenant chooses not to use the Health Club) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Annual Sublease FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Amount equal to three (3) months maintenance | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Refundable |
Sublet renewal
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300, payable by Shareholder or Subtenant | Refundable Not stated |
| Annual Sublease FeeRecurring | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Amount equal to three (3) months maintenance | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
| Corporate Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
8 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeePer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $250 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing FeePer share | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $750 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Move-Out Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $200 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move-In Deposit | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Refundable |
| Move-Out Deposit | Paid by Shareholder | When At closing | Amount $300 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 80% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Guarantors
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Co-purchasing
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Permitted with conditionsAfter 3 years of ownership.Source: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- Wait before a sublet
- 3 yearsSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted; species and limits not statedSource: building management's published schedule, as of October 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Not verified
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $509 per room a monthMedian of 17 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Concierge
- YesSource: recent listing records
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Valet
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Fitness room, pool, spa, residents' lounge, roof deck, garageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $178,347/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $40
- Modeled exposure split equally across 367 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as SWARMP — Safe With A Repair and Maintenance Program: the inspector (QEWI) identified conditions requiring monitoring or repair, with repairs due by the deadline stated in the filing. The scope, timeline, and how the building funds the work are building-specific — we review the filings and board materials for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- None
- Sublet policy
- Allowed after 3 years of ownership; annual sublease fee equal to 3 months maintenance; 1 or 2 year terms
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Policies and fees
- Max financing 80%; Reported maintenance tax allocation 56%; sublet health club initiation fee $400. The July 2026 management extract does not identify the tax year for this percentage; obtain the co-op's annual allocation statement. Actual deductions depend on eligible taxes and interest, itemization and the taxpayer's applicable limits
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 16, 2026 | 29I | 1 BR · 1 BA · 677 sf | $560,000 | $827/sf | -10.5% |
| Sep 15, 2026 | 23G | 1 BR · 1 BA | $550,000 | -6.6% | |
| Sep 9, 2026 | 16B | 1 BR · 1 BA | $550,000 | -10.6% | |
| Aug 19, 2026 | 24K | 1 BR · 1 BA · 675 sf | $556,000 | $824/sf | -3.1% |
| Aug 12, 2026 | 11D | 1 BR · 1 BA | $564,000 | +0.9% | |
| Aug 5, 2026 | 24C | 1 BR · 1 BA | $560,000 | -6.5% | |
| Jul 28, 2026 | 4B | 1 BR · 1 BA · 650 sf | $500,000 | $769/sf | +0.0% |
| Jul 22, 2026 | 24I | 1 BR · 1 BA | $580,000 | -3.0% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $800/sf (floor-adjusted) across 4 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 2.3% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Apr 19, 2011 | 12H | $519,000 |
| Jun 12, 2003 | 21C | $235,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01555-0023). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
Closed rents at Plymouth Tower, last 36 months
| Size | Leases | Median / month |
|---|---|---|
| 1 bedroom | 9 | $3,895 |
Also $70 per sq ft per year (7 leases that report square footage). 10 closed sublet leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease June 2026. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.
What would your apartment rent for?
The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at Plymouth Tower and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $564K (19 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $10,665 to close, or 1.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $10,665
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with Plymouth Tower and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like Plymouth Tower. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The policy stack is unusually buyer-friendly for a co-op. 80 percent financing, no flip tax per brokerage records, permitted pieds-à-terre, co-purchasing, gifting, and guarantors — this framework reads closer to a condop than to a classic Upper East Side cooperative. Confirm each element with the managing agent at offer stage, and run the Co-op Board Qualification Calculator before offering.
Underwrite the financials — they are on file and they are legible. The 2.90 percent interest-only mortgage runs on a ten-year term from September 2020; your attorney should price the 2030 refinancing environment into the long-term carry. The offsets are real: roughly $1 million in 2022 commercial income and a co-generation plant the building owns outright.
Ask about assessments. The board levied operating assessments of roughly $650,000–$670,000 building-wide in 2021 and 2022 rather than raising maintenance sharply, and the 2022 facade contract was funded during the same period. Confirm the current assessment posture before contract.
The health club is fee-based. Budget the membership separately if the pool is part of your purchase thesis — and view it before offering; a 50-foot lifeguarded indoor pool is genuinely rare in Yorkville co-op stock.
Price the corridor honestly. The Q at 96th and Second is the building's transit anchor; the 6 at 96th and Lexington is a longer walk. East River esplanade access and the 92nd Street retail corridor are at the door. Spend time on the block at commute hour before deciding.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the framework, not just the apartment. No flip tax, 80 percent financing, and flexible purchase structures widen your buyer pool well beyond the typical co-op audience — first-time buyers, parents buying for children, and pied-à-terre purchasers are all addressable here. The marketing should say so explicitly.
Document the building's operational record. The 2020 refinancing, the co-generation plant, the funded facade cycle, and the commercial income stream survive attorney diligence. We provide the underlying documents from the Research Library to serious buyers' counsel.
Position against the neighborhood's condo towers. Buyers cross-shop the 1980s condops and condos of northern Yorkville. The pitch is carry: comparable services and a stronger amenity floor at a materially lower entry price, with the trade-offs of co-op mechanics softened by this building's liberal policies.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 340 East 93rd Street, also evaluate:
- The Waterford (300 East 93rd Street) — the 1987 tower across the street; the condop alternative with similar scale
- Astor Terrace (245 East 93rd Street) — 1980s condominium a block west; the condo cross-shop
- Carnegie Park (200 East 94th Street) — post-war tower re-developed as a condominium; the renovated alternative
- 1601 Third Avenue (Ruppert Yorkville Towers) — the mega-scale condop complex at 90th–92nd Streets
- 200 East End Avenue — post-war full-service co-op peer by the river; the quieter-corridor alternative
- 45 East 89th Street — 1969 post-war condominium at Madison; the Carnegie Hill step-up
- 131 East 93rd Street — 1923 boutique pre-war co-op; the small-building alternative at the Park-Lexington seam
- 180 East 88th Street — DDG's 2019 condominium tower; the new-development price ceiling for the area
More Upper East Side buildings
- The Forum (339 East 74th Street) — 1987 condop
- 340 East 72nd Street, Upper East Side — 1930 co-op
- 340 East 74th Street (The Avon House) — 1957 condop
- The St. Tropez (340 East 64th Street) — 1964 condominium
- 343 East 78th Street — 1910 co-op
- 345 East 73rd Street (The Morad Diplomat) — 1961 co-op
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at Plymouth Tower?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com