Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $465K/room ▴3%CPW $355K/roomFifth Ave $501K/roomBillionaires' Row $4,313/sfHell's Kitchen $1,328/sf ▴0%
Full index →
Condominium · 1910
50 Madison Avenue
50 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10010
Buildings·Condominium

50 Madison Avenue

50 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10010

NoMad

BBL 1008567501 · BIN 1087100

At a glance
Year built
1910
Type
Condominium
Units
9
Floors
11
Landmark status
Requires confirmation
City records and our profile differ. Confirm with building management.
Dogs and cats
Permitted with conditions
Doorman
Full-time doorman

50 Madison Avenue sales history: 21 recorded sales

Own an apartment at 50 Madison Avenue?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2005–2024

Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.

Median $/sf, 2024
$2,457
1 sale
Listing discount
4.1%
Recorded sales
21
On record
2005–2024
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 50 Madison Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As cited in The Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

Almost every building on this block is landmarked. 50 Madison Avenue is not, and that single fact produced the building.

The Madison Square North Historic District was designated in June 2001, and it swept in the block's Madison Avenue and Fifth Avenue frontages — 60 Madison Avenue immediately to the north, 225 Fifth Avenue around the corner, 15 and 21 East 26th Street behind. Lot 7501 was left out. Two months before designation, an Alteration Type 1 was filed to strip the exterior walls off the upper floors of the existing low-rise building on the site and carry it to eleven stories. Inside a historic district that application would have gone to the Landmarks Preservation Commission first, and a vertical enlargement of that proportion on a 2,963-square-foot lot facing a designated streetscape is not the kind of thing that clears review easily. Outside the district it was a straightforward alteration.

Platt Byard Dovell White carried the design. The firm kept the masonry base of the earlier building and set eight new floors above it, clad in limestone-colored precast panels — a deliberate two-part elevation that reads as an old base and a new shaft rather than as a pastiche of either. The work ran from 2001 through 2004, the first residential closings were recorded in September 2005, and the condominium's own audited statements date the start of operations to September 21, 2005.

What the enlargement bought was floor plates. The lot is narrow, so each new floor is a single apartment: nine residences on eleven floors, most around 2,600 square feet, with a duplex penthouse of roughly 3,560 square feet on top. Every residence has the full width of the building, windows on Madison Avenue and on the rear, and no shared landing. In a neighborhood where most condominium inventory sits inside converted prewar office floorplates cut two or three units deep, that is a genuinely different product.

The counterweight is the size of the association, and buyers should look at it directly. Nine residences and two commercial units carry the entire building. The audited statements on file for 2019 and 2020 show a small balance sheet, an operating fund that ran a deficit in 2020, and — this is the part that matters — an explicit note that the condominium's governing documents do not require the accumulation of reserves, that no reserve study has been performed, and that when major repairs are needed the association expects to borrow, raise assessments, or defer the work. That is not unusual for a building of this size, but it is not a detail to discover after contract. Ask for the current budget, the current balance sheet, and any assessment history before you commit.

Architecture and unit composition

The site is an interior lot of 2,963 square feet on the west side of Madison Avenue. Everything about the building follows from that: a single stack, one apartment per floor above the commercial base, and a façade that concentrates its glass on the avenue.

The base survives from the earlier building — the Department of Buildings file records a renovated street vault under the sidewalk, a builder's pavement plan, and façade repair carried out in 2003 while the enlargement was underway. Above it the precast panel floors run to the eleventh story, with balconies and terraces on some lines and two private terraces at the penthouse. Several residences have been gut-renovated since 2005 under separate alteration filings, so condition is line-specific rather than building-wide.

Residences occupy floors three through eleven. The assessment roll puts the typical full-floor plate at roughly 2,600 to 2,650 square feet, historically marketed as three-bedroom, three-and-a-half-bath homes, with the duplex penthouse at roughly 3,560. The two commercial units occupy the base, together about 3,300 square feet of retail area, separately taxed at class 4.

Exposures are worth testing in person. East-facing rooms look directly at the New York Life Insurance Building's gilded pyramid and, from the upper floors, south toward Madison Square Park and the Metropolitan Life tower. The rear elevation faces a built-up block interior and some of those windows are lot-line windows. Establish which ones belong to the floor you are buying.

Building operations

The building runs lean by design. The audited statements show security as by far the largest operating line — larger than repairs, utilities and payroll combined — which reflects a serviced lobby rather than a large uniformed staff. Management is third-party and the house rules on file reference a resident superintendent.

Two structural points belong in any buyer's underwriting. The commercial units carry a very small share of common expenses relative to the residences: the audited statements record commercial assessment income at a fraction of the residential total, which means the nine apartments fund essentially the whole building. And the association ran a designated litigation fund for several years, winding it down in 2020 and transferring the balance into operations after management concluded it was no longer needed. Both facts are in the statements on file and both are better raised with your attorney than assumed away.

Policy framework

Ownership form: Condominium. Transfers close through the board's right of first refusal rather than a cooperative approval.

Pets: Permitted, capped at two domestic dogs or cats in the aggregate, subject to the written consent of the board or managing agent under the Rules and Regulations on file. That consent is expressly revocable — an unusual retention of discretion for a condominium, and worth reading before you buy with a large dog.

Pied-à-terre, subletting, LLC, trust and foreign ownership: All permitted under the standard condominium framework. Minimum lease terms should be confirmed with the managing agent.

Terraces and balconies: The house rules prohibit barbecuing, enclosure, and any decoration, planting or installation on a terrace or balcony without prior written approval. If outdoor space is part of why you are buying, read rule 23 before you plan the furniture.

Noise and alteration hours: Construction and repair work is limited to business days between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., and there are defined quiet hours for music and sound. In a single-stack building where every apartment shares a floor slab with the next, these matter more than they would elsewhere.

Working capital: Approximately three months of common charges on initial purchase, per the audited statements.

Flip tax: Not documented in the condominium documents on file. Confirm with the managing agent before pricing a sale.

Real estate taxes: The current roll shows no exemption; check the specific unit's tax bill for any abatement and underwrite that bill rather than a projected schedule.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Purchase

10 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $700 plus $200 per applicant/guarantorRefundable Non-refundable
Building Working Capital ContributionPaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount Equal to three (3) months of common chargesRefundable Not stated
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant/guarantorRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Rerun FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Expedited Review FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $500 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $150 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Common Charge FeeConditionalConditions: If closing takes place after the 10th of the monthPaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount Equal to common charges and charges up to the time of closingRefundable Not stated
Transfer Agent Closing FeeConditionalConditions: Closing at Counsels officePaid to managementPaid by BuyerWhen At closingAmount $500Refundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-In DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable
Move-Out DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable

Rental or lease

8 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $650 plus $200 per applicant/guarantorRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Check FeePer applicantPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant/guarantorRefundable Non-refundable
Credit Rerun FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $125 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Expedited Review FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $500 if applicableRefundable Not stated
Incomplete Application FeeConditionalPaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $150 if applicableRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move-Out DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by LandlordWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable
Move-In DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $1,500Refundable Refundable

Lease renewal

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by TenantWhen With the applicationAmount $250Refundable Non-refundable

Alteration

2 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid to managementPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount $250 for type I, $1000 for type II, and $2500 for type IIIRefundable Non-refundable

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Security DepositPaid to the buildingPaid by ResidentWhen Upon approvalAmount $5,000Refundable Refundable

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Dogs and cats
Permitted with conditionsPermitted — domestic dogs and cats, not to exceed two in the aggregate, with the written consent of the condominium board or managing agent, revocable at their discretion, per the Rules and Regulations on fileSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
In-unit washer/dryer
Not verified

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: recent listing records
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of Buildings elevator records

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$14,189/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $131
Modeled exposure split equally across 9 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Unsafe
What this means for you

The latest available filing classified the facade as Unsafe — conditions requiring prompt corrective action. The owner must install any public protection the inspector specifies (a sidewalk shed, construction fence or structural netting, depending on the condition) and make the repairs. Review the subsequent filings, the repair status, and the building’s board and financial materials — we pull the repair scope and funding picture for you.

Inspection history
2010–15
Safe
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Unsafe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2010–15 to 2020–25
$24,750 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2010–15 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

The building has traded thinly since the sellout. All nine residences were sold by the sponsor to nine separately named purchasers between September and November 2005, and ACRIS records only a modest number of resales since — several lines have changed hands once or twice in twenty years. The titleholders' names do not establish unrelated beneficial ownership or exclude common investment control; the limited sale history also needs to be considered when pricing.

Same-building comparables are thin: with nine residences and no meaningful volume, a valuation built on a building average is not worth much, and the useful work is line-specific and condition-specific. And the absence of an abatement means the headline price and the monthly carrying number sit further apart than they do in abated new-construction inventory nearby. Full-floor prewar-base conversions in NoMad and Flatiron are the right comparable set, not the recent ground-up towers on Fifth Avenue and East 22nd Street, whose amenity loads and tax postures are structurally different. Unit-level transaction history is maintained in The Roebling Research Library and shared with clients during diligence.

Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
May 21, 2024RU7
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,646 sf
$6,500,000$2,457/sf+0.0%
Nov 1, 2023RU
3,564 sf
$9,000,000$2,525/sf—
Mar 31, 2023RU8
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,630 sf
$5,787,500$2,201/sf-12.0%
Aug 20, 20212
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,646 sf
$4,350,000$1,644/sf-3.2%
Oct 2, 2017RU
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,630 sf
$5,612,500$2,134/sf—
Dec 9, 2013RU
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,630 sf
$5,800,000$2,205/sf—
Mar 16, 2012RU
3 BR · 3.5 BA · 2,630 sf
$4,750,000$1,806/sf—
Jan 17, 2006RU
2,630 sf
$3,750,000$1,426/sf—

Market read. Most recent trades (2024) cleared a median $2,457/sf (recorded) across 1 sale. Median listing discount 4.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

7 · 2,646 sf+103%
$3,207,487 ($1,220/sf) 2005 → $4,750,000 ($1,806/sf) 2012 → $6,500,000 ($2,457/sf) 2024
3 · 2,630 sf+93%
$3,003,837 ($1,142/sf) 2005 → $5,800,000 ($2,205/sf) 2013
RU, lot 1011 · 3,564 sf+79%
$5,040,337 ($1,414/sf) 2005 → $9,000,000 ($2,525/sf) 2023
8 · 2,630 sf+75%
$3,309,312 ($1,258/sf) 2005 → $5,612,500 ($2,134/sf) 2017 → $5,787,500 ($2,201/sf) 2023
2 · 2,646 sf+55%
$2,800,187 ($1,065/sf) 2005 → $4,350,000 ($1,644/sf) 2021
View all 21 recorded sales, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-00856-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.

Rents · The Roebling Index

Closed rents at 50 Madison Avenue, last 36 months

$4,165median rent per room per month
SizeLeasesMedian / month
3 bedroom3$24,995

3 closed leases, October 2023 to September 2026. Most recent lease November 2024. Based on few leases. Sizes with fewer than 2 leases are not shown. Compiled by The Roebling Team at Compass from closed leases.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

The figures above are the building's closed leases. Enter your apartment and I'll send you what yours would rent for, from comparable leases at 50 Madison Avenue and nearby.

Buying here? Condo closing costs with a mortgage typically run 3 to 6% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 50 Madison Avenue and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 50 Madison Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

The reserve position is the diligence item. The audited statements reviewed report that the governing documents do not require reserves, no reserve study had been prepared and the board's plan for major work was to borrow, assess, or defer; confirm whether a study or funding plan has since been adopted. For an assessment in this nine-unit building, confirm each unit's allocated share in the governing documents and assessment notice rather than assuming nine equal contributions. Price that risk.

Confirm who owns the commercial units. The audited statements through 2020 record the sponsor as owner of both and disclose their assessment income as a related-party transaction. Current ownership and the commercial common-interest allocation should be verified — the residential owners carry most of the budget.

Underwrite full taxes from day one. There is no 421-a, no J-51 and no other exemption on any residential unit lot, and there never has been.

Read the pet rule and the terrace rule. Both are stricter than the condominium default and both are in the Rules and Regulations on file.

The landmark status cuts both ways. Not being in the historic district is why the building exists, and it also means the surrounding undesignated parcels carry the same latitude. Check what the neighbors could build, and establish which rear windows are lot-line windows.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the floor plate. A full-floor residence of roughly 2,600 square feet with two exposures and a private landing is a concrete layout feature to compare with the actual plans of converted office buildings on Fifth Avenue or East 26th Street.

Get ahead of the tax number. Sophisticated buyers will pull it. Presenting the current bill up front, paired with a True Monthly Carrying Cost analysis, beats letting it surface late.

Have the financials ready. The reserve note in the audited statements will come up, and it is better answered with the current budget, balance sheet and assessment history than left to the buyer's attorney to characterize.

Price line by line. With nine residences and twenty years of thin turnover, a building average is of little use. Floor, condition, outdoor space and exposure carry the pricing.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 50 Madison Avenue, also evaluate:

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 50 Madison Avenue?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com