725 Riverside Drive (The Imperator)
725 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10031
BBL 1020967501 · BIN 1087465
- Year built
- 1914
- Type
- Condominium
- Units
- 74
- Floors
- 11
- Amenities
- Elevator, central laundry, bike storage; courtyard light well
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; not in a historic district
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission and City Planning records, updated February 2026
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted with conditions
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted with conditions
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
- Washer/dryer
- Requires confirmation
- Maximum financing
- 90% of the purchase price
- Doorman
- Part-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2007–2026
Price-per-square-foot over time, the line- and floor-premium curves, and every recorded sale.
- Median $/sf, 2026 to date
- $715
- floor-adjusted, 4 sales
- Listing discount
- 3.1%
- Recorded sales
- 78
- On record
- 2007–2026
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Imperator would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
The Imperator belongs to the 1910s apartment-house wave that built out Riverside Drive's Hamilton Heights blocks — an 11-story corner building whose rendering ran in The New York Times in 1914 among the season's "magnificent" new houses. Robert M. Silverman built it with 55 large apartments; a century later it trades as 74 condominium units, and that conversion is the structural fact that defines the building today. Condominiums are scarce in pre-war Upper Manhattan, where the comparable riverside buildings of this vintage — the Riviera, the Grinnell — are co-ops with boards, share loans, and interview processes. The Imperator offers the same Riverside Drive geography with condo transfer mechanics, at some of the most accessible condo pricing in Manhattan.
The conversion story deserves clear eyes, and the documents on file in The Roebling Research Library tell it plainly. The offering plan is dated September 14, 2006, first closings followed in 2007, and the sponsor — affiliated with principals of the Pinnacle Group, the large rental landlord whose tenant-practices litigation was settled in federal court in 2012 with press coverage — retained a substantial block of units long after conversion: 38 of 74 as of the March 2014 amendment on file, many tenant-occupied, with J-51 benefits and rent-regulated tenancies in the mix. None of this is disqualifying; it is simply the diligence agenda. The March 2014 figures do not establish current sponsor holdings, owner occupancy, control or budget exposure. Obtain the current ownership and rental roster, voting provisions and financial statements; sponsor conveyances alone do not show whether those measures improved.
For buyers, the thesis is entry-level Manhattan ownership with real pre-war bones: high ceilings, moldings, decorative fireplaces, and generous pre-war plans a block from Riverside Park, with the 1 train at Broadway and the A/C/B/D at 145th Street. For investors, evaluate current leasing rules, rents, vacancy and expenses. Compare matched sales and total costs before assigning an investment or pricing advantage relative to brownstone Brooklyn.
Architecture and unit composition
The building rises 11 stories in beige brick on the corner of 150th Street, with the restrained classical detailing of its date — bandcourses marking the base, middle, and crown where the original cornice once ran, and a light-court entrance recessed off the Drive. The 74 units run from ground-floor studios and one-bedrooms through full-scale pre-war three- and four-bedrooms; the larger lines retain the original program of long entry galleries, windowed kitchens, and 15-to-18-foot living and dining rooms. West-facing upper-floor units take Riverside Park and Hudson light. Because the conversion subdivided some of the original 55 apartments, plan quality varies by line — the intact pre-war layouts are the building's best inventory, and the renovation spread between sponsor-basic and owner-renovated units is wide.
Building operations
This is a lean, value-tier operation rather than a full-service one: part-time door coverage in the afternoons and evenings, a live-in superintendent, central laundry, and bike storage. Common charges and taxes are correspondingly modest — frequently abated further at the unit level where J-51 history applies, which buyers should have verified rather than assumed, since abatement schedules expire. The 2014 amendment and certified financial statement on file in The Roebling Research Library provide the documentary baseline; your attorney should pair them with the current budget and financials from the managing agent.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
Purchase
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Check | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $425 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit Refundable | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Rental or lease
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit Check | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $125 | Refundable Not stated |
| Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Deposits
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Move In Deposit Refundable | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Refundable |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 90% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Guarantors
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by case. Guarantors are required to submit a copy of the applicationSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Co-purchasing
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for an employed child
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Parent buying for a student child
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Purchase or lease by a corporation
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Leasing by owners
- Permitted with conditionsLease application on file and must be approved by the BoardSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- Permitted with conditionsHandled case by caseSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- Short-term rentals
- Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Pets and in-unit washer/dryer
- Pets
- Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedBoard approval see Rules and RegulationsSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
- In-unit washer/dryer
- Requires confirmationSources differ. Confirm with building management.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Common charges + taxes, per room
- $1,308 per room a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges + taxes, per square foot
- $5.17 per square foot a monthMedian of 7 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
- Common charges alone, per square foot
- $4.68 per square foot a monthMedian of 11 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
- Real estate taxes alone, per square foot
- $0.11 per square foot a monthMedian of 11 listings since October 2023 that give the annual taxSource: listing records, refreshed October 2026
Common charges plus real estate taxes, combined into one monthly figure the way New York condominium listings show them. Add a mortgage payment for the monthly outlay. The split into common charges and taxes comes from the listings that also give the annual tax, a different sample, so the two lines need not add up exactly to the combined median; a tax abatement can hold taxes below the full amount until it expires. A summary of recorded sales and listings, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Part-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Attended lobby
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Garden, bike storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $79,959/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $90
- Modeled exposure split equally across 74 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; condominium owners are typically charged by each unit's common-interest percentage.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available filing classified the facade as Unsafe — conditions requiring prompt corrective action. The owner must install any public protection the inspector specifies (a sidewalk shed, construction fence or structural netting, depending on the condition) and make the repairs. Review the subsequent filings, the repair status, and the building’s board and financial materials — we pull the repair scope and funding picture for you.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2025–30. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Sublet policy
- Allowed; lease application on file, Board approval
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed case by case
- Policies and fees
- Credit check $125; Move-in deposit (refundable) $500; Processing fee $425 (sale) / $400 (lease)
Recent sales
Recent closings at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 17, 2026 | 4D | 1 BR · 1 BA · 825 sf | $599,000 | $726/sf | -3.4% |
| Jul 16, 2026 | 9F | 1 BR · 1 BA · 650 sf | $475,000 | $731/sf | -3.1% |
| Jun 12, 2026 | 8D | 1 BR · 1 BA · 825 sf | $625,000 | $758/sf | +0.0% |
| Jan 27, 2026 | 11A | 3 BR · 2.5 BA · 1,816 sf | $1,295,000 | $713/sf | +0.0% |
| Aug 19, 2024 | 9C | 3 BR · 1 BA · 1,174 sf | $877,938 | $748/sf | -0.8% |
| Aug 7, 2024 | 4G | 1 BR · 1 BA · 683 sf | $479,000 | $701/sf | +0.0% |
| May 15, 2024 | 10D | 2 BR · 1 BA · 1,016 sf | $857,756 | $844/sf | +0.9% |
| May 9, 2023 | 5C | 2 BR · 1.5 BA · 1,174 sf | $740,000 | $630/sf | -7.5% |
Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $715/sf (floor-adjusted) across 4 sales. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 3.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-02096-7501; each condominium apartment is its own tax lot). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage from recorded condo declarations and offering plans.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Imperator and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $612K (4 sales in the past 24 months, since October 25, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $25,064 to close, or 4.1% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $0
- Mortgage recording tax: $8,262
- Title insurance: $2,754
- Attorneys, lender, building fees, reserves and filings: $14,048
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest.
Keep up with The Imperator and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Imperator. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The condo structure is the headline. There is no co-op board admission; purchases run through the condominium's application and right-of-first-refusal process. Financing up to 90% of the purchase price, leasing with conditions and pied-à-terre use with conditions are documented; confirm LLC and trust rules in the declaration and bylaws. In a neighborhood where the prestige pre-war alternatives are co-ops, this is the building's core advantage; use it deliberately.
Ask the sponsor-concentration question first. A large block of units was sponsor-held and tenant-occupied for years after the 2006–07 conversion. Lenders care about owner-occupancy and single-entity concentration; get the current numbers from the managing agent before you go to contract, and have your lender confirm the building is warrantable for your loan.
Verify the tax line, not the listing's version of it. J-51 history means unit tax bills can be abated, expiring, or fully phased out depending on the schedule. Run the True Monthly Carrying Cost Calculator with the post-abatement figure.
Buy the layout. The subdivided units and the intact pre-war plans are different products at different values. Decorative fireplaces, gallery entries, and windowed kitchens mark the original fabric; price accordingly.
Price the services honestly. Part-time door coverage and central laundry affect the service experience. Compare current charges, taxes and assessments with full-service alternatives before assuming monthly savings.
What to know if you’re selling
Sell the scarcity, not just the unit. Pre-war condominium ownership on Riverside Drive is a thin category — most of the competition is either co-op stock with board friction or new construction without the bones. Name the structural facts in the marketing.
Renovation condition drives the spread. The gap between sponsor-condition and renovated units is wide and visible in the building's history. Price to your side of it; run the Renovation Cost Calculator against your ask if your unit needs work, because your buyer will.
Expect a financing-literate buyer pool. Entry-tier Manhattan buyers are rate- and underwriting-sensitive; clean building financials and current owner-occupancy data presented up front shorten contracts. We provide the documentary package from the Research Library to serious buyers' counsel.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 725 Riverside Drive, also evaluate:
- The Riviera (790 Riverside Drive) — the grand 1910 co-op at 156th Street; the corridor's prestige pre-war alternative, with a board
- The Grinnell (800 Riverside Drive) — the triangular 1911 co-op landmark of Audubon Park; same era, co-op mechanics
- 555 Edgecombe Avenue — the landmarked Paul Robeson residence atop Coogan's Bluff; Sugar Hill's historic pre-war anchor
- 409 Edgecombe Avenue — Sugar Hill's other landmarked address; the co-op comparison east of the Drive
- Graham Court — the Clinton & Russell courtyard landmark on Adam Clayton Powell; central Harlem's pre-war benchmark
- 1485 Fifth Avenue — the full-amenity modern Harlem condo alternative for buyers weighing pre-war character against new systems
- 100 West 119th Street — boutique modern condo stock in south Harlem; the other direction of the same value thesis
More Harlem buildings
- 555 Edgecombe Avenue (Roger Morris Apartments / Paul Robeson Residence) — 1914 by Schwartz & Gross
- RiverBridge Court, 603 West 148th Street — 2005 condominium
- The Barnard, 721 St. Nicholas Avenue
- 1399 Park Avenue — 2016 condominium by Hill West Architects
- 1400 Fifth Avenue — 2003 condominium
- 1485 Fifth Avenue (5th on the Park) — 2007 condominium by FXCollaborative (Fox & Fowle / FXFOWLE)
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Harlem — read The Roebling Team Guide to Harlem.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Imperator?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com