
911 Park Avenue (The Alvarado)
911 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10075
BBL 1015080072 · BIN 1047495
- Year built
- 1927
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- 44
- Floors
- 14
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Park Avenue Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase price
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
- Financing
- Up to 50% financeable (50% minimum down).
- Pied-à-terre
- Permitted.
Compiled by The Roebling Research Desk from the building’s offering plan, amendments, and related building documents (primary source dated 2026). Board policies can change by amendment — confirm at the offer stage.
Every recorded sale at this building, 2004–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 4BR+ median
- $6.7M
- Recent range
- $6M – $10M
- Listing discount
- 11.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 29
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at The Alvarado would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
911 Park Avenue — The Alvarado — sits at the western anchor of one of the most architecturally significant side-street blocks in Manhattan: a stretch of East 80th Street containing the George Whitney mansion, the William Goadby Loew mansion, and several other landmark houses that produce a structurally protected architectural setting east of Park Avenue. The 1927 Schwartz & Gross commission for Tishman positions The Alvarado at the western end of this institutional architectural corridor and within the broader Park Avenue Historic District.
Schwartz & Gross was the most prolific Park Avenue architect of the 1920s. The firm's Park Avenue body of work includes 470, 525, 885, 888, 910, 930, 941, 970, 983, 1045, 1070, 1125, and 1165 Park — a concentrated single-firm body of work that defined a substantial share of the corridor's residential architectural character. The Alvarado is one of the firm's more disciplined classical compositions: a two-story limestone base with a canopied entrance flanked by fluted pilasters, three stringcourses, and quoins. The architectural composition is consistent with Schwartz & Gross's broader mid-1920s classical vocabulary.
The 1952 cooperative conversion places The Alvarado among the earlier post-war Park Avenue cooperative conversions. The 44-apartment scale produces a mid-size cooperative configuration with substantial apartment-level scale variation.
Architecture and unit composition
The 44 cooperative apartments distribute across the building's 14 stories in substantial configurations. The Alvarado is documented for the size of its apartments: many exceed 4,000 square feet. Apartment-level features include wood-burning fireplaces, 10-foot ceilings (11 feet in the penthouse), herringbone floors, crown moldings, and coffered ceilings.
The floor plans are deeply pre-war Park Avenue. Apartment 11A carries a 28-foot entrance gallery; Apartment 4B carries a 23-foot foyer leading into a 23-foot library, then a 16-foot gallery, then a 25-foot living room. Apartment configurations include oversized living rooms facing Park, formal dining rooms, butler's pantries, and dedicated staff wings.
Building operations
The Alvarado operates as a full-service cooperative with full-time doorman and private storage. The building does not carry an on-site garage, fitness center, or roof deck — the operational baseline is conservative even by Park Avenue cooperative standards and reflects the building's institutional pre-war tradition.
Specific cooperative policy details (financing maximum, flip tax structure, pet policy, pied-à-terre allowance, sublet duration limits) should be verified directly with management.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of Purchase Price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Purchase
6 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Sublet
3 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Subletting Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Subtenant | When With the application | Amount $300 | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
2 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
| Appraisal Research and Co-Supplement/Certification Fee | Paid by Landlord | When With the application | Amount $250 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Financing and purchase requirements
- Maximum financing
- 50% of the purchase priceSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Sublet and pied-à-terre policy
A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.
- Subletting by shareholders
- Not verified
- Pied-à-terre ownership
- PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $1,123 per room a monthMedian of 4 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- StorageSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- Per unit / month range
- —
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. Facade inspections run on a fixed five-year cycle; future inspection, repair, and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — the licensed engineer the city requires to sign the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City record last verified September 2026.
Management & transfer contacts
- Flip tax
- 2% of purchase price, paid by Buyer at closing
- Sublet policy
- Allowed; Subletting Fee $250 + $300 subtenant app fee
- Pied-à-terre
- Allowed
- Notable fees
- Max financing 50%; Closing Fee $800 ($850 w/o broker) + $0.05/share
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | PPSF | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 20, 2026 | PHE | 2 BR · 2 BA | $5,100,000 | +2.0% | |
| Apr 4, 2025 | 6B | 5 BR · 5 BA · 4,100 sf | $6,600,000 | $1,610/sf | -5.0% |
| Jul 12, 2024 | 3B | 5 BR · 5 BA · 4,100 sf | $6,800,000 | $1,659/sf | -14.9% |
| Jan 19, 2024 | 6A | 3 BR · 3.5 BA | $9,300,000 | -7.0% | |
| Aug 9, 2023 | 8A | 4 BR · 4 BA · 3,400 sf | $6,000,000 | $1,765/sf | -21.1% |
| May 18, 2022 | 7B | 4 BR · 4 BA | $7,625,000 | +5.9% | |
| Jun 27, 2019 | 11C | 4 BR · 4 BA · 3,600 sf | $5,300,000 | $1,472/sf | -10.9% |
| Mar 29, 2017 | 2A | 3 BR · 3,400 sf | $5,900,000 | $1,735/sf | -30.6% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2025): a median $1,666/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 5.0% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01508-0072). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at The Alvarado and nearby.
Buying here? Co-op closing costs typically run 2 to 3% of the price. See NYC co-op and condo closing costs, line by line.
Keep up with The Alvarado and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like The Alvarado. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The Schwartz & Gross architectural pedigree is real. Among the firm's mid-1920s Park Avenue commissions; the architectural composition is consistent with the firm's broader Park Avenue body of work.
The East 80th Street institutional architectural context is structural. The George Whitney mansion, the William Goadby Loew mansion, and the broader East 80th Street side-street architectural concentration produce a structurally protected setting east of Park Avenue at The Alvarado's corner.
Apartment scale is substantial. Many apartments exceed 4,000 square feet; 28-foot entrance galleries, oversized living rooms, formal dining rooms, butler's pantries, and dedicated staff wings characterize the apartment idiom.
The Park Avenue Historic District protection applies. Designated LP-2547 by the NYC LPC on April 29, 2014.
The operational baseline is institutional. Conservative amenity inventory by Park Avenue standards; the cooperative culture reflects the building's institutional pre-war tradition.
Verify operational specifics during due diligence. Specific board approval framework, financing structure, flip tax, sublet duration limits, current capital project pipeline, and the LL11 façade cycle on the 1927 vintage should be reviewed.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard. Plan for 6–10 weeks from contract through board approval to closing.
What to know if you’re selling
Marketing should emphasize the Schwartz & Gross credential and the East 80th Street architectural setting. Both are structural identity features.
Apartment scale supports premium positioning. The 4,000-plus-square-foot apartment configurations are real architectural assets within the broader Park Avenue cooperative tier.
Pricing should reference recent comparable closings. Apartment-line-specific comparables should anchor positioning.
Closing timelines are cooperative-standard.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 911 Park Avenue, also evaluate:
- 910 Park Avenue — Schwartz & Gross 1924; same-firm Park Avenue peer across East 80th Street
- 888 Park Avenue — Schwartz & Gross 1925–26; same-firm Park Avenue peer
- 925 Park Avenue — Schwartz & Gross; nearby same-firm Park Avenue peer
- 940 Park Avenue (The Coronado) — pre-war Park Avenue peer
- 950 Park Avenue — pre-war Park Avenue peer
More Park Avenue buildings
- 898 Park Avenue — 1924 co-op
- 900 Park Avenue (The Park 900) — 1973 condominium by Philip Birnbaum & Associates
- 910 Park Avenue — 1924 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
- 925 Park Avenue — 1907 co-op by Delano & Aldrich
- 929 Park Avenue — 1913 co-op by George and Edward Blum
- 930 Park Avenue — 1916 co-op by Schwartz & Gross
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at The Alvarado?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com