926 Madison Avenue
926 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10021
BBL 1013880056 · BIN 1041515
- Year built
- 1945
- Type
- Cooperative
- Units
- About 102
- Landmark status
- Not an individual landmark; in the Upper East Side Historic District
- NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission records, updated February 2026
- Flip tax
- 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
- Doorman
- Full-time doorman
Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026
Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.
- 1BR median, 2023–2025
- $1.5M
- 8 qualifying sales
- Recent range
- $1.3M – $3.5M
- Listing discount
- 0.0%
- Recorded transfers
- 104
Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.
A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 926 Madison Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.
926 Madison Avenue occupies a precise slot in the Upper East Side timeline: completed across 1945–1947, in the brief immediate-postwar window when Manhattan apartment construction resumed but had not yet shifted to the white-brick towers of the 1960s. Designed by Sylvan Bien — whose mid-century New York practice spanned hotels, apartment houses, and commercial work — the building reads as a transitional object. It keeps the masonry discipline of the pre-war tradition while shedding the heavy classical ornament of the 1920s, and Bien resolved the corner with beveled, angular limestone edges that the Landmarks Preservation Commission's designation report flagged as a defining feature of the building's Modern style.
The address is, above all, about location. Madison Avenue in the low 70s is the spine of the Upper East Side's gallery and luxury-retail district — the blocks where the avenue's flagship boutiques and art dealers meet the residential side streets of Lenox Hill. A residence here puts a buyer at the center of the Madison shopping corridor, two blocks from Central Park to the west and a short walk from the Frick and the Fifth Avenue museum cluster.
At roughly 102 apartments across 16 stories, 926 Madison is a mid-scale cooperative. The unit count does not establish staffing economics, transaction frequency or building character. The ground-floor retail frontage is characteristic of the avenue, where Madison's commercial economy occupies the base and the apartments begin above.
For buyers, the appeal is a postwar full-service co-op in the heart of the Madison corridor, to compare with specific prewar Fifth and Park Avenue alternatives using dated sales and verified areas, with the convenience of the avenue's retail and the crosstown reach of the 70s.
Architecture and unit composition
The roughly 102 apartments span the 16 stories in configurations from one-bedrooms to larger family layouts, as described in the profile. The unit count and 1947 vintage do not establish ceiling heights or layout efficiency; verify the actual apartment’s measured plan and compare specific prewar alternatives.
The Madison-facing flank looks across the avenue's retail corridor; cross-street and rear exposures deliver the quieter outlooks. As at most avenue-fronting Upper East Side buildings, higher floors carry the open-sky and partial-view premium. The Modern lobby and the beveled corner give the building a more streamlined presence than its pre-war neighbors.
Building operations
926 Madison operates as a full-service cooperative with full-time doorman coverage, elevator service, an on-site superintendent, and central laundry. The ground-floor retail space is a structural feature of the building's economics, as it is for most residential buildings on the Madison spine — and any storefront alteration runs through Landmarks Preservation Commission review given the building's place in the Upper East Side Historic District.
Application and transaction fees
Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of August 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.
- Terms
- 2% of gross sales price
- Rate
- 2% of the purchase price
- Paid by
- Buyer
Source: building management's published schedule, as of August 2026
Purchase
9 items
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Processing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation) | Refundable Not stated |
| Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $250 per Co-applicant/ Guarantor | Refundable Not stated |
| Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicant | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board) | Refundable Not stated |
| Move In Fee | Paid by Buyer | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Lead Based Paint Disclosure Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $75 | Refundable Not stated |
| Move Out Fee | Paid by Seller | When With the application | Amount $500 | Refundable Not stated |
| Financing FeeConditional | Paid by Buyer | When At closing | Amount $300 (if financing) | Refundable Not stated |
| Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
| Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer share | Paid by Seller | When At closing | Amount $1,000 plus $0.05 per share | Refundable Not stated |
Refinance
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financing Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount $400 | Refundable Not stated |
Ownership transfer
1 item
Fees and charges
| Item | Paid by | When | Amount | Refundable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | Paid by Shareholder | When With the application | Amount Contact Transfer Agent for fee schedule | Refundable Not stated |
Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.
Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.
Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.
Monthly carrying charges in recent sales
- Maintenance, per room
- $380 per room a monthMedian of 11 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026
Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.
Building staffing and amenities
- Doorman
- Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Live-in superintendent
- YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
- Elevator
- YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
- Amenities noted
- Laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.
Local Law 97
- 2024–2029 annual penalty
- $0 (under cap)
- 2030–2034 annual penalty
- $56,065/yr
- Per unit / month range
- $0 – $46
- Modeled exposure split equally across 102 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.
Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →Facade safety — Local Law 11
The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.
How to read this, and where it comes from
QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).
Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.
Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.
Recent sales
Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.
| Date | Unit | Apartment | Price | vs. Ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 21, 2026 | 8A | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,300,000 | +17.9% |
| Jun 24, 2026 | 14B | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,751,000 | +17.1% |
| Nov 6, 2025 | 2G | 1 BR · 1.5 BA | $1,850,000 | +0.0% |
| Feb 4, 2025 | 10 | 2 BR · 2.5 BA | $3,190,000 | +0.0% |
| Dec 23, 2024 | 7F | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,410,000 | +4.4% |
| Jun 4, 2024 | 11E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,550,000 | +0.0% |
| May 28, 2024 | 12E | 2 BR · 2 BA | $2,475,000 | -4.6% |
| May 23, 2024 | 5E | 1 BR · 1 BA | $1,250,000 | +0.0% |
Market read. $/sf is measured on the latest sales with reliable square footage (2023): a median $1,317/sf (floor-adjusted) across 2 sales. The building has traded as recently as 2026. Median listing discount 2.4% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.
The retrade record
Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.
Other recent transfers
| Date | Unit | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Nov 4, 2004 | PHC | $3,195,000 |
Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.
Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01388-0056). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price.
What would your apartment rent for?
Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 926 Madison Avenue and nearby.
At the recent median sale of $2.3M (5 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $89,300 to close, or 3.9% of the price.
- Mansion tax: $28,750
- No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
- Building transfer fee (flip tax), 2% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer per building management's published schedule, as of August 2026: $46,000
- Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $14,550
Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest. Confirm the current transfer fee with building management; the linked calculator does not include it.
Keep up with 926 Madison Avenue and its market
The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 926 Madison Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.
We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.
What to know if you’re buying
The Madison corridor location is the central asset. Few addresses sit more squarely in the gallery-and-retail heart of the Upper East Side. Confirm which exposures face the avenue versus the quieter cross-street and rear.
Inspect the actual postwar layout. The 1947-era construction history does not establish the apartment’s present ceiling heights, finishes or efficiency; use measured plans and inspect alterations.
Compare the actual prices and carrying costs. A postwar cooperative does not automatically trade below a prewar Fifth or Park Avenue building; adjust dated sales for area, condition, exposure, services and documented rules.
Confirm board requirements from the building's own documents. Financing, post-closing liquidity, occupancy and subletting requirements come from the governing documents and application instructions.
What to know if you’re selling
Lead with location. The Madison gallery-corridor address and full-service postwar format are the marketing core; copy should foreground the walkability and convenience the corridor delivers.
Pricing requires apartment-level comparable analysis. Floor altitude, exposure (avenue versus quiet), configuration, and renovation history all move value materially across a 102-unit building.
Closing timelines are co-op standard. Generally 6–10 weeks from contract signing to closing, subject to board package and interview pacing.
Comparable buildings
If you're considering 926 Madison Avenue, also evaluate:
- 955 Madison Avenue — postwar Madison-corridor co-op nearby
- 1178 Madison Avenue — pre-war Madison-corridor co-op to the north
- 1217 Madison Avenue — pre-war Carnegie Hill Madison co-op
- 976 Lexington Avenue — 1955 East Side co-op
- 1091 Lexington Avenue — postwar full-service East Side co-op
More Upper East Side buildings
- 844 Lexington Avenue — 1927 co-op
- 895 Lexington Avenue — 1908 co-op
- 901 Lexington Avenue — 1907 co-op
- 944 Park Avenue — 1929 condominium by George F. Pelham
- 955 Lexington Avenue — 1924 co-op by W. K. Rouse & L. A. Goldstone
- 955 Madison Avenue — 1958 co-op by Paul Resnick
The neighborhood
For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Upper East Side — read The Roebling Team Guide to Upper East Side.
The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.
How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.
Considering a move at 926 Madison Avenue?
Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com