Manhattan condos · below 96th $1,632/sf ▴3%Manhattan co-ops · below 96th $271K/room ▴4%Central Park perimeterPark Ave $433K/room ▴3%CPW $482K/roomFifth Ave $529K/roomBillionaires' Row $3,350/sfHell's Kitchen $1,391/sf ▾1%
Full index →
Cooperative · 1913
929 Park Avenue
929 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10028
Buildings·Park Avenue·Cooperative

929 Park Avenue

929 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10028

Upper East Side

BBL 1015090071 · BIN 1047540

At a glance
Year built
1913
Type
Cooperative
Landmark status
Requires confirmation
City records and our profile differ. Confirm with building management.
Subletting by shareholders
Not permitted
Pied-à-terre
Permitted
Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not stated
Washer/dryer
Not permitted
Flip tax
2.5% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer
Doorman
Full-time doorman

929 Park Avenue sales history: 46 recorded transfers

Own an apartment at 929 Park Avenue?
Enter your apartment to see its recorded sale history and today’s estimate.
The Data Room

Every recorded sale at this building, 2003–2026

Bedroom-by-bedroom medians, the full transfer record, and how units trade against ask.

2BR median, 2024–2026
$1.6M
3 qualifying sales
Recent range
$825K – $2M
Listing discount
2.4%
Recorded transfers
46
Considering a sale?

Own an apartment here? See what it would sell for.

A Private Pricing Opinion — what your apartment at 929 Park Avenue would likely sell for today, what it costs to sell, and what you’d walk away with — reviewed personally against condition, exposures, renovation quality, and the competition actually on the market.

As seen inThe Wall Street Journal★ 92 reviews on Google

929 Park Avenue is a quietly distinguished pre-war cooperative carrying a notable architectural signature: it was designed by George and Edward Blum, the brothers whose ornamented apartment houses are among the most decoratively inventive of early-twentieth-century New York. Built in 1913 and converted to a co-op in 1959 — early, as Park Avenue conversions go — it brings the Blums' hallmark terracotta detailing to a prime Upper East Side block between 80th and 81st Streets.

The combination is the appeal: a Park Avenue address, a full-time doorman, architectural pedigree, and a building scaled to 36 households rather than several hundred. For buyers who want the Park Avenue corridor with real pre-war character and an intimate community — and a clear, knowable cost structure — 929 Park sits in a desirable and well-defined niche.

Architecture and unit composition

The Blums' work is what distinguishes the building from its neighbors. The beige-brick façade is enlivened with elaborate, detailed terracotta decoration — the kind of inventive ornament that was the brothers' signature — and the canopied entrance is marked by a handsome decorative surround and period light sconces. It is a building that rewards looking up: the detailing carries through the elevations rather than stopping at the base.

Inside, the 36 residences across 12 stories follow the pre-war Park Avenue vocabulary — high ceilings, hardwood floors, gracious entry galleries, and the room proportions of a 1913 apartment house. The layouts run from comfortable one- and two-bedroom homes to larger classic apartments, the kind of stock that defines the corridor's enduring appeal.

Building operations

929 Park Avenue runs as a full-service cooperative. A full-time doorman staffs the canopied lobby and a live-in resident superintendent manages the building, with the service standard expected on Park Avenue. Residents have a central laundry room and private storage. The building is pet-friendly.

On cost structure, the building's policy is clearly defined: a 2.5% flip tax is paid by the buyer at purchase — a knowable, budgetable figure rather than an open question. As a cooperative, purchases require board package review and an interview, and financing, sublet, and pied-à-terre terms follow the building's proprietary lease and house rules; we review the current board posture and carrying costs with buyers during a transaction. The 36-shareholder scale keeps governance intimate and service personal.

Application and transaction fees

Fees below are from building management's published schedule, as of September 2026. They are shown as published, item by item; no total is added because the total depends on the transaction. Deposits are listed apart from nonrefundable charges.

Flip tax (transfer fee on resale)
Terms
Amount equivalent to 2.5% of the purchase price
Rate
2.5% of the purchase price
Paid by
Buyer

Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Purchase

9 items

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $600 or $1,000 (Trust Purchase - if permitted by Corporation)Refundable Not stated
Application Processing Fee for Co-applicant or GuarantorPer applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $250 per Co-applicant/ GuarantorRefundable Not stated
Background Report FeeConditional · Per applicantPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $125 per applicant (additional $75 for criminal check if required by the Board)Refundable Not stated
Financing FeeConditionalPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $300 (if financing)Refundable Not stated
Lead Based Paint Disclosure FeePaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $75Refundable Not stated
Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $800 ($850 without a Broker) plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated
Sale by an Estate or Trust - Closing FeePer sharePaid by SellerWhen At closingAmount $1,000 plus $0.05 per shareRefundable Not stated

Deposits

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Move In DepositPaid by BuyerWhen With the applicationAmount $5,000Refundable Refundable
Move Out DepositPaid by SellerWhen With the applicationAmount $5,000Refundable Refundable

Refinance

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Application Processing FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount $400Refundable Not stated

Ownership transfer

1 item

Fees and charges

ItemPaid byWhenAmountRefundable
Transfer FeePaid by ShareholderWhen With the applicationAmount Contact Transfer Agent for fee scheduleRefundable Not stated

Management updates its schedule without a public filing. The date is when management last updated the page, not when a rule changed. Confirm the current schedule with management before you apply.

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the building's costs and purchase requirements.

Own an apartment here? Request an apartment-specific pricing review.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Sublet and pied-à-terre policy

A condominium owner leasing a unit and a co-op shareholder subletting are different rules, and a building-wide rule is different from a restriction on one apartment. This is the building's rule; confirm it for the specific apartment.

Subletting by shareholders
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
Pied-à-terre ownership
PermittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to discuss the sublet and pied-à-terre rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Pets and in-unit washer/dryer

Pets
Pets permitted with conditions; species not statedPermitted with prior Board approval.Source: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026
In-unit washer/dryer
Not permittedSource: building management's published schedule, as of September 2026

Considering an apartment here? Send Corey the listing to confirm the pet and washer/dryer rules for that apartment.

The Roebling Team at Compass is a brokerage. We are not the building’s management or its application office.

Monthly carrying charges in recent sales

Maintenance, per room
$1,114 per room a monthMedian of 3 recorded sales since October 2023Source: recorded sales, refreshed October 2026

Maintenance as recorded with each sale. A co-op's maintenance already covers the building's real estate taxes and the building's own mortgage, if it has one; add your own loan payment for the monthly outlay. A summary of recorded sales, not a current bill; charges change.

Building staffing and amenities

Doorman
Full-time doormanSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Live-in superintendent
YesSource: The Roebling Team's building profile
Elevator
YesSource: NYC Department of City Planning records (PLUTO)
Amenities noted
Storage, laundry roomSource: The Roebling Team's building profile

Staffing and amenities as our building profile and recent listing records describe them. A feature not listed is not confirmed absent. Outdoor space, parking and some facilities can belong to particular apartments or to a separate owner; confirm access for the specific apartment.

Local Law 97

Carbon-penalty exposure
🟡
Moderate — under today's cap; material modeled 2030 exposure
2024–2029 annual penalty
$0 (under cap)
2030–2034 annual penalty
$6,028/yr
Per unit / month range
$0 – $14
Modeled exposure split equally across 36 units (the residential count on the city's lot record). Not an assessed amount; co-op shareholders are typically charged by share allocation.

Source: NYC LL84 benchmarking and PLUTO · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See full Local Law 97 analysis — emissions history, scenarios, methodology →

Facade safety — Local Law 11

Local Law 11 / FISP · last inspection 2020–25
Safe
What this means for you

The latest available FISP filing classified the facade as Safe — no repairs were required at that inspection. A filed Safe grade is not a guarantee of current condition: owners still maintain the facade and, where required, observe parapets each year. Future inspection timing (Local Law 49 of 2025 changed the cycle framework from October 1, 2026), repair and any assessment decisions remain building-specific.

Inspection history
2005–10
Safe
2010–15
SWARMP
2015–20
SWARMP
2020–25
Safe
2025–30
Due
Next report due
by Feb 2027
Assessed · 2005–10 to 2020–25
$4,750 in filing penalties
payment status not in the record
The three grades, in buyer terms
SafeLatest filing: Safe — no repairs required at that inspection.
SWARMPLatest filing: repairs are due by the deadline stated in the filing.
UnsafeLatest filing: unsafe conditions requiring corrective action.
How to read this, and where it comes from

QEWI = Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector — a licensed professional engineer or registered architect who meets DOB’s FISP qualifications and signs the report (the independent expert, not the managing agent).

Penalties shown are amounts DOB assessed against filings on record across 2005–10 to 2020–25. The FISP dataset does not record whether they were paid, contested or remain open, so treat the figure as history rather than a current balance and confirm the building’s standing with the managing agent.

Source: NYC DOB facade filings (FISP) · The Roebling Research Library. City data last refreshed October 2026.

See the full facade history →

Recent sales

Recent transfers at this building, from The Roebling Research Library. Prices are the transfer amounts recorded with the NYC Department of Finance; apartment-level detail is checked against the building’s own file in The Roebling Research Library before publishing.

DateUnitApartmentPricePPSFvs. Ask
Sep 16, 20266C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,320,000-5.4%
Aug 6, 20268A
1 BR · 1 BA · 800 sf
$825,000$1,031/sf-1.8%
Sep 3, 202512C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,995,000+0.0%
Oct 8, 202411C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,625,000-3.0%
Aug 6, 202412C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,010,000-7.8%
Apr 22, 202210C
2 BR · 2 BA
$1,600,000-15.6%
Apr 6, 20228B
1 BR · 1 BA
$1,550,000-13.9%
Feb 4, 202114A
1 BR · 1.5 BA · 800 sf
$699,000$874/sf+0.0%

Market read. Most recent trades (2026 to date) cleared a median $925/sf (floor-adjusted) across 1 sale. Floor-adjusted means each sale is restated to a constant mix of floors, so the figure can differ from the plain median of the sales listed above. Median listing discount 4.1% from the last ask — a recurring negotiation gap worth pricing into any offer or listing strategy.

The retrade record

Lines that have traded more than once in the public record — the building’s appreciation arc, apartment by apartment.

PHA · 1,500 sf+182%
$1,100,000 ($733/sf) 2010 → $3,100,000 ($2,067/sf) 2015
12C+98%
$1,010,000 2024 → $1,995,000 2025
10C+84%
$870,000 2010 → $1,900,000 ($1,652/sf) 2016 → $1,600,000 2022
8B+80%
$862,000 ($862/sf) 2005 → $1,500,000 ($1,500/sf) 2008 → $1,550,000 2022
11C+73%
$940,000 2004 → $992,300 2007 → $1,436,000 2012 → $1,625,000 2024
View all 46 recorded transfers, sortable

Full closing history with price-per-square-foot over time, the complete retrade record, and every line that has traded.

Sales sourced from NYC Department of Finance recorded transfers (BBL 1-01509-0071). Apartment-level facts (line, condition, asking-price context) curated and cross-verified in The Roebling Research Library. Not all transactions cross-verify with ACRIS records — sponsor and LLC purchases sometimes record at stipulated values rather than market price; square footage on co-ops is not officially recorded, figures shown are approximate.

For owners

What would your apartment rent for?

Enter your apartment and I'll send you what it would rent for, from comparable closed leases at 929 Park Avenue and nearby.

What would buying here cost?

At the recent median sale of $1.32M (3 transfers in the past 24 months, since October 31, 2024), a buyer putting 25% down would pay about $59,700 to close, or 4.5% of the price.

  • Mansion tax: $13,200
  • No mortgage recording tax or title insurance on a co-op purchase
  • Building transfer fee (flip tax), 2.5% of the purchase price, paid by the buyer per building management's published schedule, as of September 2026: $33,000
  • Attorneys, lender, building fees and filings: $13,500

Assumes a resale (the seller pays transfer taxes), a $4,500 attorney fee and a mortgage on the rest. Confirm the current transfer fee with building management; the linked calculator does not include it.

The Roebling Report

Keep up with 929 Park Avenue and its market

The Roebling Report, monthly: Manhattan sales data and analysis, including buildings like 929 Park Avenue. Unsubscribe anytime.

We’ll use your email for The Roebling Report and note your interest in this building. See our privacy policy.

What to know if you’re buying

Budget for the building's defined costs up front: the 2.5% flip tax is the buyer's at closing, which is unusual (flip taxes more often fall on the seller) and should be modeled into the all-in acquisition number. Review the cooperative's financials and reserve fund, and confirm the exposures and original detailing of the specific apartment, since pre-war layouts vary line to line. Expect a board package and interview. Value the Blum architecture and the full-service operation, both of which support long-term desirability. The location — Park Avenue at 80th — puts the Met and Museum Mile, the 6 train at 77th Street, and Central Park all within a short walk.

What to know if you’re selling

Lead with the address and the architect. A Park Avenue cooperative with the Blums' distinctive terracotta detailing is a resonant, marketable combination, and the full-time doorman and pet-friendly policy round out the pitch. Be transparent about the buyer-paid 2.5% flip tax — well-advised buyers will price it in, and clarity speeds a deal. Foreground the pre-war proportions, exposures, and any preserved original detail. With a moderate unit count, pricing should reference both the building's own trade history and the broader Park Avenue pre-war market between the high 70s and low 80s.

Comparable buildings

If you're considering 929 Park Avenue, these nearby Park Avenue buildings form a useful comparison set:

More Park Avenue buildings

The neighborhood

For the full corridor — architecture, transit, and pricing across Park Avenue — read The Roebling Team Guide to Park Avenue.

Preparing a board package for this building?

The full playbook — what goes in the package, how boards read your financials, the interview, and the timeline — plus sample cover, reference, and personal letters you can adapt.

How to read the facts on this page. Items attributed to an offering plan describe the building as it was offered at that filing — unit mix, square footage, the amenity program as planned. They are not a statement about how the building operates today. Tax and compliance figures are sourced separately to current City records and carry their own dates. House rules, staffing and fee policy can change by board resolution without any public filing: treat every policy line here as a starting point for diligence and confirm it with the managing agent. Where this page compares one building or neighborhood to another, that is our analysis of the recorded record — it names the measure, the period and the sample it rests on, and it is an observation about medians rather than a prediction about any particular apartment.

Considering a move at 929 Park Avenue?

Request a private building brief with the relevant comparable sales, current and off-market availability, and an apartment-specific view of value.

Prefer to speak directly? Schedule a consultation →
Corey Cohen, Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker · The Roebling Team at Compass
646.939.7375 · c.cohen@compass.com